BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southfield, Serving Eastern Michigan & the U.P.
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marketplace Homes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Marketplace Homes, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Marketplace Homes, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2012 in MI Business incorporated: 03/13/2003 in MI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Kalis, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Kalis, CEO
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Marketplace Homes
Industry Tips

When making any home improvement, the BBB suggests that you obtain all terms of the contract in writing, including, but not limited to: dates when the project is to be started and completed; warranties and guarantees regarding the product and workmanship; and any other terms that you want expressed with the manner in which the job is to be performed.


Additional Locations

  • 17197 N Laurel Park Dr Ste 340

    Livonia, MI 48152 (734) 862-4750 (800) 331-0646

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (734) 862-4750(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: first they continued to withdraw rent after our lease was up and we had moved out. After numerous phone calls and tears, they put my funds back only to withdraw it again 2 days later with a 50.00 fee for stopping payment on 1st withdraw. ( now my bank is going after them) Now they claim that i signed a lease with option to buy. no way!! We had just lost our home to a short sale and no way would we even qualify to buy. They knew we were just renting for 1 year. We took GREAT care of the house and left it in move in condtion. I begged ****** and ***** to please give us our deposit back and they refused. Now our new landlord wants to evict us because he has been waiting on rent and security deposit as of jan.15 2013.BBB...PLEASE HELP

Desired Settlement: $1500.00 security deposit for leaving the house we rented in GEAT condition.

Business Response: The complainant, Mr. *** ***** has agreed to withdraw his BBB complaint against Marketplace Homes. Has he contacted your office about having the complaint withdrawn?


Thank you,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We terminated our lease with MPH on 7/1/2012 and have had several issues throughout the process. We have provided a detailed list of damages along with numerous photos of the damage to the home and this occurred within the first week of the lease termination. Then we were told MPH we would have to provide estimates for the damages. We obtained estimates and sent copies of the purchase orders and deposits into to MPH. Then on 7/26/12 we were told MPH will not process payment until we provide copies of paid receipts showing the items were installed, despite documented damages and purchase orders. Three emails disputing this refusal to pay for documented damages were sent to 3 different individuals at MPH. Two individuals failed to respond and one replied that they would not pay until the work was done. Our lease agreement with MPH list us as landlord and MPH as tenant, NOT property managers. The contract states they are responsible for up to $5,000 in damages and does not stipulate proving repairs being completed. Addtionally MCL 554.609 states "In case of damage to the rental unit or other obligation against the security deposit, the landlord shall mail to the tenant, within 30 days after the termination of occupancy, an itemized list of damages claimed for which the security deposit may be used as provided in section 7, including the ESTIMATED COST of repair of each property damaged item and the amounts and bases on which he intends to assess the tenant..." MCL 554.609 states estimated damages is fine. Therefore per our contract with MPH and MCL 554.609, MPH owes us for the $931.00 in documented damages.

Desired Settlement: Prompt payment of documented damages to the property in the amount of $931.00.

Consumer Response:

From: **** ************************
Sent: Thursday, January 03, 2013 9:02 AM
To: **** *******
Cc: ******* ******
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB complaint #*******.  

 

This issue has been resolved; the company paid the money owed… 

 

 


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service