BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2012

Sun Roofing, LLC

Phone: (903) 521-1315Fax: (888) 870-2994View Additional Phone Numbers299 Saint Andrews Dr, MabankTX 75156-7324 Send email to Sun Roofing, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2012

BBB has determined that Sun Roofing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Sun Roofing, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Sun Roofing, LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sun Roofing, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/24/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has done a very poor job making repairs to my home after a recent hail storm.
The company started on my roof over a week ago. There have been several issues:
1.Rotted wood on the chimney. They were supposed to replace the rotted trim on the chimney and repaint. It was impossible to see from the ground, but looking through a spotting scope you can see that the trim at the top of the chimney wasn't replaced. It was filled with sealer and repainted.
2.The fence is black. The fence was supposed to be re-stained with the same color brown. The fence is black. He says it is technically brown so there was a "mis-communication".They came out and pressure washed the front of one section and it looks terrible. The chemicals they used killed the grass behind the fence. They dumped huge puddles of stain right in the middle of the yard. The fence still looks terrible, the grass is dead, there is mud everywhere. They claimed to have wasted "all day" pressure washing the fence. Pressure washing doesn't seem like the right answer, there are pieces of wood all over the bbq grill and the house. This was the fault of Sun Roofing not me. All they had to do was spray the fence the same color. It was agreed that all of the fence would get done. I had to move the boat 3 times, and the area the boat is in never got done. Again"mis-communication"
3.The flashing in the front is going to leak. Lookind out the window you can see the nail heads are not sealed and it will leak.
4. A piece of plywood was thrown from several feet away inside the attic and landed in the attic stairs. When I opend the stairs, I was hit in the face with this.
5. Attitude: I have spoken with the salesman and the owner. The issues are not getting resovled. The owner said that he has black fence at his 1.5 million dollar home and it is beautiful.
The sat photos are not as clear that far out but I can't see and black wooden fence, and the taxable on the house only shows 700k. He has repeated made comments that this is a cheap house and the fence color doesn't matter. He claimed to be a Christian man. I don't think his actions or comments are that of a true Christian.
* the salesman said he thought the fence looked great. The sat photos of his house are very clear. He doesn't have any black fence either.

Desired Settlement
1. If you can't make the repairs properly then hire qualified people and do it right. I will not accept a cheesy solution to your mistakes.
2. Keep the attitude to yourself. It is bad enough that you have done a terrible job on my home, I don't need the used car salesman attitude. I have pictures of all the damage. If the problems aren't corrected this is step 1.

Business' Initial Response
Before I address and respond to the homeowners issues, Sun Roofing LLC is a responsible company based on intigrity, trust,customer service and 'Doing the Right Thing'. Our salesman and crews take much pride in their work and are skilled professional people. . Both our salesman for this particular job have college master degrees. One has a Texas A&M engineering degree and is a former home builder in the Tyler area.
We make every effort to accomodate the wishes of our customers by managing expectations up front and avoiding suprises at the end. When reasonable issues occur, we try to resolve and sometimes even go beyond reason to satify our customers expectations of the job scope. Even though we may not agree, every effort is made to rectify the issues.
We have in no way avoided or skirted this homeowners issues. We have returned phone calls promply and have made numberous return trips to address, redo and correct our customers concerns.
Below is a chronological order of events and our resolutions that will addres the homeowners complaints.
Thursday/June 21-roofed house. I stopped by and all was going well.
Saturday/June 23-Salesman contacted homeowner to schedule completion of job scope per our agreement:
1)Chimney-replace rotten wood and paint,
2)Fence-to be power washed and stained
3)Flashing-repainted, by hand, instead of spray that was done during roofing process.
Also, a small piece of scrap wood had fallen down onto the ceiling drop down ladder. This was a result of removing several small roof vents, correctly trimming out holes so decking could fit properly and be nailed to rafters. When homeowner opened the drop down ladder, the scrap wood pieces fell on the homeowner. Sales person apolized for the incident and explained the pieces fell down due to the a removed roof vent being over top of the drop down ladder.
Monday/June 25-Crew and salesman returned to job site.
1)Chimney-all rotten wood was replaced calked and painted.
2) Fence-power washed ( water only, no chemicals used) and stained. The color of stain was what we understood as conveyed to us by homeowner after a walk around in the back yard comparing to other fence colors.
3)Flashing-was hand painted the same color as previously used by spray on the day we roofed.
Homeowner does not like color of stain on 1,422SF of wooden fence.
Thursday/June 28-I met with homeowner to view job site and listen to his issues. I explained to him, the color used was what we understood he wanted. I told him I would huddle with our salesman to determine what and how we could correct, even though we acted in accordance as to what color he conveyed to us. That we would do everything humanely possible to meet his demands to change the stain color, just let us huddle to formulate a plan of action.
Homeowner called me that night and seemed agreeable to our course of action. He was leaving that weekend to go on a weeks vacation. Our salesman contacted him with several options and suggestions.
The next day, homeowner contacted the BBB with his list of complaints, then he left for a week.
Wednesday/July 4th- Salesman.crew was at homeowners, redoing:
1)Chimney- hand sanding, recalking and repainting. No rotten wood was replaced at this time due to it being replaced on June 25th
2)Fence-exterior front panels were repainted after being stripped by powers washer.
Saturday/July 7-Salesman/crew spent all day restaining 1,422SF of wooden fence plus inside of wood fence where boat is stored.
To my knowledge, Sun Roofing has addressed and resolved the homeowners issues. We have been up front, sometimes not agreeing, but never avoiding request and changes.
Regarding my religious beliefs as a Christian person and my personal information, I'll be more than happy and available to discuss on an individual bases.
Please call with questions.
Yours truly,
Gary Wideman
Sun Roofing







Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Still need a release of lien. I noticed this week that the screens next to where the fence was pressure washed are gone. I spoke to *, he is trying to locate them.
I would also like to state that nothing was done above the original contract. The EXTRA things were done to correct mistakes.

Respectfully

Business' Final Response
1) "Release of Lien" - * and * gave him our 'Release of Lien' last week with all the info, including the insurance amount we place on this form when it's requested, naturally, * wanted a different amount which we are providing him.

2) Screens-until last week, * did NOT want the screens, but now he wants them, which is no surprise. So we're having them custom made which will take approximately one to two weeks.

* is giving us the deprecation check once he has, hopefully, these last two requests.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Contractors - Gutters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/17/2010Business started: 09/10/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Wideman (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Contractors - Gutters

Products & Services

This company offers roofing and roof repairs.

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sun Roofing, LLC

299 Saint Andrews Dr

Mabank, TX 75156-7324

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 299 Saint Andrews Dr 

    Mabank, TX 75156-7324(903) 521-1315
    (888) 502-1113

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sun Roofing, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 502-1113
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.