This business is not BBB accredited.

Urban Development Solutions, Inc

Phone: (855) 91urban Fax: (800) 228-9433 View Additional Phone Numbers 18530 Mack Ave, Grosse Pointe, MI 48236 http://www.urbands.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Urban Development Solutions was a BBB Accredited Business off and on for seven years but continued to display the BBB logo on its website while no longer accredited.  The use of the BBB logo is reserved for current BBB Accredited Businesses only.  BBB sent a letter to Urban Development Solutions on February 24, 2015, advising the business they were no longer permitted to display the BBB logo.  A reminder letter was sent on March 10, 2015.  Urban Development Solutions neither responded nor removed the logo.  Because the Council of Better Business Bureaus considers the unauthorized display of the BBB logo to be a major violation of the BBB Code of Advertising, the BBB rating of the business should have been revised to an F rating.  However, this business was already rated F by the BBB due to their lack of response to several complaints.   Urban Development Solutions will need to resolve both issues before their BBB rating can be restored to a letter grade.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Urban Development Solutions, Inc include:

  • 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s)
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Factors that raised the rating for Urban Development Solutions, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 13
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Urban Development Solutions, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2003 Business started: 04/01/2002 in MI Business incorporated 03/13/2003 in MI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Maurice McClain, CEO Ms. Queen Dixon, Project Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Queen Dixon, Project Manager
Principal: Mr. Maurice McClain, CEO
Business Category

Magazine Sales

Alternate Business Names
Urban Development Solutions

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18530 Mack Ave

    Grosse Pointe, MI 48236 (936) 714-6413 (313) 878-6100 (800) 228-9433 (313) 881-2911 (404) 402-7779 (855) 91urban

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent some time on my front porch working with a young man who was working through the youth leadership program at this company. Having done door-to-door sales in my college year, my heart went out to him and his story. I explained to him about my concern with door-to-door sales and having been ripped off in the past. He assured me of the integrity of the company and even had his manager on the speaker phone when he called in his sale. I donated a total of $200 for two magazine subscriptions (more than I would have spent on magazines but I believed in him and his story.) Not long after leaving, he came back to my house, telling me about daily minimums and asking me to purchase more so that he could get over his number. At this point, it sounded questionable and I said that I wouldn't do more than the $200 already committed. One of the magazines (Men's Fitness) started delivering soon after that and even transferred to our new address when we moved later that year. The other magazine (Taste of Home) never delivered at either address. I tried to call and the number I had was disconnected. I tried to reach out on Facebook (Nov 16, 2014) with all the details and never got a response to my inquiries. That request is still sitting in the message box at Facebook unanswered.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I would like to receive a refund of the $100 that was paid for the magazines that were never delivered. My subscription to Men's Fitness has been delivering and that's fine. The sales Ticket was #****** dated 04/15/2014. My address at the time was **** ******* ******* *****, Colorado Springs, CO 80921. Thank you in advance.

9/7/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/26/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2014 I was fooled into thinking I was going a good thing, and also felt pressured to purchase a magazine from a young sales/solicitor in my neighborhood. I have NEVER received a magazine and have tried to contact the company, Urban Development Solutions twice & never heard anything back. It is not right that they took my $60 and ran off with it, that's theft, plain and simple. I have kids too and ordered the Sesame Street Magazine for them, still nothing to show for it. Shame on this company for practicing in such a dishonest manner & cheating people out of money who are HONESTLY trying to help others.

Desired Settlement: After an attempt to contact your company twice, at this point I feel that a refund is in order it's been a year and half since I signed over that check and at this point the magazine that I selected is not of interest to my children now.

7/26/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a subscription to The Atlantic Monthly 30 issues for $100 and My First Atlas for my daughter at a cost of $80 on July 29, 2014. This was a door-to-door subscription sale from a young, well dressed gentleman stating that such sales would help him receive an education. I received neither item. I attempted to contact Urban Development Solutions, processed under Ultimate Unity, INC. I was never able to reach anyone through their website http****************** or the phone number listed on the receipt I was provided. These individuals are again selling door-to-door in my neighborhood.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a refund of my $180 or the delivery of the items I purchased.

6/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 09/03/13, a very pushy young man came to my door and sold me a magazine subscription for ******** ********** ***** I wrote him a check for $60.00 made payable to Urban Development Solutions. On 09/11/13, I received a letter from this company advising that the magazine I had ordered was not available (despite the young man's assurances that it was) and that I needed to choose another magazine. I called the number listed (###-###-####) and told them I didn't want another subscription, I wanted my money back. This went on a few times until they had me put the request in writing and mail, which I did. However, I have STILL not received my refund from this company. The phone number listed is no longer working. The receipt that was written on 09/03/13 has a tracking number of ****** and the name of the Sales Agent was ******* - Dealer #***. At the time of sale, my address was ** ********** ****** ******* ** ****** Although, I have since moved to **** ********** ***** ****** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I want them to send my $60.00 back to me as they promised. I have never received anything in return for the payment I sent them AND that they cashed.

Business Response: We apologize for your inconvenience, we will process a refund and get it out to you as soon as possible. thank you.

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A young African American girl came to my door this summer selling her story of a hard upbringing, etc. She said she's now working for this company that will help her with schooling and her future, etc. she asks if I would buy some magazines for my own family or to donate subscriptions to shelters and the more I order the more it'll help her with this company. So I ended up talking with her for quite a while and ultimately ordered 2 subscriptions which would come for over a years time and totaled $300. It's been 3 months and I still have yet to receive anything but the money was sure quick to been taken from my account. I feel like such a fool for trusting a stranger like that. Sad world.

Desired Settlement: A full $300 refund or goods delivered as promised!

Business Response: We are sorry for your inconvenience, we changed magazine clearing houses and did not know this order was not fufilled. Please expect a full refund in the form of a check.Again, we are very sorry for your inconvenience.

6/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered magazines last summer from a salesman that came to my door. I never received the magazines and when I have tried to call ultimate unity, inc that was to fill the order, their phone is disconnected. I have filled out a complaint on their website with no response. I am now looking for help from Urban Development since they are the ones that sold me the product. I ordered Dance Spirit Magazine for $72 and my order number is ******* I am expecting a full refund since I have never received the magazine and cannot get through via phone or email.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $72

Business Response: We will check our records, if a full refund has not already been sent to you, it will be. Thank you for your patience.

6/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase on 3-5-2014 for a magazine subscription from a youth selling door to door for urban development solutions. They use a pitch of helping underprivileged youth trying to work hard instead of the negative stereotypes one might associate. After 5 months the product never started to arrive and I attempted to contact ********** the processing company on my receipt via phone and through their website. No responses have ever been received.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $60.00 US dollars Receipt#******

Business Response: We are sorry for your inconvenience. We will get you out a refund check because our old clearing house was not processing our orders. We do apologize. Thank you.

6/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 16, 2014 I purchased a magazine from them for $72.00. The magazine has never been received and when I call, the phone message says that all circuits are busy. I have been trying to contact them by phone and email with no response for over three months. I feel this company and their magazine sales are a scam.

Desired Settlement: $72 for non delivery of magazine subscription.

Business Response: Hello... Thank you for your communication.We no longer use ******** ***** to clear our orders because they closed down but we will process a refund for you as fast as we can. Thank you for your patience.

Business Response: No,we are not a scam.We changed our magazine processor.But we are going to refund your money.We are sorry about any inconvenience.

6/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was solicited by ******* *******, dealer number *** representing Urban Development Solutions on July 14, 2014. He explained the companies mission and asked that I purchase a magazine. I ordered Golf Week magazine and wrote the address for the middle school at which I am the vice principal. I was going to donate the subscription to our library. The company states delivery may take up to 120 days. To date I have had no delivery of the purchased subscription. All attempts to contact the company have gone unanswered. The phone numbers listed on the receipt are all not in service. Our local police department stopped this individual from going house to house because he was doing so without a license.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $60.00 refund for the total cost of the subscription.

Business Response: We are sorry for your inconvenience and will process a refund expeditiously. Have a great day.

6/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 18 April 2014, I paid $70 for a one year subscription to Astronomy Magazine. My receipt number is ******. It has been over 10 months since I placed that order, and I still have never received a single issue of the magazine. I know that my order was processed and that the company received the order and funds from the salesperson because while the order tracking feature of their website was still working (they appear to have removed this capability from their website now), I tracked my order and that system reported that the subscription was submitted to the publisher on 22 April 2014, the order cleared on 15 May 2014, and that my expected first issue date was 16 August 2014.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my $70 sent to me immediately in the form of a money order.

Business Response: We apologize and will get you out a refund for your unprocessed order. Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would resolve my complaint if they actually do provide me with the promised refund, however, I have still not received the refund.

Regards,

****** *****

 

6/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered and paid $60.00 for a magazine subscription from a sales agent that was going door to door back in July 2014. I was told that subscription would start within 120 days. Never received magazine so I called Urban Development. Was told they were no longer using processor ******** ***** *** and they would contact their new processor and I would receive subscription as soon as possible. This was back in December 2014. Still no magazine. Did send them an e-mail 2 weeks ago for an update but there has been no response.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot send out my magazine subscription immediately as I have now been waiting 7 months, then I would like a full refund of $60.00

Business Response: We are very sorry for your inconvenience, we are processing refunds from the last clearing house that closed on us.We do apologize and will get your refund out to you as soon as possible.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. I have received a refund check already and complaint is now resolved.

Regards,

***** *********

 

6/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Magazines ordered more than 120 days ago have not yet started delivery. The Urban Development Solutions representative was ******** ********, whom they identify as Agent #***.

Desired Settlement: Refund or prompt delivery of magazines ordered.

Business Response: We do apologize about the inconvenience, we changed publisher clearing houses and did not know that your order was not processed. We will process a refund in a check and get it out to you shortly. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******

 

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A man came to my door selling magazine subscriptions under the guise of helping recently unemployed to get back on their feet. I purchased two subscriptions for $190 over 4 months ago and have not received anything. Their provided phone numbers no longer appear to be active and I do not have any way of contacting them - their website also appears to be nothing more than a shell with no way of contacting them. They cashed my check in August. I am seeking a full refund as I as been taken advantage of. The name of the organization is Urban Development Solutions, Inc

Desired Settlement: Refund of $190. The amount of the check I gave them

Business Response: We are sorry about your inconvenience, we will be sending you a check in the mail for the full purchase amount. We changed our clearing house and did not know that your order was not processed. Again, we are very sorry for your inconvenience. Have a great day.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Please send check to the following address:

***** *********
*** ***** *****
*** ******* CT 06840

Regards,

*********** *********

 

11/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2014 Delivery Issues
9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Urban Development Solutions, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart