BBB Accredited Business since

Vanguard Motor Sales

Additional Locations

Phone: (248) 974-9513 Fax: (734) 207-1010 15100 Keel Street, Plymouth, MI 48170

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vanguard Motor Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Vanguard Motor Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2007 Business started: 06/01/2004 in MI Business incorporated 06/04/2004 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of State
Michigan Dept. of State, Lansing MI 48918

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tom Photsios, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Photsios, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Vanguard Motor Sales sells the following brand(s): Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, Chevrolet, Plymouth, Buick, Oldsmobile, Pontiac, Dodge, Chrysler, Cadillac, Hudson, Willies, , Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, Chevrolet, Plymouth, Buick, Oldsmobile, Pontiac, Dodge, Chrysler, Cadillac, Hudson, Willies,

Vanguard Motor Sales offers the following product(s): Classic Cars, Muscle Cars, Classic Cars, Muscle Cars

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Certified Check, PayPal

Credit Cards for deposit only - Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a vehicle from Vanguard, the vehicle did not come as advertised or discussed over the phone, the speedometer did not work, the u-joints failed within a few miles of operation - along with the rear end, the rear end is not the correct ratio, Gas Shocks on the front are bad, the gas tank had a leak on the top where the tube enters the tank, there is significant rust holes on the vehicle body and it was advertised as all new sheet metal,all new glass and the drivers window is chipped, it stated the frame is powder coated - this is not the case,one of the gauges is cracked, it stated it had a ******* sound system and this is not accurate - it came with a lower end **** sound system, the power windows do not work properly, the rear frame rail is coroded through creating a safety issue, the rear right break had bolt's missing and the break assembly was loose, the floor pan and rocker panels are not welded out, the amp doesn't work, and the list goes on. I spent over $50K based on what I was supposed to get, I submitted estimated amounts of $2600 worth of repairs, expecting the total to come in less than $4000. To completely take care of all is substantially more, I bought this knowing some small items may come up but the car was nothing as represented. I had the vehicle in my garage one week, it has been at the shop for several weeks waiting on a reasonable settlement which they said they would assist with. Vnaguard promised to put your dream in your driveway; I'm still waiting. I have bought a car and cannot still drive due to the required repairs to make it safe and operational.

Desired Settlement: I'm looking for a reasonable solution to the issue based on what was represented versus what I received. I'm not expecting Vanguard to pay for everything but I do believe it's fair to request fair settlement based on the condition the car was represented in. I am a reasonable buyer and feel the items presented to vanguard originally is a fair request. There are several items I planned to look the other way on if they stood behind their promises of making this right.

Business Response:

-----Original Message-----

From: ************************** [mailto:***************************

Sent: Friday, January 30, 2015 10:48 AM

To: **** *******

Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB consumer complaint #*********


This complaint was taken care of we refunded the client money to take care of issues cus***er is 100% happy.

Thank you,

*** ********

9/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Vanguard Motor Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart