BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1993

Petty's Irrigation & Landscape

Phone: (903) 561-0321Fax: (903) 561-7494View Additional Phone Numbers14200 FM 2964, TylerTX 75709 Send email to Petty's Irrigation & Landscape

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1993

BBB has determined that Petty's Irrigation & Landscape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Petty's Irrigation & Landscape's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Petty's Irrigation & Landscape

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/03/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Petty's Irrigation was asked to come out because my sprinkler system only had two zones out of seven that were operating and I had several head leaks
Petty arrived on Thursday the 12th of July to repair my system. I only had two zones that were operable along with several leaking heads. The service tech was here for 2 hrs & 15min for a TOTAL of $400. He replaced several heads that were leaking and 2 of the main 4 valves that allow the system to work each zone. After the tech left I ran the system to ensure it was working, I then noticed a single water head that was shooting straight in the air about 3ft. This was a head in one of the main zones that would not operate at all. I called Petty's back and the lady "owner" I believe then told me I could come to there location and BUY he pieces needed to fix it. I let her know I was not happy about this considering I just spent $400 to fix the system. After speaking with her she rudely said that she would send the tech back out to fix it the following Monday. I left town Tuesday morning, when I arrived back at 2pm Wednesday The system was on. It had been running since 7am that morning which is the time inwhich I had it scheduled to come on. I called the lady back and told her how long my system had been running and explained to her the issue. She stated that the company did not work on that zone and I would have to pay full price for another service. This is the issue, That zone is one of the main zones that I had them fix. They changed out the main valve to that zone, The two valve boxes in my yard were full of water. The water was pouring out of the valve that they replaced. She rudely told me it wasnt there problem and told me they were not going to fix anything unless I pay a normal rate and hung up on me.This is ridiculous. I paid this company $400 for them to fix my system and make it fully operational. All they did was mess it up more so than it was before they came. Non of those valves have ever leaked nor have I ever had to shut of the main sprinkler water line to the system for it to turn off. Companies like this should not be in business and do not know the definition of hospitality. They should have came back out and fixed the problem that created for no additional cost rather than tell me its my problem and hang up the phone. Outraged at the non-professionalism, rudness and unwillingness to stand by their work.

Desired Settlement
I want this company to come back out and fix the issue that they created. If it was clearly not something that was there fault I would not ask for them to fix it. I paid with my Discover card and If I have to call another company out to fix their mistake I'm seeking a refund for the amount charged to pay a better company where service/hospitality and their work means something rather than robbing someone.

Business' Initial Response
In reviewing the case involving customer, we have determined that the consumer has a valid complaint. Customer called our office for repairs on his very old sprinkler system. We repaired stations number three and number five. Approximately one week later, station number five (which had a newly replaced electric valve) failed. When customer talked to the staff at Petty's about his situation, he was misinformed and told that this number five electric valve that had just been replaced, had in fact not been replaced and, as such, was not covered under our standard service warranty. The customer believed that he was in fact talking to the owner; however, customer was not talking to the owner, he was talking to a staff member at Petty's irrigation.

Upon learning of the customer's complaint, I immediately reviewed the facts of the case. I determined that the right thing to do was to dispatch the service team to go and replace number five electric valve at no charge under the standard warranty terms of our service department . We learned upon replacing the valve that it did have a manufacturer's defect. As of July 26, number five electric valve has been replaced.

As the general manager of Petty's, I personally talked to customer. I have corrected the source of the problem internally. Customer is now completely satisfied with our response in the way we handled correctly replacing number five electric valve at no charge. Customer thanked me for calling him and says he is now happy with the resolution.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Irrigation Systems & Equipment, Landscape Designers, Landscape Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

TX Comm.on Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX75711-3087
(512) 239-1000
http://www.tceq.state.tx.us

Plumbing Examiners, State Board of
929 East 41st Street P O Box 4200
Austin, TX78765-4200
(512) 936-5200
http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us/license registration.asp

BBB records show a license number of LI0001710 for this company.

Type: Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Check License Status: http://www5.tceq.state.tx.us/oce/olwe LI0001710

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Myra Petty (Vice-President)Mr. Rick Carns (President)
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Irrigation Systems & Equipment, Landscape Designers, Landscape Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Petty's Lawn Sprinklers, Inc.
Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Petty's Irrigation & Landscape

14200 FM 2964

Tyler, TX 75709

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Petty's Irrigation & Landscape is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 258-9184
  • (903) 297-4483
  • (903) 534-4769
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.