BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/02/2012

Farm Bureau Insurance

Phone: (903) 596-0690Fax: (903) 596-079412208 State Highway 31 W, TylerTX 75709-4514 Send email to Farm Bureau Insurance

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/02/2012

BBB has determined that Farm Bureau Insurance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Farm Bureau Insurance's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Farm Bureau Insurance

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle was involved in an accident on 8/24/13 in Mineola & was rear ended by a Farm Bureau insured vehicle that was rear ended by a USAA vehicle.
On 8/24/13, my vehicle was involved in above described accident. My vehicle was stopped for another vehicle making a left hand turn, rear ended & thus not at fault. The Farm Bureau claim number is XXXXXX. Farm Bureau of Emory is the insurer & is represented by **** ****** but the adjuster was sent out of Tyler office & is represented by ****** ****** & ** ******** The third vehicle is insured by USAA & their claim number is XXXXXXX. USAA told me they have agreed to the percentage of liability that Farm Bureau wanted on Friday, 10/04/13. USAA also said that I should expect to hear from Farm Bureau the following week. I heard nothing from them until I emailed ****** ****** on Thursday, 10/10/13 & she replied saying she was waiting on USAA documentation & she would contact them. I have heard nothing else from her. On Friday, 10/18/13, I contacted USAA & the representative said they have sent all documentation & accepted the percent of liability as stated on the date of 10/04/13. On the same day, I contacted Brent Lumas (area manager for Farm Bureau) for the second time during this process & stated my concerns & frustrations to him & he assured me that I would have someone contact me on Monday, 10/21/13. On the night of 10/21/13, I logged on to the Farm Bureau web site on the "Contact Us" describing my concern & received an automated response from that site saying they would forward it to the claims department. As a reminder, today, 10/22/13 is the 59th day of this situation & it is not completed. I have also had to secure a rental car at my own expense becuase my job is outside sales & I have to provide my own transportation.

Desired Settlement
I desire that Farm Bureau settle this claim that has been agreed to by USAA (Farm Bureau is to pay for damages & USAA will in turn pay Farm Bureau 50% of my damages). My car only has liability insurance & I would expect that my monthly premiums be covered by the percent of liability as well. Also, both companies have stated they will pay for my rental car charges per the percentage of liability agreed upon between the two companies & will each pay the appropriate amount to cover rental cost which now exceed $1100.

Business Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Long Term Care, Insurance - Life, Insurance - Health, Insurance - Auto

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/18/2011Business started: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe / PO Box 149104
Austin, TX78714-9104
(800) 578-4677
http://www.texashealthoptions.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1995, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Trey Oden (Manager)
Business Category

Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Long Term Care, Insurance - Life, Insurance - Health, Insurance - Auto

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Farm Bureau Insurance

12208 State Highway 31 W

Tyler, TX 75709-4514

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12208 State Highway 31 W 

    Tyler, TX 75709-4514(903) 596-0690
    Fax: (903) 596-0794

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Farm Bureau Insurance is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Insurance - Homeowners

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.