BBB Accredited Business since

Steve's Blinds & Wallpaper

Phone: (800) 548-5711 Fax: (586) 262-5603 View Additional Phone Numbers 6615 19 1/2 Mile Rd, Sterling Hts, MI 48314 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.stevesblindandwallpaper.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve's Blinds & Wallpaper meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steve's Blinds & Wallpaper include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 44 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

44 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 29
Total Closed Complaints 44

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Steve's Blinds & Wallpaper
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 2008 Business started: 08/10/1950 in MI Business incorporated 08/10/2006 in MI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Katzman, President
Business Category

Venetian Blinds - Wholesale & Manufacturers Vertical Blinds


Additional Locations

  • 6615 19 1/2 Mile Rd

    Sterling Hts, MI 48314 (586) 262-5553 (800) 548-5711

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2015 Delivery Issues
8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 3" Shutter look wooden blinds, over $2000 worth. The 100% Customer Satisfaction on the front of their web page made me feel confident in this company. Received the blinds and was extremely disappointed, the color was horrible and the quality was even worse. Did in no way look like wood blinds for the price that I paid. Contacted the company thinking they would work with me and boy was I mistaken. Several phone calls and emails, finally asked for a manager. Manager would not do nothing until I was quite upset and asked for someone higher up in the food chain. He told me that he would ask his supervisor if there was anything they could do. The 100% Customer Satisfaction that they proudly display on the web page (misrepresentation in all forms) is only for non custom orders. Well why put in on the front of the page so ALL customers think this is a wonderful company taking care of their customers. The manager called and said that the only thing they would do is a 5% refund! That is less than $100 on a $2000 order that will now go in the garbage! I'm not even 1% satisfied let alone 100% satisfied as the misrepresented site says! I feel that they should not be allowed to have this on their advertising web page if this is not for all orders. You have to read the fine print on another page to figure out if you are covered! The quality of these blinds are a disgrace and would not put this up on my windows. Expensive lesson!

Desired Settlement: Would have liked the company to work with me, I am not a 100% satisfied customer! If I had to take these blinds in another color I would settle for that!

Business Response: We have spoken with the customer and are addressing the color of the wood blinds.  Everything is being resolved with the customer.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ******

 

2/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 30, I placed an order for blinds thru Steve's Blinds after reading on their web site that blinds ordered through Steve's ship next day or they are free. The invoice that was emailed to me contained no information regarding the actual shipping date. I contacted Steve's on July 2 requesting where my shipment was. They advised it would not be shipped until 7/7, with 2-7 days for delivery. What they advertized was next day what I got was 1 week to ship and up to another for delivery. Steve's refuses to honor the "next day or its free" statement. Saying that the blinds I ordered were not included, even though it stated on each of the four web pages going from the home page to the actual order page. I have made copies the four pages containing this information for your review if needed. I attempted to cancel the order but was advised that it was to close to the shipping date to do so.

Desired Settlement: Refund in amount of $235.48.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the order and the collection that you ordered from is not part of the 24 hour or free promotion. This is noted on the page where you customized your blind it states that shipment is 48-72 hours. As you navigate through the sales process we try to note which products offer this faster shipping time. If you want to forward the copies of the web pages that you have showing this I would like to review to see what happened if in fact a glitch occurred. I have just reviewed these today and the collection that you selected and ordered from does not show or qualify as part of the "or Free" promotion.

You can forward the copies of the website to *********************** and I will review them and get back to you. Based on your order date and with the holiday the blinds are scheduled to ship within the 48 to 72 hour time line that was provided.

I will be glad to provide additional feedback based upon the pictures that you provide.

Thank You

***** ******

7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The aluminum mini blinds I purchased from Steve's Blinds are not the best quality but they seem to be functional. The issue that I have with the blinds I received is the length. I measured using the blinds I was replacing, as I had done in the past when I ordered from STEVE'S however, this time the blinds came up too short. I called the company immediately to return them and re-order longer blinds. The first representative told me that it was my issue and that I could not return them. I asked for a manager and ********* took the call. ********* offered no viable solution and was rude.

Desired Settlement: I was willing to re-order the mini-blinds and return these because they are of no use to me but I was refused.

Business Response:

Ms. *******

You notified us that the one blind in Mocha - that you ordered came at a length you were not happy about. I also see that you claimed the color was off from what you felt you see online and that they were junk. I apologize for the issue you have with this one blind. When you spoke to ********* she offered to provide an in store credit for the blind that you were not happy with and we are more than happy to honor that and I have updated the order notes so that when you call in and reference that order the credit will be applied to your order.

Thanks

***** ******

 

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

the records of Steve's Blinds are not accurate.  When I contacted the company I let them know that of the four sets of blinds I had ordered, two of them came up too short.  The two blinds I installed were the Mocha and the Navy colored blinds and because these two blinds were not long enough, I did not even open the other two sets of blinds.  I informed the first rep that I spoke with about the issue and she told me that it was "Your problem." I was offended, so I asked for a supervisor, *********, and she began questioning me extensively and still offered no help.  I told ********* that I had previously ordered from Steve's Blinds and that when I had measured for the blinds I used the existing blinds still hanging in my window to measure and I when I received my blinds from Steve's Blinds, they were perfect. I went on to explain to ********* that I had done the exact same thing this time but the results were much different (i.e the blinds came in too short). ********* did offer a store credit of 20% and for me to send the defective blinds back and I declined because I would be losing too much money.  I wanted to just send the defective blinds and the two unopened blinds back and place a new "RUSH" order ( at my expense) and they would not accommodate me.


Regards,

********* *******

 

Business Response: We offered the customer new blinds and in store credit.  She was refunded, at this point unsure of how she would like to proceed since she has been refunded.

4/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two motorized blinds. I received the blinds, but the remotes were missing from the box, as per the installer whose name I got from their website. There is no manual control, so the blinds are useless without the remotes. I called On 1/30 and was told I would receive them within 2-3 business days. I called again on 2/3 and they still had not been shipped out. I was told they could not reach the person at the manufacturer that they needed to reach. They called me the following day and said they were still working on it. I called again this morning and the remotes still had not been shipped out. I told them I would file a complaint with my credit card, and was told by their customer service rep, Kim, that if I had a complaint filed, they would immediately stop working on my problem. I also requested they be shipped overnight delivery and was told she would "put in a request with her supervisor". They owed me that much for my inconvenience.I purchased these blinds for my Mom, who is 95 years old. She now cannot open and close the blinds, so she has to turn on the lights the entire day. Outrageous. They should not sell a product which they have no control over.

Desired Settlement: I want either the remotes delivered immediately or a complete refund.

Business Response: The remotes were shipped out on 2/5/2014 and I show an estimated delivery date of 2/7/2014. You can track the package on the USPS website, www.usps.com, and use tracking number *********************** If you need further assistance please contact customer service. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

 

1/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was checking out after being told that my item had free shipping and that was the only other charge, except tax. I put in all the billing information and payment info. I pressed the continue button and expected to see the total bill before checking out completely. Instead I see the transaction had already gone through and they added a $14 manufactoring tax. They never told me about such charge which had changed the price dramatically. I would have never bought the item if i knew about this extra tax. I feel it was unfair to tax me with out telling me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back.

Business Response: This order has been refunded in full. I apologize for the confusion that was caused by the processing fee that is displayed on the final step of the checkout process.

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered wallpaper from Steve's that was originally discontinued from the manufacturer, for a client of mine. Upon placing the order, I was not told of any sort of stock issue, and that the wallpaper was in stock and ready to ship. I then received a notice, a day later, indicating that the paper was not in stock, and back-ordered approx. 3 weeks. On the date that the paper was to ship, I inquired about it's status, and was told it was going to be delayed another week, but given no indication as to why. I pressed further, and was told it would be ANOTHER week (now not due in until Dec. 30th), and asked if the paper was even available, or if I was getting the run-around (knowing that it had been discontinued from the manufacturer). I have not received a reply, and now have one unhappy client, who was expecting this paper before the holidays (as we were originally told). I do not have faith that this paper even still exists, and cannot get a straight answer from Steve's. I'd like to know what is holding this order up, and if it even is still in stock.

Desired Settlement: I want a straight answer as to WHY this keeps getting back ordered, and why I wasn't told upfront that their was a stock issue.

Business Response:

We are provided stock information from our vendors. If an order is on backorder we relay the information we get to the customer as quickly as possible. We have been notified that this paper is in transit to the vendor currently and had an estimated arrival date of 12-30-2013 but as of today it had not been received yet. If you would like to select a different pattern we would be happy to assist with that. If you are unable to wait for this backorder, which should be over soon, we can refund your order in full. I apologize for this delay but unfortunately we are at the mercy of our vendors when it comes to the stock of most wallpaper patterns.

Thanks

***** ******

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The purchase price included installation. I had to pay in full or they wouldn't place the order. The blinds arrived but no one is returning my calls (4) to come and install them. I will be calling my credit card company to return the charge if they don't complete this installation to my satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: Total refund or install the shades before my credit card bill is due in two weeks.

Business Response:

I have spoken to ***** and confirmed that the installation has been scheduled for 12-2-2013. If you have additional questions or if this doesn't resolve your concerns please contact out customer service department at 1-************.

Thanks You

***** ******

Consumer Response:

From: ****** ******** [mailto:*************************]
Sent: Monday, December 02, 2013 4:38 PM
To: **** *******
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB complaint #
******** 

All my complaints have been taken care of, but thank you for asking.

 

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called on 10/10/13 to order 4 fabric blinds from Steves Blinds and Wallpaper, I remember their customer service representative telling me the blinds were the same color front and back. Also on their website it stated, Solid fabrics offer rich neutral and vibrant solid colors in both light filtering and blackout. All fabrics are the same color front and back with the exception of Avila Twilight. I ordered the Twilight Tundra not one of the 6 Avila Twilight colors they have listed in their fabric selection. I also paid an additional $65.00 to have the blinds sent to me due to the length of one of the blinds. The blinds I received are white on the back, not the same color as the front. Not only are they white, but the one blind I opened has marks on the back of it. Upon opening the blinds on 10/28/13, I called their customer service department to inform them of these problems with the order and was told they would review the phone order conversation and asked me to email them pictures. I emailed the pictures the same day and restated the problems with the order. I also asked to return the blinds at their expense, since I had already paid an additional $65.00 to have them sent to me. On the 29th I emailed to ask how long it normally took to hear back from the manufacturer after a complaint was submitted. Their response back was 24 to 48 business hours and they offered me 25% off the order. I declined their offer. On 11/1/2013 at about 11:00 am EST, I emailed again and said I would like to send the blinds back at their expense and receive a refund for the purchase. I also told them, I would accept a store credit instead of the refund and would order a different set of blinds, if the blinds were sent to me with no additional shipping charge. In less than an hour their customer service specialist emailed me back and said she would see what the manufacturer said. I have yet to hear back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to send these blinds back at Steve's Blinds and Wallpaper's expense and recieve a refund for them or a store credit to order a different set of blinds with the stipulation that the new blinds were sent to me with no additional shipping charges, since I have already paid $65.00 to have blinds that were misrepresented and marred delivered to me.

Business Response:

I have spoke to the customer and he sent me the information on the replacement order. I am awaiting his confirmation of sizes and will be replacing what he is requesting to be replaced.

 

 

********* ******

Customer Service Supervisor

Steve’s Blinds and Wallpaper

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

So far, I have called and reorder new blinds, but later found out the material I selected for the blinds did not come in the width I needed (even though the width is an available option online.) I called Steve's Blinds and Wallpaper again to reorder and hopefully this time I will receive usable new blinds. I called today about the status of my order and was told they had not heard from the manufacturer and had no additional information for me.

As stated above, I will consider this resolved when I receive acceptable replacement blinds.

Regards,

******* ********

 

 

11/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order of vertical blinds had blind vanes of the wrong material.The error occurred because their website (still) incorrectly represents the material. A different order of vertical blinds was the wrong length, despite precise compliance with the measuring instructions on their website. And, one vane was missing. I contacted them via phone about changing the quantity of mini-blinds in one order from 6 to 4. They agreed and verified with their supplier (with me on hold) that the change was OK. The quantity was not changed and 6 blinds were delivered. In each case, their helpful support ended after they decided that the issue was my fault. Beyond that, they stopped responding to email and become evasive over the phone.I've sent them an email with an attached Word document that summarizes the issues and my efforts to resolve them. I asked for instructions on how to return these items for a refund. I received no response.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to return the items for in question for a refund.

Business Response:

I have sent this inquiry to our Customer Service manager but wanted to go ahead and address the issues on the orders also. We encourage all customers to take advantage of our free blind samples to ensure the color and product they recieve is exactly what they wanted. Due to variances in settings, colors on a computer monitor can be off and not a true representation of the actual color.  Our measuring instructions are for informational purposes and are in no way to be considered a guarantee of the measurements. We do offer a professional measuring service that customer can take advantage of which removes their liability for measuring of the blinds. Lastly we have tried to find the phone call that was stated to change the quantity of the blinds from 6 to 4 and we are not able to do so. If you can provide the phone number that was called from I will gladly look again but it is not coming up with the number provided to our customer service department.

I apologize for the concerns you have with the blinds but these are custom made and in all cases we delivered what was ordered. If there are problems with craftsmanship or defects we will gladly review those compalints if they arise.

Thank You

***** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

First of all, as I have already clearly stated several times, the first issue has nothing to do with a slightly wrong color. The image on your web site misrepresents the product you are selling. It's as if you had a picture of a motorcycle that you labeled part X. Then I ordered part X and received a bicycle instead. Then you responded that I got the part I ordered. If it was simply an issue of a color shade, I would certainly have considered requesting a free sample. In fact, I previously ordered a sample of a mini-blind color. So I know how to use that service when it is appropriate.

Second, I found your measuring instructions worked fine for previous orders of both mini-blinds and vertical blinds. So I had no reason to expect that I would require assistance from your representative. In fact, there was no size issue with the vertical blind order that had the wrong fabric type. But the second order of vertical blinds was no only significantly mis-sized (despite matching your instructions), but it also came with one vane incomplete. Rather than provide a replacement vane (for which I gave the requested measurement) you decided to send some parts and ask me to complete the manufacturing process. Your representative blatantly lied to me that this requires no sewing, despite the fact that it clearly does. I even provided photographs showing how the part is stitched into the vane, with what appears to be a fine mono-filament line. I do not have the tools, materials or skills to perform this work. I'm having flashbacks to the Monty Python skit about the man attempting to return a parrot that was dead and nailed to the perch when he received it. The clerk simply told him: "He's not dead. He's just sleeping."

My phone calls to you representatives were made from either ###-###-#### or from ###-###-####.

I was initially willing to give you guys the benefit of the doubt and write off the fabric issue with the first vertical blind order. But after the run-around I've received since then, I can accept nothing short of returning all the items in question for a full refund.

Regards,

**** ******

 

Business Response: I appreciate the additional information that you provided. We were able to find the calls and confirm that the change was never made. For the blinds that you feel are not correct, we are not able to refund those as they were received properly our sales department says they have been in contact with you to find exactly what you are looking for and get that ordered at no charge to you. If you have not heard from them yet then you should receive a call in the next day.

8/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a wallpaper from the business named above. When I recieved the shipment and looked at the invoce, it turned out that the code of pattern on the wallpaper I received was different from the one I ordered. I went on the website I ordered from and it turned out that the same product listed twice under different code and the the wallpapr with the code that I paid for was costing more then the wallpaper with different code I received. I called and asked why.The Cusotmer Service Supervisor tried to tell me that it was a glitch in the system, and they reimbursing a lot of customers money. I notified her that I planned to oreder more wallpaper from this company, but not feeling comfortable anymore to deal with them and that I would like to return the product. She informed me that I would not get all the money back, that I have to pay for shipping and 30% restocking fee. After negotiations about this issue, she agreed to reimburse me shipping and manufacturer fee, but I would still have to pay restocking fee. The conversation occured on Friday, July 12 at 5 PM. She promised to send me an e-mail, summarizing our nogotiated points,send me a shipping label and autorization number to return the product on Monday, July 15, but I never received one. I already spend a lot of time on this issue, I do not want to spend anymore.I have a record of phone call on my phone and would like this issue to be resolved ASAP. Thanks for you assistance

Desired Settlement: Money reimbursed in full, shipping label sent to me with authorization number.

Business Response: **** ***** called to explain the consumer has been spoken with and the complaint resolved they sent her the money back  and let her keep the wallpaper.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Closed on a house with 29 windows in May so I put in my first online order for 8 Bl. on 04/24/2013. Bl. got shipped to my rental address at that time. (First order was for Basement and Laundry room cause I wanted to see the quality and color before I order more.White and oak for those rooms) Anyways, I was pleased with the color and quality was ok for white/ oak. So I've ordered the other 19 Bl. in color "Dark Walnut" after I've received a sample and they arrived quick to my rental property. Some Bl. Valance where 1 inch shorter than the Bl. itself, but no biggy to me. Hired somebody to hang up all the Bl. since hubby is in Afghanistan and paid an extra $250 to get it installed on 05/20/2013. Bl. looked good and I'm happy and I 've ordered 2 more with my new address changed in my account. 1 1/2 weeks later I saw one set of Bl. where bending. I guess from the sun. We live in ******** ******* so average temperature in the summer is 80-87 could go up to 95 1-2 times a month. Contacted ******** * from customer service on 05/31 and got an reply that they need pic. and will forward it to manufacturer and 2 weeks later they said they will send a new set of that sz. By that time I already saw more Bl. bending and sent more pic and ******** * forwarded them to Manuf. 4wks later I thought let me check my old address since I haven't received the 1st set and "voila" there was the 1st set of Bl. sitting outside even though address was changed. So I put up the new blinds and 3 days ago 06/10 I saw that one set what I've just received, is bending again after 1 1/2 weeks and I still haven't heard anything about the other 4complains and pic I've sent in. By now out of 31 Bl. I've 10 Bl. sets bending already from the sun and I'm so tired of this company. I spend $1594.60 and I want my money back. They can send out an inspector and while he's here he can pick up all the bl. and take them with him. I'm done with steve's Bl. and wallpaper and want my money back because all Dark Walnut Bl. are bending with little sun

Desired Settlement: I want my money back for every single Dark Walnut Blind set I've ordered. I will keep the white and oak since they are in the basement and are not exposed to any sun or temperature over 80 Fahrenheit.

Business Response:

We have spoken to the customer and while we did inform her that a credit was being issued by the vendor she has informed us that she is going to look at other colors to potentially reorder some new blinds. She has been provided the contact information of our customer service supervisor and advised us that she would be in contact back with us within 2-3 days.

 

6/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/21/2013, we created an online purchase with Steve's Blinds for 18 Levolor Designer shades (items remained in Shopping Cart). Basically, because their website states in bond letters "100% Satisfaction Guarantee". On 5/18/2013, we reentered the Shopping Cart to change the color ONLY. We still allowed items to remain in Shopping Cart. On May 22, 2013, we called Steve's customer service to verify the 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and to request an additional discount because of the online sale. The customer service representative (male) placed me on hold to speak with the team lead about the discount. The representative passed me to the team lead who approved the discount and review the quantity. On or about, June 1, 2013, the shades arranged with wrong brand (Steve's Brand) and 4 shades were sized wrong. On June 3, 2013, called Steve's Blind to report the errors and the representative someone would give me a call back. I distinctly asked "when would someone call me back?" and he stated this "afternoon or tomorrow" (June 3 or 4). They didn't call us back or email us. On June 7, I emailed the company. On June 11, I called them again and the female said **** the Team Leader would call me back. The issue is the company advertise 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, but, doesn't provide satisfied product or service.

Desired Settlement: Although the brand is not correct. We would like to have the right size for our new (build) home at no cost or shipping cost.

Business Response:

This order is in the process of being remade for the customer. We are waiting to get an estimated ship date and tracking on this order. As soon as we have this informaiton it will be forwarded to the customer.

Thanks

 

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered several blinds from Steve's. One of the blinds split in the middle - a glue failure. Called customer service on February 15 2013. Submitted photos of the failed blind. They finally responded on February 22 2013, saying they would email me a return/repair label. (It has now been 7 days) At this point, I just wanted a NEW, undamaged blind, figuring that a repair wouldnt hold any better than the original. Steves refused, saying they would only repair it, which entailed sending it back to the manufacturer. So I bought $38 worth of packing materials and left it with our condo building concierge. On February 28 2013 six days later Steves said it would be picked up on March 1 2013. (It has now been 14 days) As of March 10, 2013, no one had picked up my blind, despite my many phone calls. The blind was finally picked up and sent to the manufacturer for repair. I requested that the seam be sewn rather than glued but they refused. When it was returned to me on March 29 2013, the packaging had been destroyed as had the blind. (It has now been 42 days) I sent many photos to Steve's customer service supervisor, *********. Once again, she said the manufacturer had to pick up the damaged blind so they could make a claim against the trucking company (an issue I didnt feel was my problem). My blind arrived today April 13 2013.It has been 58 days since I contacted Steves. Had their customer service been as stellar as advertised, I would have had a new blind a maximum of a week after my initial complaint. This situation was handled very poorly. I live in a condominium where there are 256 apartments. Each and every one of my neighbors knows not to deal with Steves.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the cost of the blind plus my shipping materials.

Business Response:

We have sent the replacement blinds for this order. I have confirmed with my Customer Service manager that the blinds that were damaged and needed to be corrected have been replaced to correct the issue. If this is not the case or if there are additional problems pelase feel free to contact us and we will resolve any additional problems.

 

Thanks

***** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9503473, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

[You must provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please type details here:]

STEVE'S BLINDS clearly did not read my complaint. I never stated that the blinds weren't received. I stated that it took them FIFTY-EIGHT DAYS to satisfactorily complete an order that was advertised and guaranteed to be completed in ONE WEEK.

Never have I dealt with a Customer "Service" Department that was so inept. Every single time I called I was stunned at the methods they chose to use to "solve" my problem. The manufacturer should never have been involved in my issues. I didn't contract with the manufacturer to provide me blinds; I contracted with STEVE'S BLINDS. Yet each and every time I had a problem with a blind, they turned it over to the manufacturer to pick it up, MEND (vs replace!!!) the faulty blind. UNBELIEVABLE. Thoroughly unacceptable.

STEVE'S BLINDS is completely unprofessional and incompetent. I can see why they have had SEVENTY-SEVEN complaints filed against them with the Better Business Bureau.

Regards,

******* ****

 

4/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a width size 34 1/8 blind and received a width size 33 5/8. This shortage is causing light to be visible the room the blind is in. I requested an exchange numerous times via customer service. I keep getting the respond. "We are waiting on a response from the third party manufacturer." This is NOT an acceptable response. I'll be happy to send back the incorrectly cut blinds as long as the company provides a shipping label.Order Reference #:*******

Desired Settlement: I would love a replacement blind with the correct size I ordered. I would like the company to provide a shipping label and box to return the incorrect blinds back to them.

Business Response:

 

From: **** ***** *******************************
Sent: Wednesday, March 13, 2013 10:31 AM
To: **** *******
Subject: Automatic reply: You have a new message from the BBB consumer complaint #********

 

I will be out of the office until March 18, 2013. During this time I will have limited access to both email and voice mail.   I will have limited office hours for several weeks.  Please feel free to email me and I will return you email as soon as possible. 

Business Response:

The blinds were ordered as an inside mount blind. When this is the mount type, the manufaturer takes a deduction, up to 1/2", to allow for porper mounting and operation within the window frame. The amount that the customer is stating was shorted is 1/2" which is within that tolerance. This information is listed on the website that a deduction will be taken and we need exact window measurements if chosing an inside mount option.

 

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order was placed according to what was available on the website. The company was unable to fill the order. We cancelled and have been unable to get a refund in the amount of approximately 1500.00 USD.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund.

Business Response:

This order was refunded in full on 3-20-2013 back to the original method of payment that was used for the order.

Thanks

 

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered wallpaper for delivery with a final price (with free shipping) of $125.35.USDAlthough I live in Canada, the shipping form, which has a drop down menu to allow me to select Canada and fill in my complete Canadian address, makes no mention of additional charges for shipping here. Only after my order was complete do I receive an email stating that my order is on hold awaiting an additional charge of $27.59 to ship to Canada.I cancelled the order but they did not refund the full amount. I was billed $131.79 and credited $124.85.When I called to ask them about this, they said, that is the difference in currency exchange but I have two issues with that;1. That is NOT the difference in currency exchange and;2. I was told, as per the email I still have, that there was a) no shipping charge for Canada, and b) my order was on hold pending authorization and therefore no payment should have been taken from my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full balance of the money owing to me but more importantly I would like the practice of adding additional charges to a bill later stopped.

Business Response:

In our shipping policies page it states that for Hawaii, Alaska, and Canadian orders the order can be placed and we will contact the customer due to the varing shipping rates. I apologize if the customer over looked this on our site but it is clearly stated in a couple of places. This is only the case for international orders where we must collect freight due to the high cost on these orders. As for the refund, I have attached the page from our internal system that shows the order total as $125.35 and right below that a refund amount of $125.35. If the custoer is showing a different charge amount then that is something he should discuss with his bank as this is going to be a conversion from USD from Canadian Dollars. We have refunded the full amount of the order when the customer requested to cancel the order.

Thanks

***** ******

 

3/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed an order with Steve's Blinds. The order was for rolling shades, 3 different sets, 2 different sizes, one was blackout the rest were regular - all same color. All shades arrived at the same time, same WRONG color, none were blackout. First and Second problem: wrong color, we were charged for blackout and that was not provided. Call customer service same night and are told to call back tomorrow. Call back the next day, are told its our fault they sent the wrong thing for not ordering a sample, fail to acknowledge the extra charge for "blackout" where none was provided. Advised that the best they will offer is a discount on a new order. Sales person was very matter of fact, made no effort to even understand what we were sent. Did not ask for a photo of said items - nothing. Just sorry about your luck. Call again,told same thing. Call again, told same thing. Call again get supervisor who advises that we should send a pic of the label, and they will decide if we will be issued a store credit. Refuses to acknowledge the 100% Satisfaction Guarantee listed on the website. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM. They made an error and sent us the wrong product now they refuse to issue a refund so we can go to a reputable company for our purchase.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the purchase price.

Business Response:

I have tried to locate this order in our system but have not been able to pull up the order using the name and address provided. Can you please provide a Order number so that I can locate the order and see how I can assist you.

Thanks

***** ******

Assistant Controller

2/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order these blinds on 1/24 as they advertised shipping with in 48 to 72 hours. I have sent 3 request on the order inquiry with no replies and finnally they said they shipped. It is now 2/4 with no blinds. As they are based in Michigan and I live in NY there is no way the shipping takes that long. Not to mention I paid with Amazon and they sent me a shipping verification on 2/1 which leads me to believe they did not ship as promised.

Desired Settlement: $20.00 off as they did not meet expectations and promised delivery.

Business Response: This order was placed on the evening of the 24th and was shipped out on the 30th. The manufacturing of the blinds took 3 days and then they shipped on a Sunday. While we are based in Michigan we have manufacturers all over North America so the blinds do not ship from our Michigan office. I am including the tracking information that shows the order did ship out on the 30th and is scheduled for delivery today, 2-6-13. You can track the package via FedEx using ***************. We shipped the blinds as promised and these were not part of the guarantee program and we also have no control over the actual delivery time once they leave the factory. Normally we do not offer compensation for blinds that are not part of a guarantee program but as a one time concession I have already processed the refund for $20 back to the customer through Amazon.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I did recieve the blinds today. Thank you.

Regards,

***** ******

 

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting on a reordered blind for over 1 week. I have called four times so far. The first time I was told that it would be ordered but I was not given an order number. The second time I was told that the intial representativeite that I had spoken with that placed the order would have to call me back because the current rep. couldn't find any information that the order was placed. The third time I was on hold for 20 minutes and was then hung up on without speaking with anyone. The fourth time I called, the rep. told me that she would email the manufacturer to see what the status was and then email me when she heard back. Still waiting on that email.

Desired Settlement: I would like my blind delivered along with a refund for the hassle.

Business Response:

When the customer placed the order they entered an incorrect size for one of the blinds on the website. We worked with the customer and were able to get them a new order at a discounted price for that one blind. Most of the calls with the customer were to discuss the error in the order and figure out a way to best assist the customer to get a new blind made. The blind was shipped on 1-16-2013 and has a scheduled delivery for 1-22-2013 according to the FedEx website. The tracking number for the order is ***************. We can not offer a refund on this order as this was a ordering error by the customer which can take time to process a remake if the customer is requesting a discount or free blind. This requires us to go to our manufacturer and see what they are willing to offer the customer to correct the issue.

 

I apologize for any delay or frustration that this caused.

 

 

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2012 Delivery Issues
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues