BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marketplace Homes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marketplace Homes, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Marketplace Homes, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2012 in MI Business incorporated 03/13/2003 in MI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Kalis, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Kalis, CEO
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Marketplace Homes
Industry Tips

When making any home improvement, the BBB suggests that you obtain all terms of the contract in writing, including, but not limited to: dates when the project is to be started and completed; warranties and guarantees regarding the product and workmanship; and any other terms that you want expressed with the manner in which the job is to be performed.


Additional Locations

  • 17197 N Laurel Park Dr Ste 340

    Livonia, MI 48152 (734) 862-4750 (800) 331-0646

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I built a home through Lombardo Homes and closed 9/2014. Part of the deal was working with Marketplace Homes to rent out our current (at the time) home in *****. We were "guaranteed" the amount of the mortgage for 5 years, or until we sold the house. After the first lease was up with our tenants, we were informed by marketplace that they then would only cover a portion of the full mortgage, leaving us responsible for $200 each month of our old house payment in addition to our new (much higher) payment. We have been struggling with this and chose to list the house for sale. Marketplace still deposits their portion of the payment for the mortgage each month, despite whether we have a tenant at the time. We currently have an offer pending, waiting for bank approval for the buyers. If all goes well, we close on New Year's Eve. We are already taking a loss on the house, having to come up with just under $4000 to close. Our house payment for that residence is still due 12-15-14. We were just informed by Marketplace, that since we are "under contract" to sell, they will not be paying their portion of the mortgage for the month. They let us know this only be we inquired where the money was, and FIVE days before the mortgage becomes delinquent. If we would not have asked, we would not have been told. So, 15 days before Christmas, we now are responsible to make BOTH house payments, which we are unable to do. We are not able to locate anything in our contract that shows they are not responsible if we are under contract with a potential buyer. If they do not come through on their end with the mortgage, this sale will fall through because we will have an outstanding debt on the house. We cannot afford 2 house payments and will be forced to foreclose on the property.

Desired Settlement: Realistically, we want Marketplace to pay the FULL amount of the mortgage payment that we were promised EACH month. We have been carrying a portion of rent along with our current mortgage each month. We want to be reimbursed for the $200 we have had to pay towards that mortgage monthly. But more importantly, they need to continue paying the mortgage until the house is SOLD or the end of the 5 year agreement (whichever comes first).

Business Response:

****,

I think you are a good guy and I have a lot of respect for both you, your wife and kids.  I can really appreciate the situation of having an expense come up that is unexpected and I think that it had not been properly disclosed in regards to how we typically do a transaction.  However, we always need to market a home for rent in order to give an owner rent and the home is unmarketable if it is under contract.  If that wasn't conveyed to you, I'm very sorry.     

The facts remain that you are not happy with the work of our team.  We had a misunderstanding regarding a payment for December and I promised to get back with you in 24 hours with a solution.  During that time you decided to file a BBB complaint.  Later you claimed that you had posted to the BBB prior to us even speaking, however when we spoke you didn't say that you had... in fact you threatened to post comments online.  You have posted your issue publicly and it has the effect of hurting our team, myself and the exact people that you are having help you sell your home.  Now we have extra costs to deal with the BBB post, it will be there for years and I need our attorney to write up a response.  I feel really upset about this.  

My intent was to help you understand our original agreement and come up with a plan to help.  I thought that by offering to sell your home it might help you, but I appear to have been incorrect.  Instead it caused me to receive multiple angry e-mails our team has fielded.  Including correspondence regarding the first buyer that ended up falling through to the current one.  

At this point, I don't think that it is healthy for your family and our team to correspond.  Let's be honest, your family is not happy with the service received by our team (as expressed below in your BBB complaint).  Our team is hurt and upset by the work we put in that feels like we are being blamed that your home is upside down and our work carries little value.  This is a toxic relationship.  

My offer to withdraw from the transaction is to save ALL of us the hurt from having to work together when clearly it is not working for either party.  I'm offering more then the funds you requested for December, this should be a plus for you.  But the reason I'm doing it is so we can all just move on immediately.

So my decision is that we are doing the following;

1)  We are removing ourselves from the agent representing you on the sale of the home and offering to rebate the 1% Marketplace Homes commission to you in the form of a price reduction.  (About $1,100)  

2) Marketplace homes / myself / our team is no longer involved in the transaction

3) Our team will send confirmation of this by the end of Tuesday

4)  No further communication is needed, this is my decision and I believe it is a fair solution 

I wish you all of the best.

Regards,

 

**** *****

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

[You must provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please type details here:]

I want to start by saying we are not upset with you or your team personally. They have been very helpful and polite. When we had a misunderstanding in the past you told me it was in the contract and there was nothing you could do to help us. Now here we are. Marketplace Homes didn't make the December payment to us as stated in our contract. Nowhere does the contract give any exclusions or exceptions.

 We are not looking to over complicate things or asking for anything extra. We are asking for Marketplace Homes to 1. honor the contract we have and pay the December rent payment to us that is owed. 2. We are under a real estate contract to sell our home. It is scheduled to close by 12-31-14. We want you to see the sale to closing.

Regards,

**** and ***** *****

 

Business Response: **** and *****,

I offered the only possible route that our team is willing to offer at this point.
1)  We with draw from selling your home (it is likely to go to close)
2)  You receive the 1% commission that we agreed to charge at close as we are not representing you (approx. $1,100 back)
3)  We no longer have to have contact with each other
What has led me to this conclusion;
1)  About 4 months ago our team contacted you regarding our renewal process
2)  You disagreed with the process and spoke with no less then 3 people on our team including myself
3)  You agreed that our agreement was being followed, but where not happy about it.
4)  You expressed that you didn't want to lose money monthly on the home and might have to foreclose. 
5)  I offered to work to sell the home so you didn't have to at only 1%.  I offered this in an attempt to help you, however I have since regretted this.  
6)  As a company we had to cover over $500 in November in lost rent
7)  In December we are being asked to pay $850 more to cover a period that clearly the home can not be subleased out
8)  While discussing the issue with many levels on our team, including myself you decided to file a BBB complaint online instead of working it out with us
9)  It is simply not equitable for our company to continue to do business at a loss while nothing will bring you to a satisfied customer
10)  If the home doesn't close in December, our team has concern about what you will feel we owe you next... do we owe you another month's rent?  
It feels that we attempted to go above and beyond and help and it backfired and caused us to lose money and you to be dissatisfied.  It seems that we have all lost.
If I don't have an acceptance of the proposed agreement by 5pm on the 17th then we will pull this offer and collect the 1% commission at close.
Regards,
**** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

We conditionally accept the offer pending review of documents releasing both parties from contract.

Please forward appropriate documents for review and signature to formally accept.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** and ***** *****

 

7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: first they continued to withdraw rent after our lease was up and we had moved out. After numerous phone calls and tears, they put my funds back only to withdraw it again 2 days later with a 50.00 fee for stopping payment on 1st withdraw. ( now my bank is going after them) Now they claim that i signed a lease with option to buy. no way!! We had just lost our home to a short sale and no way would we even qualify to buy. They knew we were just renting for 1 year. We took GREAT care of the house and left it in move in condtion. I begged ****** and ***** to please give us our deposit back and they refused. Now our new landlord wants to evict us because he has been waiting on rent and security deposit as of jan.15 2013.BBB...PLEASE HELP

Desired Settlement: $1500.00 security deposit for leaving the house we rented in GEAT condition.

Business Response: The complainant, Mr. *** ***** has agreed to withdraw his BBB complaint against Marketplace Homes. Has he contacted your office about having the complaint withdrawn?


Thank you,

1/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We terminated our lease with MPH on 7/1/2012 and have had several issues throughout the process. We have provided a detailed list of damages along with numerous photos of the damage to the home and this occurred within the first week of the lease termination. Then we were told MPH we would have to provide estimates for the damages. We obtained estimates and sent copies of the purchase orders and deposits into to MPH. Then on 7/26/12 we were told MPH will not process payment until we provide copies of paid receipts showing the items were installed, despite documented damages and purchase orders. Three emails disputing this refusal to pay for documented damages were sent to 3 different individuals at MPH. Two individuals failed to respond and one replied that they would not pay until the work was done. Our lease agreement with MPH list us as landlord and MPH as tenant, NOT property managers. The contract states they are responsible for up to $5,000 in damages and does not stipulate proving repairs being completed. Addtionally MCL 554.609 states "In case of damage to the rental unit or other obligation against the security deposit, the landlord shall mail to the tenant, within 30 days after the termination of occupancy, an itemized list of damages claimed for which the security deposit may be used as provided in section 7, including the ESTIMATED COST of repair of each property damaged item and the amounts and bases on which he intends to assess the tenant..." MCL 554.609 states estimated damages is fine. Therefore per our contract with MPH and MCL 554.609, MPH owes us for the $931.00 in documented damages.

Desired Settlement: Prompt payment of documented damages to the property in the amount of $931.00.

Consumer Response:

From: **** ************************
Sent: Thursday, January 03, 2013 9:02 AM
To: **** *******
Cc: ******* ******
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB complaint #*******.  

 

This issue has been resolved; the company paid the money owed… 

 

 


12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service