BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southfield, Serving Eastern Michigan & the U.P.
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (248) 583-4190(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2014 Delivery Issues
7/3/2014 Delivery Issues
7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2014 Delivery Issues
6/22/2014 Delivery Issues
6/22/2014 Delivery Issues
5/22/2014 Delivery Issues
5/22/2014 Delivery Issues
5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2014 Delivery Issues
5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2014 Delivery Issues
5/21/2014 Delivery Issues
5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Delivery Issues
5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our subscription to TV Weekly has either been delivered late, or not at all, the majority of the time over the past six months. I have called every time to complain since it is dated material and the magazine's TV schedule has expired by the time it arrives. Most recently for example on 3-10-14 when I asked to speak to a supervisor, and was connected with ****, he said the delivery issues were the U.S. Postal Service's fault. I spoke to **** on 3-23-14 to report yet another late issue and he said he sees noted on our account the many times I have called but that my last call to the supervisor was not even made note of. On 3-28-14 after another missed issue I called and cancelled our subscription. The call center rep, ******* said a refund check in the amount of $53.83 for the remainder of our subscription would be issued to us in 10 to 15 days. It is now 40 days later and we still have not received the refund. I have tried calling 3 times to ask again for the refund check to be issued but have not been able to speak to anyone. Calls have been put on automatic hold with updates of hold times saying 3-5 minutes, then after 10 minutes holding recording says 6 more minutes, then comes back on saying 4 calls ahead of you, than says 10-15 minutes more etc. Since I have cancelled our subscription due to TV Weekly's inability to deliver their dated magazine to us I am asking to receive the refund check for the remaining subscription time to be refunded to us as promised.

Desired Settlement: Please send refund check for our cancelled subscription. We cancelled it through your customer service call center on 3-28-14 due to continuous late deliveries and we were told a check in the amount of $53.83 would be issued in 10-15 days but it is now 40 days later and we have not received it.

Business Response: Hello,

I apologize for the delay, after viewing your record I realized you were NOT canceled in the system.  I canceled today and issued a full refund check for $57.72.
Again, sorry for the constant troubles and lack of service from our call center.
Take care,
******* ****
TV Weekly Magazine

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/27/2014 Delivery Issues
4/27/2014 Delivery Issues
3/23/2014 Delivery Issues
3/23/2014 Delivery Issues
3/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I subscribed to Tv Weekly Magazine 1-6-2014. 2-26-2014 I received a notice that my subscription would expire 4-24-2014. I had not received any issues. I called Tv Weekly 2-26-2014 and after 25 minutes I was told that there was a problem with my account and they would work on it. 3-1-2014 I called again and still working on it was the response. 3-6-2014 I called again and still working in it. I asked for a refund since I still had not received any issues and was told no refunds. A supervisor then told me to call the Press Gazette as they deliver the magazine and I would receive a refund. The Press Gazette did deliver 1 issue but no more. I will not call Tv Weekly again since no one has helped or returned my calls.

Desired Settlement: refund and cancel my subscription

Business Response: ******

On 3/8/14 you canceled your TV Weekly Magazine and on 3/13/14 you were issued a full refund check for $9.75 ck # ******
If you have any other concerns please contact me at ************ ext.126.
Best regards,
******* ****
TV Weekly Magazine

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9973219, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I have received my refund check and the issue is resolved. Thank you for your help.

 

Regards,

***** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The TV Weekly was missing from my Sunday paper (Daily News) four times out of the last nine weeks - that is 44% of the time. Each time they promise to call someone to take care of it but, if they did, it hasn't helped. They always promise to deliver it "as soon as possible" but it never is. For example last Sunday they said they would deliver it later in the day, than they said it would be with Monday's paper, than Tuesday's. It wasn't. I realize as problems go this is not major, but I am tired of paying for something I am not receiving. I am also bothered by the fact they are unwilling or unable to fix it.

Desired Settlement: Subscription expiration date extended four weeks, the number of weeks it wasn't delivered recently, and, more importantly, start to deliver it consistently.

Business Response: Hello,

I understand your frustration and do apologize for your delivery being spotty.  The Newspaper has been notified every time you contact NTVB.  If this persists I would like to change your method of delivery to mail to try and get you back on track.
I did extend your subscription by 2 months for the inconvenience.  Your new expiration date is 3/27/16.
Please keep me posted as to your delivery and I will try everything I can to make this right for you.
Take care,
******* ****
TV Weekly Magazine
248-583-4190 ext. 126

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9944446, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I subscribed to TV Weekly magazine on 11/08/20013. I've received only 2 issues on time (the Saturday before the covered week). I have notified themof all late & never-received issues & been assured that the problem would be remedied, but the problem has not been remedied. I was told the magazineis mailed out 2 weeks before delivery due date,so there's plenty of time toget here. I bought a subscription for my mother in West Chester, PA & shealways gets her issue on time or early. I suspect the problem lies with theUSPS at some point. The mailing envelope has a "deliver by" date in red on the front; perhaps that causes irritation to someone? I have requested totalk to a supervisor but have been refused. Some consolation in the fact that the subscription expiration date gets moved out every time I call, butI'd like to be able to see what's on for the whole week, not just half or not at all. I did pay for it. I'm very tempted to cancel but I don't totally trust I'd be credited, & I do want the magazine.

Desired Settlement: Please just get the issues delivered to me by the "deliver by" date. It'svery difficult, if not impossible, for a civilian to confront the USPS, ifthat's who is at fault.

Business Response: Hello *********

It was nice to speak with you today.  Thank you for informing me that delivery is on track for the last two weeks.  If delivery gets off track again, please make sure to contact me and I will do my best to resolve the situation.
We do send out all Market TV Books 10 days prior to mail delivery.   That is sufficient time for carriers to deliver to our subscribers, but not always the case at hand.
Again, thank you for your patience and have a super day.
Best,
******* ****
TV Weekly Magazine
248-583-4190 ext. 126

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9923928, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/25/2014 Delivery Issues
2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan. 16th, I subscribed to a trial issue of TV Weekly. The first issue was delivered on Feb. 3rd; one day after the issue week of Feb 2nd thru Feb 8th. It was late. The second issue for Feb 9th thru Feb 15th was not delivered at all.Today, Feb 12th, I called to cancel the subscription and requested a refund for the undelivered issues.I was told no refund on trial subscriptions. That's wrong. The policy online states a refund minus a $5.00 dollar fee.It may only be $9.75 but a full refund is in order. At the very least, a refund of $4.75 per the policy stated online.I'll not do business with this company again.

Desired Settlement: A full refund.

Business Response: Hello Mr. ******,

I apologize for the Newspaper and the delivery problems that occurred.  You were set in our system for a check refund, but I intervened to issue you a full refund to your credit card for $9.75 today.
Take care, 
******* ****
TV Weekly Magazine
248-583-4190 ext. 126

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9924771, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

B ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we subscribe to the t.v. weekly.. and it is always a guess as to rather we will receive it in the mail each week.. we very rarely do receive it.. the most we got it was three weeks in a row.. I have been promised twice I would get a call back from their headquarters within 48 hours,, that has never happened for three weeks now. When I called this last time to the subscriber phone line after not receiving the product again I asked for a number I could call my self.. I was told they did not know the number..but finally after I kept saying there has to be someway to get in contact, they gave me a mailing address.. I would like a number or a call back as promised..i am asked up front to pay for a service that we rarely receive and even if they keep extending my renewal date it does no good when I never get the product anyway..thank you..

Desired Settlement: a phone number to speak to someone in headquarters, or a call back.. tired of speaking to the subscription line that says it looks like the problem has been resolved.. when it has not because I am calling again because I did not receive it

Business Response: Dear *********

I apologize for all the mail missed deliveries and misinformation you received from the call center.  We print our product over 10 days out and send to every post office around the United States for delivery.
Unfortunately, the call center nor HQ has any control over delivery.  WE have had our fair share of missed deliveries in the last 6 months.  Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and I am willing to cancel your subsription and 
give you a full refund.  I left you a message to please call me to advise today.
Take care
******* ****
TV Weekly Magazine.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2014 Delivery Issues
1/21/2014 Delivery Issues
1/21/2014 Delivery Issues
1/21/2014 Delivery Issues
1/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered TV Weekly to be delivered with the Sunday newspaper and paid for a year's subscription on September 13, 2013. The magazine was never delivered despite me calling September 28 and again on October 15, 2013. Each time, the representative apologized, said they would send the magazine out the next day and notify the newspaper for Sunday delivery. The magazine never came. Finally, on November 4, 2013, I called to cancel the subscription. They said they would credit my credit card for the full amount ($*****), but the credit never came. I called again in early December and they said they sent a check. I never received a check. The representative then put me on hold and came back on the line to say the check was never sent but they would credit my credit card for $*****, subtracting a $** service charge. It remains to be seen whether I get a credit. In any case, they should not be charging a service charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund in the amount of $*****

Business Response: Hello ****,

I apologize for the inconvenience, you were not issued a check but you were issued a credit card refund on December 3 for *****.  Today I gave you the balance of ***** refund on your Mastercard.
As of today you have now been given a full refund.
Take care,
******* ****
NTVB Media
TV Weekly Magazine

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered TV Weekly Magazine on Oct. 23, 2013 using my GM Mastercard and of this date, Dec. 7, 2013 I have not received the magazine that was promised 2 wks. after ordering. I have made 3 attempts to rectify my complaint and cannot get the issue resolved as to why they will not send it. They have my money. What's the problem?

Desired Settlement: Please send my magazine subscription that I paid for or refund my $***** for the 12 months that was paid. thank you.

Business Response: I confirmed that our subscriber has received the last 2 issues of TV Weekly on time.  She went from Newspaper to Mail and was not told of the overlapping 2 weeks for delivery.

Should be all set and on track.
******* ****
TV Weekly Magazine
************ **** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I subscribed to the TV weekly for my mother on Oct 14th 2013. Was told it would take up to 2 weeks to get first issue. Waited that amount of time and did not get an issue.It was suppose to come with her newspaper. I called their help line of ************** to report this. Was told that a report would be made and sent to the newspaper (******* ***** ************). I also called the newspaper and was told that a report would be sent to their manager. Never did hear anymore about what happened. My mother did call one time to the paper and was told that they have nothing to do with it. Waited until the next week and again no issue. Called TV weekly again and was told again that a report would be made. This has continued in this fashion. Talked to the supervisor there and he said that he could cancel it coming from the newspaper and would start a new one coming directly from the TV weekly itself. I said that was fine. Was told that it would be handled as a new subscription and it would take about 10 days or so to get the issue started. Well my mother should have gotten her first issue on 11-15-13. Did not get anything. We waited one more week and she should have gotten an issue in the mail today 11-22-13. Did not come. Called them again today and again was told that a report would be sent. As this has been going on for some time and not getting anywhere, I told the person I talked to that I wanted to cancel the order. He said he could do that and would refund ******* The order was for ******. Asked how he could only do a partial refund when no issues have even started yet. Was told again that he would have to send a report.If I do not see a refund on my mother's bank statement, after an appropriate amount of time for them to refund, what action can I take to resolve this? They do have a file with all of the times I have called to try to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I want the full $***** refunded back to my mother's account.

Business Response: Hello ******

I am sorry for the inconvenience.  Your credit card was issued a $***** credit on 12/1/13 to equal a full refund of $*****. Due to this unfortunate incident, I am going to re-activate your mothers subscription for a free year, via mail on a weekly basis. 
Take care,
******* ****
If you have any further issues you may contact me directly.
************ **** ***

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I would like to thank ****** for finally doing something about this situation. Thank  you for the free subscription.


Regards,

***** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/6/2013 Delivery Issues
10/17/2013 Delivery Issues
10/16/2013 Delivery Issues
6/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered six months TV Weekly and was charged on my credit card. Waited a month for delivery but it never arrived. Called customer service and was assured magazine would arrive in Sunday's paper which it did not. Called customer service a second time and was reassured magazine would arrive in Sunday's paper. Again, no magazine. Called a third time and asked to speak to a supervisor but they wouldn't take my call. Canceled subscription and requested a refund.

Desired Settlement: Just want the company to know how ineffective their customer service is and to make sure I get my refund.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******

I do see in the notes where you missed three delivery dates and followed the proper channels to report the missed deliveries by the newspaper.
I apologize that the carrier could not get you your book which resulted in a cancellation made by you.   You canceled on 3/21 and your credit card was refunded in full $28.60.
Again, sorry for the inconvenience.
Take care,
******* ****
TV Weekly Magazine


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Delivery Issues
11/13/2012 Delivery Issues
11/6/2012 Delivery Issues
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2012 Delivery Issues
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2012 Delivery Issues
4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/18/2012 Delivery Issues
4/17/2012 Delivery Issues
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1