BBB Accredited Business since

Art Van Furniture

Additional Locations

Phone: (586) 939-2100 Fax: (586) 939-3482 View Additional Phone Numbers 6500 E 14 Mile Rd, Warren, MI 48092 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.artvan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Art Van Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Art Van Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 177 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

177 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 97 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 11
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 30
Problems with Product/Service 121
Total Closed Complaints 177

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Art Van Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 23, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1957 in MI Business started locally: 01/01/1957 Business incorporated 01/01/1957 in MI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Julia Irla, Admin. Asst.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Archie Van Elslander, Chairman
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Furniture - Childrens


Additional Locations

  • 11501 S Saginaw St Ste A

    Grand Blanc, MI 48439 (844) 271-5616

  • 1234 32nd Street

    Port Huron, MI 48060 (810) 989-2049

  • 13855 East Eight Mile

    Warren, MI 48089 (586) 779-9530

  • 14055 Hall Road

    Shelby Township, MI 48315 (586) 566-1490

  • 15701 Market Drive

    Dearborn, MI 48126 (313) 982-9999

  • 1735 Big Beaver Rd.

    Troy, MI 48083 (888) 598-4532

  • 1826 E Main St

    Owosso, MI 48867 (989) 723-8122

  • 1856 S Rochester Road

    Rochester Hills, MI 48307

  • 2125 S Telegraph Rd Ste A

    Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302 (248) 454-0900

  • 22035 Eureka Road

    Taylor, MI 48180 (734) 287-4000

  • 22555 Greenfield

    Southfield, MI 48075 (248) 569-3770

  • 2509 US-23

    Alpena, MI 49707 (989) 356-0700

  • 2570 Jackson Ave Ste A & B

    Ann Arbor, MI 48103 (888) 920-1642

  • 2660 E Grand River Avenue

    Okemos, MI 48823 (517) 336-4355

  • 2660 Tittabawassee

    Saginaw, MI 48604 (989) 790-2221

  • 272 John R Rd

    Troy, MI 48083 (248) 588-2000

  • 27775 Novi Road

    Novi, MI 48377 (248) 348-8922

  • 28550 Dequindre Rd

    Warren, MI 48092 (586) 558-0130

  • 2873 Us Highway 41 W

    Marquette, MI 49855 (906) 226-2169

  • 29611 Plymouth Rd

    Livonia, MI 48150 (855) 324-8045

  • 29905 Seven Mile Rd.

    Livonia, MI 48152 (248) 478-8870

  • 30821 Milford Road

    New Hudson, MI 48165 (888) 227-0494

  • 31851 Gratiot Ave

    Roseville, MI 48066 (855) 519-7765

  • 32301 Woodward Avenue

    Royal Oak, MI 48073 (248) 549-2900

  • 32500 N Woodward

    Royal Oak, MI 48073 (248) 549-1002

  • 33801 Gratiot

    Clinton Township, MI 48035 (586) 792-2810

  • 3550 Washtenaw Ave

    Ann Arbor, MI 48104 (734) 975-6982

  • 3889 I 75 Business Spur

    Sault S Marie, MI 49783 (906) 632-6817

  • 4050 E Grand River

    Howell, MI 48843 (517) 552-2000

  • 4095 East Court Street

    Burton, MI 48509 (810) 742-9120

  • 4101 East Grand River

    Howell, MI 48843 (517) 552-0720

  • 4150 E. Wilder Road

    Bay City, MI 48706 (989) 667-4700

  • 41913 Ford Rd

    Canton, MI 48187 (734) 983-9100

  • 425 E. Eisenhower Parkway

    Ann Arbor, MI 48108 (734) 747-7170

  • 43420 W Oaks Dr

    Novi, MI 48377 (248) 344-7110

  • 44975 Hayes Rd

    Sterling Hts, MI 48313 (888) 598-8863

  • 45040 Northpointe Blvd

    Utica, MI 48315 (586) 323-0611

  • 4577G Miller Road

    Flint, MI 48507 (810) 733-3110

  • 4612 Baldwin Rd.

    Auburn Hills, MI 48326 (248) 874-1981

  • 4977 Dixie Hwy

    Waterford, MI 48329 (248) 618-0710

  • 50400 Gratiot Ave

    Chesterfield, MI 48051 (586) 840-1995

  • 5053 Dixie Highway

    Waterford, MI 48329 (248) 674-4731

  • 5951 Highland Rd

    White Lake, MI 48383 (248) 887-8262

  • 610 N Lapeer Rd

    Lake Orion, MI 48362 (248) 693-0094

  • 6325 Sashabaw Ste F

    Clarkston, MI 48346 (248) 625-3523

  • 6400 14 Mile Rd

    Warren, MI 48092 (586) 939-7358

  • 6470 Orchard Lake Rd Spc C

    W Bloomfield, MI 48322 (855) 324-8046

  • 6500 E 14 Mile Rd

    Warren, MI 48092 (586) 939-0800 (586) 939-2100

  • 6715 Eastman Ave

    Midland, MI 48642 (989) 832-9971

  • 7663 26 Mile Rd

    Washington, MI 48094 (586) 677-1741

  • 7815 S Telegraph

    Taylor, MI 48180 (313) 292-0018

  • 8230 Hall Rd

    Utica, MI 48317 (586) 739-6162

  • 8300 Wayne Road

    Westland, MI 48185 (734) 425-9600

  • 8709 West Grand River

    Brighton, MI 48116 (888) 523-6822

  • 950 N. West Avenue

    Jackson, MI 49202 (517) 784-6700

  • 9990 E Grand River

    Brighton, MI 48116 (810) 225-3333

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2015 Delivery Issues
4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2015 Delivery Issues
2/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/1/2015 Delivery Issues
1/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/14/14 I purchased 1 SKU# ********* Beck Chocolate Queen Sleeper/flat Suede price 539.99 and 1 SKU# ******** "1 yr Cc/Fl Warranty"/Price Range $501- which was not in stock and was to be delivered to the store in late December. On 1/6/15 I called the Artvan Furniture Bedford Pk. location which I purchased the furniture from at ***** ******** at 2:04 P.M. to cancel the above purchase. I spoke to ******** and told her that I had purchased furniture which was not in stock when I purchased it but had since arrived and that I didn't want to pick it up but instead wanted to cancel my order. She told me to hold while she got someone to handle my request. I remained on hold until the call was disconnected at 2:09. I immediately called back and I let the phone ring for 60 seconds before I hung up. On 1/7/15 at 1:12 P.M. I called Artvan again and was initially put on hold then spoke with ***** to whom I told that I wanted to cancel a purchase that I had made but never picked up. He told me that someone would be calling me back within the hour to cancel my order. After no one had called by an hour and a half I called Artvan again but the phone rang but no one ever answered it. As of today no one from Artvan has contacted me concerning this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like credit for the full amount of the purchase price $637.23 to the credit card that the purchase was made on.

Business Response:

RE: LINDA ***** – BBB CASE# ********

 

Dear Ms. ********,

 

We are in receipt of your email dated 1/13/2015, which outlines concerns raised with your office by our guest, ***** ******

 

We sincerely regret the miscommunication with Ms. ***** in regards to the purchase of her sleeper.  We have processed her request for a refund, and her $637.23 deposit has been refunded to her.

 

We remain available for further comment at your convenience.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

ART VAN FURNITURE

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

 

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased $2400 in mattresses and bedding. I also purchased 4 pillows. They said there was a 30 day trial period. I went back to return two of the pillows as My husband and son did not like them. They refused to return them or exchange them. If I purchased a pillow at walmart, bed bath and beyond or anywhere else they return them. I would like to return them for a refund!

Desired Settlement: I would like to return two of the four pillows for a refund!

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********,

 

We are in receipt of your email dated 12/31/14, which outlines concerns raised with your office by our guest, *** **********.

 

Art Van is proud of its long-standing reputation for valuing our guest and for making every effort to ensure they are delighted with their purchase.  We understand that Ms. ********** was not happy with one of the pillows she purchased.   As a good faith gesture, our store manager at our Drayton store agreed to return the pillow and give Ms. ********** an in-store credit towards a future purchase.  

 

Ms. ********** is happy with this resolution and the pillow was returned on 1/10/2015.  We remain available for further comment at your convenience.

 

Sincerely,

 

ART VAN FURNITURE

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** **********

 

1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/23/2014 Delivery Issues
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Art Van advertises the total satisfaction guarantee stating that they will provide refunds within 7 days of receipt.I purchased a twin mattress on 6/13. I picked up the mattress on 6/16. The mattress does not reflect what I tested in the store. When we sit on the edge of the mattress, it falls right in. The store offered to send out repair, but it is not a repair issue. It is the level of quality of the mattress. When I spoke with the sales person, he told me that he would try to get me a refund because it was the "price point" I purchased at. The manager refused a refund stating that their policy states they do not take any mattresses back. When I called corporate, they stated that I can get a reselection, but that it must be the same mattress or higher cost. This is a bait and hook to get me to spend more money at the store.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the mattress for a full refund. According to the wording on their policies, this is suppose to be covered for 7 days for refund. The mattress is not soiled or misused per their policy, and this is not defined as bedding as the bedding section clearly discusses mattress protectors and pillows.

Business Response:

From: ******* ******* ***************************
Sent: Wednesday, July 09, 2014 9:29 AM
To: ****** ******
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB consumer complaint #*********

 

Hi ******,

 

Ms. ****** returned her mattress to our Great Lakes store last night, and a credit of $264.99 will be returned to her visa card.

Ms. ****** is happy with the outcome

 

*******

6/18/2014 Delivery Issues
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Delivery Issues
6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/2/2014 Delivery Issues
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Advertisemets; said 20% Off and No Sales Tax.. Bought a recliner. They gave me 20% off. But then Charged me Tax on the other 80% of purchase. But my bill showed the Tax.. They said it wasn't Tax..

Desired Settlement: I would lihe my Tax that I paid refunded..

Business Response:

I received the following email from Art Van Furniture today (8/23/2013):

Our attempts to reach Mr. ****** by phone have been unsuccessful. We think his phone may be malfunctioning.  

 

Our records indicate that Mr. ****** received the appropriate discounts on his order. His recliner was originally priced at $479.99 and he would have paid 6% sales tax for a grand total of $508.70. He was charged only $391.99 total, a saving of $116.71. We are required by law to collect and report tax on all receipts unless the purchaser is tax exempt. So although there is a charge of $22.19 for sales tax on his receipt, the original price of his recliner was reduced further to $369.80 to offset the sales tax and include our 4th of July discount. Since it appears Mr. ****** is upset that we had to report a sales tax figure, we would like to offer him a refund of $22.19 as a gesture of good will. If he would like to accept this offer, we ask that he contact our Westland Store Manager, **** ****** at ************ as soon as possible. 

 

8/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March I purchased an outdoor furniture set; a loveseat, 2 chairs, coffee table and 2 chaise lounges with padding. The set all matched and was displayed together. The 2 chaise lounges were delivered without the cushions as they were shown on the floor. I went back twice to confirm that they were not marked separately from the chaises. On the second trip back my salesman stated they were separate (after he clarified with a manager) but he indeed indicated they were not marked as such. He took the issue to a Manager who declined to provide the cushions but stated I would have to purchase them separately. I made my purchase decision based on the inclusion of the pads as I had been pricing similar chairs elsewhere. I find this to be completely misleading and unfair. At no point during any of my visits were the cushions marked separately. Isn't there an obligaation to fairly disclose the price of items upon purchase?

Desired Settlement: I would like Art Van to provide the cushions as they were displayed upon my purchase of my outdoor set.

Business Response:

July 3, 2013 

 

 

*** ***** *****

BBB Complaint Department 

Better Business Bureau of Western Michigan 

** ***** *** ***** ***

Grand Rapids, MI ***** 

RE: ******* ******* ********* 

Dear Ms. *****: 

 

We are in receipt of your email dated 6/10/13, which outlines concerns raised with your office by our guest, ******* *******. 

 

I am sorry to hear that Ms. *******’s experience with us was not satisfactory; we strive to provide outstanding value and quality for our guests, and I am personally disappointed when we fall short of that goal.  We have made arrangements for the manufacturer of Ms. *******’s chair and ottoman to accept the product as defective, and we have invited Ms. ******* to return to our store to shop with us for replacement furniture, utilizing the in-store credit from her initial purchase. We look forward to helping her, and appreciate her business! 

 

We remain available for further comment at your convenience. 

 

Sincerely, 

ART VAN FURNITURE 

**** *** *********

President 

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bunk bed slats came with mildew stains. my son has alergies. art van would not even consider cutting us new ones. said it had been over a month. art van has a total satisfaction guarantee, but do not honor it!

Desired Settlement: replacement slats no charge.

Business Response: **** ** ****

 

 

 

The Better Business Bureau 

Attn: *** ***** ************* ******* **** ****** **** ***Southfield, MI 48076 

 

RE: BBB CASE #******* – ******** ****** 

 

Dear Ms. ********: 

 

We are in receipt of your email dated 6/9/13, which outlines concerns raised with your office by our guest, Ms. ******** ******. 

 

I am personally disappointed when I hear we fall short of our goal to provide outstanding value and quality for our guests. Since our service department was not able to cut new slats for Ms. ******’s bunk bed, we have ordered them from the manufacturer and will be installing them at no charge for Ms. ******. She is aware that it could take 2-6 weeks to obtain the new slats. 

 

We are available for further comment at your convenience. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

ART VAN FURNITURE 

 

**** *** *********

President 

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two Lazy Boy Chairs from Art Van, Livonia, on November 13, 2012, and was told that the chairs will be delivered in 8 to 10 weeks. To date, I have no chairs, no answers of when I will have them and Art Van has had my $1929.18 for five MONTHS!! I was told by the store manager that they undersold the chairs to me and would give me a refund. I do not want a refund, I want the chairs that I purchased and I am tired of waiting. I suspect fraud on Art Van Furniture's part and I want some answers and my chairs. I have had to initiate 98% of the calls.

Desired Settlement: I want my chairs by the end of April at the latest and I think that Art Van should compensate me somehow as they have had my money for five months and I have no furniture. They are holding up my move to my home in Indian River and the season is fast approaching.

Business Response:

Date: 4/22/13 

 

To: Better Business Bureau
Attn:
*** ***** ********* ******* ********** ********** ***** ******* **** **** *********** ** *****

RE: Response to BBB consumer complaint ******** * ****** ** ********

Dear *** *********

Attached is an update letter pertaining to the above named BBB Case. I am mailing the original copy of this letter to your office.  

 

Sincerely,  

***** ****
Administrative Assistant  

Chairman’s Office

Art Van Furniture 

 

 

 

6500 14 Mile Road  |  Warren, MI 48092 

Direct ###-###-####  |  Fax ###-###-#### 

4/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a chaise, sofa, sette, chair and 5 tables for my living room on 3/30/13. On 4/7 I had sofa, sette, chair and 5 tables delivered to my home. Upon the delivery men bringing in sofa one of the men stated my couch was damaged in transit (the back was smashed in0 and when I asked about my chaise was informed that this item was not on the truck. I contacted my sales person at the Taylor store where I made my purchase and informed him of the couch being damaged and that my chaise was not included on the truck for delivery. He informed me that he would speak to his manager and call me back. Upon the return call I was directed to receive the couch and that since I purchased the warranty a service team member would be out to inspect and/or repair my sofa on Wednesday 4/10/13. As well the delivery of my chaise would occur on this date also. The delivery of my chase occured at approximately 1120 am and upon inspection there was a large puncture hole located on the right of the chaise. Again I was informed to accept and service would be called out. A member of the service team arrived at my home on 4/10 @ 11:34 AM to inspect both the Sofa and the Chaise (at my request since it arrived earlier that morning). The service team member advised me that it would take 3 hours to fix my sofa however it will require removal for 7-10 days. I contacted the service center to obtain other options was informed there was nothing that could be done this was my only choice. My furniture was not damaged at time of purchase, warranties are for damage that the consumer expects to occur, I did not pay to cover the damage that art van personnel caused to my furniture. Repariting the broken boards in my sofa and taking it apart to fix ultimately destroys the integrity of the sofa.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund to be able to purchase new furniture, I will be happy to purchase from Art Van however no additional fees for warranty and/or delivery should be charged to my purchase. If an exchange is my only option I wish to have the old furniture returned to the store and I am able to select a replacement.

Business Response:

Date: 4/22/13 

 

To: Better Business Bureau

***** *** ***** ********* ******* ********** ********** ***** ******* **** **** *********** ** *****

 

RE: BBB consumer complaint #******* * ******** ********

 

Dear *** *********

Attached is an update letter pertaining to the above named BBB Case. I am mailingthe original copy of this letter to your office.  

 

Sincerely,  

***** ****
Administrative Assistant  

Chairman’s Office

Art Van Furniture 

 6500 14 Mile Road  |  Warren, MI 48092 

Direct ###-###-####  |  Fax ###-###-#### 

Follow Art Van!  

3/26/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Art Van to furnish my first home & was paired with a saleswomen, ***. She was helpful in pointing out the products I was interested in, and placed my order. The order consisted of a living room set, a bedroom set, & a basement sofa/loveseat. The living room set & bedroom set were in stock and ready for delivery, however, the basement sofa/loveseat, per ***., would not be ready until the first week in Jan. *** let me know that the deliverers would give me an hour notice prior to their arrival on the initial delivery day. On that day, I was forced to leave an appointment abruptly when the delivery men called to say they were at my door & ready to be let in. No notice was given. On Jan 8th, I still had not heard from Art Van regarding the basement set ***. said would be delivered by the first week of Jan. My fiance called Art Van & found out that our order had been mysteriously cancelled. I called the store manager, ****, who confirmed the cancellation, was very apologetic, promised compensation , and apologized for my poor experience with ***. HE promised to call me with further details that afternoon. At 0430, ***. returned my call, not ****, and said "Hey girl, I know what happened and I took care of it." After she could not give me further details, I asked to speak with **** again, who, was unavailable & "would call me later." He never did. I called again on 1/9 to speak with **** & was told he was out for the day. On 1/10 I called at 445pm and **** "was busy" & would call back that evening. At 710, I had not heard from him, called, & was told he was gone for the night. On 1/11 I went to the store, ****, was gone for evening. I spoke with his assistant, who apologized, said he would compensate us,& call us 1/12. On 1/12, AGAIN *** (who I had made extremely clear at this point I did not want to work with) returned our call, not the manager or his assistant. Summary: unprofessional saleswomen, delay in product delivery, broken promises, manager doesn't return one call for 4 days

Desired Settlement: I was told I would be "compensated" by 2 managers at the store. No compensation occurred. At this point, I can't imagine being an Art Van costumer or recommending them. However,it occurs to me that it could just be that store. Their costumer service was atrocious,from the salesperson to the store manager. Truthfully, it would be hard for me to give my business to them again without incentive, but if that's not given,though it was promised, hopefully some major changes in service can occur.

2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service