BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southfield, Serving Eastern Michigan & the U.P.

This Business is not BBB accredited

Lakeshore Energy Services, LLC

Phone: (586) 416-1901 Fax: (586) 416-1905 View Additional Phone Numbers 700 Tower Dr, Ste 620, Troy, MI 48098 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lakeshoreenergy.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business is not currently rated. BBB has recently received numerous complaints against this business, and will issue a rating after it has fully evaluated them.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

65 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 62 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 12
Billing/Collection Issues 25
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 27
Total Closed Complaints 65

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 02, 2004 Business started: 08/01/2002
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Service Commission - GENERAL
6545 Mercantile Way #7 P.O. Box 30221, Lansing MI 48909
http://www.cis.state.mi.us/mpsc
Phone Number: (800) 292-9555
Fax Number: (517) 241-6181

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Wende Ostrow, Regulatory Affairs Manager
Business Category

Pipe Line, Oil & Gas Wholesaler & Distributors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 Tower Dr, Ste 620

    Troy, MI 48098 (586) 416-1901 (888) 200-3788

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 200-3788(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lakeshore Energy falsely advertised that they had the lowest prices in gas. Well in the month of March they charged double of anybody else that is in the gas business. This is bad business practice rapping small businesses this way. I called and I was just reached around and they didn't care about my issue that they were charging double than everybody else. My bill is doulbe than what it should be. I should have a $1000 bill now I have a $2000 bill that hurts really bad for my small business. I really need help in solving this matter because I can't pay the full amount and they will shut my gas off and that would mean no business for me. I really frustrated and upset that they would take advantage of people like this. Please HELP!!!Thank you,******* ******

Desired Settlement: I want them to lower my bill to what it normally would reflect if they didn't raise the gas price by double. None of the other suppliers had rates like Lakeshore. I was on the phone with Consumers and they were telling me that the rate that they put in for the Month of March was double to what consumers had. Please Help

Business Response:

 

Mr. ****** enrolled for a managed price variable rate product with Lakeshore Energy.  As disclosed in the contract terms and conditions, a managed price product is a variable rate and this means the price can change due to fluctuation in the market.  When recently securing natural gas for our customers, the natural gas market prices were higher than previous billing cycles due to volatility of the natural gas market over the past months and the multiple winter vortexes that have hit the region.  The price increase in the natural gas market, resulted in an increased price for his company.  The good news is that Lakeshore is able to offer a lower price to our customers for April. 

Lakeshore billed per the terms of their signed contract, and no refund is available.   

Please let us know if you should require further information. 

Thank you, 

Lakeshore Energy Services 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

Hello,

Also there were no readings made on January and February. There was just an estimated amount billed on those months. Than in march they did a reading and charged at the march rate. That's not right. So the rate for January and February should of been charged for the gas usage and not the high amount. That is why they raised the amount to 9.99 in march because there were no readings made in January and February.  Lake shore lied and I signed no contact with Lake shore I dont see my signature on the contract. What Lakeshore is doing is wrong and it needs to be addressed. You can't charge me a rate for 2 months at 9.99 because there was no reading made. The amount needs to be lowered this is not right....    

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Lakeshore does not read the meters, the utility does.  We have no control on the meter readings.  Lakeshore submits pricing each bill cycle to the Utility. 

 

Per the Supplier Code of Conduct, a contract is considered valid with an audio recording from a Third Party Verification (TPV). which Lakeshore has provided.  Lakeshore is sympathetic about higher rates in past months.  Our April and May prices were lower, and we continue to strive to offer the best competitive price we can.

 

F3. SOLICITATION REQUIREMENTS

(3) An e-mail address if signed up through the Internet.

 

(2) Independent third party verification

 

with an audio recording of the entire verification call.

 

A.

 

It is the Supplier’s responsibility to have a current valid contract with the customer at all times . For each

 

customer, a Supplier must be able to demonstrate that a customer has made a knowing selection of the Supplier

by at least one of the following verification records:

(1) An original signature

 

from the customer or Legally Authorized Person.

These provisions shall be monitored and enforced solely by the Commission or its Staff.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gentlemen: Lakeshore is an unregulated energy. In none of their data when signing up customers the fact that they did not inform customers they could raise prices to any level they thought necessary. I cancelled my 2013 contract on March 26 2014. 5days before the contract expired on March 31 2014. The new contract was to begin on April 1 2104. Under the contract I signed they have the right to charge me $100.00. On April 28 I received a letter threaten me with legal action if I do not pay the $100 by May 12 2014. HERE IS THE STATEMENT: "FAILURE TO RESPOND WILL RESULT IN FORMAL LEGAL ACTION TO COLLECT YOUR DEBT,AND YOUR OVERDUE STATUS WILL BE REPORTED TO THE CREDIT AGENCIES, AFFECTING YOUR CREDIT SCORE."I believe this type of action is entirely unnecessary and reflects the disdain for customers or how this business intends to operate. Their literature should require they state clearly they are an UNREGULATED ENERBY COMPANY WHICH CAN RESULT IN GAS PRICES THAT ARE RAISED WITHOUT ANY NOTICE TO THE CUSTOMER.

Desired Settlement: I SURELY OWE FOR ONE YEAR OR $50.00 BUT NOT $100.00. I LIVED UP TO THE CONTRACT FOR 2013 FOR 360 DAYS. WHEN I CANCELLED ON MARCH 26 THIS WAS BEFORE THE SECOND CONTRACT WAS TO TAKE PLACE ON APRIL 1 2014. UPON CANCELING THEY DID NOT BOTHER TO MENTION THAT IN 5 DAYS THE 2013 CONTRACT WHOULD ESPIRE.AT 83 I Could care less about legal action to collect $100.00. As far as my credit score who cares. Apparently they are in trouble with numerous customer cancellations.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** renewed with Lakeshore Energy on 2/12/2014 for a managed price variable rate product for a term to end 4/30/2015.

As disclosed in the contract terms and conditions, a managed price product is a variable rate and this means the price can change due to fluctuation in the market.  When recently securing natural gas for our customers, the natural gas market prices were higher than previous billing cycles due to volatility of the natural gas market over the past months and the multiple winter vortexes that have hit the region.  The price increase in the natural gas market, resulted in an increased price for Mr. ******.

Lakeshore Energy spoke with Mr. ****** on 3/26/2014 and he requested to breach his current and renewal agreements and return to his utility.  Lakeshore has processed this request and ETFs for the renewal agreement do apply, as advised to Mr. ****** over the phone.  His cancel request for the renewal was after the 30 day grace period.  No additional ETFs were applied for the agreement ending 3/31/2014.

Lakeshore does offer a fixed rate product for our customers who would like rate security each month.

Please let us if you would like further information.

Thank you,
Lakeshore Energy

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10033202, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

[You must provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please type details here:]

Regards,

W ******

 

At no time was I offered a fix rate for gas.  In fact when I renewed for 2015 I was told this option was not available.  As far as I am concerned I met the 2014 contract except for 5 days.  There charge is a way to avoid any loss while charging gas customers what ever they feel like.   There lack of planning for gas supply does not mean the customer should pay what ever they feel like charging.  They may say the price is variable but they have not been honest with customer by not revealing that they are an unregulated energy company. This is fraudulent to say the least

W J ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

5/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Increasing price of natural gas to $1.29500 ccf. for March making our bill $331.13. They are clamming that I had a contract with them, which I have not signed. They are taking our computer address as a signature. Did not realize I was still with them. When I called them they said they were keeping us on as a month to month customer. Is this type of thing legal ? We are billed though Michigan Gas Utilities. When I called Lakeshore Energy, the person thought it was funny. I am supposed to be off from their service now.

Desired Settlement: Michigan Gas Utilities is charging about $0.42 per ccf. Would like a refund for the difference from the $1.29500 they charged me. Also I think their pricing needs to be checked out. Refund would be about $173.00

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

On 12/7/2010, Mr. ****** enrolled with Lakeshore Energy for a managed price variable rate product with a contract term to end 3/31/2013.  (See Attachment: ****** darrell_2013)

When the contract term completed on 3/31/2013, Mr. ****** did not sign a renewal contract or request to be re*****d to his utility, so he was placed into a month to month agreement with a variable rate (per Terms and Conditions).

Due to the volatility of the natural gas market over the past two (2) months and multiple winter vortexes that have hit the region, the natural gas market prices spiked.  When securing natural gas for our month-to-month variable rate customers, the natural gas market prices were higher than previous billing cycles.  The increase in the market, in addition to a volatile natural gas market, resulted in an increased price for Mr. *****r.

Lakeshore spoke with Mr. ****** on 3/27/2014, and he requested to return to MGU.  His request has been processed, and there is no ETF applied as he is in a month to month agreement.

Please let us know if you need anything further.

Thank you,

Lakeshore Energy

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I don’t see how they could hold my contract valid the last few months when it was not signed by myself.  I have been under the  opinion if you don’t sign a contract you don’t have one.

 

******* *****r

Sent from Windows Mail

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a one year contract with Lakeshore Energy from 2010-2011. At the end of the contract period, I requested that it be cancelled. I was told that at that time it would be cancelled but then a representative of the company by the name of ******* #2304 continued to call me asking me to reconsider and continue with their company and I told him no. The last time I talked with him I said I don't want Lakeshore Energy AS MY GAS PROVIDER Put my account back with Michigan Gas Utilities and that was the last I heard from them; but to my surprise in 2014 I found out today that the guy never switched my account back to Michigan Gas. I feel that this is certainly a case of Identity Theft because I requested that Michigan Gas be my gas provider. My gas bills have been extra high during this time and I feel that I should be reimbursed for these extra high bills. The only way that I found out that I was not with Michigan Gas was because I called the gas company on 03-25-2014 at which time gas was $.44 but it was $1.29 at Lakeshore Energy. I feel that they have frauded and deceived me because my account should have been transferred back to Michigan Gas 3 years ago. I feel that I should have a refund of about $3000 for the last 3 years. After talking to other seniors their are a-lot of us that have had their identity compromised by this fraudulent company and their representatives seeking to keeep their jobs .

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of at least $3000 and no more attachment with Lakeshore Energy because of their deceitful business practices.

Business Response:

As disclosed in the contract terms and conditions, a managed price product is a variable rate and this means the price can change due to fluctuation in the market.  When recently securing natural gas for our customers, the natural gas market prices were higher than previous billing cycles due to volatility of the natural gas market over the past two (2) months and the multiple winter vortexes that have hit the region.  The price increase in the natural gas market, resulted in an increased price for the month of March for our variable rate customers.

The customer has been billed correctly on our variable rate price, and no refund is warranted.

Please let us know if you should need anything further.

 

thank you,

Lakeshore Energy

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9984291, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with Lakeshore energy for several years now with no complaints but their contracts were getting a little confusing to me, I used to be on the fixed rate plan with them and somehow for the new contract year 13/14 I was put on the variable rate plan. I noticed my bills this winter were somewhat higher than they used to be and decided in February to cancel with them at the end of my contract. I called on February 28,2014 to cancel my contract which ends April 30 2014 and they said there would be no fees or charges and we would be turned back to consumers energy. Low and behold my next bill was astronomical! During the middle of winter the most I was being charged was $5.85 per mcf and after I put in my cancellation my next bill was charged $9.99 per mcf. I called Lakeshore energy immediately upon noticing this and they explained to me that my fees did not go up because I cancelled with them but because this winter was an excruciating winter and the demand was higher therefore they ended up paying more for the gas and they had to recoup those fees. I find it ironic that my rates did not jump up until I cancelled my contract! I can understand that the rates might have went up but not to be charging double what everyone else charged, and then why didn't they increase my rates in the middle of winter when they were paying more instead of waiting until I cancelled my contract. I spoke with Connie a manager at Lakeshore Energy and she explained there was nothing she could do. I feel Lakeshore Energy is trying to make me pay for cancelling my contract, and that is ridiculous!

Desired Settlement: I would like Lakeshore Energy to refund me some of the charges.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Mr* ***** renewed with Lakeshore Energy on 2/11/2013 for a managed price variable rate product for a term to end 4/30/2014. (See Attachment: ***** ******n 2014 Contract). 

As disclosed in the contract terms and conditions, a managed price product is a variable rate and this means the price can change due to fluctuation in the market.  When recently securing natural gas for our customers, the natural gas market prices were higher than previous billing cycles due to volatility of the natural gas market over the past two (2) months and the multiple winter vortexes that have hit the region.  The price increase in the natural gas market, resulted in an increased price for the ******.  Early cancellation fees are also explained in the terms.

Please let us know if you should require further information.

Thank you,

Lakeshore Energy Services

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9978378, and find that although I am not happy with the way they handle their business practices there is not much I can do being as I signed the contract.  There should not be any cancellation fees as I was told there wasn't going to be any due to the fact that I just was not renewing the new contract with them.  If in fact there are cancellation fees I would not consider this complaint resolved.    I will wait for the business to perform the actions and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I renew our service with lakeshore energy service. based on one page states reserve your renewal rate for 2014 which was stated $4.94 per Mcf 12 or 24 month term Dated January 17,2014. so I renewed on 1/23/14 for 24 months based on what the info stated.so I get my bill for March for $250.21 WTH lakeshore charge for supplier charge $9.99 not the $4.94 rate. so I called them which took 3 days to get though and the service center tells me that the rate went up because their transportation rate went up, with no help from them I cancelled and they said I will be charge additional $10 cancelation fee. because I was past the 30 day rule. if you go to their web compare Feb/Mar rate it states $4.99 Mcf rate.I have other documents to send but the system won't let me.

Desired Settlement: I'll pay the $4.99 Mcf rate but I want the $5.00 per Mcf refunded which is $88.50. plus $10.00 for cancel fee. per my statement march gas use 17.7 Mcf is $176.82 so again total refund should be $98.50 also add the sales tax they charge me on the overcharge. by looking they may charge additional $50/$100 for cancellation

Business Response:

Mr. ******** originally enrolled with Lakeshore energy on 8/11/2011 for a managed price product with a variable rate.  (See Attachment: Enrollment – ********).  On 11/24/2012, Mr. ******** then renewed with Lakeshore Energy for a Managed Price product for a term to end April 30, 2014.  (See Attachment: Renewal – ******** ***** 2014)

 

As disclosed in the contract terms and conditions, a managed price product is a variable rate and this means the price can change due to fluctuation in the market.  When recently securing natural gas for our customers, the natural gas market prices were higher than previous billing cycles due to volatility of the natural gas market over the past two (2) months and the multiple winter vortexes that have hit the region.  The price increase in the natural gas market, resulted in an increased price for Mr. ********.

 

Lakeshore has billed Mr. ******** correctly, and there is no applicable refund or credit.

 

Please let us know if you should require further information.

 

Thank you,

***** ******

Lakeshore Energy Services

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Lakeshore Energy has processed the customer's request, and he will be back with his utility for May billing cycle.  Lakeshore is not charging any ETF to his account.

Thank you,

Lakeshore Energy

Consumer Response:

[I except based on an email sent to me on 4/4/14 that I will not be charged for Early Termination Fee.

And on 3/13/14 my account was cancelled confirmation #123417. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9969767, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just signed a 2 year agreement. February 20141st bill after signing, the price for natural gas increased 100%.Lakeshores price was .999/ccfLakeshores competitors advertised a managed price of .480/ccf for March 2014.DTE the public utility charged .480/ccf for the month of march.Lakeshore states reason on harsh winter.Lakeshore advertises on their website "Receive the lowest possible rate with our Variable Rate Plan" They are offering a .55/ccf flat rate currently. The Variable Rate shouldn't be double?Supporting documentation can be provided, let me know email address.

Desired Settlement: Contract cancellation with no penalty.

Business Response:

Lakeshore spoke with customer, and he requested to be cancelled.  The cancel was processed on 3/26/2014 with no ETF applied.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Thank you,

Lakeshore Energy

Consumer Response:

From: **** ****** [mailto:**********************]
Sent: Wednesday, March 26, 2014 11:05 AM
To: **** *******
Subject: complaint against Lakeshore Energy

 

I just got a call from them,

They are going to try and work something out,

Just thought I’d keep BBB updated

 

Thanks,

 

**** ******

Skilled Trades/EMS Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: continues to solicit thier services on a daily basis, Have told them several time to take us off thier list. we are on the do not call list. when they leave messages to call them they make it sound like an urgent matter and that they must speak to me immediately. all calls have been recorded and will probably send them to the do not call complaint department as well.

Desired Settlement: how about an apology and to be taken off thier solicitation list

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Lakeshore Energy verified with our Third Party Vendor and it has been determined that phone # 810-743-6900 has not been dialed since 2012.  If the customer can provide any other phone numbers, we will gladly add them to our Do Not Call list.

We apologize for the inconvenience experienced by Mr. Allen.  Lakeshore strives to offer upstanding customer service to all current and potential customers.

Please let me know if you need any further information.

best,

Lakeshore Energy Services

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me, they are probably dialing one of our other telephone numbers that appear in our hunt group.  I will wait for the business to perform this action again and trouble shoot which of our other numbers they are calling.

Regards,

**** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lakeshore Energy keeps calling and keeps calling our church, trying to sell their product, making it sound like we are somehow in arrears on our bill, all this urgency in their messages left. I have again asked of this date to no longer call our church and take us off their calling list, not the first time I have done so. Their aggressive marketing borders on harassment.

Desired Settlement: They should be confronted/reprimanded for their attempted sales practices. This is the last company I would ever go with due to their awful marketing attempts.

Business Response:

Hello ********

 

We have spoken to the customer and added the telephone numbers to our Do Not Call list.  It has been removed from all marketing lists.  We informed the customer of this and they were satisfied with this result.

 

Thank you,

 

**** *. *****

Manager East Coast Choice Operations

 

Lakeshore Energy

700 Tower Drive - Suite 620

Troy, MI 48098

 

P: (**** ********

F: (248) 879-7216

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

In regards to Case #9913390, is there is anything further required from Lakeshore Energy?

Thank you,

***** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9913390, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  Since they have not called me on the telephone since I made the complaint, I feel it has been resolved.  However, if the calls begin again, I will post another complaint to you about their aggressive marketing.   

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company continues to call my business. I have told them I am not interested in their product. We are already signed up with another supplier. They call every day sometimes twice a day hoping to get someone else. Today I asked them to stop calling, I am not interested, the salesperson was very rude and said she basically could not understand what I was not interested in because she was not selling anything. When I told her I was not interested in their service she became angry. I told her to stop calling or I would contact the BBB. She told me to "go ahead" because they have an A+ rating... Even if I ever decided to change my outside provider for energy I would not go with them now due to their techniques. When a potential customer says "NO" they mean no and do not wish to be harassed by over zealous sales people. She said it would take 24 hours to remove my number from their list. Sure, lets see. Just remove it!

Desired Settlement: Please review this companies sales people. And inform them they should not be harassing customers to try and build their clientele. This is not good business practice.. PERIOD! I have had enough of Lake Shore Energy.Drop their rating.... Poor sales techniques.

Business Response:

Hello Rebecca,

 

Lakeshore spoke with this customer and attained all number associated with their business.  There were two telephone numbers which he would like added to our DNC list.  We submitted them for DNC today.  The customer was also directed to contact us directly if there are any other issues.  Customer was satisfied with this resolution.

 

Thank you,

 

**** *. *****

Manager East Coast Choice Operations

 

Lakeshore Energy

700 Tower Drive - Suite 620

Troy, MI 48098

 

P: (248) 824-2043

F: (248) 879-7216

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9918476, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've notified Lakeshore Energy 3 times to not renew my contract. On Feb. 7,2013 I asked Lakeshore if my contract ended with March's billing. I was told it would and then I solicited a new gas supplier. On Feb. 11, I received a letter demanding $25 cancellation fee since new gas supplier would start their contract before Lakeshore's contract ended. On same day, I called disputing the date their contract ended. On Feb 12, I decided to fulfill their contract and called their representative. I asked if finishing their contract would cancel the $25 cancellation bill that I received. They told me yes. I then inquired on what date I could call new supplier, since I would not renew their contract. I was told March 17. Also asked why Lakeshore wasn't listed on PUCO's list of suppliers. I was told it the would be listed in March. I told them that no suppliers listed in Feb. had a cancellation fee with their contracts. I inquired if their new posted contract on PUCO's list would have a cancellation fee. They said there would not be a cancellation fee with new contracts listed with PUCO. I then told them it did not matter, after all these hassles that I would not renew any contracts or business with them. On April 9, I contracted a new gas supplier. On April 13, I received a letter from Lakeshore stating that since I never informed them that I was not accepting a renewal of original contract, it automatically renewed on April 1. Plus, since Lakeshore was notified by Dominion East Ohio of my new gas supplier, they sent another $25 cancellation charge. How many times am I required to cancel their supplier contract? I did 3 times. Once on Feb 7 and twice on Feb 12. The contract says rejecting renewal terms is allowed verbally or in writing. I told them verbally 3 times and twice on Feb 12, with two different statements. This is harassment, illegal billing, and deceptive contracting.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I fulfilled my contract with Lakeshore Energy. I informed them of my decision of not renewing the contract in an acceptable manner stated in the contract. I have kept notations of dates of all phone calls to Lakeshore Energy. I feel that this $25 cancellation fee is unwarranted and I don't intend to pay it.

Business Response:

The complaint regarding Complaint ID: ******* has been handled with the customer in a satisfactory manner. 

Thank you,

 

**** ** *****

Manager East Coast Choice Operations

 

Lakeshore Energy

700 Tower Drive - Suite 620

Troy, MI 48098

 

** ***** ******** ** ***** ********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******** 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1