BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2007

Riley Dirt Services

(903) 574-55491700 Fm 1995, VanTX 75790-4496 Send email to Riley Dirt Services

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2007

BBB has determined that Riley Dirt Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Riley Dirt Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Riley Dirt Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid Mr.Riley to fix my driveway. He did not do what he said he was going to do for the price he quoted me for.
I called Riley Dirt Service for an estimate on my driveway. He quoted me 3 prices 5500 to fix all the holes and do a 3-4 inch thick rock all the way around my driveway from the blacktop road back. 3200 to fix all the wholes and do a think layer of rock, and 1620 to fix all holes and a think layer of rock to white gate. I went with the 1620 that was all I could afford at the time and ask if later on I could get loads of rock brought in to build up my driveway a little at a time. He came out did the work I paid him before I had a chance to see the driveway, when I saw the driveway he only filled in the large hole and not even all the way and a few other small holes. He left several holes and the driveway was like a gray clay and a little rock. I called him he said that's rock and if I wanted the holes done it would be another 1600. I told him that's not what he quoted my far and this driveway looks horrible by

Desired Settlement
I called Riley Dirt Service to get and estimate on my driveway. Mr.Riley gave me 3 quotes, 5500 to fill in all holes and a 3-4 inch thick gravel rock layer all the way around, 3200 to fill all holes and a thin layer all the way around, and 1620 to fill all holes and a thin layer of rock to white gate. I told him i could do the 1620 right now, he came out did the work I paid him before I saw the driveway. When I saw the driveway he only filled the large hole(it's a huge hole) and a few other small holes. The large hole wasn't even filled all the way when I drove across it and it bogged down i almost got stuck. The material he used was like a gray clay with a little rock. I called him and he said he use 5 loads of rock and that if I wanted the other holes filled it would cost me another 1600. I told him that's not he quoted me for and this driveway looks horrible. I told him it wasn't even level he the raised his voice started over talking me and quoted all the price of how he didn't even charge me for labor. I told him I was unsatisfed and he basically just said that was all he was going to do. I called back the next day left him a voice mail asked him to call so we can figure this out, and come to some aggreement. He called me back late that night and told me to never call him again. I told him I only called him once and he did me wrong and he knows it. He said he put 5 loads(dump truck) of gravel on my driveway. He said he as the ticket from terrell. I said you have the ticket because I don't think 5 loads was put on this driveway. He said yes he dose. The date he worked on my road was Friday March 7 between the hours of 12:30-4:30. I just want my driveway fixed, I want him to fill in the holes with the 5 loads he claimed he did and put the thin layer of rock to the white gate. To smooth it out and make it level like a driveway should be. I paid him 1620 cash I have a reciet from him that say he put 5 loads on my driveway.

Business Response
2-15-2014
Date of quote on drive a total of 946 feet, $5,550.00 for complete drive @ current width
(10 feet). Rejected that bid and wanted a bid just to fill holes a total of 6 in driveway (624 feet) $ 8 feet wide, so as to include the big hole at very front of driveway. Bid $1,620.00 for filling holes, 4 loads of rock $1,320.00 and $300.00 for landscape tractor work. Customer agreed to price quote. Work performed on 3-7-2014. I gave her 5 loads of rock instead, and did not charge for the landscape tractor work. We started at ll:30 A.M., Friday the 7th and finished @ 4:30 P.M. (5 hours). She called @11:26 P.M. wanting to know if we were coming? We were there unloading the tractor. Customer paid me @ the end of the job and said thank you, thank you, it looks so good! At 6:15 P.M., Friday customer called saying she was unhappy with the driveway, we should have made it wider?? I told her we were not supposed to make it wider, that the original bid was for that, but the bid she accepted was only to fill up the really bad and deep holes. She was not happy, but said nothing to me about the quantity or quality of rock in that conversation. It was all about the width. At 10:06 P.M. she called me again, I could not convince her we used 5 loads of rock. At 8:23 A.M., Saturday she called, again @ 8:26 A.M., again @ 8:47 A.M. She left a message demanding I call her back and threatening to slander my business thru photos and comments on face book, etc. I have a recording of that message for future reference. I returned her call @ 9:00 P.M. on March 8th, Saturday, and requested she not call me anymore. She said her main complaint was that I brought dirt or clay and put in the holes, not rock and she was going to sue me thru Court, said had better have my proof ready, because I was going to need it in Court. She didn't even mention the width of the drive?? I told her that was fine if she felt it necessary, just please quit calling me. Employees on the job that day; * Riley, landscape tractor operator, and Patrick * *, dump truck driver. We had to cut a trench in the one big hole to drain the water out. It has been excessive rain, sleet, and snow for weeks. She doesn't understand that since the ground is so wet, rock will not set up hard until we get some dry weather. If she has deep ruts in the big hole, I can understand, as it was full of water before we emptied it out, then you dump 1 1/2 loads of rock in that one hole done so it will be wet. I gave her more than she paid for as I added 1 load of rock, and did not charge for the tractor labor, if she wants more rock she will have to pay; I filled all the holes we agreed on. All the call time and messages are on my phone and I recorded her message to sue me, threatening to slander me in what ever fashion she could, she name off several! Later when the weather has been drier I will go over and smooth out her ruts, but it has to be dry. My normal charge for tractor work is $300.00, so much for trying to help her out. The driveway looked GREAT when we left!!!


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I I never once threaten to sue Mr.Riley. I did say I will take pictures and put them on Facebook so people can see how bad of a job he did. I paid him without seeing the road(lesson learned). I didn't tell him it looked great I didn't see it!! I'm confused with his response, is he going to come and to smooth it out? The holes are not all the way filled we had rain on Saturday and water was in almost every hole he filled. If he is coming out to smooth out the road and pack the holes better I will accept this response. I need to know what date he isThanks




Final Business Response
It will be hard to say when I could blade the driveway as everything depends on the weather. If we have a good dry week, I will blade it toward the end of the week, late on Thursday or Friday. I will call her so she will know the day and time I can come. She got 5 loads of rock. I will blade the road to bring the rock back to grade ONLY, April 3rd or 4th, weather permitting.

Consumer Response
On 4-1-2014 we received the following information:

It will be hard to say when I could blade the driveway as everything depends on the weather. If we have a good dry week, I will blade it toward the end of the week, late on Thursday or Friday. I will call her so she will know the day and time I can come. She got 5 loads of rock. I will blade the road to bring the rock back to grade ONLY, April 3rd or 4th, weather permitting.

On 5-20-2014 we received a duplicated complaint:

Duplicate complaint filed 5-20-2014 # 28016481

I filed a complaint on 3/9/2012 on Riley Dirt Service and he was suppose to come and fix road and I haven't heard from him. BBB case# 28016125
I hired Mr.Riley to fix my drive way he did a horrible job and I filled a complain with the BBB case 28016125. The resolution was that he was going to come and smooth out drive way and fill in holes from the rock on the side that he didn't spread the right way the first time. He was suppose to call me when the weather was good to let me know he was coming. I haven't heard from him since the case was closed which does not surprise me since he hasn't been a man of his word yet. The weather has been clear the driveway is dry but it is getting worse and worse. If he would have fixed it right the first time it wouldn't be like this.

I would like him to do what he said he would do come and fill in holes and smooth out driveway. He is to pull the rock from the sides and fix the driveway RIGHT!


Business Response
Owners wife called said had been out of town late of response, but Mr. over at customers house now working on driveway, left word to call her back, because had it fixed. Called Mr. said had just left customer has it fixed.


Business Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Mr. Riley finally fixed my drive way. Thank you BBB!!!

11/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
He delivered the wrong kind of dirt, and hit my electronic gate.
10/2/2013 Riley Dirt Services delivered 15 yds. 1"Flexbase to property 4921VZCR1507.Subsequently discussed with Benny K.Riley on 10/2/13 about different type of dirt for another part of my property,but pertinent to the current driveway in front of my house I said repeat the order times two.He said he would try to deliver10/03/13,but definitely 10/4/13.The delivery didn't happen on 10/3,so called and to determine when he was coming he said the next morning at 0900.He delivered the wrong kind of rock the next day and insisted that is what I ordered.I informed him I was discussing using the other kind of rock on the other part of the property.Approximately 10:15 Derek Hazel,my renter and foreman of above address called and asked where the dirt was.I callMr.Riley and said he was late,really didn't say why,but would be there 1 1/2 hour or so.I was tied up on two conference calls,so didn't know when I could be there but since my foreman was upset cause delivery wasn't there on time and I needed to be there,I cut my conference calls short and got to the property about1:30 not realizing Mr.Riley was immediately behind me.I activated my electronic gate to let me in,and pulled in away from entry and driveway in the shade facing the road and I saw Riley truck coming.I didn'tknow he was behind me.He quickly turned around in the CR 1507 so as to back in and that's when I realized the gate would time out and probably catch him,I grabbed the remote to try and stop the gate,I pointed,but the truck was already obstructing line of sight to the gate remote antenna,thus I couldn't stop it.He gets out comes to my car.Tells me he had to come on in as the car behind him was rushing him.Told him I was trying to stop the gate as I just got there.All this happened in about less than 1:45 minutes,me pulling in and Riley dirt truck arriving taking the time to turn around and back in,and the gate and his truck hit.That is fast,which suggest precautionary measures weren't utilized to the max.When * delivered, once this year, they got out and surveyed the area,gate before they attempted to deliver.Big trucks in small rural roads I would think should take precautionary measures to prevent accidents.But based on the time above,safety didn't occur.Our discussion was civil,until I asked him for his insurance company,and he got huffy.Prior to that he informed me that he was well aware of electronic gates and how they work,as he has some himself.My point,that being said,he should have been more cautious than to rush in.If he knew as he said how electric gates worked,then he made an assumption that I had left it open for him,but he didn't remember that someone else might have just came in prior and that is always a possibility.My observation was that I don't know where he came from.The entry is right around from a blind corner.Plus,when he was backing up,he should have been able to see the electronic gate arm and controller and jogged his mind,since he knows about electric gates.He informed his adjustor that he didn'tknow it was a electronic gate until he and the gate hit and the adjustor said his son said the same.His son wasn'twith him.With my schedule being extremely busy looking for a job,Riley being late,and not knowing what my foreman's schedule was going to be,and my history with all other contractors I employ,due to respect to their schedules,it is out of the ordinary that I didn'ttell them the gate codes,how to get into the property as I have and always done in the past.I have a history of doing that and can provide names.He and his son says I didn't.The problem with this statement is I have never spoke with his son and I didn'tknow he had even been on the property.The stories are not correct as I have never spoke with his son. My conversation prior to delivery of the dirt was verbal with Mr. Riley.This is a verbal he said I said situation,that I think needs to resolved especially with his comment"I have electric gates,IKnowHowTheyWork".pg.2.








Desired Settlement
Exercise Safety and get your facts straight with the adjuster, and pay for the damages.

Business Response
November 5, 2013

* * ordered his rock on the 2nd of October. He told me he wanted 1" flex base. That day my son who is employed by our company delivered 1 load of 1" flex base rock. Upon taking a statement from my son he said "I delivered the rock without incident. I drove into the gate, which was open, turned the truck to back into the location where I was instructed by the renter, Mr. * and dumped. I left the gate was open when I left. No one told me a gate code or that the gate was electronic. The subject never came up'".
The next day Mr. * * called say I brought the wrong rock on the day previous, and I told him he had requested 1" rock., but most people want the 1 3/4". I told him we brought what he ordered, but I would be glad to bring him what ever he said as the price was the same. He never mentioned his gate or a code. The next day I delivered the rock, and as the previous load of rock was already dumped in the area where I would not be able to go into the driveway, then turn to back and dump, I pulled up past the gate, which was open, began to back into the drive, and unknown to me the gate was closing. Mr. * said He was pushing his gate button to try, to stop the gate, but he, his partner, and I his renter were all standing there and no one waved their arms or shouted or anything, and my truck apparently was already in so far that it blocked the sensor so the gate his my truck. I did get huffy as Mr. * said, because the gate was open on the first load a day prior and it was open when I arrived. I had no way of knowing what was going to happen.
Then when our discussion was over, I dumped the rock. At that time Mr. * said no he did not like the 1 3/4" rock, and would I bring him another load like the 1st, which was 1" I agreed .I told Mr. * I felt he should have given me a gate code or had the gate open as before and he said he did, but he did not. We were both mad. I left to go get another load of rock and when I returned with the rock about an hour later approx, there was a sheriff deputy there. Mr. * had called the sheriff department and turned in a complaint on me for hitting his gate. I told the deputy, 1st off I did not hit his gate the gate hit me and 3 people were here, and no one stopped it. I did not even know the gate was closing until it hit me. The sheriff deputy said it was a Civil matter and we would have to resolve it on our own or if not through the Courts. Mr. * said I should pay to have his gate repaired and I told him well I have insurance, and if they can not handle it then I don't know what to tell you. Then I told him to be prepared to pay to have my truck repaired where the gate hit it, and he should probably turn it into his insurance. He was livid and then he said he was NOT going to pay me for the rock!. His bill was $990.00. I told him I expected a check in the mail in a timely fashion I could not stand around all day, their was other customers waiting. The gate was open when about all this, I just rent here, but I unplugged the gate for now. I ask him if the gate still worked he said an Yes we tried it and it still open and shut properly. When I got back to Van I stopped at Insurance turned in the incident and left copies of the results all attached. My desire resolution is that he fix the gate and I will repair my truck. Hope you can read all this well through, but I do not operate a computer so this is how my response had to be.

Thank you,

Ps: By the way, yes there was a vehicle behind me, a tan Expedition, but they were waiting. My truck loaded with rock weighs 65,000#s. You don't, can't get in a hurry, and I wasn't, the gate was open when I got there and I had every reason to believe it was going to be poen as I backed in.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Trucking - Heavy Hauling, Sand & Gravel, Excavating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/13/2007Business started: 04/01/2004
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Benny Riley (President)Ms. Gwen Riley (Corporate Secretary)
Business Category

Trucking - Heavy Hauling, Sand & Gravel, Excavating Contractors

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Riley Dirt Services

1700 Fm 1995

Van, TX 75790-4496

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Riley Dirt Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Trucking - Heavy Hauling

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.