This business is not BBB accredited.

Urban Development Solutions, Inc

Phone: (855) 91urban Fax: (800) 228-9433 View Additional Phone Numbers 18530 Mack Ave, Grosse Pointe, MI 48236 http://www.urbands.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Urban Development Solutions was a BBB Accredited Business off and on for seven years but continued to display the BBB logo on its website while no longer accredited.  The use of the BBB logo is reserved for current BBB Accredited Businesses only.  BBB sent a letter to Urban Development Solutions on February 24, 2015, advising the business they were no longer permitted to display the BBB logo.  A reminder letter was sent on March 10, 2015.  Urban Development Solutions neither responded nor removed the logo.  Because the Council of Better Business Bureaus considers the unauthorized display of the BBB logo to be a major violation of the BBB Code of Advertising, the BBB rating of the business should have been revised to an F rating.  However, this business was already rated F by the BBB due to their lack of response to several complaints.   Urban Development Solutions will need to resolve both issues before their BBB rating can be restored to a letter grade.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Urban Development Solutions, Inc include:

  • 25 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s)
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Factors that raised the rating for Urban Development Solutions, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 12
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Urban Development Solutions, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2003 Business started: 04/01/2002 in MI Business incorporated 03/13/2003 in MI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Maurice McClain, CEO Ms. Queen Dixon, Project Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Queen Dixon, Project Manager
Principal: Mr. Maurice McClain, CEO
Business Category

Magazine Sales

Alternate Business Names
Urban Development Solutions

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18530 Mack Ave

    Grosse Pointe, MI 48236 (855) 91urban (936) 714-6413 (313) 878-6100 (800) 228-9433 (313) 881-2911 (404) 402-7779

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2015 Delivery Issues
6/30/2015 Delivery Issues
6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2015 Delivery Issues
6/30/2015 Delivery Issues
6/30/2015 Delivery Issues
6/30/2015 Delivery Issues
6/29/2015 Delivery Issues
6/23/2015 Delivery Issues
6/23/2015 Delivery Issues
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2014 Delivery Issues
9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am suspicious that Urban Development Solutions, Inc. and ********** are a scam collecting money and not fulfilling orders. Yesterday I had a representative come to my door and after a 15 minute sales pitch, including a very personal appeal for help, I wound up writing a check for $50 to donate books to an inner city school. The sales person assured me I could track my order fulfillment via a website,**********, to make sure they were delivering what I paid for. I have tried putting my order number into the website's tracking feature three times now and the website reports an error. I just handed someone a personal check, with address and account numbers, and I'm very concerned about the security of our bank account. Please assure me this business is legit and that I don't have to worry about our checking account being drained.

Desired Settlement: If it turns out I was mislead, I would appreciate a refund in full, and/or a returned check.

Business Response: ***** *** *** *** ********** are legit companies. Your getting a tracking error due to one factor, the order had not yet been turned in. Also, check out ******* BBB rating at **************** ***** ****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

Barb Biess

 

 

4/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In good faith I purchased an **** magazine subscription from a young man soliciting in my neighborhood. My check for $30 was cashed and the product has never been received.

Desired Settlement: A money order made payable to me in the amount of $30.

Business Response: Hello*****


Please scan and then email a copy of the receipt the salesman left with you. We will be waiting. Thank you. 

Business Response:
Please provide your complete mailing address and name as this info was not legible on the receipt, do you want a refund or the subscripton?

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

Laura Nelson

Address information per your request is:  ***** ** ******* **** ******* ****** ********* ****** ** *********** ***** **** 

12/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2012 Delivery Issues