BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2000

Wright Way Services

Phone: (903) 561-5191Fax: (903) 581-838912863 County Road 192, TylerTX 75703-6417 Send email to Wright Way Services

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2000

BBB has determined that Wright Way Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wright Way Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wright Way Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

my ac unit caught a fire due to wright way not wanting to replace it so I had to stay in a hotel for the weekend and they are not wanting to refund
for the past two months and wright way send the ac guy to fix it and every time the put Freon in it. the a/c guy has told me that the unit need to be replaced but wright way wants to hold off until fall so they want have to pay as much.. On July 23,2015 I called wright way to let them know that my ac was not getting too cool. They told me that some one will be out. on July 24 ****** from *** air conditioning and put Freon in it and he said again that the unit need to be replaced but wright way want to try and make it work until fall so it want cost as much.... HE left and at 2am july 25th the unit caught a fire. the fire chief came and told us it wouldn't be a good idea to stay at the house. Rudy at wright way called me the same morning and told me he could not get anyone out until Monday.. so Saturday and Sunday we stayed in a hotel room until the ac was fixed on Monday JULY 27TH. I CONTACTED WRIGHT WAY MONDAY AS WELL TO SEE IF THEY WOULD WORK SOMETHING OUT WITH ME ON THE RENT AND KRISTEN TOLD ME TO FAX IN MY HOTEL BILL. ON TUESDAY JULY 28TH I CALLED TO ASK KRISTEN FOR THE FAX NUMBER AND SHE WAS VERY RUDE TELLING ME ITS NOT THERE FAULT AND I SPOKE WITH THE OWNER RUDY HE TOLD ME THAT HE SORRY BUT HE CAN NOT HELP ME... HE WENT ON TO SAY IF HE HELP ME HE WOULD HAVE TO HELP EVERYONE.. I TOLD HIM ITS GOING TO BE HARD ON ME BECAUSE I SPENT $227 ON A HOTEL ROOM THAT I WAS USING TO PAY MY RENT. HE SAID THAT THERE IS NOTHING HE CAN DO AND MY RENT IS EXPECTED TO BE PAID ON TIME.

Desired Settlement

Business Response
Ms. ******** reported that her air conditioner was not cooling at approximately 4:30 PM on the 23rd of July. We immediately called the HVAC company and requested service. They were not able to make it that day but did go out the following day.

When the technician arrived at the home he discovered that someone had removed the panels of the outside unit and had soaked it with a water hose. This action had caused a fuse to blow and is likely what caused the additional damages the following day. However, as this cannot be proven with 100% certainty Wright-Way has chosen not pursue collection for the additional repairs from the resident. The technician inspected the system and found it to be low on Freon. He replaced the fuse and added Freon to unit. At approximately 3:30 PM the technician contacted property manager Kristi J***** to notify her the repair was complete. He also told her that while the unit was running at that moment but, the condenser and the coil would need to be replaced at a cost of approximately $2,200. Kristi contacted the homeowner and received approval for the repair. She notified the technician of the approval at approximately 5:00 PM. His invoice is attached for your review.

On July 25th, at 2:45 AM, Ms. ******** contacted the answering service to report sparks coming from her unit. The answering service took the call and called the on call representative, business owner Rudy Wright. Rudy was told by the answering service that the fire department was at the home and had disconnected the unit. He was told that there was no fire or danger of fire. He instructed the answering service to tell Ms. ******** to follow whatever instructions she was given by the fire department and that he would follow up with her later in the day. Rudy did speak to Ms. ******** around 8:00 on Saturday morning and explained that we would be there Monday to replace the air conditioner. Ms. ******** expressed her frustration that that would not replace it immediately. **** explained the reason we wouldn't be able to come until Monday is due to the fact that the unit had to be purchased from an HVAC wholesale warehouse, which is not open on the weekends.

Wright-Way did notify the service company about the incident. He responded that now the entire system would have to be replaced at a cost of $4,200. We gave him immediate authorization to do so. This invoice is also attached for your review.

On Monday, July 27th, the service technician replaced the HVAC unit at Ms. ********'s home. He did find a board on the unit that had burn mark caused by a blown a connector. This is likely the cause of the spark Ms. ******** reported, however it would not have created a fire hazard to the home.

Later that day Ms. ******** contacted Kristi J***** and requested reimbursement of a hotel bill for Saturday and Sunday night. Kristi informed her that we are not responsible for the expense, as that was her choice to stay in a hotel, and we repaired the HVAC as quickly as possible. Ms. ******** indicated she spent her rent money on the hotel. Kristi let her know that we would be willing to set up a payment plan with her for the August rent, if that was necessary.

In summation, Wright-Way responded to all calls in a timely manor. All reasonable steps to make proper repairs were taken and no unnecessary delays were made. We cannot be responsible for the expense of the hotel bill that the resident chose to incur. We are willing to set up a reasonable payment plan for the August rent.

Paragraph 24.4 of the TAA Lease Contract that Ms. ******** signed specifically states "We're not liable to any resident, guest, or occupant for personal injury or damage, loss of personal property, or loss of business or personal income, from any cause, including fire, smoke, rain, flood, water leaks, hail, ice, snow, lightning, wind, explosions, interruption of utilities, pipe leaks, theft, vandalism, and negligent or intentional acts of residents, occupant, or guests." This means that we are not responsible for her loss of income in renting the hotel.

Paragraph 26.4 of the TAA Lease Contract that Ms. ******** signed specifically states "Air conditioning are not normally emergencies. If air conditioning or other equipment malfunctions, you must notify us as soon as possible on a business day. We'll act with customary diligence to make repairs and reconnections, taking into consideration when casualty insurance proceeds are received. Your rent will not abate in whole or part." This means we are not allowed to reduce her rent for the time that she was without air conditioning.

Ms. ********'s fully executed lease contract is also attached for your review.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept because the fact still remain we were out of air for 2 days.. with it being 100 degrees outside I had no choice but to get a hotel room...

01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The customer service given by members in the office and the way things are handled are horrible. They like to throw the blame for every little thing.
Since I moved in with Wright Way it has been an ongoing issue and fight. Some of it is my fault because I continued to live there instead of finding some where else to move to. I moved from Ozark, Mo to Tyler, Tx because of my job. I didn't know much about the area and they allowed me to have my two dogs and my cat. I knew that going into the place or any rental property that wouldn't get my deposit back. I had to pay two pet deposits and a security deposit when I moved in. Upon my move the air conditioner did not work. Anybody knows that the dead middle heat of summer is not something you can do without AC. So the first 5 days I had to stay somewhere else until they could fix the AC unit. In the year that I lived in that apartment the AC went down at least five times. So then my boyfriend and I decided to move in together and we transferred to a bigger apartment. When I moved into the new apartment I held up to the lease agreement and had the carpets cleaned as requested. I also had to pay the repairs since they were transferring all my pet deposits to the new apartment. In the middle of the summer again there was a leak in the AC unit in the new one. It took them a month and a half to fully fix the complete issue. At one point the AC unit went down and my boyfriend, my two dogs and I had to sleep and stay in the smallest bedroom with a window unit and all Wright Way offered was to take the window unit out of my rent and that it had to stay there. They also stated that I had to take it up with the contractors that they hired to do these repairs. One night it took them over three hours to have someone come out to fix a issue with their plumbing. The sink started to fix up with dirty hot greasy water and we had to keep bailing it out and dumping it outside. There is also a ongoing electrical problem that they refuse to look at. Now that we are moving out the problems got worse and they are really on it. *'s came to move our appliances we had with them. They didn't turn the water off all the way which understandable that if there is a leak or an emergency you have the right to enter the premises. We did not receive a call and they didn't go into check the apartment. That Monday I was called to be informed that I was going to have to pay $85 for the fee of them coming out. When I asked why they didn't call or go in. Their response was why didn't you answer the door when we were banging on it. One we were both working and two we were moving so why would we be there. So because they had to make two trips because they didn't call or have the keys they are charging us for their error and because they didn't think. Now again we were flowing their lease about getting the carpets cleaned when we move out. They came back with an estimate of $298.85 and when they called to talk to the carpet people because they called me to reschedule I kept hearing her say know there is pet in there. Well of course we had pets but in the walk through I submitted it still smelled like pet from the person that lived in there prior to us. In the lease it states to have them cleaned not treated. I was not to pleased with the way it is and was all handled and why they are trying to get me to pay it when I know they aren't going to give me the pet deposit back. So that is just more money they are trying to get out of me. I mean isn't that what a security deposit and pet deposit for? The carpet guy stated even if I had them put that to my pet deposit I should still get some back but I know better then that with this group. Also from what I am reading I am not the only one that feels not happy with this group at all. The office staff has no people skills either and do not know how to talk to someone. They are a horrible management company and very two faced. At one had they can be rude and nasty about something, then on the other hand they act like you are the best thing in the world. Not a good way to be when you are dealing with people daily.

Desired Settlement
I am wanting them really do what is right but I know that is to much to really ask for. I also know writing this probably isn't going to amount to much and like the others I read they are just going to find a way to blame it on me and try to turn it around on us as tenants. I would like for them to use what the deposits are meant for when we as renters are following what the lease is stating. I know we aren't going to get any of the deposit back as much as it would have been nice I know we wont even if we paid the whole carpet cleaning bill they are trying to get us to pay because they are trying to get us to pay for the tenant prior that they only had the carpets cleaned and never replaced them. The apartments are not super new and everything is extremely old so $750 will go a long way in these apartments but yet they are still wanting us as renters to pay for the carpet cleaning and $85 for their error and not thinking to do what you would do in a normal emergency situation. In the end really I want them to handle stuff the way it should be handled but I know some how some way we are going to be charged for more and wouldn't end up with any deposit back even if we paid the full carpet cleaning bill despite what was said. It must not be that bad if that came from the carpet cleaning guy himself that we should still end up with money back even if we had it taken out of the security deposit.

Business Response

The Customer's claim is insinuating that the carpet charges should not exceed her deposit amount. They do not. However, the carpet is not the only damage to the unit. Please allow me to explain the rest of the story.

The Customer began leasing a one-bedroom apartment from Wright-Way at Heritage West Apartments in the summer of 2011. In January of 2013 The Customer did transfer from a one-bedroom unit into a two-bedroom. I find it very difficult to believe that she would have stayed so long (31/2 years), and even transferred to a larger unit, if her experiences we as dissatisfactory as claimed.

Heritage West is, as stated, an older property that was built in the very early 1980's. As such, one cannot expect that things will not, from time to time, end up malfunctioning. During her 42-month residency at Heritage West she called in 11 requests for service. She was not charged for any of these services calls. Additionally, no requests for service have been received within the last year. Each time that management was notified of a maintenance issue a technician was dispatched. Occasionally repairs cannot be made on the spot. This is especially true when calls come in over the weekend or after hours. Additionally, as with all older properties, it occasionally takes time to order parts to repair the older equipment. At no time did Wright-Way decline to make a repair, no were any unnecessary delays made to lengthen the time of repair.

In regards to the events that took place over the weekend of December 27th, please allow me to provide the following timeline.
Friday evening, the 26th, a neighboring resident called the 24-hour emergency line to report water on the floor on the floor of his unit.
Rudy Wright, the on-call technician, spoke with the resident who stated he had cleaned up the water and could not determine where it was coming from. They mutually agreed to do nothing at the time and see if the water returned.
The following day the resident called back to say that the water was back but still coming from an undeterminable location. Mr. Wright went out to the unit and deduced that the water was coming in under the wall from the neighboring unit, The Customer unit #108.
Mr. Wright walked over to #108 to investigate further. He knocked loudly and called out but no one answered. Mr. Wright left the property and came back to the office to obtain a key for #108.
Upon his return to the property he found that there was someone home in unit #108. He knocked on the door and a gentleman, The Customer's Roommate, answered the door. Mr. Wright identified himself, explained the situation, and asked to enter the unit. The Customer's Roommate stated the water came from a small spill that occurred when the washing machine was unhooked from the water line but that it was stopped and he was cleaning up. He refused to allow Mr. Wright to enter the unit. Mr. Wright explained that the large amounts of water leaking through the walls could not be a result of a small spill and he would require entry into the unit to determine the actual cause. The Customer's Roommate reluctantly agreed to allow Mr. Wright into the unit.
Upon entry Mr. Wright discovered that the washing machine water supply line was indeed unhooked from any equipment and was pouring openly into the unit. Seeing this, The Customer's Roommate quickly moved to get ahead of Mr. Wright and close the valve thus stemming the flow of water. When questioned by Mr. Wright, The Customer's Roommate indicated he was unaware the water was flowing from the valve.
Mr. Wright further observed that the flooring of the unit was fully saturated. He asked The Customer's Roommate if he would like us to call a professional crew out to clean up the mess and begin the drying out process but The Customer's Roommate declined stating that he would take care of it. ***At the time of this reply the water extraction and carpet cleaning has not occurred. The unit has been vacated and keys have been turned in to management.***

As a professional management company we do provide maintenance services for our renters. However, if the damage is determined to be caused by the renter, either from abuse or neglect, the cost of the repair is deferred to the renter. This is industry standard and is covered in our lease. This is clearly a case of neglect by the renter and the renter will be charged for the full cost of the repair.

The Customer has now vacated the unit and there is significant cleaning and repairs that are required. These costs will be passed on to her as is stated in the lease contract. The balance will be applied to her deposit, and any remaining balance due will be expected to be paid in full within 30-days.

Specific Responses to Allegations Claimed:
HVAC call that took 6 weeks to repair
o 6/18/13 a service request was made for a condensation line leak; as such the HVAC company was called.
o HVAC company found no problem with the unit and reported the problem to be plumbing in the ceiling.
o Service technician was called to locate leak. He had to remove sheetrock to do such. Leak was found and repaired.
o Painting contractor was called to make sheetrock repair and repaint.
o All work was completed on 7/23/13
o Although the entire repair process did take 5 weeks (not 6), the customer was not without air conditioning at all during the time.
Sink and electrical problems stated were never reported.
A key was not brought out on the original water service call because the call came from a different unit.
Resident was not notified that maintenance entered the home because we were not able to enter the home.
Resident was not notified that we entered the home at the time we did enter the home because resident was home.
$85 service fee is due and has been charged to the renter. The renter caused the leak. The renter did not report the leak. The leak caused damage to the unit and the neighboring unit.
Security deposit amount held is $550, not $750

Resolution: A detail of charges to the account will be attached to this reply. If a refund were due it would be paid. Based on the extensive cleaning and repairs that are required there is no refund due. In fact, there is a balance due $496.45.

Attached to this reply are the following documents:
The Customer lease contract - Please specifically note the following sections:
o 10. Special Provisions
o 12. Damages and Reimbursements
o 25. Conditions of the Premises and Alterations
o 26. Requests, Repairs, and Malfunctions
o 28. When we may enter
o 31. Responsibilities of Owner
o 39. Cleaning
o 41. Security Deposit Deductions and Other Charges
The move in condition report completed at the time of occupancy of #108
Final Statement of Deposit
Estimate from carpet vendor
Estimate for cleaning
Estimate for damage repairs
Photographs of the unit in the condition it was found on January 2, 2015
o Photographs of damages that were NOT charged back to the renter are also included. These are saved with the words "NO CHARGE" in the file name.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is very typical of them to try to throw every little thing back at us and blame us. I stayed there for so long because I work so much and it is a lot easier then to uproot everything. That incident they are talking about with the leak is not true. If there is an emergency then why not be prepared when people do work for a living and we were moving. The way they claimed it was completely not true. We received no call or anything about it letting us know anything. When the guy they are talking about, when he showed up when my fiance was there didnt announce self or anything just asked to come in. In this day and age your not going to let just some random person come into your house if you don't know who they are. Once he knew who they were he had no problems letting him in and the guy that came was a guy representing Mr. Wright, not Rudy himself. He suggested that we called Aarons to have them come shop vac it because he wouldn't be ready till monday. When we tried calling aarons to have them come out like suggested they were already closed. The guy that also showed up was the one that found the leak turned off the valve not my fiance. When we agreed to have the carpet cleaner come he called to reschedule. That is not true about the 550 deposit. So there is only a security deposit of $50 to move in? I don't think so plus I had to pay double the pet deposit. Like I said this is completely like I expected it to be when I wrote this that they would find some way to blame this all on us. It's not good to handle business that way or to have such poor customer service skills.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Solar Energy Products Service & Repair, Contractors - Solar Energy, Real Estate Services, Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals, Real Estate Rental Service, Remodeling Services, Construction Management, Maids & Butlers Service, Real Estate, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate Brokers, Property Management

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/01/1985Business started: 02/11/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Commission of Texas
P O Box 12188/1101 Camino La Costa
Austin, TX 78711-2188
(512) 936-3000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rudy Wright (President)Customer Contact: Ms Yvonne Wright (Vice President)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Solar Energy Products Service & Repair, Contractors - Solar Energy, Real Estate Services, Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals, Real Estate Rental Service, Remodeling Services, Construction Management, Maids & Butlers Service, Real Estate, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate Brokers, Property Management

Products & Services

This business offers contracting in construction and remodeling services, solar energy design & installation, fencing, house cleaning, painting, parking area maintenance, patio, porch and deck enclosures and pressure washing. They also offer contracting services in property management, real estate, water/pool heating and window cleaning.

Alternate Business Names
Wright Way Real Estate and Property Management, Wright Way Solar Technologies, Wright-Way Cleaning Service, Wright-Way Remodeling and Construction

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wright Way Services

12863 County Road 192

Tyler, TX 75703-6417

To | From


1 Locations

  • 12863 County Road 192 

    Tyler, TX 75703-6417(903) 561-5191
    Fax: (903) 581-8389

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wright Way Services is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.