BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/1996

Engines Express, Inc.

Phone: (903) 581-4440Fax: (903) 581-6688View Additional Phone Numbers1502 E Grande Blvd, TylerTX 75703-3978 Send email to Engines Express, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/1996

BBB has determined that Engines Express, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Engines Express, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Engines Express, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rebuilt engine installed which leaks oil since installation and never repaired
I had a rebuilt engine installed in my 1999 GMC - Sierra 1500 on 3/11/11 at *************** and paid cash, $3,264.15 (invoice number *****). Once installed, I adhered to all conditions of the warranty, which included oil change within 500 miles and every 3000 thereafter. Immediately following installation, I noticed oil in my driveway. I took it back in to *************** and they said they would fix the problem. Once again, oil leaking continued. I brought my truck back to this establishment numerous times since the installation of the rebuilt engine with the same problem and each time it was not repaired. I can have sworn statements provided by my co-workers to confirm each and every instance of my returning my vehicle to this establishment. Finally, two weeks ago I took my truck in to ****************** automotive in Tyler TX to get them to inspect the problem since it has never been fixed. I was concerned that since *************** has been unable to fix the problem, that maybe an inspection from another automotive establishment could identify the real problem. ****************** Automotive identified the problem being the rear seals leaking from the rebuilt engine. I wanted to make sure the problem was being caused due to the engine and not something else since *************** could never successfully repair it. I took it back once again with paperwork from ****************** Automotive stating that it is the rear seals leaking due to the engine. ***** with *************** said they had repaired the front seals and not the rear seals. So this time they were going to fix the rear seals. This being said, I have put cardboard underneath my truck each time to make sure I was correct in thinking the problem was not fixed. Each time, the oil leak was coming from the same place and each time I took it in, it was not repaired. After getting the inspection from ******************, I took my truck back to *************** and showed ***** the 10/29/12 paperwork from them, stating "valve covers are leaking at rear of engine valve and cover gaskets need to be replaced". I left my truck with *************** because he said they would fix it. When I picked it up the next day, ***** said to give it two weeks then come back so he could check it out and make sure the leak had stopped. After one week, I put new cardboard under the truck and once again the leak was coming from the same place. I took it back to ***** at *************** the next morning. I told him it was still leaking and he said "I told you to come back in two weeks". How can the problem repair itself by waiting another week? He said I come in there "pointing fingers each time and that I was rude" (I was never rude, maybe frustrated after dealing with this for over a year and a half). I assure you that ***** was the one being rude. I had to hear comments from ***** such as "well some engines just leak oil". Why would someone pay $3,264 for an engine that leaks and just settle? I am no mechanic, but I do know this statement is false - it is NOT normal for an engine to constantly leak oil. ****************** told me that *************** should have replaced the engine a long time ago because it was under warranty anyway. Now that it is no longer under warranty I still feel it should be repaired by *************** OR that *************** should pay for another automotive service company to repair the problem since they evidently are unable to after numerous attempts. With this last visit and rudeness I received from *****, I really don't know where else to turn in order to get this situation resolved.

Desired Settlement
As mentioned above, I want Engines Express to pay for the repair made by another automotive company as I do not feel they will repair the problem after numerous attempts OR to replace the engine they installed. If not, I will unfortunately have to retain a lawyer to get this resolved but would prefer not to do so.

Business' Initial Response
On 3/11/2011 the customer had his 1999 GMC Sierra truck towed into our shop because of engine failure. We installed a remanufactured longblock and he was soon back on the road. On 5/3/11 the customer brought his truck back because he was concerned about an oil leak and upon inspection we found the front crankshaft seal leaking. We told the customer in order to fix the problem that we would need to replace the entire timing cover because it is recommended to replace the timing cover and seal as an assembly. We completed the repair in a timely manner and returned his vehicle at no charge. On 9/28/2011 the customer brought his truck back because of an oil leak. Once again we noticed the front seal leaking again. And again we replaced the front timing cover seal under warranty. On 10/26/2011 he brought the truck back-again the same thing, an oil leak at the front seal. I told the customer that I was very sorry for this repetitive problem and that I was going to the local GM dealer and buy not only another timing cover/seal but also a new harmonic balancer. Once again we apologized for the inconvenience and returned his vehicle at no charge even though a harmonic balancer is NOT part of the remanufactured longblock assembly. The customer is correct in that he repeatedly brought his truck back for the same oil leak. We work hard to make sure our customers are happy with the products we install, however in this business we are at the mercy of the manufacturer who supply our parts and unfortunately they fail from time to time. On 10/30/2012 the customer brought his truck back and said it was leaking oil and said that we never fixed it. He told me that he had taken his truck to another reputable shop and they said that the valve cover gaskets and possibly the intake gasket was leaking. I told the customer that I would confirm what they had diagnosed and make the needed repairs. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************** called the customer and told him that the truck was complete. When he arrived I told him that I would like for him to bring it back in a couple of weeks for us to make sure it was dry. I had concerns that the problem with a rear main seal leaking is that there is no way to visually inspect it because it is sandwiched between the engine and transmission and only time would tell if it was leaking. Once again I returned the vehicle to him at no charge even though the warranty had expired on 3/11/2012. One week later the customer comes back and is very rude to my employees. Upon arriving at 7:45 am several of my employees met me as I was getting out of my vehicle to tell me the customer was upset and being very rude. This is not the first time the customer has been rude. It's been EVERY time. The customer says he was frustrated. I beg to differ. Each time he has come into our shop he's been angry and each time I have to calm him down and reassure him that we will fix his concerns. But, this time was different in that he upset my employees. As I entered the office I made sure that he understood that I was not going to put up with his lack of fellow courtesy and professionalism. At that point, he left-Both of us upset. The customer claims that I said that some engines just leak oil. I NEVER told him that. My only concern was to fix the leaks that his truck had. The customer has this idea that another engine is going to fix his concerns. The fact is an engine longblock assembly does not come with all the gaskets and seals installed except for the head gaskets. Components such as oil pan, rear main plate, timing cover intake, etc. all have to be removed from the original engine and reinstalled onto the new engine using new gaskets and seals. It is these gaskets and seals that are causing the problem. The integrity of the engine we installed is good and will give him many years of service. There's not a repair shop out there that would replace an engine simply because it leaks oil!
I'm sorry the customer is so upset. I have done everything in my power to take care of these issues. I told him that we would resolve this oil leak at the rear of the engine. However, after his last visit with us I realize he is no longer giving us that opportunity. The customer's resolution to this matter is not acceptable to us. He is the one that has decided for us NOT to make the additional repairs (at no charge).
We strive for excellant customer satisfaction and realize things don't always go the way we want them. We have installed thousands of engines with great results. Our reputation speaks for itself and we will continue to do the best we can.
Sincerely,
****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is sad to me that a business owner/operator would stoop so low as to lie about how I acted when I came into his shop. I was never rude to ANY employee, he is the one that came in, saw me rolled his eyes and sighed and when I said the oil leak was still there HE began yelling at me!I stated that I couldn't believe he could walk in and act that way towards me! Unbelievable! Unfortunately, the consumer never wins with this type of business owner and I will NEVER return to his shop and I will advise all friends and family to never use his services. He knows that this problem has not ever been repaired and after such a long period of time and many visits to his shop, you would think he would make sure the leak was gone before releasing my vehicle to me. The other automotive shop said they could fix it, it is strange that he cannot? Since I am evidently dealing with a deceitful business owner, I will take my truck to the automotive shop that CAN fix it. Unfortunately, I am the one that has to pay. Just for any consumer out there...BEWARE!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/22/1996Business started: 06/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

TxDOT Texas Department of Transportation
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX78701
(800) 299-1700
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Russell (President)Mr. Randy Russell (Corporate Secretary)
Business Category

Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers re-manufactured engine installation.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PM
Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Engines Express, Inc.

1502 E Grande Blvd

Tyler, TX 75703-3978

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1502 E Grande Blvd 

    Tyler, TX 75703-3978(903) 581-4440
    (800) 791-8516

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Engines Express, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 791-8516
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Engines - Rebuild & Exchange

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.