BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Summit Sports, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Summit Sports, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Complaint Information

alleging that the company did not resolve a billing problem.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Summit Sports, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MI Business incorporated 11/01/2000 in MI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Andru Castle
Business Category

Internet Shopping Sporting Goods - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 2650 E Grand River Ave

    East Lansing, MI 48823 (517) 332-4000

  • 2867 Orchard Lake Rd

    Keego Harbor, MI 48320 (248) 738-4444

  • 330 Enterprise Ct

    Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302 (248) 338-9980

  • 690 S Old Woodward Ave

    Birmingham, MI 48009 (248) 220-1999

  • 8180 Grand River Rd

    Brighton, MI 48114 (810) 227-6877

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Hurricane Santee 126 Sport Kayak for 1,099.00 on March 19, 2016. I received the kayak in April and the freight company would not allow for me to remove all the wrapping off the kayak saying they would be free from harm. I noticed upon opening the item that the back of the kayak (underneath) was completely busted, most likely from shipping. I have tried to work with ********.com and was told that they would not allow me to return the item for a replacement. I requested to speak with management on three different occasions and was not allowed to do so by the representative (*******). In my paperwork I received from ********.com they have a 1-year hassle free return policy on any new item. To date, they have not adhered to their own policy. Bottom line, I have purchased a 1,099.00 kayak received in very damaged condition and ********.com is refusing to stand behind their customer and make this right.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the kayak I ordered sent to me as soon as possible, not damanged. If return shipping is required for the damanged kayak I have in my possession, I request that ********.com pays for return freight.

Business Response: We have been working with the customer on this damaged kayak, as our policy (as confirmed over the phone with her and sent in email form), stated that the kayak would need to be inspected prior to being signed off on for us to be able to file a claim in the case of this issue occurring. We worked on the claim with our freight company, while at the same time getting a replacement kayak sent out to the customer. The original damaged kayak was picked up and returned back to us here, while a replacement was sent out to them and arrived May 23rd, after this complaint was filed. At this time the customer should be all set!

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********,and feel that this complaint has already been resolved.  

Regards,

***** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Summit Sports, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)