BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2008

Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep

(903) 856-60102244 US Highway 271 N, PittsburgTX 75686-4286 Send email to Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2008

BBB has determined that Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to register vehicle and deliver license plates in time required by law.
On aug. 21,2013 I purchased a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500 truck from Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep. Sales tax,title application fee and registration fee was paid at time of sale. Dow Dodge was to take the paper work and fee to the county tax office and apply for title and register the truck. According to TXDMV they have a maximum of 45 days to to get this done. I called the sales rep. @ Dow Dodge the first week of October and inquired about my registeration.I told him that the temporary tags would expire on Oct.22,2013. He said that he would check and get back with me. No phone call or E-mail to this date (oct.22,2013 )On Oct.22,2013 I call and spore with the Gen. Mgr. of Dow Dodge.I informed him that the temp. tags would expire at Midnight( oct.22,2013)
and that I still didn't have my license plates. He said that he would check on it and placed me on hold. The sales rep came on the line and said they had the paper work but had not gone to the tax office. I told him that the temporary tags would expire at midnight and that it would be illegal for me to drive the truck. He said that I should get the new plates sometime the week of Oct 28th. I now have a truck that I can't drive because of their negligence.

Desired Settlement
Dealer to apply for title and registeration of
the truck immediatly and deliver all doucements and plates to me at my residence.
Dealer should also compensate me for not being able to drive my vehicle @ the rental rate for the same size and type of truck that I have for every day that it's illeagal for me to drive my vehicle.

Business Response

Customer purchased a vehicle that was owned by a sales rep, NOT Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep. It was his personal vehicle that we were trying to sell on consignment for him. Customer purchased the vehicle on 8/21 from the rep who works at Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep. The rep had a lien on the truck from a credit union in Tyler Tx. Once the vehicle was paid off and title was sent to us it was around October 23rd. We had to wait on the credit union to release the title and mail the title to our Mineola location. It was brought to our attention that customer hadn't received his license plates yet and the temporary plates were expiring. The offer was made to customer to issue a new temporary license plate but he wanted his metal permanent tags. Oct 23rd at 1:30 pm customer was called at both numbers that we have on file and left him a message trying to get in contact with him to deliver his temporary tags to him. At 1:35pm on October 23rd he read an email that was sent to him stating that his license plates will be available for him to pick up on October 25th. He responded to the email stating that he will be up to pick them up first thing in the morning on Friday Oct 25th. On Friday October 25th he came and picked up his license plates at approximately 7:30 AM.

Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram was waiting on the title to his truck from the credit union in Tyler to be able to process the tax work on his truck. Once we received the title we were able to get his license plates with a few days of receiving the title. We offered him to replace the expiring temporary tags with a valid temporary tag while we were waiting on the tax work.

Final Consumer Response
His response is not completely accurate, but it will do. I have my plates and registration so we can consider the case closed as far as I'm concerned.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/16/2008Business started: 08/01/1994Business started locally: 10/05/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation M V D
125 East 11th Street
Austin, TX78701-2483
(512) 463-8585
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

TxDOT Texas Department of Transportation
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX78701
(800) 299-1700
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Eddie Dow, Jr. (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep

2244 US Highway 271 N

Pittsburg, TX 75686-4286

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2244 US Highway 271 N 

    Pittsburg, TX 75686-4286(903) 856-6010

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dow Chrysler Dodge Jeep is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Vocation School, How to Choose
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.