BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1986

East Texas Vision Center

Phone: (903) 593-2109Fax: (903) 593-4799

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I ordered no single vision glasses to play to wear while I play golf.
My glasses are no line bifocals. I order single vision glasses for the purpose of playing golf.
I took my old golf glasses in at the time I order the glasses and told the young lady that I wanted the same type of glasses. When I received the glasses the were no line bifocals. Which they had charged me for the no line bifocals. I returned the glasses and told the office manger that I could not wear them to play golf. They sent the glasses back and I received the correct glasses. But when I ask about the difference in price of the glasses I was informed that since they had to send the glasses back the price was the same. In other words they are charging me for their mistake.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@easttexasvisioncenter.net
After reviewing Mr ********* case, The owner has agreed to refund the patient $162.75. Although it is the policy of this office that " We do not refund cost difference when a patient chooses to make changes to glasses after they have been made." The employee who worked with this patient admits there was some confusion with this patient and what he was wanting. I have left a message on the answering machine for Mr ********** We are processing a refund check for him at this time.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Safety glasses ordered on 8/26/2013, they never called, on 9/13/2013 went to pick up, order wrong. Haven't fixed, or delivered & won't refund money.
Safety glasses ordered on 8/26/13. Never received a call that they were ready, had to keep checking. Went to pick up on 9/13 and the order was incorrect, the bifocal were cut too low & impossible to use. I showed her my regular bifocals to compare the cut and there was a major difference. At that point she tried to get me to take them home and that maybe I would 'get used to it'. I told her that was not what I ordered, that I could not see out of them properly and these were supposed to be safety glasses so them not functioning properly is a health hazard. Salesperson remeasured claiming they would send them to be fixed. Called on Thurs 9/19 3 times starting at 12:45 and no answer. Went in person 9/20 and they still had not even sent the incorrect glasses to be redone. Salesperson tried to give me the same incorrect order, it even had the markings on them the prior worker put there when we remeasured to make corrections. At this time after a month period of failing to deliver the correct order I asked for a refund. Even though I had paid in cash and had my paperwork they have refused to give me my refund until an addition week has passed. I see no legal reason for them to withhold my cash payment from a month ago when they have not given me what I ordered or made the effort to correct their mistake.

Initial Business Response
We have a refund check ready for Mr. ******** at our office. I left a message on his cell phone this morning. Mr ******** was in our office 8/26/2013 to purchase safety glasses.Ten (10) days later they were received by our office. Mr. ******** came into our office on Sept. 6 to pick them up. He was not happy with the seg. height. The lab was notified to start a remake the following Monday. The patient came in Sept 27 looking for his glasses again. They had not made it back to my office. Mr ******** asked for a cash refund. I explained that it was the policy of East Texas Vision Center to refund cash purchases by check only. The only cash in the office is what has been received for that days purchases.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/04/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: It has taken almost a month to get my sons glasses because the company ordered them wrong and I have got the run around for almost a month.
We ordered my sons glasses on March 9th, they came in two weeks later on the 23rd. Instead of regular glasses, they ordered him sunglasses. Instead of apologizing, they tried to convince me to take the sunglasses. After I refused, telling them my son needed regular glasses, they reluctantly reordered them and told me it would be another 7-10 business day for us to get them back. All the while, my son is having to go without his glasses. I finally called yesterday and asked if his glasses were back. They told me no, that they were still at the lab being bleached! The lady told me that they were trying to get them as clear as possible, but they were not sure if it would be completely clear or not. I asked why the were not simply remade instead of bleaching them. The first person I was speaking to would not tell me. She kept trying to say that she would get her manager to call me back. I had already been waiting on someone to call me and they NEVER return my phone calls! They didn't even call me when the glasses came in. I had to call to find out. When I persisted asking questions about when my sons glasses were actually reordered, the lady put me on hold and got her manager. When the manager got on the phone, she told me that they were trying to contact the lab to see how much longer it would be. I explained my frustration and she seemed very annoyed that I was actually expecting my sons glasses in a timely manner. When I repeated my question about why they were being bleached and not reordered, she said that they had decided against that option because they did not want any extra cost. Her employee ordered the glasses wrong. We never wanted tint on the glasses and when the person was writing the orders down, she seemed very tired and she kept saying she was ready for lunch. Another girl had to relieve her midway through the ordering process. Anyway, I told the manager that bearing the cost of her employees mistakes is part of the responsibility of the business. I asked if she could have them overnighted so my son could have his glasses today. She said she would call the lab and get them sent to the shop. I called today and they said they have not came in yet, so we will see if they actually come through with them or not.

Business' Initial Response
Patient ************ was in 03/09/2012 to order glasses. The glasse were sent to our lab in the Dallas Metroplex. The glasses were returned to us on 03/20/2012, a couple of days later when the patients mother came in to pick up, we were informed that the glasses had been ordered incorrectly. ETVC returned the lens to our lab on 03/26/2012 to have tint removed from them. On 4/5/12 the glasses were dispensed to the mother so that the child could have glasses to wear during testing at school, we were aware that the Rx in the glasses need to be changed due to a Rx error, the mother also knew. On 04/20/2012 the final lens were dispensed to patient, with all corrections complete. At ETVC we strive to have glasses completed for the patients in 10 to 21 Business days, due to human error this was not the case for ************. We are greatly sorry for this inconvience to the patient and his family. The employee that worked with the patient on the original date has been informed of the error and it has been explained that we have to give 110% to every patient.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Optometrists, Optical Goods - Retail, Contact Lenses

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.