BBB Accredited Business since

Matthews Hargreaves Chevrolet

Phone: (248) 398-8800 Fax: (248) 398-0867 2000 E 12 Mile Rd, Royal Oak, MI 48067 http://www.mhchevy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Matthews Hargreaves Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Matthews Hargreaves Chevrolet include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Matthews Hargreaves Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1956 Business started: 01/01/1950 in MI Business incorporated 01/10/1950 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of State
Michigan Dept. of State, Lansing MI 48918

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Burr, Executive Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Burr, Executive Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 2000 E 12 Mile Rd

    Royal Oak, MI 48067 (248) 398-8800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in for the second time after being at the Dealership on February 20,2016 and being approve for a car loan. On March 4, 20 16 I just came in to inquire about the cost of different vehicles after already being approved for a loan by the Dealership and my Credit Union. Instead of the Sales person coming back to inform me of how much the total cost of the Malibu was, I was informed that my credit was ran again for this vehicle. I did not understand why they would run my credit again when I did not give my permission and I was already approved for a $20,000 vehicle on the 20 of February therefore, there was no reason for Matthews Hargreaves Salesmen to run my credit again for approval on a $15,000 vehicle. I left a message on the Sales person's phone, ( ****** ******) however, I did not receive a phone call back. Then I called today to see if the Manager *** would get these credit inquiries removed from my report and he said no. I want something done since my credit score went down more because of this.

Desired Settlement: I want Matthews Hargreaves to correct my Credit Report and have these inquiries removed.

Business Response:

 

    On February 20, ******* ******* came into our dealership to look for a pre owned vehicle and get financing through our dealership's source of lenders. At that time, she did complete a credit

 

application with her signed authorization to get approved for a vehicle loan.

 

    I submitted the application on a 2014 GMC terrain which was approved with Ally bank, however; the payments were too high for her and she decided not to get the vehicle. ******* then left the dealership.

 

    On March 4th, ******* came back to the dealership and was now looking for a car for her son, a pre owned Malibu. Our dealership did NOT pull her credit again (due to her application and credit

 

report still being in our system). At that time I switched the vehicle approved from the GMC terrain to the Chevy Malibu and resubmitted the application back to the bank. This step is necessary in order to obtain an approval on the correct VIN. Once the application was submitted, Ally bank called me to let me know they would not approve the Malibu deal because ******* had just bought a pre owned Cadillac from another dealership after she left our dealership on her 1st visit and that dealership used Ally bank.

So Matthews Hargreaves did not pull ******* ********* credit report a 2nd time. 

 

    Just as with mortgages, banks will often rerun the credit report to prevent customers from tricking them and trying to get 2 auto loans before the 1st auto loan shows on the customers credit report.

 

 

Tell us why here...using Ally bank

11/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Matthews Hargreaves Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)