BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2012

Sun Roofing, LLC

Phone: (903) 521-1315Fax: (888) 870-2994299 Saint Andrews Dr, MabankTX 75156-7324 Send email to Sun Roofing, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2012

BBB has determined that Sun Roofing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sun Roofing, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sun Roofing, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The contracting company gave a 7 year warranty on the roof that was replaced. They initially stated it would be a one day job. It took them almost 3 days to complete. They Sun roofing, promised to pick up the nails from the job which they did pickup some nails. But there are still nails left that * promised to come back and pickup. That was 7 months ago. * also promised to bring back the nail magnet roller and even lease it with us. To make sure the yard was free of nails. He never until this day 10-31-2014 returned the nail magnet roller.
The nails left behind has been stepped on and stuck in my family members feet. The nails were hit by the lawnmower blade and thrown into the garage window and broke it. The garage window is the same height as the yard. * * at Sun roofing said they were responsible for the roof but not for the window. They Sun Roofing refused to come out and look at the damage. How can I expect them to follow up on a 7 year warranty on a roof when they choke at looking at a broken window.
The trailer they used to haul off the old shingles broke my concrete driveway. They ducked the issue on that so I repaired it myself. I had also been driving on the driveway with all m 3 cars without a problem. My A/C is my house was not cooling well, so I checked the attic I saw the A/C duct had been stepped on and crashed by one of the roofers.
If this company has insurance then what is the problem. I don't know if this company wants to build a business or make money and run from their responsibility. If the customer is not happy then the job is not complete.
I turned down a good company in * Roofing to give them a chance. * * said * wanted the job so much he almost cried to get it. They refused to return phone calls and I had to call them from mother's number in order to get a response. I like Gary and Dwayne personally. This is not about * or * and this is not good business.

Business Response
We regret any inconveniences caused by Sun Roofing to the homeowner and have tried to be pro-active to these issues immediately after the job completion on March 31,2014. We take great pride in our work and establishing a meaningful relationship with our customers, especially any job related concerns.
We did issue a seven year workmanship warranty that we fully intend to honor.
The job was completed in 11/2 days. We had to return the following day to install 84' of ridge vent that was not covered by insurance, but part of the homeowners request that we included in our estimate. We also upgraded, at no charge, the shingles to a 25yr Owens Corning instead of the existing and insurance estimate for 20yr shingles.
A nail magnet was rolled many times over the job site to gather as many nails as possible. As many times as this is done, 100% of nails can not be retrieved as was explained to the homeowner. We regret a family member unfortunately came upon one that was missed. We are more than willing to revisit the job site in an effort to secure any other loose nails.
My co-worker visited the homeowner and his family three to four times, including myself once, after the job completion to review any damage issues done to the driveway. The driveway had been previously damaged due to a washout created at a low spot water run off with evidence of a previous repair of silicone in the expansion joint. We did not see any evidence of new cracks or new damages created by our trailer.
That I'm aware, we never went in the attic for related repairs and this is the first mention of A/C issues. There was a ceiling water stain repair done inside involving tape, bed and texture, but nothing in the attic.
We appreciate the homeowners business and we'll assume any responsibility for damages caused by our crew or equipment. Even though we have not seen any damages as a result of our work, I'm more than willing to revisit the homeowner and his family again and review his concerns.
We are proud of our reputation, integrity and will make an extra effort to resolve any damages caused from our work.
We again thank the homeowner for his business.
He may contact us at 903-521-1315 for an appointment at his convenience.









Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - Gutters, Contractor - Metal Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/17/2010Business started: 09/10/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Wideman (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - Gutters, Contractor - Metal Roofing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sun Roofing, LLC

299 Saint Andrews Dr

Mabank, TX 75156-7324

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 299 Saint Andrews Dr 

    Mabank, TX 75156-7324(903) 521-1315
    Fax: (888) 870-2994

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sun Roofing, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.