BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1989

Spring Hill State Bank

Phone: (903) 759-0751Fax: (903) 759-87163700 Gilmer Rd, LongviewTX 75604-1221 Send email to Spring Hill State Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1989

BBB has determined that Spring Hill State Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Spring Hill State Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Spring Hill State Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lied to about receiving my mortgage payoff.
Refinanced our mortg. With SHB. Payoff wired and shows to have been received by SHB on 11/16/15. Upon first phone call to see why loan wasn't showing zero balance, I was told by ****** they had not received payoff. After verification from new lender that wire was sent and received by SHB on 11/16. I call back and was then spoken to very rudely by ****** that they had indeed received payoff this morning 11/17??
Very strange. Seems as if they wanted to hold off on posting payoff, thereby making them more money in interest everyday. Is this legal? ****** very rudely stated that the payoff would not be posted until 11/17! Then hung up.
I want my refund for the amount of payoff over what was actual payoff on day it was received 11/16.

Desired Settlement
I want the payoff to be posted on 11/16 when it was received. And refund of overpayment of interest.

Business Response
I researched all information regarding the particular case. In comparing our records we did not receive the wire in the bank until 11-17-2015 at 10:59 am. I spoke with the customer to assure her of the date we received and the payoff was applied on the same date. If we would have received the wire on the 16th we would have posted as of that date.

Our records for wires come from the Fed and I have verification paperwork of receipt on the 17th, if necessary.

In speaking with the customer I also apologized for our employee being rude to her and stressed that is not how we do business. We will address that on our end. In talking with the customer I believe this issue is resolved.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1989Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 22526 for this company.

Type: Banking & Finance - State Dept

Check License Status: http://www.banking.state.tx.us/supreglic ent.asp22526

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Les Mendicello (CEO/President)Customer Contact: Ms. Tammy Gibbons (Sr. Vice-President of Operations)Ms. Joni Howard (Vice President)
Business Category

Banks

Products & Services

This company offers Banking services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Spring Hill State Bank

3700 Gilmer Rd

Longview, TX 75604-1221

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3700 Gilmer Rd 

    Longview, TX 75604-1221(903) 759-0751
    Fax: (903) 759-8716

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Spring Hill State Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.