BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southfield, Serving Eastern Michigan & the U.P.
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Victory Toyota of Canton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Victory Toyota of Canton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2007 in MI Business incorporated: 11/18/2004 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of State
Michigan Dept. of State, Lansing MI 48918

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Megan Meinerding, Marketing Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Victory Toyota of Canton sells the following brand(s): All Used, Scion , Toyota

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Checks, Wire Transfers
Alternate Business Names
Victory Automotive Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 46352 Michigan Ave

    Canton, MI 48188 (734) 495-3500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 394-4001(Phone)
  • (734) 495-3535 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received unsolicited and undesired direct mail from Victory Honda of Plymouth, in the form of a "Private Announcement for Honda Owners", soliciting a buyback offer, at my home address. I have received similar mailings in the past from this dealership group, and upon complaining previously was assured that this would not happen again.As my address is not in the Honda database, the likely way in which this company and its ad agency accomplished this mailing is by inappropriate use of the State of Michigan vehicle registration database. This is not a legal use of this information which is available commercially for safety and legal matters!! If the business wishes to quibble about this assertion, I'd be more than happy to have them disclose where they obtained the information.

Desired Settlement: For the automotive group and dealerships and its vendors to cease and desist with any and all direct mail, and to refrain from re-populating any database, and refrain from renting selling or trading my information with any third parties.

Business Response:

*** ******: 

 

Thank you again for your time on the phone today.  As we discussed, this is an unfortunate incident and we are sorry that Mr. **** was inconvenienced.  When we receive requests to stop calling or mailing, we do note this immediately in our own mail database as well as in our customer relations management software tool.  In this case, though, the mailing that he received was part of a contract with an outside direct-mail company specifically targeting owners of Honda or Toyota vehicles that are NOT Victory customers.  We have used this direct mail company several times in the past and we haven’t had any issues with respect to illegally-obtained addresses, as Mr. **** suggests.  Instead, they purchase mailing addresses from a number of legal sources on our behalf.  Of course, this means that I have no control over how or where Mr. ****’s information came from.  

 

****** *****

***** ********* *******

Victory Automotive Group 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.

I appreciate their timely and thoughtful response.

I also understand that they cannot control the source of the mailing information; my implication that there is apparently a gray market for this information commercially was not intended to suggest an error on their part, as they do of course contract with vendors.

I APPRECIATE THEIR OFFER TO INCLUDE MY NAME AND MY ADDRESS IN A SUPPRESS LIST FOR ANY FUTURE MAILINGS.

Thanks again for the prompt resolution. Kindly do pass this message along to the company.

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues