BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1998

Glacier Cooling & Heating

Phone: (903) 882-8901Fax: (903) 407-438913380 Fm 849, LindaleTX 75771-5052 Send email to Glacier Cooling & Heating

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1998

BBB has determined that Glacier Cooling & Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Glacier Cooling & Heating's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Glacier Cooling & Heating

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid Glacier over $400 to repair my daughters A.C unit. They replaced the parts with incorrect parts. Had to pay more money for correct fix.
Called Glacier on 4/3/14, tech came out. He said motor was bad, he replaced the motor on there with a smaller motor and also replaced the capacitor with a smaller one. A/C began tripping breaker, he came back told us the breaker was bad. Replaced breaker continued to trip. I called another tech, who came out replaced motor and capicitor with correct one now it runs fine. I attempted to speak with the owner several times so that we could work it out, he refused to call me back. After I paid another tech the Glacier tech called me and I explained to him that we had his parts, he could come get them but he said I paid for them so that was between myself and the owner. I can't get the owner to call me back. I do feel that I owe them for a thermostat but not the parts or labor. I have done business with Glacier before with no issues but this was bad business on ********** part from the beginning. I would like a refund of $365.00.

Desired Settlement
A refund of $365

Business Response
July 14, 2014
Case # XXXXXXXX
***** *******
XXXXX Brazos Way
Lindale, Texas XXXXX

On 4-3-14 I received a call from ********* ******** She said her air conditioner was not working. I sent my tech out to her house. He found a bad motor and t-stat. He replaced the condenser fan motor with the same size motor that was already on there. The size was 1075 rpm. The next day, ********* called back and said it was tripping the breaker. She said her dad had put the last motor on last year, but they did not get along so she did not want to call him. I sent ***** back out to her house and he called the manufacture and they told him it was the wrong motor and it should be an 825 rpm motor. ***** told the customer he would have to go get the correct motor. Merrandie's mom ***** ******* had used her credit card the day before to pay for the work done. She then called me and was upset about the motor. I told her ***** was going to come back to put the right motor on but she said she would find someone else. ***** also called and talked to *****. We have not been back to the house, because ***** told me she did not want us to come back, and they have the motor, capacitor, and new t-stat. They have never returned any of it and have not even offered to return it. *****'s BBB report stated that she offered to have my tech come back out to get the parts, but this is the first time I have heard that and my tech said he was never told that either. We provided service and parts to the customer and feel like there should be no reason for a refund. ***** also stated that she tried to speak with the owner several times but he refused to call her back. I told ***** that ****** (our owner) was out of town. I spoke to her a few times and ***** spoke with her a few times also. ***** had contacted her credit card company and requested a chargeback. The company refunded her the payment. After I submitted our response, the credit card company returned the full payment back to us. If you have any questions please feel free to call me at Glacier Cooling & Heating our number is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,
******* *********



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are attempting to make it out like this all happened in two days. This was over a two week period. ****** had plenty of time to get back to town and give me a call. Even now he is having his office person respond instead of himself. You will never convince me that ***** called the manufactor because he told my daughter and son in law that the unit was so old he didn't find numbers on it. Most units that size would take the 825 rpm motor. Howevcr with the pitch of those blades on the fan it will only work with a 1075rpm motor. We did contact the manufactor and that was the information we received. The motor that was on it was a 1075 rpm motor which I still have the receipt for it also from a year ago that her dad put on.I have offered for them to come and the parts because I can't use them they are the wrong ones. ***** repeatly changed his story to my daughter and sonin law. He doesn't have the experience as ****** which is why I waited several days before buying more parts. We doubled checked our information with not only coburn's but also the manufactor and then finally just ran to Mathews and picked up the correct parts. My credit card company refunded the money to you because this is now a civil matter. I honestly feel at this time that I will file a small claims case. I have my daughter, myself, my son in law which all heard *****'s statements. Then my x husband who repaired it after ***** left it broken. When I spoke to ***** he was shocked that ****** had not called me back. He said well now I understand why you are upset. He even knew it had been several days. ******* knew per our conversation that I wanted to speak to ******. I told her he had always done good work for me in the past and I just really wanted to work this out. I still waited a couple more days before calling my x husband. ****** could have made a phone call from out of town. I would appreciate a resolution that both parties could live with.

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this offer... AND FOR THE 10th time you can have your parts. I can't use them because they are the wrong ones. I will only I shouldn't have to pay for a second motor and capacitor. He took off a 1075 and replaced with smaller motor... How is that putting on the correct motor from the beginning. I will settle for $350 today and you can have all your parts. I will give you the thermostate back.

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/07/1998Business started: 12/01/1995New Owner Date: 12/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P O Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

BBB records show a license number of TALCB00014942E for this company.

Type: Heating & AC TX Department of Licensing

Check License Status: http://www.license.state.tx.us/LicenseSearch/TALCB00014942E

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrel Cochran (Owner)Ms. Tracy Cochran (Owner)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers air conditioning and heating equipment and service.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Glacier Cooling & Heating

13380 Fm 849

Lindale, TX 75771-5052

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 13380 Fm 849 

    Lindale, TX 75771-5052(903) 882-8901
    Fax: (903) 407-4389

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Tyler & Longview TX Serving 19 East Texas Counties. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Glacier Cooling & Heating is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.