BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

J A Haralson Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (903) 757-3244Fax: (903) 753-0012View Additional Phone Numbers202 N 6th St, LongviewTX 75601-6531

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

J A Haralson Moving & Storage, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised J A Haralson Moving & Storage, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on J A Haralson Moving & Storage, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October 24th or 25th, we had Jim Haralson, in the Longview, Texas area come to our home to give us an estimate on our move to Florida. We had everything packed ourselves except for dry food in the pantry and a few last minute items. Not much furniture was being moved, as the house we were going to was already furnished. On Oct. 27, we received an e-mail from Lynn and Jim Haralson with an estimate of the costs (attached). We didn't even have another estimate as theirs was very favorable - 3500 lbs at a price of $2852.49. Mr. Haralson, himself, did the estimate and was told everything which needed to be moved. Of course, we knew that there could be slightly under or over on the weight and charges. Their people were supposed to come and load on Nov. 11, but didn't come until Nov. 12. We had our closing on our house Nov. 14. After the closing, we left Texas and were on our way to Florida when we received a call from Mrs. Haralson telling us our weight was over 7000 lbs and the cost of our moving charges had increased to over $5000.00. Shocked is an understatement! Your truck had our "stuff" and we were on the road and no home to take it back to. As you can see, we were between a rock and a hard place. We had no choice but to pay or not be able to receive our belongings. This is a classic example of a "bait and switch" scheme as far as we are concerning and we intend to tell everyone we know, including filing a complaint with the Longview BBB, what happened to use and discourage anyone from using their services. The story does not end there. It takes time to go through the boxes and unpack and put things away. In doing so, we have some important valuables missing. I am a coin collector and a small box with my presidential "gold-colored" dollar coins were in none of the boxes we received. Apparently, when our belongings were repacked, someone helped themselves to the small box which held these coins. Most of my coins were brought by us, but that one small box inadvertently we packed with other items. A list of the missing coins is attached. That is the only thing we know definitely that is missing. Your employee and his co-worker did an excellent job when delivering our items. We must commend them on their efficiency in doing a fine job. We are looking forward to your contacting us concerning my missing items.
Missing rolls of Presidential Dollars
Washington - Philadelphia & Denver)
Adams - "
Jefferson - " 12 rolls
Madison - " 25 coins per
Monroe - " roll = $300
Adams - " in missing coins
Tyler - "

Apparently stolen when "re-packing" our possessions by whomever was involved with this process. Presidential "gold colored" dollar coins @ $25.00 per roll.

Business' Initial Response
In reviewing the move of customer to FL we find that there is a discrepancy between what we estimated and what we shipped. Our estimate contained 63 items and the day the shipment was loaded we inventoried 181, which will compensate for the increase in weight and therefore an increase in cost. As far as the coins that are referred to as missing we did not repack any items that the customer had packed and at the time the shipment was picked up customer signed a document stating the carrier would not be responsible for coins. By customers' own statement they reported in closing their complaint that they received a good move.

Consumer's Final Response
We sent a second letter saying that we found the coins in a small box that we had moved ourselves. The move was a very good move. The estimate for the move was $2850.00. The price (after we left Longview to go to Fla) was $5100.00. This is 91% over the estimate. The owner of the business was the person who made the estimate. He looked at everything to be moved. I realize nothing will come from this, but is this a common event with these people? Is it an honest mistake or a "bait & switch" situation?

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/03/1987Business started: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

J A Haralson Moving & Storage, Inc. is a Franchise business of Franchisor North American Van Lines

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Haralson (Vice President/Gen. Manager)
Related Businesses
J A Haralson Moving & Storage, Inc. is a Franchise business of Franchisor North American Van Lines.
Business Category

Movers

Products & Services

This company offers moving services.

Alternate Business Names
Haralson Moving & Storage, J A, North American Van Lines
Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for J A Haralson Moving & Storage, Inc.

202 N 6th St

Longview, TX 75601-6531

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*J A Haralson Moving & Storage, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 422-1873
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.