BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2005

Telco Plus Credit Union

Phone: (903) 597-4321Fax: (903) 534-38537395 S Broadway Ave, TylerTX 75703-5004

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2005

BBB has determined that Telco Plus Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Telco Plus Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Telco Plus Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called in for issues on account, a CSR of Telco did not assist problem and proceeded to be snide and rude about the issue. Issue not resolved.
The issues start the summer of 2013 where I had an incident with my checking account went negative and was charged MULTIPLE fees leaving me a balance of $-400.00, which I called in about and management told me that "this was my own fault and that next time I should be more responsible next time. I covered the negative amount and I then decided to Opt Out of any over draft protection on my account so that this would not happen again. Also, in this situation the bank proceeded to transfer money from my Telco Savings account and move it into my Telco Checking account and charged me a $30.00 fee to transfer my own money. However, when I asked about it, they did refund me the money. Well, as of Saturday April 5 and Sunday April 6, I used my card two times once at a gas station and another to purchase something else, when I checked my account via the Telco iPhone App I saw my account was positive. When I checked my account again, after these transactions on April 6th my account was $-86.00. I then checked it later that evening and it was $-127.00. I waited until Monday morning at approximately 11:00 AM Central time to call Telco Credit Union in Tyler, Texas and I spoke on the phone with a woman named *, a Telco Associate (she did not state with she was managerial or not). I told her the entire situation about how I shouldn't of been negative due to Opting Out of the overdraft protection, in which the bank covers you if you go negative, and that I shouldn't of been charged over draft fees. Brenda, the associate told me that the fees were not over draft fees, that they were just fees for going negative. I have never been informed of such fees, and have been a member with Telco since 2010. Also, she told me she did not know why I went negative and "that there was nothing she could do to help me" and "did not know what to tell me." I told Brenda that I would be coming to remove all funds from Telco on this following Friday and she proceeded to laugh at me and said "okay" and then hung up the phone on me. I have never been treated so badly by a bank before. Telco employees have never tried to help me when I tried to get answers. I will no longer bank at this financial institution.

Desired Settlement
I expect to be refunded the amount of fees that`$200.00.

Business Response
I have spoken with the member and I have addressed all of the members concerns to their satisfaction

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/07/2002Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Credit Union Commission
914 E Anderson Ln
Austin, TX78752-1699
(512) 837-9236

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Murphy (Branch Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Betty DeWeese (President)
Business Category

Credit Unions

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Telco Plus Credit Union

7395 S Broadway Ave

Tyler, TX 75703-5004

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7395 S Broadway Ave 

    Tyler, TX 75703-5004

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Telco Plus Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.