BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2011

Custom Pool Designs

Phone: (903) 235-6388Fax: (903) 663-9633695 Henderson Ln, LongviewTX 75605-7627 Send email to Custom Pool Designs

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2011

BBB has determined that Custom Pool Designs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Custom Pool Designs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Custom Pool Designs

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Our pool has been leaking for over a year. We have made numerous attempts to get someone from Custom Pool Designs out to our house to figure out where the problem is with no results. In June 2013, Marty Thomas, owner, told us to mark the place in our yard that is staying wet because of the leak. We marked it with 2 pieces of rebar and orange tape. We were told he would send someone out "this week or next" to take a look. We tried to contact him again after this time just to see what they found only to have our repeated texts and calls go unanswered. Numerous times between June and December this was the routine. He would finally answer, say someone would be out, and nothing. My husband has the employee's number and called him during this time to see if he had been out yet since we could not get a response back from the owner. He knew nothing about this. On December 17, I contacted the owner and his wife both myself with the same complaints. I was told someone would be out after the holiday. I informed them at that time that I would file a complaint if this turned out to be another unfulfilled promise. Still no one showed up and numerous texts and calls have gone unanswered again. Finally, 2 weeks ago we were told again that someone would be out "this week or next" and again, nothing. All we are asking is for the one who put the pool in and who is familiar with the plumbing, etc. to come out, as they have promised, and help us figure out a solution.
Product_Or_Service: Inground Pool

Desired Settlement
For someone, the owner or an employee, to come out and look at our pool and figure out where the leak is coming from and either fix the problem or give us some info on who we can contact to get it fixed.

Business Response
I am sorry for the delay on addressing the issue at customer's pool. I will have our plaster guy honor his many promises to finally go to their house. He will have this put to rest before the end of Feb. Marty Thomas

09/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Spa cracked
Soil not draining
Patio concrete not sealed
grout color not correct
calls not returned
Marty completed our pool last summer and has yet to return multiple calls about the above mentioned items that were discovered after final payment. The soil draining problem has been resolved in most areas at our expense. The issue was that Marty used clay instead of topsoil. I've had the soil tested by Texas A&M and it is not a soil for use in topsoil. I have no idea why he would do that. Unless the clay was cheaper. We suffered approximately $5,000 in damages from grass and other new landscaping that died as well as the cost of removing the bad dirt and replacing with good topsoil.

Desired Settlement
Cracked Spa - come look at it and determine path forward.

Patio - send crew to seal patio

Grout - send crew to remove bad grout and replace with correct grout.

Soil - refund our damages that resulted from bad soil.

Return phone calls. I've very disappointed that we can't get in touch with Marty. Most of these items are small and could be resolved in short order if Marty would just return our phone calls.

Business Response
In response to ***** *******'s complaint... To begin, I went by his house on Fri. 7/24/'15 to have a look at the spa he had called me about. There is a hairline crack in the seat that is in fact only cosmetic confirming what he told me was the advise he received from his service company. Our contract states on pg. 4 para 11-c... "Drying plaster will crack naturally (more visible on colored plaster) and does not affect the quality of plaster finish." I have gone by his house all three times he has called. The 1st time was about a wet spot in his yard that turned out to be a drain from his air conditioner. I did not charge ***** for a service call as this was not from anything my crews had done. When he called demanding that the downspout and patio drains be extended to the back of his yard I referred him to our contract, signed 3/30/'14 which reads on pg. 4, para 7..."Extending backwash, drain, overflow, flower bed, downspout or yard drains is not included in this contract but can be bid separately at cost plus labor."
When we finished *****'s pool I was told by ***** that I would have to bring fill dirt to his yard and spread it for him before I would receive my final payment. The following provision is taken from our contract on pg.4, para 8...(if additional fill dirt is needed, customer will be charged on a per-load basis at deliverer's cost. Bobcat and labor to spread soil will be extra). I have and will bring a copy of a bill from **** ********** dated 5/20/14 for 7 loads of select fill and my canceled check for $595.00 that I payed for the delivery of and, of course, did not get payed for 1/2 day of spreading the dirt as it was delivered load by load. *****'s patio was sealed professionally just as we always do. He asked that we come back to seal the sides of the patio whick is something we never are asked to do. I have not heard of the grout color issue?
In summary, we can only work with the soil we have available and it is not ethically possible for a ***** to call us 15 months after the pool was completed to complain that his grass died and wants us to..."refund our damages that resulted from bad soil"?
I will be happy to show videos of my trips to *****'s house and any paperwork needed to substantiate my response.
Thank You
Martin T*****, Custom Pool Designs.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

If you in fact showed up at my house, it was without notifying me first. I didn't receive a message, email or any other communication indicating that you came to my house. What time were you there? IF you came to my house, you did not look very close or you would have seen that there is more cracking than just on the seat of the hot tub. The floor is also cracked. The crack is growing longer and wider which is why I thought you should keep an eye on it. As you are well aware, a structural crack starts small and grows. This crack only showed up a couple month back when I started calling you. The plaster has already "Cured". I truly hope you are right that it is only a visual problem. But, you have given me no reason to believe you that it isn't.

There is no drain for an a/c in my yard. You are making that up and I have no idea why. It has nothing to do with anything we are discussing. If you want to see the A/C drain then come by and I'll show you. But please have the common decency to call me first and let me know you are coming.

I have no idea what you are referring to on moving down spouts. Maybe you are confusing that with another customer.

If you sealed my patio then it was a sloppy job and must be re-sealed. If you don't do it then I'm going to have to hire someone else to come do it.

Before we agreed to use your company, you said you would use good top soil and the lot would drain. You did not deliver on either. Before you did work we had no drainage problems and now we have extensive ponding. And that's after we have done a lot of additional dirt work to fix some of the problems you created. Come by and we can collect a soil sample together. I will pay to have soil sample sent to a lab for Testing. That soil has so much clay in it that it can't drain. If you dig a hole and fill it with water, it will hold water for days. I've done it. Come by and I will show you. You flat out messed up on the dirt work. Next time it rains significantly you need to come by and look at it.

You have not returned one phone call since we paid you in full. That is very disappointing. Once you got all your money then you were done. Not at all what you led us to believe would happen.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

You have been ignoring my calls for 15 months. If you had not completely ignored all my phone calls then I would not need BBB avenue to 'rant'. The public needs warning about vendors of your class. BBB is a economical way begin applying pressure.

When a pool vendor delivers a product that does not work and then doesn't return phone calls for 15 months then, as most would likely understand, the customer is going to get upset. Your slippery tactics don't hold up even under casual cross examination.

By the way, the crack in the hot tub is continuing to spread and grow in aperture.

You need to make it right because this is not going away. I'm documenting the crack each week.

Final Business Response
*****, we appreciate your business. We are glad you trusted us to build your new pool and enjoyed meeting your family. Our granddaughter ***** and your daughter ***** became friends. Last year we were pleased to here you so enjoyed swimming in your pool and heard nothing but good things. If there was any dissension between us it would have been the fact that you would not give us our last check until we delivered and spread 7 (seven) loads of select fill dirt to your property when you were fully aware, after we pointed it out to you on page 4, that this was not included in our agreement. My friend, I even asked if you would cover half the cost as it was obviously an extra cost as per the contract, and you flatly refused. I guess you sort of figured you had us over a barrel because you still owed us a final check! We did receive that final check after we paid the extra $1,250.00 to deliver and spread the dirt you are now complaining about, didn't we? I guess no good deed goes unpunished! Martin T*****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/15/1997Business started: 09/01/1995
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Martin Thomas (President)Ms. Cheryl Thomas (CFO)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
Custom Aquatic Design Studios, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Custom Pool Designs

695 Henderson Ln

Longview, TX 75605-7627

To | From


1 Locations

  • 695 Henderson Ln 

    Longview, TX 75605-7627(903) 235-6388
    Fax: (903) 663-9633

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Custom Pool Designs is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.