BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2002

Carlyle Homes, Inc.

Phone: (903) 842-2387Fax: (903) 842-2332117 W Duval St, TroupTX 75789-2035 Send email to Carlyle Homes, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2002

BBB has determined that Carlyle Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carlyle Homes, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carlyle Homes, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/19/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Home is located at Tyler, TX XXXXX. Windows have leaked since 1st year. Have contacted builder several times in previous years. Trying to sell house now. Met with *********** and builder 4/29/13. All agreed windows leaked. *********** was going to do closer inspection. Haven't heard back from them. Not all windows leaked but all windows of same type leaked. *********** gave us a lifetime warranty. Also leaking balcony.

Desired Settlement
Replace windows that leak and any mold issues. Replace/repair leaking balcony.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CSM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***
Contact Email: ********@******.com
*************************** supplied the windows for the home built at *** ******* ********* **** Tyler TX. *********** was not responsible for the installation or perimeter sealing of the windows to the exterior of the home. We were contacted by the builder requesting us to send a rep from our company to inspect window with an alleged leak. We sent our Field Technical Manager to meet with the homeowner and builder on 4/29/2013. During his visit **** found that the reasons for the leaks had nothing to do with our windows (as stated by builder and homeowner) but actually were due to deteriorated or inadequate perimeter sealants and possible flashing deficiencies.At ******* request (and as good thorough work practices) we also sent a service crew to the job site to visually inspect behind the mull bars on any multi-wide window units just to insure that there were no leaks and there were not.

It is *********** Position that this claim is not a window Warranty issue or claim. it is a possible Installation and home maintenance issue therefor we would ask that the case be closed and dropped.

Below I have included a copy of the Field Report Dated 5/13/2013 that was sent to the builder with our findings and recommendations. The original report has photos detailing our findings but I was unable to attach them to this response.

Field Report
5/13/2013
The following was observed and noted:
Windows were supplied in '06. Project is EIFS exterior. No information on who installed or methods used. *** ******* stated that the HOs have experienced leaks a various windows for "quite some time" but that he had worked on them and re-caulked the entire building and didn't ever call ***********. The HOs were attempting to sell the property and wanted *********** to remediate the problem and certify that the windows were correct.
I told Mr. ******* and the HOs ********** that I investigate the reported conditions and offer my conclusions.
They pointed out some of the windows where they had seen active water intrusion during, or immediately after, rain events. With one exception (noted below), any evidence of water entry had been cleaned.
I reviewed the exterior elevations and fenestration conditions and then the interior conditions. At the exterior of most windows the existing (possibly original, due to its' deteriorated condition) exterior perimeter sealant had deteriorated substantially. The current condition of the exterior perimeter sealant would seem to render it ineffective against water intrusion. See photo "Typical exterior perimeter sealant condition". The general design of the structure has round Picture Windows (PWs) installed above multiple mulled PWs. See photo "Typical fenestration design". Any water entering around the exterior perimeter of the highest window will enter the building envelope and appear at the inside of the dwelling above the head the window, or windows- if multi-levels, below. This condition was readily evident in the Dining Room- see photo "Interior- head of window below balcony". The residue from water intrusion seen here could also be from improper, or unmaintained, flashing at the balcony directly above. An intrusive test requiring removal of exterior construction medium would be required to reach any conclusion. The EIFS at head of this window (exterior) also signs of water "leaching" out of the building envelope. See photo "Exterior of window directly below balcony". This occurs when water enters the envelope at a point above the window.

Possible solution(s):
A full review of the installation of the existing EIFS to confirm that it was installed per EIMA Guidelines should occur before any serious remedial work commences. Improperly installed EIFS will not support additional remedial attempts and further hide exiting deficiencies.
Removal and re-placement of all exterior sealant by a qualified contractor should be the next step after this is complete. Applying additional perimeter sealant at all un-welded exterior window intersections and joints would be a "best work habit" event, although review and investigation of these areas should be a regular maintenance occurrence.

Typical exterior perimeter sealant condition
photo

Interior- head of window below balcony
photo
Typical fenestration design
photo
Exterior of window directly below balcony
photo

Business' Final Response
I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond but due to the nature of the complaint I have been checking with mentors to make sure I am handling this correctly. My response to case number XXXXXXXX - ****** regarding ***** and **** ******* is as follows:

Carlyle Homes Inc. has reviewed the Complaint Activity Report from the BBB and is in the process of retaining an appropriate expert to inspect and review the alleged window and balcony issues.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/30/2002Business started: 01/01/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Carlyle (Owner)
Business Category

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carlyle Homes, Inc.

117 W Duval St

Troup, TX 75789-2035

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carlyle Homes, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.