BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/15/2009

Clay's Lawn & Fencing

Phone: (903) 566-2529Fax: (903) 566-952212238 State Highway 64 E, TylerTX 75707-2536 Send email to Clay's Lawn & Fencing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/15/2009

BBB has determined that Clay's Lawn & Fencing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Clay's Lawn & Fencing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Clay's Lawn & Fencing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled a contract with the Co. to build a fence. I was promised a credit to my credit card for the down payment. no credit has been received.
On 3/22/13 I signed a contract with Clay Williams to build a fence at my residence. The Projected start date was 4/19/13. That date came and went with no contact from Clay regarding a new start date. I called the following week and was told by the secretary and Clay wanted to relay that he was sorry. There had been a lot of rain that put them behind schedule. I waited 2 more weeks, which was the first week in May. Still no call from the company. I called and Clay relayed that he hoped to have someone out the following week (week of 5/6/13)to dig and set the fence posts. I marked my sprinkler heads to be sure there was no damage in anticipation that work would begin. The week of 5/6/13 and the week of 5/13/13 came and went with no contact from Clay.

I sent a certified letter to the company dated 5/17/13 notifying Clay that I wass cancelling the contract signed on 3/22/13 due to nonperformance and requested a credit to my credit card for the amount of the downpayment. The certified letter was received at Clay's Office on 5/20/13. On 5/21/13 Clay called me and stated again that he was sorry. That this had not happened before. He stated he understood why someone would want to cancel. He stated he would not charge me the 10% cancellation fee, but would refund the full amount of the deposit. He stated he wanted to send me a check instead of issuing a credit. However, I told him that I would prefer a credit. He then stated that when he opened his merchant account, that his bank did not allow him to issue credits. (Very odd). I stated that I had sent the information to the credit card company for a credit since he had not performed under the terms of the contract. No fence had been built and I had not heard from him. He stated that he only kept $1,000 in his merchant account, but had more than that in his checking account. (If you have funds in your checking account sufficient to issue a credit, why would you want to send a check?) I stated I would rather have the credit to my credit card. He then said, the credit card company could not take money out of his account with out his permission. But, he would have his accountant fund the merchant account and issue me a credit.(again, very odd). I said okay you do that and send me a copy of the receipt. He said he would. I have not heard from Clay since the telephone conversation on 5/21/13 and no credit has been issued to my credit card.

I am at a loss to understand why Clay has not honored his word by issuing a credit to my credit card to refund the deposit. The contract was signed in good faith. When there had been no performance under the contract and no contact from the company regarding a new start date, I cancelled the contract according to the terms that we signed. I offered to pay the 10% cancellation fee as stated in the contract.

I have treated Clay with respect and I have abided by the terms of the contract. Our conversations have always been cordial. However, I do not understand why he has not issued the refund of my deposit as he agreed to on 5/21/13.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a credit refund of the downpayment amount of $2,880.00 charged to my credit card account for the construction of a fence that has not been constructed.

Business' Initial Response
Business contacted BBB and stated they refunded the consumer $2,880.00.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The Company issued a credit to my VISA account in the amount of $2,880.00 on 6/4/13. It was posted to my credit card on 6/6/13. Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I asked this **** Lawn and fence come and give me a bid instead when he show up and looked job over he got out and draw a contract
when a was Mr. **** was drawing out the fence I told him I wanted 2 slide gates would cross my drive way they would be about 12 ft. wide also I need one walk entry gate as he was writing this what I thought was just a bid I told him if could do the job for 5500 the job was his mind you he kept writing all this time I told him I was still waiting on a bid and had several already the where around 5500 for good quality material of chain link I would like black powder fence not know if can afford it we shook on 5500 and the he finish writing told me that bid now 7000 and now had swing gates instead I waited till other man came and got my bids in and figure that **** was charging me 13.53 a foot and everybody else was with slide gates and with black powder fence I wanted will only charge me 11.21 a foot I called **** secretary and cancelled with him on X-XX-XXXX just a day later I think there is a grace period of 4 days I been told before a contract is in full and he can charge me this 10 percent I want my 500 dollars back I have proof if you need it from letters from Mr. **** the contract and this man had no right keep my money

Desired Settlement
only way I will settle with this man if he refunds my money because I cancel with him in the time the law said I had it was 3 to4 business days I called and spoke his secretary following morning told reason why I was cancel my contract

Business Response
I am responding to the complaint filed against my company June 23, 2014 by customer: case#28016650. My office was contacted by customer for a bid. I arrived by scheduled appointment, June 10, 2014 on or before 10 AM. We discussed a 5' black vinyl coated and a 5' galvanized chain link fence along with the two or three other bids he had already received. Customer stated these companies provided prices but would not give him any other information including specs. I spent two or more or less hours explaining, bidding and educating customer on fence materials. Gauge, tubing, frame work and gates. After discussing all options and cost with customer, he decided to purchase a 5' galvanized chain link fence with 1 -walk gate and 2 custom built 12'X5' double drive gate sets. Double drive gate sets. Double drive gates built to accommodate automatic gate openers. He wanted to build fence first then come back in about a month to install drive gates. I agreed. I also at NO Charge was installing two prefab double drive gates until he was ready for custom gates, as a courtesy. Customer thanked me. I prepared a written contract in which he read front and back, agreed then signed. Contract was for $7,000.00. He requested to pay $5,500.00. I told customer our policy was 50% down payment which is customary and ethical in this type of business. Customer wanted to pay the higher amount then asked me to follow him to the bank. I waited while customer drove through drive through, customer paid me $5,500.00 in cash. We shook hands and left.

Customer called June 11, 2014 to cancel his contract. Customer received a cheaper bid and decided to use that company. Customer said keep 10% which is $700.00 of $7,000.00 which is exactly how the contract reads and mail me the remaining. I mailed $5,000.00 ck# XXXXX - X/14/14 keeping only $500.00. I spent a lot of time there plus I had a signed contract and my office was preparing for this job. BBB on June 30 faxed me the website and a copy of the "cool off rule". I read it, I understand it. I was completely unaware of the "cool off rule". I've been in business for 20 years and never had a issue like this. Customer learned as I did. Had customer just called and told me this, I wouldn't be typing this letter. Simply would have just returned the $500.00 I kept. Customer never called about this. I mailed certified ck #XXXXX - $500.00. Enclosed is all the paperwork and correspondence with customer. We hold our standards to the highest of standards. We strive for excellence. I deeply apologize for any inconvenience I may have caused to all parties.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Gates

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1998Business started: 01/01/1993
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Clay Williams (Owner)
Business Category

Fence Contractors, Gates

Products & Services

This business offers contracting services for fencing and gates.

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Clay's Lawn & Fencing

12238 State Highway 64 E

Tyler, TX 75707-2536

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12238 State Highway 64 E 

    Tyler, TX 75707-2536(903) 566-2529
    Fax: (903) 566-9522

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Clay's Lawn & Fencing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fence Contractors

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.