BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2011

Eschberger Plumbing Co

Phone: (903) 581-1200Fax: (903) 561-315914674 Highway 155 S, TylerTX 75703-6746 Send email to Eschberger Plumbing Co

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2011

BBB has determined that Eschberger Plumbing Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Eschberger Plumbing Co's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Eschberger Plumbing Co

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was overcharged by $200 for a plumbing job, on which the plumbers took multiple breaks that I was charged for, and they left trash behind.
I hired Eschberger Plumbing to remove a fiberglass shower stall, extend the height of my shower head, and to install a new toilet. When they arrived I also asked them to install two sink faucets. They charged me for 5.25 hours and left the trashed shower on my front porch. During the 5.25 hours, they left for an hour to get supplies they didn't have on their truck. After 3 hours, I had to leave for an appointment, so my daughter and her husband came over. While they were here, the plumbers took three 15-30 minute breaks to smoke, drink, and make calls. When they hauled the shower out, they left a water and trash trail behind them which my daughter cleaned up. I called the owner to complain and he said he would get back to me after reviewing the ticket. He then left me a message stating that the price was fair and he would come get the shower pieces if I called him back. When I called back, he had already left for the day. I feel that I have paid $200 too much and I have a shower in pieces on my front porch. I am not a happy camper!

Desired Settlement
I want the shower pieces gone and $200 back. I don't think this was a fair deal. I'd like to keep using Eschberger Plumbing--they do good work. But I won't if we don't get this resolved.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@gmail.com
To whom it ****** concern:
I have reviewed the consumer's original complaint. For this customer to complain they were overcharged $200.00 is completely ridiculous. I spoke with this customer numerous times trying to figure out the most economical solution to her shower problem. After checking with every plumbing supply house in Tyler. We were unsuccesful in finding a two piece 32x30 fiberglass shower stall. My recommendation to the customer was to either have a marble company mold a 32x30 pan or install a tile shower to fit her dimensions. The customer researched both options and decided to install a tile shower.
The customer made an appointment to have us come out and demo her existing fiberglass shower stall, install a new shower faucet with the height of the shower head extended, Rough in a two piece shower drain, and install a new toilet. The customer asked if this would be a full day job. I assured her my guys would not take the full day to complete the job but it would probably at least take a half day. I sent a crew of two men out to complete the job on 6/22/2012. Late that evening I recieved a call from the customer complaining about the cost of the job and fiberglass pieces of shower left on the job site. I explained to the customer that the plumbers were still out doing other jobs and I would be glad to review her invoice once they turned it in later that evening.
The invoice total was $485.33. Materials and tax for the job were 107.33 and the labor was 378.00. That is 5.25 hrs at 72.00 per hour. My plumbers had their time in at 9:30 a.m and time out 3:30 pm subtracting a 45 minute lunch to come up with the 5.25 hrs labor clearly marked on the invoice. This is the total time it took to complete the scheduled work and the additional work the customer added. As a courtesy to the customer we did not charge her a service call or our normal two man rate of 80.00 per hour, because we had already done previous work the week before. I asked my plumbers about the fiberglass pieces left on site. My plumbers said they left the material in a trash pile at the job site.
In closing I called the customer back the night of 6/22/2012. I left a message explaining I had reviewed the bill and thought it was fair. I told the customer I would be glad to pick up and haul off materials left by my plumbers. The customer called the morning of 6/25/2012 and I sent my men to remove the fiberglass material at no additional cost. As I stated above in my breakdown of the invoice the total was $485.33. The customer states she was overcharged $200.00. Minus 107.33 material cost she expected to pay 178.00 labor! How can any reasonable person believe they could hire a licensed and insured plumber to demo a fiberglass shower, install a new shower faucet, extend the outlet for the shower head, install a two piece shower drain, install a new toilet, and not to mention install two new lavatory faucets and drain pipes added additionally by the customer for $178.00 labor! I welcome the BBB to call other local plumbing companies to compare rates and estimate of time it would take to complete a job of this size. I feel, you will then understand just how unreasonable this customer is being.n

Sincerely,
****** ******



Consumer's Final Response
From: ****** ******
Sent: Tuesday, July 03, 2012 2:16 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT35*****@gmail.com34*****@gmail.com36REDACT)

I disagree!

Sent from my iPhone

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/28/1995Business started: 01/01/1976
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Plumbing Examiners, State Board of
929 East 41st Street P O Box 4200
Austin, TX78765-4200
(512) 936-5200
http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us/license registration.asp

BBB records show a license number of M-9752 for this company, issued by Plumbing Examiners, State Board of. Their web address is http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us/license registration.asp.

Type: Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

Check License Status: http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us/license detail.asp?no=M-9752

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rodney Eschberger, Sr. (Owner)Mr. Jared Eschberger (General Manager)Ms Julie Eschberger (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
NOONDAY GUN TRADER
Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Eschberger Plumbing Co

14674 Highway 155 S

Tyler, TX 75703-6746

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14674 Highway 155 S 

    Tyler, TX 75703-6746(903) 581-1200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Eschberger Plumbing Co is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.