BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/26/2013

Network Communications International Corp.

Phone: (903) 757-4455Fax: (903) 247-0765

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
system was messed up charging 5$ for 7 mins when it should be 2$ for 7 mins. will not refund full amount that was taken due to system malfunction
found out on 11-5-75 that the call system was messed up and they were over charging for phone calls 3 dollars more than what was to be charged. i called and asked for what was rightfully mine back on as credit and the lady would say that she could only give 30 dollars to credit. i asked to talk to supervisor and the lady would at first not let me talk to her. i finnily got some one and her name was *. would not give me last name. i asked for someone over her that could assist me and she said that there was no one and i asked her if she was the head and she said no that she was told to give 30.00 refunds and that was it. i asked for corprets number and she refused to give me it i asked for names and still she would not give me any information to who was in charge of the billing and refunds to this company. this company robed me and others. i have at least 56 calls which would be a total of 168 dollar difference that is owed to me.

Desired Settlement
i have at least 56 calls which would be a total of 168 dollar difference that is owed to me. 56*3=168 that was 3 dollars more than what was to be charged to my account. i dont want anymore than what is due back because of the system malfunction. was not my fault it was theirs and they need to pay back what was wrongly charged.

Business Response
We have researched customer's complaint concerning rates that were charged.

Customer was issued credit on November 5th for the incorrect rates.

Thank you,
NCIC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issued credit for 30.00 which is way less than what was wrongly taken out. The full amount that was taken out incorrectly needs to be fully refunded not just a small portion of it.

Final Business Response
We credited Ms.* a total of $118.44. The calls should be rating correctly now.

11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company provides telephone services for inmates in certain facilities. I am trying to receive a call from an inmate in the County Jail. Fail.
I have $2.00 left on my account so they won't let cal;l through unless I add money. I have been trying to add money for a week. After I put in my valid credit card number, they say they can't process it and bounce back to the original menu. No way out. I have tried to contact a live body on every link on their web site and on every part of their phone tree, and no one is ever available. I have left several messages to contact me and no response. Terrible service for inmates in their customer's jails.

Desired Settlement
Allow me to add money to my account so I can receive calls from one inmate.

Business Response
We show a deposit was made to customer's account on November 15th and there is a balance of $20.05 left on the account.

Customer should be able to accepts calls.

Thanks,
NCIC/Inmate Services

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was due a refund of $40.56 the first week of June 2014. I still have not received a credit on my credit card. I have made four phone calls to Encartele and the employees have said someone will call me back. No one has called me back.

Desired Settlement
Please refund me $40.56.

Business Response
Customer was issued a refund on August 7, 2014.

Thank you,
NCIC/ICS

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The first time I requested a refund the lady said there would be a $2.00 service charge. On subsequent calls I was told there would be a $5.99 service charge. I was given a $34.57 credit on August 7th which means they charged me a $5.99 service charge instead of the original $2.00 service charge.

Final Business Response
The customer's calls were recorded. After listening to the calls the customer was never told the service charge would be $2.00.

Thank you,
NCIC Inmate Services

Final Consumer Response
You may close this complaint.

09/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
According to the information I read on the payphone operated by NCIC, the call I made should have cost somewhere around $1, but I was charged $14.64.
The payphone I used does not disclose the charges associated with making a call using a credit card. It indicated that there was a $1/minute charge (or something along those lines), but a <1 minute phone call cost me $14.64. This, in my opinion, is a scam. I would have not made the call if I knew it would cost that much.

Desired Settlement
The company should refund me the money, but they should also be required to disclose the full charges they levy for calls made on their phones.

Business Response
We would be happy to research customer's complaint however we will need the billing number debit/credit card number that was billed or the date and destination number.

As soon as we receive this information we will research the charges.

Thank you,
NCIC/ICS

Consumer Response
The date was 6/6/2014 and the destination number was (xxx) xxx-xxxx.

Final Business Response
We have researched the customer's complaint concerning charges billed to a credit card.

We have issued full credit for these charges. This credit should show on customer's next 1-2 billing cycles.

Thank you,
NCIC/ICS

06/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not receiving a receipt for deposits to my account. The consumer should receive a receipt for all transactions.
I have asked for a receipt for my deposits to my account since March 2014. As a consumer I should not have to call them to have a receipt sent to me for deposits made. I should also receive a detailed list when funds are expended at least monthly to account for the balance. What I receive from them is an invoice showing the last transaction. For example, I made a deposit on 6/4 for $25.00. I received an invoice showing the amount I was charged for a refund in the amount of $2.50 which was done on 6/2/14. It did not even show the amount refunded. Why didn't I receive that invoice on 6/2/14? I sent them an email response requesting a receipt and have yet to receive one. They always tell me what the balance was before payment was received and no record of payment being received.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive a receipt by email for all deposits made along with the balance prior to the deposit showing a total balance to include the deposit. Most businesses supply a receipt when they receive monies from their customers. I should not have to call them to receive a receipt for my transaction.

Business Response
We have checked our records and the customer's receipts for deposits have been emailed to her email.

If customer would like a faxed receipt, they may call into the customer service department they called to set up the account and request they be sent again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received a receipt for the deposit made on 6/4. What I did receive on 6/4 was an invoice showing a $2.50 fee for a refund on 6/2. As of today, 6/10, I have not received a receipt for the $25.00 deposit on 6/4. This happens constantly and I won't get one unless I call them which should not be the case. I should automatically receive a receipt since they requested my email and mailing address. I don't want a fax. Why is this do hard?

Final Business Response
If the customer has an email on file, we will email a receipt at the time the deposit is made.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Though they did email me the complete history of my account they still do not provide a receipt for deposits made to the account. For example, I made a deposit on 6/17 and the email receipt I received on 6/17 was for the last transaction I made on 6/15. I responded to their email requesting a receipt and on 6/19 I received the receipt for the deposit made on 6/17. This is totally unacceptable. I think because they are the sole business providing this service they basically can do what they please with no regard to the consumer. If they can automatically generate a receipt showing the transaction prior to my deposit, surely they can program the computer to send a receipt showing the amount deposited on the date the deposit was made. Again, I had to contact them to get a receipt. This should not happen!

Page 1 of 2
04/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm asking to be refunded for calls I received from the Mansfield jail that either dropped or were not completed and yet my funds were depleted.
On Thursday March 10th I added 25.00 to my credit card to receive calls from the Mansfield facility in Ft Worth, TX. using N.C.I.C services. The first three calls that tried to come in between 2-4 no one was on the phone when it was put through, and the service used all of my money. I put another 25.00 dollars using the same card and i got a call that came through it was about ten minutes long; when that call hung and my son tried to call again it said that there was not enough money to complete the call. This type service continued throughout the rest of the night into the next day when I used a different card and put yet another 25.00 to be able to receive calls. It got so bad that I called in asking for my refund and called back talked to a rep. and called back again when it continued to charge me I asked how much was the calls coming through because I might get to talk a few minuted then it would drop the call and say that i didn't have enough money to accept another call. The service was charging me about about 12.00 a minute. They told me they werent but I know for a fact that one call said I had 6.00 balance and I .52 seconds and it hung up. i can my log from my phone service if I need to prove this out. I called again on 3.14 asking for my refunds but I was told that they refunded me 11.00 and they would refund me no more. I spent well over 150.00 but I'm asking for 75.00 at the time that the service started messing up on 3/10/16. The service was messing up on my land line as well as my cell phone.

Desired Settlement
I want the better business to contact this company and let them know that they have broken some ethical codes for doing business in America and that they are being asked to do the right thing in their business practices, charging someone over charging someone for a service such as this should not be tolerated, and there are guidelines used for charging consumers when they receive calls from a jail facility, and let them know that I have been ripped of by their company, and I want them to be made aware of this unfair business practice. I want 75.00 of my hard earned dollars refunded to me. They need to know that this type business practice will not be tolerated in America.

Business Response
We have researched Ms. ****'s complaint concerning calls that were billed to her credit card that were dropped or did not connect. Ms. **** has been issued credit for these calls.
All other calls Ms. **** spoke with the inmate for 15 minutes.
She has also been issued the amount that was remaining on her account. That amount was $12.65 and it was applied back to her credit card.
Thanks,
NCIC Inmate Services

01/25/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fradulent telephone charge.
This pertains to a telephone call that I made at a pay phone located on the premises of the ***** ********** ****** in New York City at East 70th street. Because I did not have change for the pay phone I used a credit card (************) to make a local call that lasted less than five minutes. I was charged $20 on my credit card. This is clearly fradulent.

Desired Settlement
I want a removal of the charge.

Final Consumer Response
I have tried again on January 13 to get the company to remove the charge. They refused.

07/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Encartele is servicing jails and violating FCC rules by over charging consumers.
My mentally ill sister is currently awaiting trial in jail. The only phone service available to her or our family is Encartele Services. On February 11, 2014, inmate telephone services are regulated by caps-0.21 per minute for debit or pre-paid calls and no more than $3.15 for a 15-minute for debit or pre-paid calls. I have been charged by Encartele $0.65 per minute to $3.96 per minute for calls from my sister on my pre-paid account. I paid $235.90 for the Months of March, April, May and up-to-date in June.
If I was charged the in accordance with the FCC caps, should have been charged $38.01. The service sometimes goes in and out and the inmates and their loved ones do not get to talk to each other for days. I report this to the jail and they cannot do anything for me. Despite how one feels on inmates rights, Encartele is in violation of FCC rules and they are denying those who are not in jail contact with parents, siblings and children. This company should not be allowed to conduct business in this state.

Desired Settlement
I want the amount of my overpayment returned to me.

Business Response
We have researched the customer's complaint and found the customer was charged the correct rates for calls.

The customer has the option of having an email address on the account and every time a transaction is made, the customer is emailed the info.

Customer has been billed every month since the account was set up and was aware of the charges/rates billed to the credit card.

Thank you,
NCIC Inmate Services

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to clarify how very expensive their service is and was rude on the phone. I asked for an email conformation after reasonable time; still none.
As a Christian church mentor I must communicate with my inmate. My inmate changed jails to one that my other company does not serve, so I switched to NCIC. On May 6, 2014, I opened an "account" with NCIC online, expecting an email or other conformation. Even after calling them and their saying to recheck my email, as of May 9, I still have received no communication via website, email or otherwise. My initial payment to NCIC was $20 using my Debit Card, on May 6. This included a fee of $4.95 plus tax, leaving me with a balance of $13.56. I proceeded by making that phone call I mentioned above, to get some idea of the cost per minute or per call, so I'd know how to budget. It was during this conversation with NCIC, that the operator very rudely told me that they can provide no such information, nor even a ball-park figure. They said I "must be talking to the inmate FIRST in order to find out the cost". Feeling degraded by the operator's verbal treatment, but not knowing what else to do, I decided to wait until my inmate called my number. I figured it may cost about the same as at the last jail, or maybe a bit more, in which I used the other company...$1.50 per 15 minutes. When my inmate called me on May 8, accepted her call when the message prompted me to push "1". We talked for 10 minutes. The next day she called me, to give me the information I needed to meet with the judge about her entering long-term Christian rehab. ONLY THE CALL WOULD NOT GO THROUGH, BECAUSE NCIC HAD CHARGED ME $11.00 for that ONE 10-MINUTE CALL! "Insufficient funds" the message said..."Please add more money". So my complain is three-fold. NCIC provides no statement of account-opening or communication. At least one of their representatives is cold and rude with the customer. NCIC gives no idea of rates. The company's automated first sentence after the phone rings when the inmate calls is "press 1" to accept the prepaid call. One naturally presses 1. As far as I know I have no account with the company. $20 for one 10-minute phone call without communicating even an estimate, is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. Thank you for hearing me out. I have never filed a complaint until today.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of the total $20. NCIC failed to communicate, provide a statement or even confirm my account in any way. The customer service representative was totally rude AND did not follow through with her statement and send an email. NCIC refuses to give even an estimate of the cost to talk to an inmate after they have your money. The company has ridiculously expensive rates. No fair communication happens on the phone when the inmate calls the payer's #, because the first statement is "to accept this prepaid call, press one now". (I may never know if a price quote is given, unless I decide I must use their services again...?) IN ADDITION to a full refund, and REGARDLESS OF WHETHER OR NOT I GET A REFUND, I request the company be up-front and fair with their customers. The website needs to provide clear information of rates to their customers, online account communication, and simple instructions such as to WAIT FOR FURTHER INFORMATION AFTER YOUR INMATE CALLS YOU before pressing 1, This is my first complaint ever filed and I hope to not have to do it again! Thank you BBB... from a sincere consumer.

Business Response
We have researched customer's complaint concerning rates for calls. We are issuing the customer a refund in the amount of $20.

This customer should receive this refund in 5-7 working days.

Thank you,
NCIC Inmate Services

03/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contacted Encartele 3 times by phone and once by email requesting my refund. Phone person said they would get to it. No response to email.
I have contacted 4 times. This started back in September 2013

Desired Settlement
$11.71

Business Response
We have researched customers complaint concerning balance refund.

Customer's balance is $5.16 and there is a refund processing of $5.99 therefore there is not sufficient funds to refund.

Thank you,
NCIC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nothing was ever communicated regarding a $5.99 charge for a refund. Just to be clear, they charge a fee to add funds and a second fee to refund. Seems unethical to me.

Final Business Response
Yes, the customer is made aware of the processing fees when the account is initially set up.

Thank you,
NCIC

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Communications, Pay Phone Booths - Equipment & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.