BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2008

Rid-X Termite & Pest Control, LP

Phone: (903) 509-9663Fax: (903) 509-9670View Additional Phone Numbers12888 Highway 155 S, TylerTX 75703-6539 Send email to Rid-X Termite & Pest Control, LP

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2008

BBB has determined that Rid-X Termite & Pest Control, LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rid-X Termite & Pest Control, LP's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rid-X Termite & Pest Control, LP

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Get rid of bed bugs and apologize for rudeness.
We contacted them to rid bed bugs.We were referred by Social Services.My wife says the the female owner was rude and difficult. The man and wife came our home at * * * * *' They did a treatment on 8/7/14,but we still have bed bugs. I called them on 8/8/14 said there are still bed bugs.She said we can't come out because the law says so. Just go and sleep in another room. We have 2 bedrooms and that is a unacceptable answer and is insulting. We want a complete treatment to rid the bug problem now! We are senior citizens and on limited income,

Desired Settlement
We want the bed bugs problem eliminated .once and for all.My wife has been bitten and this is wrong to the law says, that they can't come out and fix the problem. Fix the problem and apologize for rudeness and a misconstruing follow upping of a nonexistent law. No matter the times to fix the problem come and get rid of the bed bugs.

Business Response
Homeowner initially contacted us the first week of August about their bed bug issues. On each occasion we discussed the price of the treatment and the process involved. We told the homeowner that bed bugs are difficult to get rid of and take time. The average bed bug treatment takes between 4 and 6 months. The reason this procedure takes time is due to a couple of factors. 1. Bed bugs can go up to three months between feedings. This allows them to move away from the beds and into surrounding furniture and walls to live and nest. During each treatment, there is a small percentage of active bed bugs that can be reached. We explain this to every customer and let them know we will need to treat the home each month untill 30 days pass with no active bed bug sightings.At no point before the treatment, during the treatment,or after the treatment were we rude with this explanation.Our initial appointment was for 8/6/2014. When we arrived to treat the house, there was no one home.We rescheduled for 8/7/2014 and completed the initial treatment. Once again, we explained to the husband that this treatment is a process that will take 4 to 6 months. We also explained to him and every other customer that they will continue to have e bed bugs untill the entire process is completed.When the husband called to request that we come back out and retreat the house the next day, we explained to him that federal law does not allow us to treat houses with chemicals on a daily basis. This is done to provide safety for homeowners. When he complained that they still had bed bugs, we suggested that they move to a room that was not infested. And, once again, we explained that this would not be a quick process. We are at various stages of bed bug work on several homes currently, and begin new ones almost every week. These homeowners seem to be the only ones that do not understand the instructions and directions we gave them. Bed bugs are becoming a nation wide epidemic precisely because they are difficult and time consuming to eliminate. We treated the entire house while we were there. However, for safety reasons, we cannot treat their clothing, inside their clothing drawers, or inside their walls. In fact, some experts actually suggest throwing furniture away once it has become infested. However, our experience with bed bugs is that treatment done on a monthly basis over a period of 4 to 6 months normally solves the problem. There are exceptions to these time lines depending on the severity of the infestation. Once again, all of this was explained before we began the first treatment.I was present for all conversations as well.

Thank You



Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1988Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pest Control Board, Texas Structural
1106 Clayton Lane Suite 100LW
Austin, TX78723-1066
(512) 305-8250
http://www.spcb.capnet.state.tx.us

Agriculture, Texas Dept. of
P O Box 12847 Capitol Station/9th Fl.SFA St OfcBld
Austin,, TX78711
(877) 542-2474
http://www.agr.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Busby (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Rid X Pest Control, Inc
Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rid-X Termite & Pest Control, LP

12888 Highway 155 S

Tyler, TX 75703-6539

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12888 Highway 155 S 

    Tyler, TX 75703-6539(903) 509-9663

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rid-X Termite & Pest Control, LP is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 992-7439
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.