BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Abry Brothers Foundation Repair

Phone: (903) 758-1840Fax: (713) 472-5003View Additional Phone Numbers6597 E US Highway 80, LongviewTX 75605-6763http://www.abrybros.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Abry Brothers Foundation Repair is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Abry Brothers Foundation Repair's rating include:

  • 11 complaints filed against business
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Abry Brothers Foundation Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
11/14/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Company performed substandard foundation work and has failed to respond to inquiries concerning corrective work.
I contracted with Abry Bros. to do foundation repair to a rental on Nov. 7, 2012 at a cost of $10,800. The work was performed in Dec. As far as I could tell, it was satisfactory; but I didn't have an engineer check the work. I learned recently that the city requires a permit and an engineer's report.
Several months ago I learned that there are serious foundation problems, cracking walls, sticking doors, and cracked brickwork on the outside. I contacted Abry to schedule the warranty work. They said they would send someone and I asked them to contact the tenant because I was going outside the country for several weeks. When I returned, I learned that the work had not been done nor had the tenant been contacted.
I called repeatedly to talk with someone about correcting their substandard work. I finally got someone who scheduled an appointment with me at the house on June 19. They did not show. Repeated calls to them resulted in only promises to have someone call me. I tried to call the President of Abry Bros. but was told that he was "busy" and would call me back. No return call. In July, I finally got someone to meet me at the house. He implied that the work was not performed properly, which is obvious, but that the warranty may not be any good. He would check with someone to see what they would do. I told him that I was going out of the country for a month and he could work with the tenant. Neither I nor the tenant has heard anything and my calls always end up with, "we will have someone call you" or I leave a message with the answering service.
Clearly the work was substandard, Abry Bros. response has been substandard, and they do not honor their warranty. I would appreciate anything that you can do to resolve this matter prior to my initiating legal action.

Initial Business Response
We are scheduled out to customer's home tomorrow October 23rd, 2013 at 2pm to take a look at everything and come up with a plan of action to address the customers concerns.


I will advise you of the outcome and let you know the date for the warranty fix as well.

Final Consumer Response
The co. sent someone to examine the property and they have scheduled the repair work for Nov. 5.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Substandard products used to level home. Substandard service response to complaint calls. Home not leveled properly
On 11/15/12, I contracted Abry Brother's to level my home at a cost of $17,160.00. $8,800 for 16 pilings/footers, $6,900 for 23 4x6 pressure treated beams, and $1,460 for additional
"stations" (added as needed). On the 2nd day of service, a new crew was assigned to do the work. Immediately after the work was completed, they were called numerous times about the condition of their final work. Those calls resulted in someone coming out to inspect the job on two occassions. Promises and appointments were made to return to correct my complaints. That was over 6 months ago and nothing has been done to date. Their failure to respond and correct their work has resulted in me having sink holes at my foundation that have either standing water in them or allow water to enter my living area when it rains, the invasion of small critters, rodents and vine follage into my living space, destroyed underpilings, and dead plants where they did not use reasonable care as contracted when they removed my hedges. They use bits & pieces on concrete pads, turned cinder blocks up on their sides and used raw pine wood (not pressure treated) which affects the integrity of my home. I now have weak spots in my floors that that didn't exits prior to their work and a separation in a wall that causes water to leak into one of my rooms (had to pay a roofer to tell me that). All of which is an indication that my home was not leveled properly. Multiple phone calls have been made to seek service to rectify these complaints but to no avail. Calls to corporate are forwardd to Shreveport and often no one will answer the phone or return my messages. When I do reach someone, excuses about employee issues/problems and additional promises are made. My life and my business has been put on hold on many occasions waiting for someone to return my calls or to come out as promised. Finally, on 06/26/13, after another complaint a "supervisor" came out and asked that I give him three days to return for service, he has not arrived as of today 07/08/13. This experience has been a pricey nightmare for me.

Initial Business Response
We went out to the customer's residence on Friday August 16th and handled her complaints.

Everything is completed on our end.

Final Consumer Response

The company came back out and finished the job and this complaint is resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: I have called this company on 4 ocassions now and not only have they not fixed the problem, they have created new ones as well
This company has been out to our house on 4 ocassions and have even sent the manager to look and try to identify a remedy for our foundation. Each time they have left, there are new problems that were created and each time they tell me that it will settle out in 2-6 months. The problems are compounding and making the house worse.

Business' Initial Response
This is to inform you that I have spoken with the customer direct and we are scheduled to go out and do the repairs for this project on 3-25-2013. This was communicated with customer direct. I will have a crew supervisor there as well as an operations manger on the job site.

Consumer's Final Response
He did make it out there and corrected the issue of leveling the house. He was very apologetic and once he saw what the problems were, he knew how to fix them.
He told me that they would be coming back out this week to correct the issue with our front porch. But I have not heard from them as of yet.

Business' Final Response
Please advise customer to get the estimate that he wants to get and forward on to us and I will review and see what is fair and reasonable for us to do. Then at that point we will be willing to write down what we will be responsible for and send him an agreement, on what we will cover and how much we will cover as well

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Job not finished after full payment
On 2-20-2013, a represtative from Abry Brothers Foundations came out and inspected my house to be leveled. I was told that I needed some carpentry work done that they could not do so they could not do the job. I thanked them and looked to the next company for the work. Two days later, a representative from Abry called back and asked to do the job. I asked about the carpentry work, but the gentleman said that would be no problem and that they could handle it all. When asked about the added cost, I was told there would be no added fees. I asked for an updated contract, but never received one. I allowed them to do the work. On 3-1-2013, a crew came to my home to do the work. I paid the full amount, $2900 for the job, using a check. About 3 hours into the job, the crew leader said that $700 more money would be needed for supplies. Since Abry was one of the median bids, I agreed to the added cost, but was not asked to pay for anything at that time. A crewmember went after the goods and upon returning, asked if I could use my tractor to help unload the blocks. I did. The crew worked until 3:30 pm and said they would be back out to finish the next morning. I took off a day of work so I could be there for the completion. About 10:30 on 3-2-2013, a representative for Abry called and asked to come out and talk to me at 2 pm. He said the crew was being held back. At 3 pm, the rep arrived, with the work crew leader and another man. They told me that my house was not fixable and would never be safe to live in. I was told the walls were liable to fall off the house at any moment. I was told the best I could do was to burn it and buy a mobile home. They agreed to leave all of the materials that had been bought and walk off the job and call it even. I have had two other house leveling contractors out to look at the job since that day, and both said the house was not structurally unsound. I have asked the second contractor to fix and finish the job already started for a price of $2600. I must do something since the job on my house is only two thirds done.

Business' Initial Response
A check has been sent directly to consumer.

Consumer's Final Response
Abry Brothers Foundation promised that they would cut a check for $1900 and pick up the extra materials left in the yard. On 4-17-2013, neither has been done.

Business' Final Response
The check that is in question was processed and sent out last friday 4-12-2013 and sent to her home address, so I am sure she will have it any-day now. I will get out to P/U the materials some time by the end of the week this week or early part of next week. Consumer told me that there was no rush for the materials.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: After contacting Abry Brothers numerous times,
They refused to complete work as agreed upon.
When speaking with the Abry Brothers sales representative I advised the representative, I needed the house and garage professionally leveled. I also advised the sales rep of the house at another location also in need of leveling. He (Avery Bros rep) did not write another contract for either house so on the first house he did not add the garage but verbally told me he would take care of the garage.

The new contract for the first house was $8,900.00.

For my other house, the contract was $7,400.

On Friday December 21, 2012 your crew was to show up and start work at 11: AM,
Your crew foreman and four workers finally arrived at around 3: PM they started to work.
They left at around 5:PM.
On Saturday December 22, 2012 they arrived around 9: AM and started to work on leveling the house, when they started to level the back bedroom by lifting on the slab. I told them I was advised by another contractor that the slab could not be lifted, that the frame of the room had to be lifted because the slab would crack. Your Forman said it would be no problem that they were going to lift in 6 places (three on either side of the room.) The crew only dug the holes at this time and worked Tell 6: PM and did not finish.
The Foreman said they would return Wednesday December 26, 2012 and finishes the job.
They did not return until January 3 at around 11:30, and this was a different foreman and crew. They began work and again I advised this foreman the same statement I had told the first foreman about the slab and he also was not concerned about the slab. During this time they attempted to lift the slab on the back bedroom of the house and the concrete cracked. The foreman called his boss and no resolution was made, your foreman request the balance of the money.
I refused him the check as the work was not completed on the house or the garage they left the access holes (8) through the floor uncovered they and not secured, nor did they apply a Vapor Barrier and there was damage to the property and they did not know what they were going to do about it at that time.

On or about January 10, 2013 a representative and several others from Abry Brothers came to my house. They arrived around 3: PM, they looked at the damage and removed part of the laminate flooring and found that slab had been poured over the existing sidewalk and by lifting the slab and sidewalk caused the slate to crack in multiple places.

The side walk cracked and lifted inside the door way. There were many conversations about whether or not it was their responsibility to correct this problem.

We then went to my other house where they looked at the house and agreed to reduce the price on that house by $1500 for repair on the first house and go back to the first house and level the garage which had not been completed. The foreman advised me to give them the final payment of $4,400 for the first house. This would make the contract for the other house $5,900.00 total.
I agreed to do this and gave the foreman a cashier's check for $4,400.00.

After contacting Abry Brothers numerous times, and handed off to another person in the office and getting only voice mail from that person and leaving messages for them to contact me on scheduling to have the second house leveled. A representative finally called me back several days later and stated that they would not level the second house.
I have made numerous attempts to contact you.
You are in Breach of this Contract.
I need resolution as soon as possible.

Business' Initial Response

Per our conversation today, we have agreeded that I am working on what is going to be done in regards to the original complaint. As I stated I am the new GM here at Abry Brothers and I am going to research what has transpired, fact gather and as we agreed I will be back in touch with you on this coming Monday 3-18-2013 after 11:00 so we can come to some direction and or resolution to this complaint. Should you have any questions please feel free to call me at your earliest convenience. Thank you in advance.

Consumer's Final Response
Well this did not happen again! I got a call from Abry Brothers yesterday 4/2/2013 they stated that the owner had to sign the CASHERS CHECK and he was out of town but would get the check today 4/3/2013 and put it in the mail (UPS) today. So we will see if they can do as they say THIS TIME.
There word has not yet proven to be ONE YOU CAN TRUST so far.
This is NOT a company I would recommend to ANYONE, as you can see from the correspondence's between all of us there work ethic is poor at best.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you BBB,
I thank if not for you I could not have settled this.
I did receive their check on 4/4/13 it of course was late from the date promised 3/25/13 which Unfortunately seemed to be the case with Abry Brothers. They could not keep scheduled appointments nor in my opinion where very dependable with any of my dealings with them. I would not recommend them to anyone.
With that said this will of course end any dealings in the future with them.
Thank you again,

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Contractors, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Drainage Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/29/2007Business started: 01/01/1840
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Mark Dimitrijevic (President)
Contact Information
Ms. Kaileigh Myers (Office Manager)
Business Category

Foundation Contractors, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Drainage Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers foundation repair, house leveling, replacement drainage, house raising, and drainage.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Abry Brothers Foundation Repair

6597 E US Highway 80

Longview, TX 75605-6763

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6597 E US Highway 80 

    Longview, TX 75605-6763

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Abry Brothers Foundation Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 787-8288
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Foundation Contractors

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.