BBB Accredited Business since

Champion Buick GMC

Phone: (810) 227-1761 Fax: (810) 227-2124 7885 Grand River Rd, Brighton, MI 48114 http://www.championgmcbuick.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion Buick GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Champion Buick GMC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Champion Buick GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 1998 Business started: 06/04/1980 in MI Business incorporated 07/29/2011 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of State
Michigan Dept. of State, Lansing MI 48918

Office of Financial and Insurance Svcs
P.O. Box 30220, Lansing MI 48909
Phone Number: (517) 373-0220
Fax Number: (517) 335-4978

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Louria, GM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Louria, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Waldecker Pontiac Buick, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 7885 Grand River Rd

    Brighton, MI 48114 (810) 227-1761

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So I received an "AS Seen on TV" Cash and Cars promotional flyer from my local Buick Dealer. Champion Buick and GMC of Brighton, MI. The flyer came with a pull tab that said 4 chances to win, with arrows pointing at each pull tab. Each arrow pointing to the pull tab has an amount of money inside for example, The top arrow says Pull tab here, then $30,000 cash, then underneath says match 3 to win. The rules that are located right net to the arrows say "lift all 4 Pull tabs on PAYDAY game card" "Match 3 Stacks in a Row to Win." then directly underneath it states, " If you have won Call ***** ********. There was no question that i had matched three symbols on the "$3,000 cash" pull tab. So based on their own rules, I had won. I then called the 810 number they provided me which directed me to a Champion Buick GMC prize verification center. A rep quickly answered and asked me for my confirmation code that is also on the brochure. She quickly verified the code and said that I was indeed a winner, but she also quickly noted that her computer would not tell me what prize I won. I told her that I already knew that I had won $3,000 cash because I had matched 3 symbols on the specific pull tab that had an Arrow pointing to it with " $3,000 cash" written inside of it. It was clearly showing that I had succeeded in what the rules considered to be a winner of that prize shown. The next day, after I had assured myself of winning $3,000 and verifying it with the "prize verification center", I headed to the dealer. I brought the State ID that the rules stated to bring, along with the winning pull tab and flyer. I was told to ask for ********* but a man named ***** first greeted me and said that he was able to step in or speak on behalf of ********* He sat me down at a table, and the first question out of his mouth was about my Mercury Milan that he had just seen me drive in with. He already had a "chit" writing down all of my personal information, then asking how many miles I had on my car, if I owned it, who I financed through etc. I knew where this was heading, not only because I was a little skeptical at first, but I had researched dealership scams and everything I read was a precursor to what happened that morning at the dealership. He hadn't referred to the winning game piece once in 5 minutes and after he asked me for my home phone number I bluntly told him that I wasn't interested in buying a car and that I wanted to receive my prize. He ignored my intentions, and began to ask me even more personal questions. I then said over that i was not interested in a car, I'm interested in the prize that your game piece clearly states I have won. ***** then said that I had won a scratch off ticket that could possibly win me $30,000. I laughed, telling him that my game piece says to match 3 symbols and win the cash shown in the box pointing to that specific pull tab. He said i was confused and that i should refer to the fine print. Which there was. I had read the fine print, and it is so poorly worded that no Department or agency would have ever approved this promotional game. After I debated back and forth with ***** for about a min, you could tell that he wasn't exactly sure how the rules were written or how the game was played because he was tripping over his own words, and contradicting himself at every attempt to explain the rules. He shot up from his seat very abruptly and said that he would need to go and get somebody else. After watching ***** walk around the sales floor frantically for about 5 mins, he then came back with another gentleman with a southern accent. I'm assuming he was the event promoter or something. He sat down and asked if I was the one upset. I told him I wasn't upset, but that nobody has been able to explain the rules of this game to me and that everything I have read shows that I have won a cash prize. He then tried his best to attempt to tell me that the pull tab actually means nothing, even though the only rules on the entire brochure state that to win the cash prize, you must pull the tabs, and that if you match 3 stacks, (they are stacks of cash) then you win. And the arrow pointing at the pull tab says $3,000. Again he wouldn't budge, but also had no idea what he was talking about. Saying that the fine print was too small to read, and basically making his own rules right then and there at the table we were sitting at. After listening to his non-sense for about 5 minutes, I gathered from him directly that the pull tab is not an actual game piece despite the game rules saying to pull the tabs, match your symbols, and win the cash prize.(it is not written anywhere on the flyer that they game piece pull tab is not an actual game piece). I then asked him why the rules said to call the verification center if I had won? And why the call center confirmed that indeed I had won. How could I have won if the game piece is not official? It also says in a box at the bottom corner, " NOTE: If you are not a payday winner, please bring game piece and this flyer in to Champion Buick GMC for an additional chance to win." So it's basically asking you to refer to your game piece. And if you aren't a winner on it then still bring it down to the dealership for a separate chance to win. The wording purely and simply recognizes the game piece as a part of the game, and that it should be referred to when claiming prizes. Yet to the gentleman I was speaking with, the game piece meant nothing, the confirmation center meant nothing, and the rules were to be interpreted how he understands them and not how they are actually written and blatantly insinuated on the game piece and flyer. I am extremely disappointed in this advertising tactic, and feel manipulated, robbed, and embarrassed that I had to be put in a situation like this. Not to mention the hard

Desired Settlement: I want to be awarded what I clearly won. $3,000 cash. I feel without a shadow of a doubt that I have satisfied the language written as the rules of the game that deems you a successful winner.

Business Response:

 

To whom it may concern,

 

We take customer complaints and customer very seriously here at Champion Buick GMC. After reviewing the complaint, we contacted Mr* ********** and explained the elements which did not make sense to him. Mr* ********** now has a full understanding of our offers and is satisfied with our explanation. At that point, we offered him a full tank of gas, a detail, and a two free oil changes as a gesture of goodwill.

 

Thank you,

Champion Buick GMC

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Champion Buick GMC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart