Download Download Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Hansons Window & Siding

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 553-9170 Fax: (248) 577-0953 View Additional Phone Numbers 977 E 14 Mile Rd, Troy, MI 48083 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hansons.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hansons Window & Siding meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hansons Window & Siding include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 93 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

93 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 30 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 7
Problems with Product/Service 76
Total Closed Complaints 93

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

168 Customer Reviews on Hansons Window & Siding
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 142
Neutral Experience 3
Negative Experience 23
Total Customer Reviews 168

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1989 in MI Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs (f/k/a Department of Labor and Economic Growth)
P.O. Box 30018, Lansing MI 48909
Phone Number: (517) 241-9288

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian B. Elias, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Construction & Remodeling Services Windows Siding Contractors Roofing Contractors Home Improvements Gutters & Downspouts Doors

Alternate Business Names
1-800 Hansons 800-Hansons Hanson's Window & Construction, Inc. Hanson's Window & Siding Company Hanson's Window Company Hansons Window & Siding of Saginaw
Industry Tips

When making any home improvement, the BBB suggests that you obtain all terms of the contract in writing, including, but not limited to: dates when the project is to be started and completed; warranties and guarantees regarding the product and workmanship; and any other terms that you want expressed with the manner in which the job is to be performed.

Industry Tips
Contracts Home Improvement Comment

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2015 Delivery Issues
12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Hanson's to put a new roof on my house. The roof they put on was unsafe and led to $**** in damage to my house. After hiring a lawyer and 2 inspectors (that both agreed it was the worst work they've ever seen), they finally agreed to redo the roof. They did the roof wrong again on the redo, so they came out and did it again. Then they did it wrong again the third time and had to come out and do it AGAIN. 4 TRIES. Now I'm stuck with a patch job and shingles that don't match on $****** roof. They keep sending the same crew out, one of which told me he just got out of prison. Hanson's has none of their own crews, and will hire anyone to come out to your home, regardless of criminal record or experience in the field. Besides the $**k for the roof, I had to spend thousands proving the roof was done wrong, and unsafe, tools and time to cleanup after them (which they needed to borrow because they didn't have their own), missed work, and damaged gutters that they would not admit to.They agreed to pay the $**** for the water damage, but now they are blaming the crew that put the roof on, and trying to get the money from their insurance company. Who knows if I will see that money.

Desired Settlement: I feel like compensation is due for all the time and money I spent getting them to do the work they agreed to do in the contract, as well as compensation for not being able to do the job correctly after 4 attempts.

Business Response: A check fro compensation has been sent to ** ****** as he requested.  He will also be provided with the insurance information that he requested.

Consumer Response:

This is not true. They paid me $*** for being 2 weeks late to start the job, which is part of their contract ($**/week late), and they reimbursed me $*** because they overcharged me. 

They have not made any attempt to offer compensation time and money spent getting them to do the job correctly. This includes attorney fees, inspection fees, damages done to the gutters and driveway, time missed from work, tools bought to clean nails from yard, time and money spent cleaning water and ice from garage and breezeway all winter, etc.

They told me they would pay for the damages done to my breezeway if I got 2 estimates. I sent them the estimates on 5/20/15. They have not sent a check, and have not informed me of any progress regarding the payment.

The fact that they would lie about these facts shows what kind of company Hansons is.

 

Business Response: ***** ***** spoke with *** ****** on 6-23-15 and informed him that the installers insurance company is sending an adjustor to review the damage.  It appears that they are going to take care of the problem.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10661068, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:


As of 7/9/15 Hansons has not paid for any damages and are not going to, as far as I know. They are getting the subcontractors insurance to pay me for the damages and not taking any responsibility for it. I am dealing strictly with the subcontractor's insurance company at this point and have not spoken with *** ***** or anyone from Hansons in weeks. 

Also, Hansons has not offered any compensation for any of the other issues in my complaint, which will result in legal action, again.


Regards,

****** ******


 

 

 

Business Response: This was resolved yesterday 7-15-15 with the insurance company.  They are paying *** ****** $******** for damage to property and *** ****** signed a release.  I would be happy to provide a copy of it if you need it.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10661068, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

*** ******* agreed to pay for the lower of the 2 estimates, which was $*******. I took the offer of $******* from the insurance company because it has been almost a year since I made the mistake of hiring Hansons and want to be done with them. Hiring them has cost me thousands (not including the work they shoddily did), and therefore I can't afford argue with them anymore.

I am rejecting their resolution because they failed to acknowledge anything in my complaint, except the part they were legally responsible for, and even in that part they didn't live up to their end of the deal.

Regards,

****** ******

 

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered windows through Hansons in November of 2014 with a delivery date of January 27,2015. Windows were measured wrong so we where compensated the $** a week for 4 weeks for the new order. After that we were cancelled on numerous times and the crew that came out did horrible work. They came back out to fix it and it was still so bad we had to get regional manager out to look at it only to say he is sorry and have another crew come out. More cancellations later the new crew comes out and works for 2 days with one day left and cancels again for another job. Had a scheduled appointment for tomorrow 9/2/15 and got cancelled again.

Desired Settlement: At this point after 8 months of trying to get new windows in and completed correctly. I would prefer to go with a different company that could get them in and finished in a timely matter. I would like a full refund of purchase price and will gradly give Hansons there windows back when the new windows are installed.

Business Response:

Service is complete on this job and customer states that they are happy with the work

10/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We got a Walk in tub from Hansons less than a year ago and we have had nothing but problems it leaks they came to fix it but it still leaks Im tired of cleaning up the water from the shower and I do use a shower curtain all the way to the wall it is still leaking and Im not happy with my Walk in tub and Hansons is the worst company for anything they do not return my calls when I call to have our Walk in tub repaired and now our buttons for the whirlpool and air jets do not work I could not turn them off and we had to use the fuse box to turn them off they would not but eventually they did but they still need to be fixed I have called the company and still have not heard back from them this company is the worse to deal with I wish I never got my Walk in tub from them we have had nothing but problems since we got it and Im surely not happy with what we had to pay for it! I want it fixed and I also want it reduced to a lower price after all these problems we have had I feel we should get some money off for all the problems we have had with it Im still not satisfied or happy with it and to pay this much money for something we are going to have problems with is not good! I will never recommend Hansons to anyone! Im afraid to use the Walk in tub because of the air jets and whirlpool buttons do not work! So we end up taking showers! Im afraid to use it because of all the water on the floor after taking a shower and the tub because the air jets and whirlpool will not shut off! Scary! Im not satisfied with our tub want it reduced and also fixed!!!

Desired Settlement: Reduced price or refund and also want it fixed its been way too long and a few months since its been not working! Worse company ever! I hate dealing with them!!!

Business Response: Our Vice President, **** ****** spoke with *** ******* today and we have a service appointment scheduled on 5-18-15

5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We orderd windows from Hanson in the spring and it took them 5 months to get them installed and since have had to replace the door wall twice already for defaults. They are still saying they will bring another. I signed a contract for the interest free loan they offered and set up my payments for auto pay through my bank. Well the other day I happened to check on a few things on my online account and noticed they are charging me 7.99% interest. When I called them on this, they faxed me over a copy of my contract. Strange. They had circled the 7.99% interest on their copy after they left my home. I'm thankful I was able to produce my copy with out the interest rate circled. They did rewrite the contract for the interest free loan but refused to refund me the interest I have already paid. They said it took me to long to notice it. Buyer beware.

Desired Settlement: Refund the interest they illegally charged me.

Business Response: Our Vice President, **** ****** spoke with *** ***** today.  He is sending us his invoices and we are going to reimburse him.

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Left trash, including nails and screws all over the house and driveway. Had to have them fix the gutters 3 times and they are still wrong. Left numerous holes in the house from screws. Gaps in the gutter grate, bent gutter grate. Missing down spout hold downs. Just a bad quality job.

Desired Settlement: After three times trying to fix this, they have left holes in the house and cracked my siding. I do not want them to touch my house again. I demand a refund and I will have another company fix them or either completely replace them.

Business Response: We have a service set on 5-23.  Gutter Manager will be at the house

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2014 I ordered two (2) windows to be installed. As of this date one window has been installed and we are still waiting for the second window (having the correct size) to be installed. We have gone through several cancelled appointments by the company, several wrong size windows and several wrong window measurements. I paid $1,400.00 for these windows to be installed to my satisfaction with their guarantee and they have failed to correctly install the second window. Now they are offering me a $100.00 refund to fix the problem myself. Please can you help me? Product_Or_Service: window Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Measure, order and install the correct size window.

Business Response: We have ordered a new window for *** *******.  It is expected approximately May 25th.  As soon as we receive it, we will call and schedule an installation appt.  I do apologize for the amount of time this has taken.

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a roof done with improper flashing around chimney and need it properly replaced because of leaks in attic. Had a professional check it it out to determine it is a flashing issue. Want the problem properly corrected to my satisfaction please.

Desired Settlement: Please replace the flashing around chimney with new product as it should have been in the first place after roof installation. Leaks are a structural problem and health issue for me.

Business Response:

Both our superintendent and our service technician have been to *** ******* home to inspect the leak.   It has been determined that the cause of the leak is missing mortar on the brick chimney and a cracked cap.  The flashing was done properly and we are not at fault.  This was explained to *** ******* on 3-6-15 and he understood.   This leak was existing prior to our roof install.  **. needs to get a masonry expert out there to fix his chimney. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10590735, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

4/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Hansons put a new roof on in Jan/2015. They failed to replace a gutter and left wood exposed. They came out after numerous calls and replaced the gutter. They place the new gutter over the exposed wood. The problem the wood will eventually rot, I will have to eventually replace theshingles and the wood underneath. I have been dealing with a ******* ******** at ext,****. She will no longer take my phone calls or return my voice message.

Desired Settlement: I would just like some one to come out a finish the job that they started.

Business Response: This service is scheduled for today 4-17-15

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10580710, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ********

 

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ordered 3 windows and a very expensive doorwall and day 1 they came out and installed 3 windows and did not trim them out they just left the windows wide open for the rain to get into the casings,it rained that night by the way..1 screen was tore from day 1 called brian ellis and his right hand man came out to my house to see what was going on he was even in shock and offered me*** ******* for the problem they didn't come back to trim my 3 windows out till 4 days later and didn't fix my screen?and still no doorwall which thats what i ordered in the first place took almost 3 months later to get my doorwall installed and it was damaged and put pine board around it for trim ?looked tacky*** get out called again they came out and changed it with oak which was a lot better but wasn't the crown molding i was promised the next door panel came in and sent one guy to install it and this one is damaged worse then the first one this one dont even close into the frame***** *** ****** are well aware of the issues and just last tue i was called and was told they was going to install the third door panel on thur or fri of last week they say 8 to 12 weeks from measurement day to have it all in good standing well i am going on week 27 and i stuck with a door wall that don't go into the frame i have have emailed them several times and might get a call in 1-2 days with the sugar coat talk it dont take much to fix a screen and it don't take months to make another door panel cause there made her in ohio the frame is made in canada ?all i ask for is the windows i payed a very heavy price for and reimburse me for all this headache april 21 2014 i signed this contract and its september 29 2014 and nothing is being done! people should never pay in full till the job is complete...

Desired Settlement: at least **** dollars!

Business Response: We just performed the final service for *** ********* doorwall on October 10th.   We changed out his panel and also delivered screens for his other windows.   We did have a few manufacturer's problems with the panel, but feel it is working properly at this time.  We are ready, willing, and able to service Mr. Marecle at any time in the future, if required.  We offered*** ******* $*** in compensation for the service issues and that check will be mailed shortly.

BBB Response:

  BBB of Detroit & Eastern Michigan
26777 Central Park Blvd, Ste. 100
Southfield, MI 48076-4163
Phone: (248)223-9400 | Fax: (248)356-5156
www.easternmichiganbbb.org

 

03/26/2015

***** ******* ***** ****** ********** * *** *****

 

Dear ***** ******* :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 9/29/2014 5:40:21 PM against Hansons Window & Siding.  Your complaint was assigned ID 10242131.

Although you have not expressed satisfaction in the resolution of your complaint,  based on the information provided by both you and the business, the BBB has determined that the business has met its obligations to you. We have no documented basis to require further action or response from the business. Therefore, the BBB will close this complaint and not pursue it further.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Regards,

***** ********
The Better Business Bureau
Fax: ************

3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 1, 2014, I signed a contract with a Hanson's siding salesman and paid a deposit of****** to have siding installed within 8-12 weeks. We still do not have a date for the installation much less the installation of siding as of November 6, 2014. Company service personnel have several times told us "it will be a couple of weeks before an installer is available." The manager, **** ******** states that they were behind in work due to the heavy winter snow, the rain over the summer, that the 8-12 weeks doesnt start until financing is approved which he says was 8/13. He claims we are "on deck" but that means they could set a date for installation but only 1-2 days before hand so he cannot estimate when siding will be installed much less give us a date. He cannot even assure us it will be done before Christmas. He assures us that they install siding even in the winter. We chose Hanson's to assure we were dealing with a reputable company. Their lack of service is inexcusable.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the siding installed ASAP. We have cedar siding that is deteriorating with all of the rain and the delay will accelerate that.

Business Response: This job is currently on our install schedule.  We are doing our best to get it completed, but have had some recent weather issues.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

[You must provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please type details here:]

Regards,

******** ****

Again, the 12 weeks promised has passed. I have cedar siding that is deteriorating with the weather. They do not install when it rains, if there is wind, or if the snow is too deep or the bushes have snow on them. The ' installer' who arrived last week said that all siding takes 6-8 months to install regardless of the company. I have made a deposit of $1,200 for a service whose inability to perform due to overpromising customers will ruin the cedar siding of my house. I do not believe they have in intention or, maybe, ability to provide the contracted service in the foreseeable future. The installer also said that the Grand Rapids branch is seriously backlogged on orders. Are we the only area of Michigan with rain, snow, and wind? I remain totally dissatisfied. Furthermore, they did not even have to courtesy to call me to tell me that another promise could not be fulfilled. I found out today when I called after no one showed up. My driveway has siding materials sitting in it. I have no way of protecting it from theft.    

 

3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 2,2014 a Hanson sales person came to my home. We discussed the two bay windows I wanted to replace with regular windows. He asked is I minded if part of my old window framing remained. I said no. I signed the contract. Two weeks later a second man came to double check the measurements. he used to be an installer and so he knows what can be done or not done and explained that they would leave part and put the new window inside the old frame. I am not an window expert. A couple days later I received approval from their financing department. On or about July 20, 2014 a manager****** ****** called me at work and said they had tried several times to contact me,I had not received any calls on my phone. I would have called back right away thinking my new windows were in.He says Hansons is canceling the order unless I pay more money. I asked home to meet me at my home and explain why. He did that evening. He said the other guy underestimated and wrote it up in a way that Hansons would not back their warranty. He said they could not use part of the old window. I said that is why I called them the professionals and did not try to do it myself. He remeasured and pried the framing to see behind the wall. I agreed to pay the additional fees and resigned the side of my contract for the change. He came back out two days later for me to song new financial agreement. I did so. He apologized for all of the mistakes and I told him I understood mistakes can happen. I am excited to get my windows. He called my home July 28th and said they were just canceling the order. Why? He did not have a reason. I asked for a copy of the changed contract and to put in writing why they were canceling. It said because of possible unforeseen problems. Their contract says I cannot take them to court. I believe since I agreed to their changes and contract modifications to the original contract they should be made to honor it.their arbitration is $750.00 just to file a complaint. Plus more $ later. This is bad business

Desired Settlement: I want Hanson windows to put in new windows for the price that negotiated. A total of three people come to my home, the last being a manger. I have now advertised for them with a sign in. My front yard for a couple months and plus all my time over 8 weeks. I believe they waived their right to cancel when they chanced the original contract and increased the price. They did not start over with a new order. They corrected their underestimated amount. They need to do the work for that price.

BBB Response:

  BBB of Detroit & Eastern Michigan
26777 Central Park Blvd, Ste. 100
Southfield, MI 48076-4163
Phone: (248)223-9400 | Fax: (248)356-5156
www.easternmichiganbbb.org

 

03/05/2015

**** ****** ***** * ****** ** **** ****** * *** *****

 

Dear **** ****** :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 8/5/2014 7:36:53 AM against Hansons Window & Siding.  Your complaint was assigned ID 10163898.

Although you have not expressed satisfaction in the resolution of your complaint,  based on the information provided by both you and the business, the BBB has determined that the business has met its obligations to you. We have no documented basis to require further action or response from the business. Therefore, the BBB will close this complaint and not pursue it further.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Regards,

***** ********
The Better Business Bureau
**** ************

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid ****down to have our gutters replaced. Signed a contract and were told multiple times by the sales person who came to our home that was the final price listed on our contract set up an appointment with the person to do the final measurement three weeks later recieved a call from thier office to call concerning a problem with the historical society they were aware from the begining this property is in a historical area and there should not be a problem since we are replacing gutters same color same downspouts. called them for over a week trying to find out what is going on general manager said we are cancelling your order for a price descrepancy he would not tell me what the discrepency was what the new price would be and stated he would not send me anything on paper. I told him I had a contract he stated they are allowed to cancell for a price descrepany I once again well what is the discrepancy he would not tell me and said I would get a refund in 7-10days. I said I expected a written notice of why our contract was cancelled which he would not be sending me.?? It can be very hard to get work done in the city of Detroit for apparently no reason at all this is not acceptable. I want my contract to be fufilled and the work to be done as stated.Sincerly **** **********

Desired Settlement: I want the contract to be fufillled I want to know exactly what was the descrepancy is the amount of inches was the same from two other contractors he at first said it was a different inches on the gutter, downspouts when I asked what was the difference he would not tell me what the difference was. I want the work done as stated this means the gutters should be scheduled for next week. I would also like to know what the difference was. This should be standard practi Sincerly**** **********

Business Response: The reason that this order was cancelled is because our 6" gutters are not available in black, which was the color selected.    The home is in a historical district and they will not approve other colors.  There is a color chart on the contract and it does say N/A under 6" black gutters.  I apologize for any misunderstanding and if this was not explained properly when the call was made.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10221546, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

We received a call from the sales person that the back of the house of the home where the 6 inch gutters were to go would be painted black, by us, just like the one that were taken down.  As a matter of fact already purchased the paint. I was never told this is why the order was cancelled.   The historic district has no problem with the same being put back up that was taken down this per their rules.  The front already will be black as per contract. That being said I still do not have a reason as to why the order was cancelled.  The gentleman I spoke to after multiple calls informed me it was a price discrepancy far different from what is being stated now.  Once again when I asked what that discrepancy was he would not even tell me what it was and was extremely rude and stated that I would not get a letter explaining why and would get a refund in 7-10 days.

Regards,

**** **********

 

 

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very disappointed in the way in which our order was handled. We ordered our windows on 8/5/14. At that time the "promotion" going on was 4 free tickets to the Renaissance Festival. We completed the paper work and were told the tickets would be mailed to us. Never received them! Not much of an issue at the time but now it only adds to our horrible experience. The initial install date was set for 11/1/14. 2 days before the install we received a call from Hanson's indicating they did not schedule a crew for the weekend so we would need to reschedule. We rescheduled for 11/18. the night before we got a confirmation call stating installers would be at our house between 12-2pm. At 9:30 am I received a confirmation call and was told the crew would be arriving between 12-1pm. At 1:30 I received another call- this time to cancel because of the weather. I asked to speak with a manager and was told they were at lunch but I should receive a call within a 1/2 hour. At 4:30 pm I still had not received a call. I called back and was told a manager would call back which they did. I spoke to manager of install department and he apologized a lot. I told him I wanted to cancel our order and he informed me there is a very heavy fine for cancelling. He stated he would personally send out a special gift to us and deduct $*** from our balance. He also stated he would have us rescheduled asap. 11/23 was the next install date between 8-9am. At 8am we received a call cancelling again due to predicted rain- which never came until 6pm that evening. We rescheduled for a third time for 12/7. Needless to say they showed up. The install was 6 weeks past the 10 week time limit therefore we are entitled to $** for every week late for a total of $***. which we have not received yet. We have not received the "special gift" the manager was sending. The only "compensation" Hansons offered for my missing 2 days of work was a $** gift card to Outback! Absolutely HORRIBLE customer service--Never using or recommending Hansons EVER!

Desired Settlement: We would like to see some type of reduction in our balance besides the $*** that we are due for the late installation.

Business Response: Our sincerest apologies for the install delays. That is not the normal practice here at Hansons. *** *** **** **** were compensated the $*** per contract and sent gift certificates for dinner as an apology. I am sorry that we cannot do more.

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with Hansons on July 27, 2014. I was promised service in 6-12 weeks (in writing). I have spoken with them on several occasions and they have not been able to provide a day for install. It has now been 20 weeks since I made the order and when I called to cancel they said that it was impossible. They are still unable to provide a service day. The manager I spoke with said I was on the list and would receive service in a few weeks. My house has patches of siding missing which force my insurance bill up. Furthermore, I payed half of the money up front.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to do business with Hansons. I would like a full refund as soon as possible so that I can get my house sided.

Business Response:

We are ready, willing and able to start *** ******** siding job.  We were ready to install on December 23rd, called ** ****** and he did not want to follow through with the contract.    We have his siding materials in stock.  Our installation time is past the 6 - 12 weeks time frame indicated on the contract, however, we do have a provision to discount $50 per week  when we fall past the time frame.  The time frame does not begin until we receive the deposit and the financing is approved.  We received the deposit on August 18th and we are at approximately 17 weeks presently.   *** wants to cancelt the contract and said he has spoken to an attorney. 

12/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 1, 2014 my wife and I bought replacement windows at our residence.The initial installation of 14 windows in our residence began on 10/11/2014. Unfortunately, Hansons service was inadequate because the windows were poorly installed.The following issues have occurred as a direct result from the poor installation job: two windows howl when the wind blows, one window still needs the proper size of sash and is being held shut by a 2 x 4, one window still needs a screen as the current one is entirely too short, one window is cracked on the bottom left hand side, one windows screen is bent, one window with drilled screw holes is filled in with caulk instead of screws, a chunk of drywall was extracted in the small window in our master bedroom, all of the windows have dirt on them from the installers and the windows themselves have hand prints all over them from the installers.I am disappointed because the authenticity of the product is being jeopardized as the service was not performed qualitatively. We have also received notification from the financing department that we owe payments, even though the installation job is incomplete. In addition, we have been told on numerous occasions that we will receive a follow-up phone call to resolve matters, specifically directed by ****** ******* the Vice President of the company. These phone calls have not occurred.The most recent instance was Monday, November 10, 2014, when ****** ****** stated that we would receive a phone call between 9:00-10:00 a.m.I had to contact ****** ******, as I never received a phone call.I was then transferred to *** ******, the finance manager, to rectify any situations with financing. *** ****** stated on Monday, November 10, 2014 that the Hansons branch manager from the Columbus, Ohio branch would contact me, to rectify any situations pertaining to our window installation, which never happened. Furthermore, as a result of the drywall and other damages to the walls in our residence, we were guaranteed a $*** compensation.

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, I would appreciate the installation of our windows to be completed and the financing department to be contacted and resolve the error. I would also like to receive follow-up about the $*** compensation for damages that occurred to our walls in our house.

Business Response: We are still waiting for some service parts to come in for *** *******.  I have arranged for the $*** check to be sent out. 

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hansons came out to my house to quote a new roof. The salesman showed me the products they use and my wife and I decided to go with them. During install there were cigarettes thrown on my lawn, the grass was torn up, and the agreed upon product (edge venting)was not installed. When I called to ask why I was told they dont sell that product anymore, which I was not informed of at signing. I asked for compensation for the product I did not receive and the damage done to my lawn. I was met with very poor customer service everytime i called(5-6 times) asking for this to be resolved. I was even hung up on by a lead manager after he swore at me and when I called back he did not answer. After many calls the best they could do was $***(which does not equal to price difference in the two products or the lawn damage). By the end of the process I even had to push them to get my money back that I put down for extra replacement wood prior to install. I expected way better out of Hansons and am extremely disappointed in an "A+" rated business.

Desired Settlement: I expect much better compensation then I got. whether it is cash or a percentage off of a different job( I am willing to give them another chance) but what happened was unacceptable.

Business Response: Hanson does apologize for the issues that *** ********* encountered with his job.  I reviewed the finished pictures and the roof is properly ventilated.  We would be happy to offer a discount on a future purchase as an additional form of compensation.

11/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a delay in installation, the windows to our home were installed in April of 2014. After the technicians left, we noted damage to the door wall as well as several other small issues with other windows. Hanson's was contacted the same day and advised of our issues. A technician was sent out to take pictures. Since April, they have sent out technicians multiple times (I'm guessing around six or seven times now), they have reordered the doors, delivered the wrong set of doors, and ordered wrong parts, over and over. It is now October and the doors have NEVER been fixed. When the technicians arrive to do the repair work, they generally advise that they do not have the correct parts to do the repair. Last week a technician came out to complete the repair and again we were told that he did not have the parts. When we contacted the company, we were told AGAIN that the parts were "being ordered" and we would have to wait a few more weeks. This has been the same EXCUSE we have been given for the last SIX MONTHS. I am very displeased with the customer service, product quality, and overall competency that this company has demonstrated. For instance, I called yesterday, and spoke to ******. I asked to speak to a manager, who she advised was not available She took my name, number and noted the issues and promised to have a manager contact me. It is now past five o'clock a day later, and I of course have had no response. I guess I really didn't expect one. Every time this company schedules a day to come out, we have to rearrange work schedules, childcare schedules, and this costs us not only our time, but money as well. I am beyond fed up, dealing with the incompetency's of this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like the door wall replaced and I expect a refund to compensate for our time and patience.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested that Hansons come out to my residence for a quote. I called them a few days before they were scheduled to come out to the house to cancel. Ever since that date, they keep calling and harrassing me. They will call at all hours of the day, on any day (including Sundays). Sometimes they will leave voicemail messages with just silence. They keep doing this even though I requested that they stop. I had to block the number.

Desired Settlement: Lower the companies BBB rating or something like that. Harrassment is not acceptable.

Business Response: I apologize for any invconvenience that we have caused.  I have removed *** ******** telephone number from our calling list.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we had hansons put a roof on our house last November.it has looked awful.we have been complaining since april we have got the run around everytime we talk to them we were told at least three times they were going to replace it,when we hear nothing from them we call and then they change there minds and decide to look at it again they send guys out and replace a couple of shingles use a couple of tubes of tar..all 3 of the guys they sent out agree that it needs replaced..now that it has rained it is leaking..i asked for something in writing in case this happened,and all I got was promises..I have also left the owner brian 2 messages with no response we have been keeping track of all calls,answers,no call backs for days and weeks as promised.

Desired Settlement: we just wanted it replaced,,but after all we have been thru with this company the way they talked treated us,put us off forever I/we think a refund should be made I will go elsewhere This has went on way to long and I don't want to deal with them any longer

Business Response: We spoke with *** ******* and we are sedning an installer out to redo his roof.  The installation date is 9-19-14.  This is , as usual, weather pending.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hansons installed a new roof on my home. The shingles blew off and when I called to tell them about it, no one ever came out to fix it. They kept saying they would be out but no one ever shows. I even got ahold of the representative of Hansons, **** ******* He said he would take care of the situation but again nothing was ever done. The roof is still not fixed!!

Desired Settlement: All I really want is for them to fix the roof and to honor their guarantee! I paid the money now give the product you say you have.

Business Response: We have a service scheduled on 8-15-14.  The superintendent will meet the service rep at the home.

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint covers sales, service, and installation.Roofing - Installation was poor, roofers came back and fixed some of the issues. Open issues still not fixed. 1) Drip edge is pieced together with numerous short pieces to save money and material. This looks terrible on short runs.2) Flashing was not replaced around chimney, Old flashing was covered up and pained black to look new3) Roof is leaking around sewer pipe, this was repaired once as it was not done to code and now leaks causing damage to the ceiling in the bathroom4) Some sheeting was replaced due to rot, salesman told my wife and myself they never charge the full price for wood ever as I questioned the price. I have brought this up numerous times as it was charged at full price, a 500% mark up with no reply.Gutters - Drain was run along side of house directly into the foundation. This is causing water to go through the foundation and into the basement as it is not draining properly away from the house. I received a call to resolve this yet none has ever called back or shown up to repair. AlsoInitially when I called to tell them of issue they sent a person down to fix the problems, they fixed some but did not address all the issues. One of my main concerns was the power to the garage quit working. This has gone on for over a month now so I hired an electrician to investigate. It was discovered when the roof was done the roofers cut through the wires in two different locations. This was directly below where new sheeting was put on and was impossible to not notice what they had done. This was a serious safety issue that could of caused a house fire as hot wires were loose in the wall and ceiling. In summary I have a leaking roof, that requires drywall repair and the leak fixed, improperly installed gutters, and a garage that is tore apart that now I have to pay to have repaneled, reinsulated, and rewired due to the workers negligence and not caring except to get the job done and not be there problem anymore

Desired Settlement: I would like to hire a reputable company to fix everything Hansons had messed up and subtract it from what they are owed along with compensation for my time invested in this disaster and the danged they put myself and my family in by cutting through wiring and covering it up. With the quality or lack of quality of work done I have severe reservations about letting them anywhere near my house again. I have e-mailed the president 5 or 6 times now with only one reply to cover a few concerns.

Business Response: We contacted *** ******* today. Our Superintendent is meeting with him on July 22 along with the installer to resolve all issues.

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When my husband and I bought gutter guards from Hanson's, the sales rep convinced us to use interest free financing through ** *******. We were eligible because our credit rating is high, because I pay my bills the day I receive them. The work was completed in March, now it is the 3rd of July. In that time, I wasn't sent bills for two months, but was charged fees. In four months, the bank charged $54 in fees. If I paid over the life of the loan at that rate it would be like 10% interest! I had the cash at the time and today I paid the bill in full. I don't have time for these silly games with ** *******. I recommend anyone NOT fall for the 'free money' scam, and I don't think Hanson's should work with ** with this kind of service and billing.

Desired Settlement: $** because it wasn't free.

Business Response: Hansons received payment from ** on April 2, 2014.  I do not know why *** *** **** ***** did not receive a bill in a timely manner, but I am issuing a credit for $***** to reimburse them for their finance fee.  This was not the fault of our company, but Hansons will make it right in the interest of good customer service.

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have already made one complaint for this company and it was turned down because you said it involved verbal quotes and financing issue's, but that was not the only issue. Our issue Is they want me to sign loan papers for a job that one is not finished properly and two the clean up was not done in a professional manner as my driveway had nails all over and they misrepresented parts of the contract and did not explain anything in a business like manner. That is no way to run a business.

Desired Settlement: I would like my roof done the way it is supposed to be done and make some kind of restitution for the clean up of my yard and driveway the way they said . If they don't stand by there word then what does that say for the company and there president *** ***** *****

Business Response: Repair service has been set for ** ********* on 6-27-14.  Installation Dept Manager, ******* ***** spoke with *** and reviewed his complaints.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10104852, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

[You must provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please type details here:]

Nobody at Hanson's talked to about the complaint itself and it was never mentioned at all like the message said. However they did get my roof done properly, and I'm still waiting to get everything else in my complaint resolved

******* *********

 

 

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hansons installed new siding on my garage early of 2013. The instalation came with a 5 year warranty against manufacturer and installation issues. During the winter of 2013 into 2014, the siding on my garage has started to buckle. Hansons is refusing to fix this issue under warranty because they claim my cement has lifted causing my siding to buckle. I spoke with a local contractor and he said Hansons is lying to me and the siding is buckling due to faulty instalation by Hansons. The local contractor said that the siding was put on too tight with nails not allowing enough flexibility for the siding to move during the changing temperatures. I would like Hansons to honor their warranty and fix my garage siding where it has started to buckle.

Desired Settlement: I would like Hansons to fix the buckling of my siding due to the faulty instalation from their contractor. The siding was put on too tight and is the reason why the siding has started to buckle.

Business Response: We have been in touch with this customer and are taking care of their service issue.

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hanson's installed roofing and siding on our home. The siding has pulled off and the roofing and vents were installed incorrectly. Multiple phone calls were made regarding the roof and siding. They sent crews out to repair the shutters and siding multiple times, but the repairs are still not completed. If left unattended this will cause structural damage to our home.I have lost total trust in this company & their ability to remedy this problem. We are also filing a complaint with the American Arbitration Association.

Desired Settlement: Hanson's to refund entire amount financed so repairs can be made by a reputable company of our choice.

Business Response: The siding service has been taken care of and my superintendent reported that there is still a small roof service that needs to be taken care of.  We will have this scheduled ASAP

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9780278, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

[You must provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please type details here:]

Regards,

**** ******

 

 We are not fully convinced the repairs have been made. We would like to see pictures where they say they have cut into our roof for proper ventilation. Also the siding still is not lining up. We have been going around & around for over 2 yrs to resolve these issues. I'm going to contact Alside siding to see if they will send out a Rep to determine the siding is properly hung.  It shouldn't just blow off the house. 

Thank you **** * *** ******

Business Response: This issue has been given to our Superintendent, Scott ***********.  He has been in contact with the Alside Rep in Toledo and they are available to mett *** ****** at her home on 11-26-13.  Messages have been left on all of her available phone numbers

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2013 Delivery Issues
11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

168 Customer Reviews on Hansons Window & Siding
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart