BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sav-On-Movin

Phone: (800) 322-6896Fax: (903) 595-0507812 W 26th St, TylerTX 75702-1942

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Sav-On-Movin is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Sav-On-Movin's rating include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Sav-On-Movin's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sav-On-Movin

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this company literally dropped entertainment center for brand new bedroom suit- left job and never told me that they had destroyed- I called and dee started screaming over phone when I asked for insurance information- one of the drivers called back and said they would pick up and attempt to repair the next day- 2 weeks and no show. called dee again this morning and she said company would not repair furniture-have brand new $ 700.00 entertainment center that has crushed leg- cannot repair because leg is shattered- was called "cracker" and multiple profanities during conversationintend to pursue no matter what cost it
Product_Or_Service: august 2011

Desired Settlement
replace coaster brand entertainment center that was destroyed.- cannot be repaired because leg is literally shattered and it will never hold up to weight of furnitureneed either $$ to replace or they can go to Dallas and get new one from Coaster Furniture dealer

Business Response
Monday September 23. 2013

On September 3, 2013, Tuesday us Sav-On-Movin moved Mrs. * * after we completed her move she called the office and said we had damaged some furniture, I immdiatly told her I will call her right back she responded OK. I hung up with her contacted the same crew that had just left her residence and told them to turn around and go back to pick up the damaged item that the customer said you just damaged. The crew knows that on ever move before they touch any item they are to observe everything for cracks, scratches, breaks any kind of damage that already there. The crew said that damage was already there but we never argue with the customer so they went back to the Grimes residence. I called Mrs.* back with in 5 to 10 minutes. I asked her to send the damage furniture and we would take care, get it fixed she said, "no, they can't take this item, I need it here for now", so" I responded "will n/am s-o-m, we will need the item to fix it and she said OK. I will call you when I'm ready". So the crew left. I never heard from Mrs. * again. Monday September 16, 2013 we received an early morning phone call from a very rustic gentleman saying he was Mr. *. I answered the phone saying s-o-m in a indoor voice like I speak 7 days a week 24/7, good Morning Sav-On-Movein may I help you Mr. * responded in a very loud and rude tone and just started yelling at me saying "your company damaged our furniture and it's been two weeks, and no one has called us back." I waited for him to stop yelling at me and I responded "Sir I was waiting on Mrs. * to contact the office and to let us know when we can pick up the item ". He started yelling at me and started to use multiple profanities toward me, "he responded we had a furniture guy come out and we were told by him, it can't be fixed and we won't our money." No amount was given at the time. I responded by saying, well sir we have our own furniture store that check out the damage and let us know if it can be repaired. Mr. * immediately became more raging and started to yell, use very hurtful profanity and very hurtful racial remarks against me. I tried to speak with him and calm him down but he got louder and louder and we are a Christian Company I wasn't going to act like that as well so I hung up. Sav-On-Movin has been in business for 15 year and we stave to do a good job and keep our good reputation. We would never try to over charge any customer by destroying there property... Thank you for your time and patience, if you need anymore information please feel free to contact the office, Have a" Blessed Day"

10/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sav-On has moved me many times and always been great. I was overcharged this time though and they did not seem interested in listening or correcting.
We recently rented an apartment for 6 months while our new house was under construction. Sav-On moved me into that new home on Oct. 4. They arrived at 7:50 am and were finished at 10:30 am. I was notified of the extra charge for stairs (which was fine) and I was informed that my Tempurpedic bed would be an additional charge due to its weight (again...fine). My bill for the move, however, was $1055. I argued with the worker about the extra charges and he said they were "newly instituted." It was a Saturday and I didn't feel that I had any option at that time other than to pay the bill and speak to management later. However, when I called the company the woman answering the phone simply said that I'd signed the contract and the check had been cashed. She seemed irritated that I called and said by signing the contract I had agreed to the terms. This is not so. The workers insist that you sign the contract when they arrive. Yet, when they bring the bill to be paid they've written in by hand lots of additional charges for these "heavy items" that anyone would consider to be normal household goods. An additional charge to move a washer? A filing cabinet? REALLY? One guy stuck a dolly under these things and off he went. Again, the only item I was notified about being an extra charge was the heavy bed. It literally cost me $365 to move into the apartment and $1055 (plus a $120 tip) to move out six months later and I had less stuff moving out as we'd given away our living room furniture prior to the move. The list of so called heavy items is totally illegible. Please explain how 2.5 hours cost me $1055?? I calculate 3 hours of time (at $85 each), some stairs (3 at the apartment and 19 at the new house) at $75 and the one heavy item. I'm not sure what the charge for that one heavy item should be but even if it's an extra $100 the total would be $430--you can see that I was grossly overcharged.

Desired Settlement
I have no ill will against this company. The workers were friendly (although they mentioned how much they'd appreciate a nice tip a couple times which was awkward) and I was able to joke with one about how his brother had moved me in the past. (We've bought and sold homes several times.) I just want my bill to be reevaluated and I want to receive some type of refund. I can't make sense of the handwriting and how the extra charges were calculated but again, I have explained fully what I was told I would be charged.

Business Response
10-14-2014

Mrs.* called me several days later after her move. She said she had a question about her move. I responded by saying "what is the question Mam"? She never really asked complete question pertaining to her bill. I was never irritated toward her. Every time she stated in her complaint was never mentioned to me. She was given a complete quote and the crew itemized every item she was charged for. Before she paid the crew, she knew what she was being billed for. I don't think any customer would tip a company if they thought they were being over-charged!!! No refund will be made!!!

Thank you


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was never given a complete quote. As I stated, the items I was charged extra for were written in AFTER all of the work was completed. I tipped the WORKERS because they worked hard and were polite. My issue is with what I was charged for. I'm not sure what it means to say that I never asked a complete question about my bill...I questioned the extra charges and was basically told that I'd paid it and the check had been cashed. Saying that they itemized every item is ridiculous. No one could possibly read what is handwritten on the bill. I tried to find the owner of the company to speak to, but have been unsuccessful. I will give up on my complaint now, but it's a shame. I work for a company who uses them a lot and I've used them myself quite a few times. Hate that I can no longer recommend them to others.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged furniture when moving my belongings.
On July 19th Sav on Moving, moved my belongings. IN the process the legs on my TV cabinet where broken and damage to the bottom shelf. I contacted the company owner and was told she would look into it. After a few weeks and no return phone call, I called back and was told that her workers stated I had told them that it was already damaged. I did no such thing, I didn't even notice it was damaged til after the workers left. The furniture in question is not even a year old. After several calls to this business the issue is still unresolved. The owner told me she would talk to her workers and let me know something. As to date I still haven't heard from her. I paid this company $600.00 to move approximately 25 pieces of furniture.

Desired Settlement
I want my TV cabinet replaced. I have receipts to prove what I paid for it.

Business Response
The statement that Mrs. * made was very un-true. On every move my guys do a walk through to check for any heavy items and damaged furniture already before we start the move. The damaged items were already damaged before we even started to load the items. My guys addressed these damaged to Mrs. * and she told them the damages were already there. We always take pictures also. A few weeks later Mrs. * contacted me and said we damaged some of her items. I asked her to send me pictures. I showed the pictures to the crew and they all immediately recognized the furniture and the damage and responded by saying that lady Mrs.* already knew about those damaged when we showed her she responded back by saying she already knew about them. My lead guy on the truck called her from here at the office and repeated back to her what she told the crew about already knowing about the damage all 4 workers were witness to her saying that. No furniture will be replaced/repaired at this time by Sav-On-Moving . We were not at fault. No several phone calls were made to my business.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted the owner on the day of the move before her workers ever got back to the company, not a few weeks later. My daughter and son-in-law where present at the move, as we were placing the furniture in question is when we noticed the damage. I never told the workers that the furniture in question was damaged because it wasn't, it was a new piece of furniture. It is untrue that the lead guy called me because he did not, I was told by the owner that she would call when her crew got back and we would do a conference call, but that never took place. Yes there were several calls made to her business concerning this matter by me with no response. There were no pictures of the furniture taken prior to the move by the moving company, I took pictures of the damage and sent to the company owner. All of the statements made in the reply were lies except for the statement that I sent her pictures of the damaged furniture. I am not satisfied with this company response due to the fact that it is all lies, but if the owner can live with a good conscience over this matter, so can I but with that being said I will not recommend them to anyone and will inform potential customers not to hire them. This company doesn't care about their customers and is dishonest. Sav-on-moving is at fault.

Final Business Response
9-26-2014

I'm going to respond in a very professional, truthful, response.

Everything Mrs.8 said except for sending me pictures were truly not true. I'm sorry she feels this way about our company but that's her choice and conscience. Sav-On-Moving is not at fault for anything. God Bless Mrs. *.

Thank you,

08/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcharged for "Heavy Items" and stairs.
I hired Sav On Moving to move my daughter from one location @8 miles Southwest of Tyler to a location in south Tyler just inside Loop 323. I was charged way more than I was told by the woman that set up the move on the phone.

The woman at Sav On Moving told me that they charge $$$$ per hour with a 2 hour minimum. She also told me that there was an extra charge for stairs of $$$$ and an additional charge for heavy items. When I ask how much for the heavy items, she could not tell me. That would have to be determined at the time of the move by the movers. I then told her that there were 3 or 4 steps into both houses and the heaviest item in the house was the refrigerator. The woman then told me that there would not be a stairs charge since there were only 3 or 4 steps and there would not be a heavy item charge if nothing was heavier than the refrigerator.

I was charged a stairs charge of $$$$ and 3 heavy item charges of $$$$ each for a total of $$$$ for "Extra Items". I was not there at the time so my wife made the payment for invoice from Sav On Moving in the amount of $$$$. She then called me to say that the charge was much higher than she anticipated. I asked her to read me the invoice and it detailed $$$ per hour for 3.5 hours, a stairs charge of $$$$ and heavy items charge of $$$$.

I then called the woman at Sav On Moving again to inquire about the charges. She said that she would have to talk to the movers to find out what the other charges were for. Immediately, I got a call from one of the movers to explain the additional charges. He stated that there was a stairs charge for the steps(which I was told there would not be one for 3-4 steps) and three $$$ charges for heavy items. I asked what items and he told me a dresser and a bed and a sofa. He never mentioned the refrigerator. When I told him that was the heaviest thing in the house and that I was told there will not be a heavy item charge for anything heavier than the refrigerator he stated that "well it took two guys to move those other 3 pieces of furniture and we charge a heavy item charge if it takes two guys to move". That is not what I was told. And why do they bring 4 men to do the moving?

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a refund of the $$$$ for extra charges that were falsely charged.

Business Response
8-18-2014

We did successfully once again make a move for customer on , in Tyler. This wasn't the first time he has used our service. There was absolutely no "Over Charge" for anything. When customer called to get on my books, he was told partly what he stated. He was also told like everybody daily who calls for a quote, if you have stairs or steps, we do charge extra for that. If it's 4 or more, we charge a onetime fee of $$$$. If it's less than 4, we don't. He had 4 steps therefore there is where the $$$$ charge came in.
When we quote heavy items over the phone, we can't visualize every heavy items so we let the workers do a complete walk through and determine if there is heavy items. If so they point them out right then and give the customer the price and it's up to the customer if we move the items or not. Mrs. agreed and signed the contract. After the move she called about the move. He called me about extra charge I immediately had the head crew person call him and explain once again what he was charged for the conversation ended with him saying he understood. There will be no refund of anything. If you assumed we over charged you or our service wasn't good then why call and use us again???


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Business response is a complete untruth. When I called to st up the move, I was told that "there would be no stairs charge for 3 or 4 steps". I was also told "if nothing weighs more than the refrigerator, there would not be any additional charges". And I never said that I "understood". I directly said "whatever?".

As far as quoting the "heavy item" charges, that was never done. One of the movers walked through the house with my wife. She pointed out the items that were to be moved. He said OK. A few minutes later he asked my wife to sign the contract. Not one single word was ever, ever said about extra charges for "heavy items". There was never a question of whether to move the items or not.

I will never use this company again. Some of their tactics for extra charges are false and are not directly communicated to the customer. Seems they just charge what they want to after the move without any discussion. One hand does not know what the other is doing.

I am still requesting a refund for the $$$$ that I was overcharged.

05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our new wood floor was damaged to the extent that planks need to be replaced.
Save-On-Movin moved us into our home on 3/26/14. A wood floor was installed in the den/kitchen after the previous owner moved out and we moved in. The men brought in the buffet still wrapped in blankets and placed it in the den. I told them that went in the dining room and the TV credenza was going there. They insisted that the piece was right, but sure enough the other guys were bringing in the other piece of furniture and they had to switch them out. The damage was in that very spot. It is a dark wood floor and the scratch is down to the bare wood. The entire scratch extends 26". They never called it to our attention, but instead placed the long Tv box over it. They finished the job, we tipped them and bought them lunch. We offered to let them sit down and eat but they insisted on leaving. Later when my husband moved the TV box we couldn't believe it. They also scratched our master headboard but claimed it was already there. They showed it to me when it was already on the truck with no blankets, shrink wrap or anything. My new kitchen chairs were also on the truck unprotected. When I asked about it, they said they did not bring enough blankets. In addition, I discovered after they left that we had been overcharged by $60. We had five men at $95 an hour plus $260 in extra charges for heavy pieces and steps. That comes to $735 and they billed us for $795. I do not know if this was intentional or simply a math error. In the end, we were most concerned about the floor. I called the next day and sent pictures. I was told one of the movers would call me after his job on 3/27. He never called. I made several attempts to follow up with the company through texts and phone calls/messages on cell phone and the land line. I left word that the repairs would cost $175 and I had the wood left over from the install. I even offered to try to repair the headboard myself and did not even bring up the $60 overcharge. All I was asking for was for them to do the right thing and fix the floor. They finally called me back on 4/29/14, over a month later to tell me the guys said they did not do it and it was their word against mine and they would only pay half. I told the secretary that was unacceptable and I asked to speak to the owner and she denied that request. I am incredibly disappointed in this company and the way this has been handled. I am expecting to receive the full repair amount.

Desired Settlement
I would appreciate all three issues being addressed, but I am actively perusing the $175 for the floor repairs.

Business Response
I Sav-On_Moving am responding back to you. Let me start out by saying once the crew arrive at the move, before they start to make anything they do a complete walk through to gether pointing out the heavy items and checking all furniture for damages up front to let the customer know up front before they start the move. The crew spotted the already scratched on Mrs. * headboard and they immediately took pictures and showed Mrs. * the scratches and she agreed that they were already there. My crew was very professional. Mrs. * was never over charged $60.00 because she knew up front what her heavy items and steps would cost up front and was a half a day more. That's why she never mentioned a over charge of $60.00 and other extra charges for these so-call other damages because there were none. The guys moved the buffet into the house like she said still wrapped up like it's suppose to be. Mrs. 8 told them to put in one spot but decided she wanted it some where else, the crew was busy moving other items so the *'s took it upon their selves to move it across the floor and scratched up their floor. The crew sat there and witnessed this and took pictures of the floor as well. About a month later Mrs. * contacted the office and said she was just now calling because she had been in a accident. I told her I was glad to hear that she was OK. She mentioned the floor and I reminded her about the floor and I reminded her about the pictures the guys sent me and they witnessed her and Mr. * doing the damage to their floor. She got very out-rage by telling her they would pay half of the damage bill, and she didn't want that. We tried to work with her but she was in a rage so I told her God bless you after she said well I will just file a complaint with the BBB, so God Bless you Mrs. *.

Thank you,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The men in fact do point out scratches which I certainly understand. However, the scratch in question on the headboard was not pointed out to me until the headboard was already on the truck with no blankets or shrink wrap. I pointed out other scratches I knew where there, but not the new one on the top. I was told upfront about the extra charges of $260. When they gave me the total, I wrote a check. It was after they left that I added $260 to $475 (5 men x 95/hr)which equals $735. They charged me $795. As to the wood floor, they put the buffet in the den where the wood floor is. I told them that piece went into the dining room. They insisted they were right but then two others brought in the piece that was supposed to go there. They made they switch using furniture dollies. My husband and I DID NOT move this furniture. These were pieces we were charged extra for because they were heavy. We were busy doing other things. If they did happen to take pictures of the floor, they never pointed it out to us, but instead put a box over the scratch. The movers were the only ones who moved furniture in that room where the wood floor is. I did not wait a month, but called the next morning and sent pictures at her request. I have phone records. After two plus weeks of not hearing from the company, I sent her a text saying I was in an accident and was just now calling to get an estimate on the repairs. I had told her earlier that I was going to do that. I have phone records from several attempts to contact SOM beginning the morning after the move. I have been extremely patient and professional. I was never in a rage but I did tell her for them to pay half the repairs was unacceptable and asked to speak to the owner. She would not let me.She told me I could file a complaint and it would get sent to her insurance. This has been a very frustrating experience and I am very upset about her response. The statement that the men saw us move the furniture in question ourselves is completely false. I called her the day I received her response to politely discuss it with her and when I told her who I was and why I was calling, she hung up on me. Considering the way they have handled this, I guess I should not be surprised. In summary, I told her in one of the earlier text messages that I would try to fix the headboard myself. I had wood planks left over from when the floor was installed so I was trying to keep their repair cost to a minimum. The floor is new and Save on Movin was the only people that have moved furniture in that room. The rest of the furniture is still on order. I am asking for the entire $175 for the repairs because Save On Movin is entirely responsible. I have others who will testify to the fact that the scratch was not there prior to them moving furniture in that very spot. I understand accidents happen, but I am very upset that someone did it, covered it up and then lied about it. This should have been resolved immediately after it happened rather than finally getting a call several weeks later saying they did not do it and then getting response even later saying they saw us do it. Absolutely ludicrous!


























i

Final Business Response
5-12-2014

Mrs. Baker response was simply not true, we are an honest and professional business. No business is gone to just print out a customer a check just based on their word. We do investigate the complaint and we do what's right in the case of Mrs. Baker was not being truthful but we are still willing to pay half of the $175.00 that she is requesting.

Thank you,,


Final Consumer Response
I read the response and need to know where to go from here. The only investigation she did was ask her crew who denied it. She never responded to my calls, texts, picturesI am more than happy to have someone come see the damage. I know she was not here when it happened and is at the mercy of what her men tell her or don't tell her. I want to pursue this for the full amount of $175 because they are responsible for all the damage, not half of it. About a week or so after they moved us, I saw one of their trucks on our street. I don't know if her crew has our complaint confused with another customer, or if they are just not telling the truth. I called after her first response to see if this might be the case, but she hung up on me as soon as I told her who I was. Let me know if I need to come by your office with pictures, copies of texts, etc. I even made every effort to keep repair costs to a minimum for their sake and I am obviously very frustrated at their response. Thank you for your help. I have had difficulty sending this message, so I apologize if you receive it more than once.

04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I wasn't told the extra heavy charge up front like I was supposed to be and I will need to touch up paint where they left marks and scraped paint off.
On Friday March 7, 2014 I contacted Sav-On-Movin and spoke to a woman about moving a desk and credenza from an auction at Stemco to my office (both locations in Longview, TX). I was told that the charge would be $85/hour plus 1 hour travel time with a 2 hour minimum. I was also told that there would be an extra charge for heavy items. I asked her what the charge would be and was told that it could be $50 or $100 but that it depended on the weight and she couldn't tell me the exact amount. She said that the movers would tell me the charge when they looked at the desk before the move so I could decide if I wanted them to move the furniture or not. On Saturday, March 8, 2014 I asked the movers if the desk was considered extra heavy and if there would be an extra charge. They told me that there would be an extra charge but that they didn't know how much it would be until it was done. I asked how the extra charge was calculated and they said it was based on the weight but they couldn't tell me until it was moved. Having only heard $50 or $100 from the woman on the phone, I assumed the charge would be $100 at the most so I told them to go ahead. When the move was completed, I was given a bill for $497.50. The time listed was from 12:00pm to 1:21pm and, assuming they round that to the nearest half hour, that makes 1.5 hours of move time. Adding in the 1 hour travel time makes 2.5 hours, which would be $212.50. That means that the extra heavy charge was $285.00. When I asked the movers why the price was so high I was told that the office sets the prices and that they have nothing to do with it. I paid with my credit card and immediately called the office. When I spoke to the same woman on the phone I told her I needed an adjustment because I had no indication that the extra heavy charge would be so much and I would never have authorized that amount to move a desk that I bought for $50. I told her exactly what happened and when I told her that they referred me to the office she said "Oh really? That's not right because I have no idea of knowing how much that desk weighs and how much to charge." I said "I understand, but that's what they told me." She told me that she would speak to them when they returned from the job and call me back. I put my office back in order to find that the movers had not plugged my electronics back in correctly like they had said they would, they had scraped a chunk of paint about half the size of my palm off of my doorframe, and they had left scratch marks on the walls and the floor. I received no call on Saturday or Sunday. Monday morning I called back and left a message asking her to call me back. I received no call on Monday. Tuesday morning I called and left another message. She returned my call soon after that and asked me what my problem was. I reiterated to her what had happened on Saturday with the extra heavy charge and told her that I needed an adjustment on my bill. She told me that she spoke to the movers and that they all denied what I had said and that there was no reason for them not to give me the charge beforehand. I told her that I didn't know why they didn't tell me before but that my mother was there with me and that it happened exactly as I had told her. She said "I'm not calling you a liar but I'm not calling them liars either." I then told her that in addition to not being told the charge beforehand, I had found some damage to the paint in my office after I put everything back in order and that I had pictures to send her. She laughed at me and said "Oh is that right? I'm not giving you an adjustment." I said "Ok then you should know that I'm going to write several reviews about my experience with your company and" then she cut me off and said "Go ahead, there's probably plenty out there already." I began to say "Well then maybe you" and she cut me off again and said "I'm not giving you an adjustment, thank you, goodbye" and she hung up on me.

Desired Settlement
I am more than happy to pay for the 2.5 hours of time used to do the move, totaling $212.50. I would also be agreeable to paying $100 extra for the heavy desk since that is the highest amount that was mentioned to me prior to the move. That makes the total $312.50 leaving me refund due of $185. I also have pictures that I can send in showing the marks left on my wall that I will need to paint over and the chunk of paint scraped off my door frame that will need to be fixed. The damage is to two different paint colors and I expect it will cost me approximately $20 to get a quart of each color paint. I will do the touch-ups myself so I will not need to pay anyone to fix them but I would like Sav-On-Movin to reimburse me the money needed to buy the paint to do the touch-ups. That means I am requesting a total refund of $205 for the extra heavy charge and the paint needed to fix the damage to the walls and doorframe.

Business Response
3-24-2014
I Sav-On-Moving am responding back to you on # 28016141 Mrs. * * complaint. Mrs. 8 statement was incorrect.
When she called to get a quote she was given a complete quote but I never gave her a exact price, I told her the heavy pieces could price from $50.00 on up. I never said $100.00. Like she mentioned in her statement, she said she assumed the price to be $100.00. That's what she wanted her price to be. I'm sorry but it just don't work that way where the customers can make the bill to what they want it to be. Mrs. * failed to mention that she had more than 1 heavy item. The workers always do a walk through before they start the move and let the customers know what's goner be heavy and extra and the price o gets up front so the customer's can decide if they want us to move the item or not. Mrs. * knew what her total was goner be and she told the movers to go ahead because she couldn't do it herself. The movers never told her that they couldn't give her a price that only the office does that. We train the workers to determine the price of extra heavy items based on what it is and the weight of it. When I asked the workers did they say that to Mrs.* or any other customers, they said no that, that was observe and we would never do something so unprofessional. They said that Mrs. *and her mother both was very rude to them throughout the entire move. After going over the itemized bill with the workers, Mrs. * agreed to the amount of the total of $497.50, signed the contract which is also the receipt and gave the workers her Credit Card information to pay her total. Once the guys had left, Mrs. * called the office with a terrible attitude and said she demanded that I give her some of her money back now. I asked her what was wrong, she responded that she didn't want to pay her total. I told her let me talk to the guys and I will call you back. I called her back within a hour that same day. I told her what the guys had said and she got louder and started screaming at me and called all the guys all liers and once again she demanded some of her money back or she was gone call the "BBB" and get on her computer and say bad things about this company. To me that's a threat and not a professional way to handle a situation especially when you are the one that's in the wrong. I responded and said Mrs. * I'm sorry that y9u feel that way but if that's what you choose to do then God Bless you!!! She hung up on me. Mrs. * never mentioned anything about walls scraped and the movers said they were never asked to plug back up anything at all. They will be no reimbursement made. God Bless You...
I just don't know why customers think that they can call the "BBB" and tell them anything and that makes it right, we are human and we are fair we have a say about this as well and the only response we want to give is the truth.

Thank You,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To say that I am unsatisfied with Sav-On-Movin's response would be a great understatement. However, it appears that my complaint will probably not be resolved in this forum as this has become basically my word against the business. I did not know going into this transaction that I should have recorded all of my interactions with this business but I highly recommend any future customers do so. My original statement was the truth and it is repulsive to me that a legitimate complaint would be met with outright lies about a customer and attacks on my character. I would never have acted in the manner that Sav-On-Movin is alleging and I am offended that they would go to such lengths to avoid settling my dispute. While most of my statement cannot be proven because my mother was my only witness, I would like to point out that there would be no reason for me to assume that the charge would be $100.00 if the movers actually told me the price ahead of time like they were supposed to. If I were given the exact amount, as Sav-On-Movin is alleging, there would be no room for assumptions and no reason for Sav-On-Movin to agree that I assumed that $100.00 would be the price. Also, as stated previously, the movers told me the desk was extra heavy but would not tell me the charge. They did not say anything else about any other pieces being considered heavy. If they had told me the other pieces were considered heavy I would have known that something was wrong with their billing because the only other pieces I had were a credenza and a piece of glass for the top of the desk and both of these pieces were moved by my mother and myself after the movers left to clean them and put them in the right position. Again, I was not told the price ahead of time and if I had been told the price I would have told them not to move the furniture for me because I did have other options. I could have had family members move the furniture for me or I could have contacted another moving company for a more reasonable price. While it is true that I cannot move an entire desk by myself, Sav-On-Movin was not the only group of people in the city capable of moving the furniture for me. For them to assume that I would pay an outrageous price for their services out of necessity is incorrect. Simply put, I contracted with them for a service because it was more convenient for my family to not have to do it, not because it was necessary, and the price they charged me negates the convenience of having a company perform the move. Finally, the lies said about me in this statement are not only offensive, but also completely uncalled for. Neither my mother, nor I, would ever be rude to someone performing a service for me. I am a professional woman who deals with other businesses regularly and would never put my career in jeopardy by behaving in the way that Sav-On-Movin is alleging. I would also like to point out that when I spoke to Sav-On-Movin on the phone on Tuesday, not on Saturday as they allege, I was in my office and had clients in the next room. Any screaming would have been heard by my office manager or my employer and I assure you, I would not still be working in that office at this time if I ever acted in such an unprofessional manner. Finally, I would like to point out that I never hung up on anyone at Sav-On-Movin and it doesn't make sense that I would because that would not help me get my dispute resolved. I would much rather have had all of this worked out between the company and myself and not have had to go to a third party to intervene. This has taken a great deal of my energy that would have been better spent serving my own clients. While the majority of what I have said cannot be proven in this forum, I would like to state that I am more than happy to get a statement from my mother regarding the interaction and I am also more than happy to provide my phone records showing the timeline of calls as I originally stated. Although phone records will not show what was said or how the interaction progressed, at least it will show that Sav-On-Movin is being untruthful with the BBB about how this matter transpired and perhaps it will be enough to show that they are intentionally trying not to resolve this dispute. I would like to reiterate that everything in my first statement was an honest description of my interaction with this company and I am very unsatisfied with their response to my efforts to resolve this issue. I feel that my time is very valuable and am disappointed to see that this company does not agree and is willing to waste my time with outright dishonesty. I hope that in the very least this company will learn from this mistake, because they know the truth of what happened, and hopefully they will not treat any future customers in the manner that they have treated me. Thank you very much for your assistance. Please let me know if any additional information is needed to conclude this matter.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/31/2001Business started: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

TxDOT Texas Department of Transportation
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX78701
(800) 299-1700
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

BBB records show a license number of 006295727C for this company, issued by TxDOT Texas Department of Transportation. Their web address is http://www.dot.state.tx.us.

Type: TxDot-Motor Carriers Movers

Check License Status: http://www.dot.state.tx.us/apps/mccs/mccs search.asp006295727C

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stanley Lamar Smith (Owner)
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sav-On-Movin

812 W 26th St

Tyler, TX 75702-1942

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 812 W 26th St 

    Tyler, TX 75702-1942(800) 322-6896

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sav-On-Movin is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Movers

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.