BBB Accredited Business since

Medical Weight Loss Clinic

Additional Locations

Phone: (248) 353-8446 Fax: (248) 355-0475 23625 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48075 http://www.mwlc.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Medical Weight Loss Clinic provides patients one-on-one support with the focus of the weight loss program to help patients lose weight and develop healthy and satisfying eating habits for long-term success.  Our programs use real grocery store food and are supervised by board certified doctors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Medical Weight Loss Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Medical Weight Loss Clinic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Medical Weight Loss Clinic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 02/11/1986 in MI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Welham, Vice President
Business Category

Weight Control Services

Industry Tips

Experts consistently agree that the only way to permanently lose weight is to reduce caloric and fat intake and increase exercise. No ingested product and no external preparations such as creams or body wraps have been proven to cause permanent loss of fat without restriction of food intake or without exercise. Significant weight loss should not be undertaken without competent medical supervision, expecially if the amount of weight loss desired is over 10% of body weight.

Industry Tips
Contracts Health Related Promotions - WEIGHT LOSS

Additional Locations

  • 1345 Coolidge Hwy

    Troy, MI 48084 (248) 637-1582

  • 15325 Dix-Toledo Rd

    Southgate, MI 48195

  • 15416 N Haggerty Rd

    Plymouth, MI 48170 (734) 420-6113

  • 1754 Central Park Drive, Suite E

    Okemos, MI 48864 (517) 381-2426

  • 20865 Kelly Rd

    Eastpointe, MI 48021 (586) 778-0600

  • 21500 Northwestern Hwy Ste 246

    Southfield, MI 48075 (248) 557-0370

  • 23625 Northwestern Highway

    Southfield, MI 48075 (248) 353-8446

  • 254 E Auburn Rd

    Rochester Hls, MI 48307 (248) 852-9333

  • 26451 Ford Rd

    Dearborn Hts, MI 48127 (313) 274-7744

  • 2975 E Big Beaver Rd

    Troy, MI 48083 (248) 524-3040

  • 31425 Northwestern Hwy

    Farmington Hills, MI 48334 (248) 932-3370

  • 3254B Washtenaw Ave

    Ann Arbor, MI 48104 (734) 677-2277

  • 3312B Miller Rd

    Flint, MI 48503 (810) 732-9464

  • 340 Town Center Blvd Ste E 103

    White Lake, MI 48386 (248) 698-3674

  • 36640 Garfield Rd

    Clinton Twp, MI 48035 (586) 228-2008

  • 4144 24th Ave

    Fort Gratiot, MI 48059 (810) 385-8684

  • 42503 Ford Rd

    Canton, MI 48187 (734) 981-6700

  • 47079 Gratiot Ave

    Chesterfield, MI 48051 (586) 949-0351

  • 47976 Grand Rvier Ave

    Novi, MI 48374 (248) 347-3450

  • 5206 Bay Rd

    Saginaw, MI 48604 (989) 799-2130

  • 5727 E 12 Mile Rd

    Warren, MI 48092 (586) 582-9260

  • 64872 Van Dyke Rd

    Washingtn Twp, MI 48095 (586) 336-1083

  • 7223 Eastman Ave

    Midland, MI 48642 (989) 631-2407

  • 8260 Movie Dr

    Brighton, MI 48116 (810) 229-4670

  • 954 W Monroe St  Garden Level

    Jackson, MI 49202 (517) 780-9900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Total amount and time frame when the money was due was not disclosed upfront. There were also classes that were mandatory that were not talked about when I signed up. Also they would not issue the refund requested. I have a receipt that shows the amount to be refunded, but it was not refunded.

Desired Settlement: I would like to total amount paid to Medical Weight loss clinic of $429.00 completely refunded. I had agreed to receive a refund in the amount of $354, but they didn't hold up to their end of the agreement and I would now like the full amount refunded.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

2/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This place said I would lose up to 20 pounds with their products, if I paid them $799 for "service" plus another $300 for product. Instead of losing pounds, I actually gained 20 pounds. I voiced my concerns and dissatisfaction of the program, products and service from the first week. They actually called me a week ago and wanted me to pay them more money! I want my money back. This is a scam. These people do not care and are not qualified to render this service. In fact, the manager who took my money and made alot of promises, ("***") is no longer there. They were very understaffed and wait times were long. The stress from the office actually made me gain weight, not lose weight. I have photos of their guarantees and promises, and they said there is nothing they can do for me. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response:

On December 27, 2011, ****** ******** signed a Medical Weight Loss Clinic Prescription Therapy/Jump Start Patient Guidelines agreement starting that she would adhere to following the Medical Weight Loss Clinic program exactly as prescribed.   She did not follow the program as contested to.  All 16 weeks of the program purchased were completed along with the use of prescription drugs.  However, the patient did not comply with the other obligations of the diet.  She is not eligible for a refund.

Business Response:

*** ******** purchased and used all 16 weeks of our Prescription Therapy/Jump Start program, beginning in December, 2011.  *** ******** is now demanding a refund on the basis that Medical Weight Loss Clinic (MWLC) advertising falsely promised that she would lose up to 20 lbs in 4 weeks if she paid $750. 

MWLC does not make any promises to patients regarding their overall weight loss, and most definitely does not tie weight loss to a patient spending a certain amount of money.  Although we stress in our advertising that a patient may lose up to 20 lbs during a four week period, this is contingent upon a patient following the clearly outlined program requirements, including following a prescribed diet and maintaining a regimented appointment schedule.  On more than one occasion during her clinic visits, *** ******** readily acknowledged that she was not following her diet plan, nor did she maintain the required appointment schedule for her clinic visits.

At the time of her enrollment, *** ******** signed a Release of Responsibility form (see attached 12/27/11) which clearly states 'I understand that individual weight loss may vary.'  This same form states: 'I further undersant the clinic visits, three times per week, as well as Physician Appointments must be maintained.'  *** ******** did not maintain this requisite appointment schedule.  On this same day, *** ******** also signed the Prescription Therapy/Jump Start Patient Guidelines (12/27/11) and the Six Weeks Stabilization/Lifetime Maintenance forms which also clearly indicate patient program requirements.

She is not eligible for a refund.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9186988, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:


I paid this company nearly $1000, took all their products and followed it closely during the first couple of months. There was no weight loss. I kept telling them this, but no one listened or really cared.   As you can see from their responses, they have never made any attempt what so ever to work with me to achieve a weight loss. They take your money but do not care about the client. From the very start of the program I requested a refund or additional help to help me lose weight. They did neither. All they did was put my weight at a higher number to then make it look like I lost some weight during the first three months of this program, in which I followed it very closely.  I want a refund, and this company knows it owes me this money back.  They are not being honest or helpful.  I am the customer who paid alot of money to these people, who did nothing in return.

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

12/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested refund of money for nutrients that were purchased in advance and never taken from facility. The refund policy is if the nutrients are not taken from the facility then the charges can be refunded for unused product. I requested refund on 10-24-12 for $323.00 for unused product. I was told by the manager that a credit would be applied to my original form of tender. It is now 12-17-12 and I have called and left messages on numerous days and times requesting a call back on this issue and have yet to receive a call back or a refund.

Desired Settlement: Credit on original credit card for $323.00 by Jan.1, 2013

Business Response: She received her refund today on her Discover Card in the amount of $323.00.  She you have any questions, please feel free to contact this office.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

12/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service