BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/30/2012

East Texas Collision Repair

Phone: (903) 581-2995Fax: (903) 509-83724719 Old Troup Hwy, TylerTX 75707-1427 Send email to East Texas Collision Repair

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/30/2012

BBB has determined that East Texas Collision Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised East Texas Collision Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/17/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: RAISING THEIR PRICE AFTER AGREEMENT AND DOWNPAYMENT WAS MADE BECAUSE EMPLOYEE MADE AN ERROR AND PARTS COST MORE
ON 11/13/12 WENT IN WITH DAMAGED CAR ALONG WITH THE INSURANCE ESTIMATED REPORT. THE EMPLOYEE TOLD ME THAT THEY COULD REPAIR THE CAR FOR WHAT THE REPORT SAID $948.50 A $500.00 DEPOSIT WAS GIVEN FOR THEM TO ORDER THE PARTS. THE CAR WAS NOT LEFT AT THIS TIME BUT WHEN THE PARTS CAME IN THEY CALLED AND SAID THAT THE PARTS COST MORE AND THE EMPLOYEE MISSED SOMETHING AND IT WAS GOING TO COST $500.00 MORE THAN QUOTED. A FEW DAYS LATER THE CAR WAS TAKEN BACK IN TO DO THE WORK. TWO DAYS LATER THEY CALLED AGAIN AND SAID THAT THEY FOUND SOMETHING ELSE THAT WAS GOING TO COST ADDITIONAL $400.00. SO NOW WHAT WAS GOING TO COST ME $948.50 IS COSTING ME $1,848.50. I CAN UNDER STAND FINDING SOMETHING EXTRA WHEN THEY GET IT TORN DOWN BUT RAISE YOUR QOUTED PRICE AFTER YOU HAVE MY DOWNPAYMENT CHECK THEN YOU TELL ME YOU MADE A MISTAKE. IF I KNEW FROM THE START THAT IT WAS GOING TO BE MORE THE THE ESTIMATE I WOULD HAVE GONE AN GOTTEN OTHER ESTIMATES. THE OTHER VEHICLE THAT WAS TAKEN TO A DIFFERENT SHOP AN ESTIMATE WAS GIVEN AND IT CAME IN $56.00 UNDER THE INSURANCE ESTIMATE AND THE WORK WAS COMPLETED FOR PRICE QUOTED. MY COMPLAINT IS EAST TEXAS COLLISION SHOULD STAND BY WHAT THEIR EMPLOYEE QUOTE AND NOT JUST SAY WE MADE AN ERROR WHEN THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY. THIS WOULD NOT BE AS MUCH OF A PROBLEM FOR ME IF THE INSURANCE WAS PAYING FOR THE REPAIRS BUT THEY ARE NOT I WAS PAYING FOR THE REPAIRS OUT OF MY POCKET AN WAS TRYING TO GET THE BEST DEAL I COULD GET. THANK YOU FOR LISTENING.

Business' Initial Response
Customer came in with estimate that his insurance figured. We made it very clear that we would start with the estimate provided to us and we would notify customer of any extra damages or changes to estimate. We agreed to start repairs according to the estimate that was provided to us by customer. Once we ordered the part, dealer notified us of part price increase. There was also no paint time figured on the estimate he gave us so we had to add paint time to the estimate to paint bumper. Once vehicle was dropped off to begin repairs, we disassembled bumper and found extra damage to rear reinforcement bar, absorber, and rear body panel. We took pictures to document extra damage and we notified Mr ******. We offered to have him come in and look at damage and he did not. We suggested that Mr ****** turn it in to his insurance but he stated that he could not because the person driving his truck at time of accident was not insured to drive his truck by his insurance. All extra damage found was necessary and reasonable to finish repairs and allow parts to fit properly and safely. Our estimated has disclaimer stating that it is only an estimate and does not include possible hidden damage that ****** be found after repairs begin. Upon final payment, Mr ****** came by to pay remaining balance and we once again offered to show him his insurance estimate and explain where the difference came from and he refused.

Attached is the copy of the estimate that we were given. I have circled where the adjuster made notes about painting bumper but did not figure any time. I also circled disclaimers about parts & labor. I will email pictures off extra damage.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: East Texas Collision Repair did not go by what I wanted done with my vehicle. This was wrong not standing by what I wanted done.
On October 4,2013, I went to East Texas Collision Repair to get a Estimate on 2005 Ford Taurus SEL on the right side rear bumper only. After I got my estimate I left my Ford Taurus with them only doing the rear bumper. They did not call or text me about doing the whole right side. I talk with ***** and *** about only doing the right side rear. Yes, I told *** only the right rear to be repair. I let her now ********** Insurance Companies have wrote me the check is under my son name ***********. I will pay the bill just call or text me when you all finish the job. They did not call or text me when something different came up. In the front desk a note: when order part we needed a deposit. I did not get a call or text. When I was in their office on October 29, 2013,*** was on the telephone telling somebody on the telephone they have a problem with their vehicle. I ask why I did not get a call about my vehicle. They did not give me a reply. We just did ********** Estimate. I let them know it was wrong, I told you all I came in on October 4, 2013, left my vehicle with you all with the agreement. I was clear in what I want done with my vehicle. ***** carry me into his office and pull up the estimate on his computer what I want done with my vehicle. ***** saw the paperwork under my name. ***** told me to call ********** and I told him no. I know what I told you to repair on my car we agree with that. I let him know I have a copy of the paper work at home. I did not give you all a copy of ********** Estimate. You all pull up the estimate. I had to pay for the whole right side. This was not the agreement I left with you all on October 4, 2013. I let them know this was wrong for me to pay for work I did not ask them to do. In looking down my right side it still needed some repair work done. They did not go by the estimate they give me on October 4, 2013. On October 29,2013, I got a lot of run around information. They did not stand by their words or write down important information. They just bring up ********** Estimate not going by the Estimate give to me on October 4, 2013. One thing I left out, ***** told me he go by what on the computer. When ***** saw my name ***** ********* on his computer he down his head. This when he told me to call **********. I told him I was paying the bill not **********. I let him know about the issue at hand. Before we went into his office he told me he go by the information on his computer. When he saw my name he change everything. I told ***** you see my name why you did not follow my wishing. ***** just sit at his desk and came out with called **********. I let ***** know you not standing by your word. The information with ********** is under my son name. I came into your office for repair not my son ***********. By law you should have done business with me not ********** or ***********. I made myself clear in doing business with East Texas Collision Repair on October 4, 2013. *** ask me question about who paying the bill. I told ***, I am paying the bill not **********, just do my rear bumper only. When you come back bring cash or cashier's check okay. I give *** my keys and I left out on October 4, 2013. It okay for you to call or text me at XXX XXX XXXX.

Initial Business Response
We did write an estimate to this customer. In fact, she came by several times changing her mind on what she wanted repaired. The day she dropped her vehicle off to us we asked her if she had turned it over to her insurance company, and she said yes. We are very carfeul about documenting any customer requests upon vehicle drop off. In addition, we have no record of her saying she only wanted part of the car fixed. We then called her insurance company and we recieved a copy of the estimate for repairs. As I explained to the customer, we based the repairs off of the insurance estimate that we were provided. We did the repairs exactly as the insurance company covered. When repairs were completed, and the customer came to pick the vehicle up, she claimed that she did not want all repairs completed and that she only wanted partial repairs so that she may keep some of the money. We clearly stated that all repairs were done based on the insurance claim she had filed and the paper work we had from the insurance company.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I told *** what I want before I left the shop on October 15, 2013. I clearly stated this to ***. I told *** I will pay for the vehicle. I show her on the State Farm the part I want done. It will be cash when I pick up my vehicle. We agree to the sale of my vehicle. I told ***** only the rear bumper. I let ***** and *** know only the rear bumper I want done. ***** turn everything over to *** to finish the sale. He give me the copy of the rear bumper for my record. Yes, the customer is right you needed to service and act in complete honesty. They needed to refund me my money back. You can see they did not do the right thing. By law they own me a refund. When something do not look right they should have called me to make sure everything was going right. I listen to *** called a customer when a problem with his or her vehicle. *** did not turn in the right paperwork on my vehicle. If you have any problem give me a called or text me. I was clear on what I wanted done with my vehicle when I left on October 15, 2013. In their statement you can see this company did not do the right thing.

Final Business Response
The customer insists that she clearly described what she wanted done to her vehicle, but nowhere in any of our two encounters did we receive any indication of her only wanting "partial" repair. The only information upon dropping off the vehicle was a work authorization signature and her stating that State Farm would be handling the claim. As for the customer always being right, we truly believe that, given that both parties fully understand the service desired and are acting in complete honesty. We do not feel responsible as we were sincerely trying to take care of our customer; as we do ALl our customers. That being said, we're sorry you feel this way, but by no means do we accept your desired resolution.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/07/2001Business started: 03/01/2000
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roberto Butron (Co-Owner)Ms. Mary Butron (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

This company also offers collision repair.

Industry Tips
Vocation School, How to Choose
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for East Texas Collision Repair

4719 Old Troup Hwy

Tyler, TX 75707-1427

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4719 Old Troup Hwy 

    Tyler, TX 75707-1427(903) 581-2995

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*East Texas Collision Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

Vocation School, How to Choose
The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.