BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2012

A Discount Plumbing

Phone: (903) 849-0177Fax: (903) 849-01782485 Fm 315 S, ChandlerTX 75758-8351 Send email to A Discount Plumbing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2012

BBB has determined that A Discount Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A Discount Plumbing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A Discount Plumbing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called several plumbers in our area to have work done. I had bought a new bathtub, bigger than the one we had. I took out/cleaned-cut tile from walls and needed plumber to move faucets up about 2". A Discount was the cheapest. They were to come out 4-19-15 at 3:00. They called said they could come out at 1:45. I I had and was at a Dr's appointment and has asked my parents to come let them in and waited for me. I told them where to cut the water off and asked them to put sand I had provided down. I had put the tub in the day before but thought it would be easier to put the drain in with the tub out, so I moved the tub out all by myself (3' to the side).
The little lady I had been talking to did not tell the men who came out what they were to do. The miscommunication, they were gone when I got here. My parents said they just left, and my parents used their credit card to pay for what I could say nothen.
They put the sand down, $36.85 drain on and put the tub in and screwed it in. They did not put in level. They were to move fausets 2" up; was what I has asked for.
I could have done what they did in 15 min (that's 15 min). I was charged $167.50 for nothen, (just $36.85 part). I wouldn't had gone to all this trouble, but when I called them back, they said I would be charged if they came back out. I would have put stop payment if it had not been on my parents credit card.
I feel like that's bad business.
Thanks for any help!

Desired Settlement
$36.85 Part
$27.50 Coming out (but not doing what was asked)
Total of $64.45

Credit me $100 because I had to pay someone else to do

Business Response
Ms. ****'s appointment was 4-9-15. The first two calls ahead of her cancelled, therefor she got moved up on time schedule. The plumber called to let her know he could arrive earlier to take care of her plumbing problem. She said she was on the way to dr. appointment, she would call parents to let plumber in. The plumber put tub in and connected to pipe. The plumber noticed that tub had lip so more tile had to be removed in order to lift faucet pipes up. Ms. **** should have rescheduled if she herself was not able to be at residence upon plumbers arriving. The plumbers did the job that was assigned. The do not remove tile to raise pipe. That is for home owner or tile tech to do. Ms. **** has break down of labor , parts, and tax for the job.

Consumer Response
The tiles were up 2 inches, and I just wanted my faucet and handles raised up one inch to get it off the bath tub. No more tiles needed to be removed for the job that was requested. I told the girl who took the order that I needed the pipes moved up one inch.

Final Business Response
The plumber that went to this call stated there was barely enough tile removed to put tub in. Therefore more tile did need to be removed to rise the pipe if customer wanted valve moved. She only requested mortar to be placed under tub. Which we did. And tub was installed as requested. Therefore, we will not refund money, because job was completed as requested.

03/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A double toilet ring was installed and it leaked and ruined my carpet so I had a tile floor installed The tile man discovered the leak.
On about May 2014 I had A Discount Plumbing come and steady my toilet. They put a wax ring over my existing one and it slowly leaked onto my carpet. I did not realize what caused the problem until the carpet was removed and the tile men from Lowes discovered the cause of the leak.
I have called the company numerous times and sent paper proof of the damage but the owner refuses to speak with me. The men from "A Discount Plumbing" did not sign their names or put the date on my receipt.
They charged me ******* and Lowes charged me ******* for new flooring. So I am out ******* for their mistake. The secretary said when I noticed the dampness I should have called them but since I am not a plumber I did not realize where the problem was coming from until the Lowes man told me. I paid with my Visa debit card for the repairs and flooring.
The owner refuses to speak with me.
I am a 79 year old widow and live on Social Security and it seems he is not willing to help me.
Since A Discount Plumbing caused the problem they should be willing to pay for their mistake.
I have the receipt # **** and their lic. #MXXXXX.
I have the paper work if needed.
The receipt says:2 Lav supply lines *****
1 wax ring *****
Labor ******
Total *******

Lowes:
Tiles *******
Tax *****
Total *******

Desired Settlement
I want the ******* less ****** for supply lines which is the cost of the mistake and new flooring.

Business Response
A Discount Plumbing did go out to *** ********** house on the 26th of May, 2014. She had showed us where her carpet was wet. We then reset the toilet with one wax ring. She then sent us a letter dated October 13th, 2014. She stated in the letter that she had to get floors replaced. She never called us back out again to investigate if there was or was not a leak. Instead she took it upon herself to call a tile person. She said Lowes had told her there were two bowl waxs. Lowe's does not employ licensed plumbers by the state of Texas. They should have never pulled the toilet. The carpet had probably dried up and started to smell, so she replaced it with tile. I have tried to contact *** ******* and left messages. We performed the work in May 2014. She called our office toward September 2014 for us to pay her Lowe's bill. Our invoice states there is a 30 day warranty on repairs. The work was out of warranty. If she would have called us back in that time frame to say the was toilet leaking, we would have took care of the problem. Thank you, **** *****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not have a leak when i called A Discount Plumbing to come out. I wanted them to steady my toilet. They put a wax ring over my existing one and that caused the leak between the two rings.
My carpet got so soggy I couldn't walk on it.Since i had no idea what caused the leak i called Lowes to install a tile floor since my carpet was smelly and ruined at this point.
It was the Lowes tile man who discovered the leak and told me about it. By the way i checked with Lowe's headquarters and their men are indeed licensed in the state of Texas. The tile men had to pull the toilet to take off the extra wax ring that A Discount Plumbing had installed.They then leveled the toilet.
I have called Mr. *****'s office numerous times but not once got a response. I cannot believe he stated he had tried to contact me and left messages when I all but begged to speak with him and never once got a response. I would love to see copies of the messages he supposedly sent. I called so many times the secretary told me she had no authority to do anything and all she could do was put my message in his box.
As far as the dates are concerned there is nothing to indicate on my receipt to suggest there is a 30 day warranty.
Mr. ***** states he would have taken care of my problem if i had notified him when i called many times without getting a response.
This is one case where i wish a Lie Detector could be administered.
Mr. *****'s company caused the damage so i feel it is only fair for him to pay for it.
****** ********

Final Business Response
Again, we performed the work in May which with the 30 day warranty- that means June the warranty is over. The paperwork for Lowe's has no date. And again if you have a leak, you should have called the plumber back to the home and tell them there is a leak there. If she would have called back in the time frame, we would have went out and checked the toilet we worked on. We don't even know if is the same toilet we worked on and further more, once Lowe's pulled the toilet that voided the warranty. My office called Lowe's as a consumer, they stated you do not have to have a licence to pull toilets. We notified the State Board of Plumbing Examiners to investigate why Lowe's is pulling toilets with out a plumbing licence. The state board will investigate this matter with Lowe's. Therefore, with out being called back out, we cannot and will not pay for her tile work, because we don't even know if it was leaking, or if it was even the same toilet. The invoice from Lowe's doesn't even say what they did, how it was paid, or what location the work was done at.
**** *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again they came to steady my rocking toilet and added a wax ring over my existing one I did not call them back because I didn't know what caused the leak until the tile man saw it. That was after the 30 days warranty that I discovered what was causing the leak. The leak was so gradual it wet my carpet pad first then soaked into my thick carpet. He had to take the toilet off to remove the extra wax ring that A Discount Plumbing installed and caused the leak.

If **** ***** had contacted me I would have shown him the bathroom where I had to replace the damaged floor with tile. The other bathroom has carpet.
How in the world could he say he would have come out when he never once returned my calls.
I sent a paper to you where I underlined the sentence that Lowes people are licensed.

As far as not having a date on the invoice from Lowes I sent You the Invoice from A Discount Plumbing that also had no date, no time or the names of the men who worked on my toilet

I am grateful for the integrity of the Lowe's installers. They stepped up and fixed the problem and did not charge extra.

11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They repaired pipe in front yard and 3 months later have major leak in same place-they tried to tell me i have to wait 5-6 days before they come back
They came out on or about 07/07 to repair a pipe in the front yard between water meter and house - called them back a couple of weeks later due to water puddling again in same spot - plumbers at the time said that it wasnt a leak - this morning (10/25) went to leave house and noticed that we had water running down the street - called same plumber and told them that i had to shut off water at the main and they couldnt get anyone out until Thursday (10/30) and proceeded to tell me what i could do to fix it - feel like i shouldnt have to try to fix something that they didnt do correctly in the first place. they again said they coulnt get anyone out before 10/30 unless someone cancelled

Desired Settlement
We paid them almost $500 for the repair and are now having to call another plumber out to fix the original repair - would expect them to cover the cost of what we paid to the plumber to come out and fix their work or to reimburse for the original repair paid

Business Response
Mr. ********** called to have service provided for a leak by the meter on his side. The leak was fixed in yard by meter. The invoice total was $ 425.00. He called a few weeks later to have us check on it, stating there was more water in the area. We went again at that time, as a courtesy, to make sure all fittings were right. He find a complaint stating we had schedule his problem of a leak in about the same area. I do have people scheduled at a certain time and day. He stated him and his wife work in Dallas. They leave early, and get home late. The work is to be done outside, they are not to be required to be at home. The original work was done 07-09-2014. There is a 30 day warranty on invoice in red to the left of his signature. Mr. ********** calling toward to end of October would have been another service call, plus the cost of repair. To have another plumbing company out to the house was of his decision.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Garbage Disposals - Household, Leak Detection, French Drains, Bathroom Remodeling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Kitchen Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/26/2011Business started: 07/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. William Nixon (Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers, Garbage Disposals - Household, Leak Detection, French Drains, Bathroom Remodeling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Kitchen Remodeling

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A Discount Plumbing

2485 Fm 315 S

Chandler, TX 75758-8351

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A Discount Plumbing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.