BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1985

Davis Green Paint & Body Shop, Inc.

Phone: (903) 581-0020Fax: (903) 581-0628View Additional Phone Numbers5005 Old Jacksonville Hwy., TylerTX 75703 Send email to Davis Green Paint & Body Shop, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto body repair and painting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1985

BBB has determined that Davis Green Paint & Body Shop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Davis Green Paint & Body Shop, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Davis Green Paint & Body Shop, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car has a possible oil leak that they were aware of and were supposed to look into it but never did.
I took my 2007 Chev HHR to them for repair after hitting deer. I went through Allstate Insurance Co. My adjuster *** ** says he discussed with ***** or the Shop Mgr about an oil leak that was noticed and to determine whether the leak was from a previous issue or from the accident. I even emailed ***** on it on October 24th to check on it. I also emailed her that same day about a prompt that came on after the accident showing "check traction control", to ensure it was looked into. Neither issue was ever looked into. My car repair totaled $4300. When I called them the next day, after picking my car up I spoke with *****. She seemed less than concerned that neither issue was looked into and actually blamed the insurance company adjuster for the oil leak not being looked into. She said they couldnt run a diagnostic on the prompt if it didnt show while they had the vehicle. I drove the car from Old Jacksonville to Robertson Rd in Tyler and it came on. Thats less than 4 miles away and it came on. ***** told me to bring the car in and they can run a diagnostic on it but to take it somewhere else for the oil leak. Now I will be out of a car again and have to pay for a rental. I dont feel this was handled appropriately at all, especially with as much money as this repair shop was paid.

Desired Settlement
I want the car repaired as discussed. Oil leak and traction control problems fixed. Simple as that.

Business Response
I've read the entire complaint and I've researched this from all aspects. I want to address the 2 issues separately.

First off, the possible oil leak.
As I hope you're aware, this was an insurance claim repair which means the insurance company, in this case Allstate, is not only responsible for paying for the repairs, but more importantly, has to approve the repairs associated with the claim. We were aware from the beginning that the customer wanted a possible oil leak checked as possibly being a result of this accident. During the repair process, we did find some associated damage to the transmission pan which we then forwarded to Allstate for approval. The transmission pan was then replaced as part of the claim. We also found some oil build-up, but we were unable to verify that this build-up was accident related. We notified the Allstate adjuster, who came to our facility to inspect the vehicle. He came to our facility on October 28th and he determined that the oil build-up was not related to this accident; therefore, he denied this as part of the claim. Please understand that without insurance approval, we are unable to trouble-shoot, diagnose or repair any issue due to the fact that the insurance company **** deny payment. The Allstate adjuster told us that he would contact the owner and let them know they would need to take it to a dealership service center once the repairs on the claim were complete so that they could diagnose the oil issue. He also stated that he would advise the customer that if the dealership service center ultimately discovered the oil issue was part of the original claim, then Allstate would pay for repair.
On October 29th, we spoke with the customer and confirmed that the Allstate adjuster had spoken with them and answered all questions regarding the possible oil issue. Again, Allstate denied the oil issue as part of the claim, and discussed with the customer the actions to take once our repair process for the accident claim were complete.
Concerning the traction control light, we were made aware we needed to check this out as well. We have a computerized diagnostic system that we plug into vehicles that are displaying some type of alert or code, and the diagnostic system is able to troubleshoot the code and recommend a remedy. For the diagnostic system to work and properly troubleshoot a code, regardless of what type, the code has to be displayed on the vehicle. In the case of this customer's vehicle, there was not a "traction control" code light on at any time while the vehicle was at our facility including during the quality control test drive after repairs. Without a code present, there is no way for the diagnostic system to detect an issue. On November 8th, we asked that the customer bring the vehicle by with the light on and we would be glad to diagnose the issue at no charge what-so-ever. At this point, the customer has not come by our facility.
To summarize, Allstate denied the oil build-up as being part of the claim and discussed with the customer the actions to take, once our repairs were complete. The traction control light was never illuminated during our repair process so there was no way to diagnose a potential issue. We've offered to check the light out at no charge, but have not heard back from the customer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1952New Owner Date: 04/01/2007
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darren Davis (President)Mr. Larry Fuller (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Davis & Green Paint and Body

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Davis Green Paint & Body Shop, Inc.

5005 Old Jacksonville Hwy.

Tyler, TX 75703

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5005 Old Jacksonville Hwy. 

    Tyler, TX 75703

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Davis Green Paint & Body Shop, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (903) 581-0021
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.