BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/23/2010

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/23/2010

BBB has determined that LEWIS REALTY / Rental Property & Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for LEWIS REALTY / Rental Property & Management include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on LEWIS REALTY / Rental Property & Management

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
09/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Flood / slab leak in home hasn't been repaired ! Two small children in the home
8/6 slab leak no contact number to notify landlord ! He's not returning calls ! House still a mess ! No one has fixed my floors are carpet ! No good communication on fixing matter !

Desired Settlement
Repair fixed ASAP ! Carpet & title cleaned

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Broker/Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
The tenant did notify the property manager during the weekend that she had flooding in the home. The property manager did send out a plumbing company and a restoration company immediately to determine the source of the damages.
The restoration company did install fans and other equipment to extract the water in the walls and carpet. This always takes several days of constant observation and measurements of
moisture in the home to ensure proper drying and to prevent further damages.
Upon further inspection, the plumbing company did determine that the unit had a slab leak and would have to be repaired on Monday. The property manager also called the owner so he could notify the insurance company about the damages. The insurance company came out on Saturday to do a damage assessment. As of today the restoration company has removed all the equipment and cleaned the carpet and tile floor.
Unfortunately it can be a very long process .
The tenant has been keep aware of the situation.
I understand it is frustrating,
As license Real Estate Brokers and Property Managers, we must fulfill our fiduciary duties and responsibilities.

The TREC contract covers rental insurance for tenants. During the reading of the contract with our clients, we highly encourage them to get rental insurance to prevent such displacement.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand this process takes time . I have called several times & they have no sense of urgency . No one returns calls & they seem careless . After the insurance company came out they called me , instead of insurance company & with still NO UPDATES ! I still have 98 %off water in the walls I'm concerned about mold and again no UPDATES ! Communication is terrible with them ! Due to the fans and other equipment places in home it's increased almost double cost of the electricity ! The quickly responded to this through you , but no one has yet to communicate with me ! This is terrible for a company that held to high standards !!!!! No rental insurance was discuss at time of signing the lease & no referrals for rental insurance since the flood . I wouldn't referee anyone to do business with them .They seem to be very careless of their tenants

Final Business Response
I have tried to communicate with the tenant as much a possible to let them know what was going on as soon as I knew.
I also have been in constant communication with the owner who resides in a different state. He is the one I that has to approve and who ultimately will bear the expenses. It also has involved a insurance company which have their own procedures that I must followed. Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience to the tenants and we will try to communicate more effectively.

06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have made multiple complaints about my next door neighbors kids littering and trashing my side of the property
My family and I moved into the property in 3/16 and the property was filthy in the backyard.I took the time out to clean all of the debris broken concrete, bricks, wooden planks etc... to make our side of the property presentable and it took about an hour and I also went into the wooded area to clean as well. 1 week later the neighbors sons got the more broken concrete bricks and wooden planks and have trashed our side of the backyard behind the garage. My wife made the first call to Lewis Realty and told them about the trashing of the property and also the neighbors blocking the driveway so we cant even pull in and park our cars in the garage and nothing was never done.I then call in and asked on the status of the issue because my wife nor I had received any feedback in regards to our concerns. In April I went to the office to voice my concerns about not getting in feedback about the issue and I provided K. with a picture of the mess that they had made and told me to email it to him so that he can forward it to L. Lewis.On 6/1/16 called backed and asked why I have yet heard anything I still get the run around like my concerns are invalid and they don't care about what is being presented to them.I then was transferred to L. Lewis'voicemail where I voiced my concerns. Today is 6/5/16 and I have yet gotten the response or action I am looking for and I feeling that my concerns have been neglected and that they don't care about there tenants and I find it very disrespectful that they don't have the common courtesy to at least touch base with us about our concerns.We take pride in where we live and want it to be clean and they should have that same mentality,and when a tenant is reaching out because the neighbor is trashing there side of the property they should address the tenant and have them clean up the mess.I feel that they don't care because they don't have to leave here.

Desired Settlement
All that I'm requesting is that the property is cleaned by them or by someone else ,I really don't care as long as the situation is rectified

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: L. Lewis Owner
Contact Phone: 903-593-2211
Contact Email: Larry at
Tenant notified us on Friday about the problem. Situation was cleaned up on Monday. I believe everything was resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No I don't because it is a utter lie. My wife and I had both reached out to Lewis Realty in regards to the problem and the issue wasn't resolved until I submitted my complaint to the BBB. I do hate that it had to come down to this in order for this issue to be resolved. It took from the middle of March until June 9th for my issue to be addressed

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

put down 70.00 for applilcation/guarantor fees for rental property. owner of property changed his mind next day. refused to refund fees.
* and * were looking for apartment and seen sign posted. On June 23, 2014, appointments had been made to look at garage apartment owned by gentleman named * at 5B 1/2 W 5th street.Went to office (Lewis Realty, 2305 E 5th street)to obtain key, meet * * whom helped us. Went to apartment, owner * was there. Spent over 1 hour visiting with *, * and myself (*'s mom). Good visit. Went back to Lewis Realty, filled out application for kids and myself since i would be co-signing. 70.00 paid. Owner-* was called in reference to pets (no pets). this was not a problem for the kids. Everything ok. Was told by Larry Lewis that we would be called next morning with results of credit/background checks. We left Tyler thinking we had the apartment. No phone by noon, * called Larry Lewis whom told * the owner-* had backed out. I called to ask questions. Was told owner-* did not want unmarried couple in apartment, was concerned there would be 2 cars in driveway and concerned * did not have job. All of these issues were addressed in our meeting with him. When asked when the kids wanted the apartment, they told him July 15 so they could move a few things before getting married on July 20, 2014. So yes he knew they would be married prior to moving into apartment. yes, there would be 2 cars in drive, but that was not a problem when talking to him, we were told the church parking lot would be a good place to park for additional vehicles. * graduated in June, works on the farm bailing hay, etc. & told owner-* he would be looking for part-time job as soon as he moves to Tyler because we live 2 hours away at this time. * is on Luminent scholarship and must pass classes, a part-time job is what he would be seeking. * in CNA and will be working full time as soon as they move to Tyler, she works full time in Mt. Vernon at this time. This was not an issue during our visit. I am a Nurse and will be co-signing for them. After being turned down in no fault our ours,I ask bout other rental property in their price range, was told by Larry Lewis an effenciency was available, but more expensive and was told to go to website facebook to look at pictures, Which two days later still had not been posted. On Friday, June 27th, when i called to find out why no pictures had been posted, i was told that the effenciency apartment had been rented out earlier that day. I called him 3 more times inquiring about the application fee being returned since the owner had backed out the next day, June 24th. We put our money down in good faith for this garage apartment. We certainly would not have put down 70.00 to fill out an application if we thought we were not going to get this garage apartment. If there had been any doubt about us after visiting with us for over an hour,(and this is my major complaint) the owner-* should have simply said so when Larry Lewis called him back about pets. We would have simply walked out and kept looking for other apartments. Larry Lewis told me on Tuesday, July 15th, he would have to talk to owner-* and would get back in touch with me. This is Friday, July 18th and still no return call. I called and spoke with older sounding lady today whom told me we could have 35.00 back, but not full refund. I then called the BBB and spoke to * for advise on filing complaint. I do not know enough about the process, but how many other people have put money down in good faith and then been turned down after credit check was cleared because the owner changed his mind.I can understand us not getting our money back if we had backed out or our credit check was not approved. Thank you for investigating this for me.

Desired Settlement
I would simply like to receive my 70.00 application fee back since the owner of the apartment is the one whom changed his mind. Our credit check and background was good. We had every intention of renting this property when we left Tyler on June 23rd, or else we would not have put down our money. We could have worked out any issues that the owner-* might have had.But we did not get any phone number for him since we were having to go thru Lewis Realty. Maybe owner-* misunderstood when the kids told him they would be married as of July 20th if that was his biggest issue. The kids cannot find employment in Tyler until they move there since we live 2 hours away. We simply want our money back so we can go to another apartment complex.

Business Response
The prospective tenants went and looked at the property at 513/1/2 5th Street and meet with the owner. Afterwards they did come to the office to fill out the applications and paid an application fee of $35.00 for each of them. Upon getting the results of their credit from the National Tenant Network I called the owner and gave him their information. The owner told me he would not approve of them. I did call the prospective tenants and told them that the owner had denied the applications based upon what the credit history showed and what they had told him. Since then they have called me several times requesting that I refund their money. I did offer to refund them $35.00 which was half of what they paid but they refused and said they would contact the BBB.
Larry Lewis
Larry Lewis
Rental Properties & Management

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When Larry Lewis called me I was told my credit was fine. i was even offered to look at another property owned by him, an effenciecy apartment. I was told the reasons for the *-Owner turn down were the reasons listed earlier. Nothing was said about my credit being bad. I specifically ask if it was the credit check and was told no, that was fine. We have rented an apartment now and another credit check was done and did not have any problems getting this apartment. Like i said, i could understand us not getting the garage apartment if it was something on my end. I was told it was not. I have been very specific with the information i was provided over the phone for being denied the garage apartment. If it was my credit, then why was i offered another rental from Lewis Properties. I am very upset with the response that i was told it was my credit history. This is a false statement.I would like my full refund back. This is not right. I am a very honest person and have brought my kids up with the same set of values. I have let people run over me time after time, but this is one time i will stand up.

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Failure to respond in a timely manner/proper way to a catastrophic disaster within the home. Ultimately resulting in the home becoming uninhabitable.
I called their office at 2:00 am on 10/31/13 because my home had completely flooded with water. To which I was told someone would be out later in the day. The carpet cleaner they sent to my home told me he is on call and can come any time, and yet they did not call him until the water had sat, soaking every room through out the entire room save for one small back bedroom, for over 8 hours. All of my things were ruined and the reason water came into the home was due to faulty drainage in the back yard, which flooded and a back door that is installed on the home backwards and has a gap at the bottom. All of this information had been relayed and still nothing. Finally, today on 11/5/13 they had an individual call and ask if they could come look at the floor tomorrow. I called Lewis property management on Friday 11/1/13 and told them the home was uninhabitable and I wanted to be contacted by the owner. Larry refused and told me none of this was his problem and that, ultimately, I was on my own. He would not put me into contact with the owner, saying that the reason he pays them is so he "doesnt have to deal with these problems." I know for a fact that the issues with the yard and back door were noted in the home inspection. Aside from that I constantly pay out of pocket to fix things within the home, as they only respond to 50% of my repair requests after multiple phone calls from me. It has been an utter nightmare and they have a complete lack of concern for the upkeep of this home. I don't even know if they owner is aware of the extent of the damage. I have conducted a mold test which came out a very strong positive for mold in the air. I explained to Larry the extent of the damages to the home and he proceeded to tell me they could not even have someone come and look at the home until all of the floors were dry. I explained that there is still water underneath the wood laminate floors and under the baseboards and to the sheetrock in the walls, not to mention the carpet, yet it took 5 days before they had a single soul contact me in order to examine the damage; all the while they expect me and my children to live in a home with ruined floors and mold throughout. I have never in my life dealt with a company so unprofessional, rude, and unethical. I only hope the owner of the home becomes aware of how poorly they are taking care of his property and how poorly and unprofessionally they treat their tenants. I expect a refund of my deposit, at the very least, to which Larry laughed and said it was again, not his problem.

Desired Settlement
I expect a refund of my deposit as well as reimbursement for all of the expenses I have incurred as a result of their carelessness and unwillingness to respond to the needs of their tenants, as well as their expectations of me to pay them to live in the filth and utter disrepair that is this home.

Business Response
At 2:00 am in the morning of November the 1st I received a call from one of our tenants saying that her home was flooding from all the rain. I told her until the rain stopped there was little I could do at 2:00am in the morning. At 7:00am I sent a carpet cleaning company to the home to start extracting water and remove the padding from underneath the wet carpet. They also positioned several fans in the home to help speed up the drying. The tenant called the office around 9:00am very upset and stated that the rain had damaged all her furnishing. Now she said the house had mold and could not be lived in. She wanted us to replace all her furnishings and immediately return her security deposit. I explained to her that we could not do that. The rain that flooded her house was not anyone's fault. I told her to call her insurance company to see about filing a claim since she had renters insurance and see what they could do. She stated that she had lived there for more than 18 months and the house had never flooded before.
Over the next few days I tried several times to work with the tenant to see what we could do to minimize her suffering but she was unresponsive and only wanted us to replace everything and return her security deposit.
There are no winners in this situation, but we try to be very respectful and understanding when problems like these arises.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is laughable indeed, as most of it is untrue. I realize that this can amount to no more than a "he said, she said" situation, but this response is not only insulting, but in poor taste and I intend to state the truth. I spoke with Mr. Lewis the day of the event, was October 31, 2013, and was fortunate enough to have caught him in the office the following day. Though I had requested him to return my phone calls several times (of which I have time-stamped and recorded) he has yet to return a single phone call. So for them to say that they "tried several times to work with the tenant to see what we could do to minimize her suffering" is an outright lie. Furthermore, the individual who came to my home let it be known that he is on call 24 hours a day and would have been able to come to the home immediately had he been notified. Also, he stated that he could have prevented the extent of the damage that occurred had he arrived sooner. There was only one fan placed in the home. Literally one fan was provided to air out an entire 3 bedroom, 2 bath home. Does this not seem ludicrous? I did indeed speak with Mr. Lewis regarding the home, and it was indeed uninhabitable. However, that was after 3:00 PM on Friday November 1, not 9:00 AM on the day of occurrence. Not only that, but the individual who came to drain what water had not already been soaked into the wood laminate flooring and base of the walls did not arrive until after 9:00 AM. I did not demand Mr. Lewis replace all of my belongings, though I did request my security deposit because the home I was living in was indeed uninhabitable as it was. I did not want or expect a sudden move, but Mr. Lewis informed me that beyond the one fan that was placed in the home, he would not do anything and it was, in so many words, not his problem that the home was in an unlivable condition. Is that not a bizarre notion? So, I was left with no other choice than to move and I did expect my security deposit to be returned because I had indeed lost many pieces of my furniture. Do I also need to point out that by law, landlords cannot refuse to return the deposit without a valid reason? He again stated that was not his problem and that that is what renters and home owner's insurance is for. I would expect an individual in this line of work to know that neither of these covers damage in any way due to flood water, though I do currently have renters insurance. A separate flood policy is necessary to provide coverage for these specific events. He told me that an inspector would come by to evaluate the damage "sometime in the next couple of weeks." He tried to explain that no one could even come to look at the home until all the water had dried; a ridiculous and nonsensical explanation. I do not think anyone would be in disagreement as to whether or not this behavior constitutes even a single attempt at working with me, much less minimizing my "suffering." I had a mold test conducted in the home on the evening of Friday. November 1, 2013. The results were astounding, as the test was simply done for mold in the air. Though there was no doubt it would be positive because the air inside the home was not breathable without a mask to cover your nose and mouth, as the stench in the air was undeniably that of mold. There was still water under the wood laminate flooring 3 days after the event, as well. I reported all of this information to the property management company, but to no avail.The rear door on the home had been installed incorrectly and was, in fact, placed on the home backwards, preventing the weather-stripping from meeting the threshold properly. This fact was not only noted in the inspector's report when this home came under the current management, but the first time I had someone from this property management company come to the home for a repair, I showed it to him and he said he would report it to the company, though he did not think it mattered. If I had the magical foresight to anticipate a flood in my back yard and that this door would allow water into the home, things may have been different. As it stands, I feel that not only was I expected to bear the damaged and mold-ridden environment with no assistance from the property management company, but they could have cared less about the health hazard this posed to myself and my children. I would also like to point out that by law, a landlord is liable to a tenant in the event that the condition of the home materially affects the physical health or safety of an ordinary tenant. Are not floors, stairways, and railings expected to be in good repair and effective waterproofing and weather protection of roof and exterior walls be in place? I cannot fathom how a property management company could, in good faith, expect a tenant to occupy a dwelling in this condition and feel that they have no obligation to make the conditions habitable. As I previously stated, no one even came to evaluate the extent of the damaged for 6 full days after the damage occurred. Mr. Lewis had stated that he would be by the day of the event, but he never stepped foot in the home. Even with me telling him the following day of the awful conditions, he still refused to even have someone come see what needed to be done for several days as he stated that the home must be dry before that was possible. Since that time he has not returned my phone calls and I have left several messages with his office. This is an appalling way to run a business and an even greater offense against a person as human being. There was no respect and certainly no understanding offered by this company.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/01/2005Business started: 12/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Commission of Texas
P O Box 12188/1101 Camino La Costa
Austin, TX 78711-2188
(512) 936-3000

BBB records show a license number of 0549725 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission of Texas. Their web address is

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Lewis (Broker)
Business Category

Property Management, Real Estate

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for LEWIS REALTY / Rental Property & Management

4807 Old Jacksonville Hwy

Tyler, TX 75703-3303

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4807 Old Jacksonville Hwy 

    Tyler, TX 75703-3303(903) 593-2211
    Fax: (903) 531-0312

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*LEWIS REALTY / Rental Property & Management is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Property Management


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.