BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1985

Tyler Weathermakers

Phone: (903) 592-8611Fax: (903) 592-7171

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received service on 10/17/13 and was told there was no charge. 20 day later I received a bill for $320.00.
10/11/13:
Called for service on my under warranty air conditioner (heat pump) at 8:00am and was told they were short-handed. I was assured that a service tech would be at my location in the afternoon. I called at 4:00pm to inquire and was told that the tech would be at my location shortly. The tech did not show up until 6:15pm and did not have the parts necessary to do a repair and could not get any parts since it was Friday after 5:00pm. I was then told the repair would take place on Monday. I was charged $190.57 for a service call, labor and Freon which only lasted until the following day.

10/14/13:
On Monday morning I did not hear from Tyler Weathermakers. I waited until 9:00am to call and was told by the service manager, * that "we will get you fixed up today with the reversing valve". Several hours passed and I did not again hear anything so I again called and was told by the service manager that he was unable to obtain the part needed to repair my under warranty air conditioner and he did not know when he could get the repair done. I reminded the service manager that for the next several humid days it would be raining.

10/17/13:
Tyler Weathermakers finally arrived to repair the reversing valve on my under warranty air conditioner. The service tech (*) arrived at 8:15am and was here just over 4 hours. * presented me with an invoice and stated "It must be your lucky day because my service manager told me that this was NO CHARGE for today". I asked why and he stated "* is working with Goodman on this". I signed invoice number 61238 which shows no charges what so ever and Shawn provided me with the yellow customer copy.

11/7/13:
I received in the mail today a white copy of invoice 61238 showing I owe $320.00 which I had signed and received the yellow copy for no charge. This amount was forged to the white copy 20 days after I had received the yellow no charge copy. I called and spoke with Dereck the service manager and was told that I should be thankful he did not charge me for the parts (he could not legally charge me for parts as they are under a 10 year warranty) and I should be thankful that he did not charge to add Freon again and that he had to charge for the labor even though I was told there would be no charge. Dereck was completely unwilling to honor what had been originally told to me which was that it was no charge.

Desired Settlement
I want what was promised on 10/17/13 which was also what I signed and received the yellow customer copy of invoice 61238 which was no charge.

Business Response
Tyler Weathermake=
rs has issued a credit for the $320.00 the consumer was billed without her =
knowledge.=A0 As the consumer states we did receive a call for service on 1=
0/11/2013, however it was not at 8:00AM but at 8:36AM according to our disp=
atch records.=A0 The consumer was notified that we would perform a service =
call that day, however she was also informed that we had personnel out ill =
and it would, in all probability be at least in the afternoon before we wou=
ld arrive.=A0 There is no notation of a time given other than afternoon at =
the earliest.=A0 When she called later that afternoon she was told we would=
dispatch the next available technician and hopefully it would not be too l=
ong.=A0 Please note that it is impossible to estimate a time of arrival aft=
er a technician is dispatched to their first call, one has no way of knowin=
g if the call will take a few minutes or a few hours, we can give an educat=
ed guess at
best.=A0 Many times a technician will think they are about to be complete =
with a job in a short time and notify the dispatcher as such, only to find =
another problem after the one working on is repaired.=A0 =0AWe arrived at t=
he job at 6:45PM and started the diagnostic process.=A0 It was after 5:00PM=
and there are no suppliers open at this time for parts, since this unit wa=
s in warranty we could not use an aftermarket part for replacement unless t=
he consumer wanted to pay for the part.=A0 The consumer was frustrated that=
we did not have the warranty part to repair her unit at that time, the inf=
ormation she gave on the original call in the dispatch notes was "unit not =
cooling short cycling per customer making funny noise".=A0 It is very diffi=
cult to stock parts for "funny noises", and on warranty parts we are at the=
mercy of the manufacturer for availability of these parts.=A0 Also please =
note that Tyler Weathermakers did not originally sell nor install this unit=
and it only had parts warranty from the manufacturer.=A0 We also discovere=
d that the consumer was mistaken when she told us the unit had a "10 year p=
arts warranty", the consumer never registered the unit
with the manufacturer when it was installed as required to receive the 10 =
parts warranty.=A0 This had our service manager confused so he had to spend=
valuable time tracing down the actual warranty on this unit through the ma=
nufacturers records.=A0 The unit was still under the default 5 year warrant=
y so there was not a charge for the warranty part.=A0 However, she should h=
ave been charged for freon, filter drier, welding materials, vacuum charge,=
shipping and handling on the warranty part, nitrogen and labor.=A0 None of=
these items are covered under the manufacturer warranty.=A0 =0AWe were tol=
d by the manufacturer on Monday that the part should arrive "sometime today=
" so that is why our service manager told her the unit should be repaired t=
hat day, and not that it would be repaired that day.=A0 We were waiting to =
call her back as late as possible to see if the part would actually arrive =
on Monday so we could still get it installed even if it was later, the part=
did not arrive on Monday.=A0 As you will notice from her letter that this =
was going to be an estimated four hour repair so very hard to give specific=
times.=A0 The next time she called our service manager was reluctant to gi=
ve her a specific date as before based on what the manufacturer told us due=
to their previous inaccuracies, the consumer did not seem to care that we =
were given wrong information.=A0 =0AThe part did arrive on Tuesday (10/15/1=
3) but it was raining and very moist and humid outside so installation of a=
part in the refrigerant circuit is not advisable, it is Tyler Weathermaker=
s policy not to install refrigerant circuit parts in this weather due to mo=
isture collecting in the system thus causing future problems.=A0 The weathe=
r finally cleared on Thursday (11/17/13) so we made the repair.=0AThe misco=
mmunication happened when our service tech called in to the office to find =
out what the charges for the repair were, since normally there are quite su=
bstantial charges with a repair of this type even if the part is in warrant=
y.=A0 I again want to point out that Tyler Weathermakers did not install an=
y of this equipment.=A0 The technician told the consumer there was "no char=
ge for today", meaning our service manager was going to try to work with th=
e manufacturer (Goodman Mfg.) to see if he could obtain some sort of compen=
sation for the labor and non covered materials (freon, drier, etc.) to try =
to save the consumer some cost.=A0 Tyler Weathermakers' mistake was getting=
the consumer to sign a blank invoice without documenting that there would =
in fact be some charges, or simply charging her the full charge for labor a=
nd items used.=A0 The service manager had good intentions and in fact did g=
et the charges covered by the manufacturer from approximately
$600.00 to the $320.00 we invoiced her for.=A0 However, due to our poor do=
cumentation, I chose to credit the consumer the full amount of the $320.00 =
and absorb all costs.=0AEven though we credited the disputed amount back to=
the customer, I have written this lengthy letter to assure the Better Busi=
ness Bureau that Tyler Weathermakers has always, and will always strive to =
provide excellent and fair services to the consumer.=A0 Our reputation in T=
yler since 1966 is, as far as I know, unblemished and we want to keep it th=
at way.=A0 Please contact me if you have any further questions or comments =
or if the consumer has any further questions.=0AThank you for your valued s=
ervice to our area!
-Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable

lveticaNeue, Helvetica Neue, Helvetica, Arial, Lucida Grande, sans-serif;

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.