This business is not BBB accredited.

Plumbing Professors

Phone: (800) 654-1300 Fax: (734) 416-4238 40665 Koppernick, Canton, MI 48187 http://www.plumbingprofessors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Plumbing Professors was a BBB Accredited Business for just two years but continued to display the BBB logo on its website.  BBB sent a letter to the business on March 9, 2015, reminding the owner that he is no longer permitted to display the BBB logo, which is federally trademarked and reserved for current BBB Accredited Businesses.  Plumbing Professors responded on March 12, indicating they would remove the BBB logo from all their advertising and marketing materials. 


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Plumbing Professors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Plumbing Professors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 in MI Business incorporated 11/25/2008 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs (f/k/a Department of Labor and Economic Growth)
P.O. Box 30018, Lansing MI 48909
Phone Number: (517) 241-9288

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matt O'Rourke, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt O'Rourke, Vice President
Business Category

Plumbers Water Heaters - Wholesale & Manufacturers Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Sump Pump Contractors Drainage Contractors Water & Sewer Line Protection Sewer Inspection Sewer Contractors Pipe Lining & Coating Water Heaters - Repairing Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Industry Tips
Contracts Home Improvement Comment

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40665 Koppernick

    Canton, MI 48187

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On **** ** **** my tenant informed me that the sewer was backing up. I called City Sewer Cleaners a company I had used previously with excellent results. I was not able to be at the rental house when they arrived but they called me and told me their price ($***, which was much higher than the other company) for the service and that they were now Plumbing Professors as they had bought out the other company. I told them to go ahead as it is a health issue for my tenant not to have use of toilets or water. When I arrived at the rental house the technician said he had gotten stuck in the pipe but another tech was coming to help. The tech tried to sell me on buying their waterjetting service to clear the tree roots which starts at $*** on up depending on how long it takes. I indicated that I just wanted them to clear out the roots right now with the equipment on hand. They continued to work until the sewer was draining normally. It was late at this point so I left a check for them with my tenant as they were done but still packing up their equiptment and I went home. They made my tenant sign the receipt to which they had added that there was no warranty for the work done. They had never discussed with me, the homeowner, that there would be no warranty for the work done. On the evening of **** ** **** my tenant stated that the drain began to back up again. The company was called first thing Monday morning, they said they would send someone out. When they arrived in the afternoon they said there was no warranty and there would be further charges. My wife spoke with *****, the manager who called us back about our concerns and he said that if they tried again it may break their equipment and we needed to do the waterjetting service instead. Roots would not grow back in four days if it was done correctly in the first place, they were using bait & switch to try to force us to purchase the much more expensive service.

Desired Settlement: I want my $*** refunded as they did not accomplish the work that I paid them to do. The hand written "no warranty" that was put on the receipt was never discussed with me when I was present at the rental house and talking to the technician. He added that to the receipt after I left and had my tenant sign it. My tenant has no authority to agree to anything added to the receipt. The technician should have called me for authorization if there were stipulations he had not discussed with me.

Business Response:

 

I filed a complaint on **** *** **** against Plumbing Professors.  I requested my money back, $***.  They contacted me and returned my money on **** ** ****.  I would like to update my claim with this information, how do I do that?   

Please advise me how I can add the information that I was reimbursed the fee they charged for the work? 

I can be reached at manitou236@aol.com

  

Thank you,. 

****** *******

5/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4-17-13 I called Plumbing Professors and asked about their 100 ft. for $99 and asked If they had any openings for Thursday morning, but they did not have one, so I asked about Saturday and if would still be the same, she said no problem they could set it up for Saturday. On Saturday they showed up and I walked them to the clean out and said all I need is to go 20 feet to the left and 10 feet to the right. He responded back that to go 10 feet in the other direction they would consider that a second pipe and would have to charge me the price for another job and it would cost $225 dollars. I told him its the same pipe and the same clean out and you are more than doubling the price!! he said the $99 dollar for 100 does not count on the weekends. I told him when I called I asked about that and it was fine for the weekend. He said he was a manager and it would not count. I told him you guys are scammers and I will get a hold of the ****** ******** ****** and let them know what you are pulling and to get out of here. After they left I called **** ****** and they had someone in the area right now and they came out 15 minutes later and did the same job 20 one way and 10 the other way, they said its a simple job, so they would just charge the minimum fee of one hour service for $127 dollars they were done in 20 minutes. I never told them what Plumbing Professors tried to pull, so that tells me since **** ****** is a well known reputable company that this would be the normal price for a job this size.

Desired Settlement: change their advertisement and I feel they are scammers that when they show up they come up with some way to double the price and try to get people to pay it.I can show the document of what I paid Roto Rooter on the same day for the same job if you need it.

Business Response: ******
My name is ***** ***** I am the operations manager at Plumbing Professors. Although we strive for 100% Customer satisfaction, We seemed to have dropped the ball with you....I am very Sorry.

Plumbing professors feels that proper training is a must to succeed and retain clients. The employee that this in regards too was given many training sessions and this is not the 1st complaint. We have since taken action within the last week and Plumbing Professors and the employee in question have decided to part ways.

I know that this does very little to mend your initial experience you had with Plumbing Professors, But I would urge you to give us another shot the next time you are in need of service. I will see to it that we only Charge you $99.00 for the drain cleaning and I will provide a Free Camera Inspection so you can see what is causing you back-ups.

If you would like to contact me at anytime to discuss anything, I can be reached at ************ ** ****************************

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9513301, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

[You must provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please type details here:]

please post what happened to me for all to see, so others will know what to do when they use this company and they try to pull the same scam.

Regards,

Jerry Johns

 

5/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service