BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/11/2009

A & B Roofing

Phone: (903) 343-7356Fax: (903) 566-1949View Additional Phone Numbers2722 Meadowlark Ln, TylerTX 75701-6036 Send email to A & B Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/11/2009

BBB has determined that A & B Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A & B Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A & B Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid ***** **** $2,200 to "fix my leaking roof".
It continued to leak. He doesn't want to come back out here for "free"
On December 2, 2015 I paid ***** **** (owner of A&B Roofing $2,200 to fix my leaking roof. He used some flashing, screws and some caulking. It continued to leak the next time it rained. I called him and he came out and used more caulking.
He told me it was fixed and left. When it rained again it leaked again. It is still leaking. I called him 2 days ago to come back out and fix my roof. My daughter told me to give her his information. She called giving only her first name and said she wanted to talk about a roof. He called her in an hour whereas I called him over 2 days ago and he has not called me back. He told my daughter that he wasn't coming back out here for free. $2,200 isn't Free!!!! I need some help getting this done as I live on social security and can't pay again.

Desired Settlement
I would just like my roof fixed so that I can fix the damage that was done inside my house with all the rain pouring in. I can't have it fixed when the rain is still coming into my house.

Business Response
A & B Roofing was called to repair ****** ***** leaking metal roof. She was advised that our company could not guarantee someone else's work and her roof was installed improperly and she should get another roof. However, we could try to repair what was obviously wrong with the roof. Therefore, we both agreed to metal flashing. Since that day, our company has returned to repair other areas without any charge, although we cannot guarantee someone else's work. I feel that we have done our best and then some.

Yours Truly,
***** ****, Co-Owner

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The owner says in his response that he "could not guarantee someone else's work". No he did not say that. So now it is his word against mine. He says he said it and I say he did not. Mr. **** did come back out on Monday and said he did not tell me to not call him again. Yes he did. Men do have "selective hearing" when it comes to a woman. I guess if he has to come back out I'll put a voice activated recorder in my pocket and then it won't be "he said, she said". He told me to call him if it leaks again or if it doesn't. I guess he is trying.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Leak Detection, Painting Contractors, Carpenters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/08/2009Business started: 01/01/1982
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Huff (Owner)Ms Kathy Huff (Wife)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Leak Detection, Painting Contractors, Carpenters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A & B Roofing

2722 Meadowlark Ln

Tyler, TX 75701-6036

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2722 Meadowlark Ln 

    Tyler, TX 75701-6036(903) 566-1949
    (903) 343-7356
    Fax: (903) 566-1949

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A & B Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (903) 566-1949
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.