BBB Accredited Business since

Jefferson Chevrolet Company

Phone: (313) 259-1200 View Additional Phone Numbers 2130 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48207 http://www.jeffersonchevrolet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jefferson Chevrolet Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jefferson Chevrolet Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jefferson Chevrolet Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1979 Business started: 02/24/1953 in DE Business incorporated 02/24/1953 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of State
Michigan Dept. of State, Lansing MI 48918

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Tellier, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Tellier, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Jefferson Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 2130 E Jefferson Ave

    Detroit, MI 48207 (313) 259-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 7, 2013 I took my 2002 Chevy Blazer to this establishment to be repaired. I told gentleman writing up the paper work it would not start and had been sitting for nearly two months. He gave me a customer copy sheet stating there would be a $97.00 charge to check the vehicle out to find the issue. He also said that would be part of the total cost after any work. I received a call from an employee on 2/18/13 saying the vehicle was ready. They stated the problem was a loose distributor cap and plug wires were installed incorrectly. Once I got there I was told the amount owed was $560.00, because they had changed my oil, flushed my radiator, put new caps on the thermostat, new cap on the coolant and put in a new thermostat...I did not get a call to OK any work. I went ahead at my wife's request and paid...the vehicle stopped running that samevening and was towed back to the dealer. 2/25/13 I received a call telling me that it needs a new fuel pump at a cost of over $600.00

Desired Settlement: I would like them to either repair my vehicle for the money they have already collected since they did work I did not request and they did not properly diagnose the problem the first time.

Business Response:

Contrary to Mr. ******* statement, he did verbally OK the original repairs and maintenance work performed on his vehicle;  the approval was given over the phone to our employee AND his UNCLE, Mr. ******* Strickland.  Mr. ********** is prepared to testify to this by affidavit or in a court of law.  It is true the vehicle returned and requires a fuel pump, though it did not present the same symptoms (no start) upon leaving.  This problem can be intermittent in nature.  However, the vehicle definitely required the original repairs & suggested maintenance items;  it was properly diagnosed for those immediate repairs where the engine and radiator actually had rusty sludged up coolant with severe discoloration, and codes calling for thermostat replacement.  Flushing the engine is a normal part of this repair procedure as well.

Mr. ***** claims he paid the original invoice upon the advice of his wife.  If there was an issue with the approval of the original repairs it should have been addressed at that time, not after the work was performed, and not after the vehicle was diagnosed for a second repair.  I personally greeted Mr. ***** when his vehicle was towed into the dealership on a that late night, and he NEVER once stated or implied that the repairs were not authorized, only that he felt dealerships charged too much for such services, and that he had worked at dealership a while back.

In any case, Jefferson Chevrolet repaired the vehicle with Mr. ******* approval and Mr. ***** chose of his own free will to bring his vehicle to Jefferson Chevrolet for repairs.

In lieu of Mr. ******* dissatisfaction with his vehicle needing further repair, we have offered a significant discount below retail pricing for the replacement of his fuel pump.

If he chooses not repair his vehicle, we respectfully request that he have it removed from the dealership immediately.

Respectfully,

***** *******

General Manager

Jefferson Chevrolet Co.