BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1990

Southside Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (903) 531-7111Fax: (903) 592-3692View Additional Phone Numbers1201 S Beckham Ave, TylerTX 75701-3320

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1990

BBB has determined that Southside Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Southside Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Southside Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went into the bank to see if a loan payment could be delayed to the end of the month and the man(I believe to be *) told me that the payment had already come out. He said that my account was overdrawn with the charges I had made just a few minutes before and how much it was overdrawn. I asked if I deposited money(cash) today would it catch or stop any charges that would be posted. He said if I deposited the money before they closed at 7:00 or at the Atm down the street by 11:30 that night it would negate any charges. The time was around 4:30. I said ok and left. I called a friend and he came when he got off and deposited money in the bank inside wal-mart before it closed. The time was 6:30. While he was there the teller told him that it would not count till tom. He came over and told me what they said. I called and talked to *. He said that what * said was not right. It had to be deposited in the atm down the street before 11:30. The actual bank's day rolls over at 6:00. I said well we'll come andget the cash and take it down to the atm. He said we couldn't do that. He said he would check to see if I am charged and we would fix it. He said for me to call around 3:30 that he was going to leave at 5:00 but that by 3:30 we would know for sure. I checked today(thursday 23) and sure enough I was charged $90. 3 overdraft charges of $30 each. I called * at the bank and he said he would talk to * when he got back from vacation next Wed. If * doesn;t know what;s going on now, 7 days is not going to improve his mind. I told him that wasn't good enough and then he said he would talk to a supervisor and call me back in 20 minutes. Well I still have not heard from him and it's 9:00 at night on Thursday.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the $90 and any other charges that the acct. incurs. * and * need further training with cust. service and bank policies.

Business Response
I have spoken with Ms. * and refunded the requested fees. She said she would inform the BBB that the matter has been resolved.

Final Consumer Response
Customer called to say this complaint was resolved.

10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A large deposit was made at the local branch in Palestine, TX on Tuesday, September 10, 2013. At the time of the deposit we were informed that it would be available on Friday, September 13, 2013, in full. When checking our account balance online on Saturday, September 14, 2013, we saw that it was still not available. We called the 1-888 number on the back of our debit card to inquire. When we spoke to someone, we were informed that there was a hold until Wednesday, September 18, 2013 on the full amount. The name of the representative cannot be recalled. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, the representative refused. She refused to give any phone numbers for me to call at a later time. When I said that if I couldn't get a resolution, I would go to my local branch and close my account, I was told that there would be police officers waiting for me at the location.
Product_Or_Service: deposit from another account

Desired Settlement
We want notification from a supervisor of an appropriate punishment of the employee for refusing to give me the contact information to get it resolved on Monday (which the manager at the Palestine Branch DID give to me), for refusing general service, and for threatening me.

Business Response
On Saturday, September 14, 2013, the Southside Bank call center received a call from * * *. When the Call Center Representative informed Mr. * that his concern could only be addressed by his banking officer on Monday, and that she would send an email to the officer to contact him Monday morning, Mr. * shouted and repeatedly demanded the officer's home telephone number. Mr. * also indicated he was going to the branch and "raise h___." At that point the Representative advised Mr. * that she would notify the branch, and as a precautionary measure a police officer would be present.
The *'s were upset that their deposit was not available, but that was beyond the control of the Phone Center Representative, or an officer on a Saturday. When Mrs. * spoke with a bank officer on the following Monday, as the Phone Center Representative had originally suggested, the matter was quickly resolved.

07/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Opened savings acct that should have rolled money into checking as needed. Was not set up right resulting in 19 overdraft fees of 30.00 EACH.
ON 5-16-13 I went to Ssuthside bank on Rice rd. I opened a savings acct.by ********* She said she was acting mgr. I had to wait while she helped someone else. very apologetic about me having to wait. kept gushing about her promotion. signed several papers.Told her I wanted to set up to rollover if checking acct needed funds. She said would give me overdraft protection also. I said it didn't matter because of rollover. After signing everything only thing left to do was scan in the papers all finished. She was stressed because another customer had come up and was waiting to be helped also. also she was called away several times to answer other tellers questions Or to ask a question. It should have dawned on me then that she didn't know what she was doing. Time went on and we left to go on vacation for the July 4 for a couple days. I knew I only had about 300-400 dollars in checking but I didn't worry because The savings acct was set up to put money into the checking acct if needed. On Sunday July 7 I checked my checking acct. online and saw all the overdraft charges. I went up to Southside Bank on Rice and spoke to **** ******* I explained to her what was happening and she fixed the accounts the way it should have been in the begining except now I was short $590. in overdraft fees **** said she could refund 2 of the 19 charged but she would have to check on the rest. When I spoke with her again she said Mrs ******* said they couldn't refund anymore. It was their mistake. The bank needs to refund the charges and own up to their mistake. **** was supposed to call me on Tues after she spoke to bookkeeping. She had talked to Mrs. ******** when she didn't I called her She had left early and was going to be off on Wed. I could not get hold of Mrs. ****** in bookkeeping at all. Talked to *** in Bookkeeping instead and *** said it was ***** job to refund the charges. Around and around we go. Southside is not even taking resposibility. Or even to say I'm sorry.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of the overdraft charges that were assessed. 17 charges of $30.00 each. the total is $530.00 to be refunded to my checking acct. There was 19 but they already refunded 2 of them. I went to the Bank on Rice rd but the main office is on Beckham.

Business' Initial Response
Southside Bank has refunded the charges and this complaint has been resolved. They were very sorry for any convience I had encountered.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1990Business started: 10/03/1960
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Banking
2601 North Lamar
Austin, TX78705-4294
(512) 475-1300
http://www.banking.state.tx.us

BBB records show a license number of 1896-16 for this company, issued by Texas Department of Banking. Their web address is http://www.banking.state.tx.us.

Type: Banking & Finance - State Dept

Check License Status: http://www.banking.state.tx.us/supreglic ent.asp1896-16

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Dawson (President/CEO)Mr. Lee R. Gibson (CPA, Executive V-P/CFO)Mr. Bill G Hartley (Chairman)Ms. Jill Kinsley (SVP)Mr Brian McCabe (EVP)
Business Category

Banks

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose
BBBTips on Business Credit
BBBTips on Saving and Investing
Dont Get Taken to the Bank - Protect Your ATM and Debit Cards

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southside Bank

1201 S Beckham Ave

Tyler, TX 75701-3320

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1201 S Beckham Ave 

    Tyler, TX 75701-3320(903) 531-7111

  • PO Box 1079 

    Tyler, TX 75710-1079

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southside Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 567-3043
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.