BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Byrd Masonry

(903) 594-87771203 Carol Ln, TylerTX 75701-3330

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Byrd Masonry is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Byrd Masonry

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired Kelley Byrd to solve a problem with odor coming out of my fireplace. He said we needed to extend the chimney and cap the top. He said he would clean fireplace and get rid of all old build up that was causing the odor. He said he would clean, seal and paint the inside. He extended the fireplace by 5 feet did not put the metal cap on top that we agreed to. The odor is much worse than it was. Now rain comes down our chimney and seeps through the back wall. It has damaged our wood trim around the fireplace and ruined our fireplace screen with water damage. Mold is growing on the brick and we keep spraying it with bleach. We are unable to use the fireplace and the odor drives us out of the room. I have contacted him twice about the problem and he said he would come out and look at it when he was back in town. The work was done in January 2015 and it is now June and the problem is getting worse.
Product_Or_Service: fireplace repair

Desired Settlement
I want water stopped from coming in fireplace. Mold and odor removed. Metal cap installed on top of chimney as originally bid. Any water damage to home repaired. Gutters cleaned that are plugged with brick mortar on back side of house.

02/10/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. *. **** refuses to respond to our contacts re: making good on warranty service of product installed.
March 28, 2015 a ******** Energy Saving Damper was installed by Mr. *. **** of Byrd Masonry.

Cost: $795.00 paid in full by check. Receipt & Warranty received.

We have had several rains throughout the Spring and Fall seasons; and with each rain, we are experiencing heavier leaks through what seems to be faulty installation of the damper by Mr. Byrd.

During the week of October 19, 2015, we contacted Mr. **** to request repairs. He agreed to come out on October 28, 2015 to complete the service request. He did not show and made no attempt to contact us. We made several attempts, including phone calls, e-mails, and text messages to find out why he did not make good on his promise. He finally responded on November 13, 2015 by stating that, "We are covered up it will be awhile if j told you a day id be lieing." (text message) We made one more attempt to contact Mr. **** in November, two attempts in December, and three attempts in January 2016. He has chosen to ignore every single one of our contact attempts.

The fireplace masonry stays wet on the inside. Pieces are falling off. We are extremely concerned about future damage as well as possible mold developing.

Desired Settlement
Just get out here and reseal the damper so water will stop coming into the house every time it rains. We do not want masonry and/or mold issues resulting due to negligent work!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Mason Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/26/1996Business started: 01/01/1976
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr Kelly Byrd (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr David Byrd (Owner)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Mason Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1203 Carol Ln 

    Tyler, TX 75701-3330(903) 594-8777

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Byrd Masonry is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.