BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southfield, Serving Eastern Michigan & the U.P.

BBB Accredited Business since

Feldman Kia

Phone: (248) 478-3800 Fax: (248) 264-5160 42235 Grand River Ave, Novi, MI 48375 http://www.feldmankia.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Feldman Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Feldman Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Feldman Kia include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 21, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2010 in MI Business incorporated: 02/19/2010 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of State
Michigan Dept. of State, Lansing MI 48918

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jay S Feldman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay S Feldman, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 42235 Grand River Ave

    Novi, MI 48375 (248) 478-3800

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am concerned that Feldman Kia is attempting to deceive potential clients with false advertising. I have a memo written ** **** *** ******** on 7/16/2012 admitting that his company had 7 false ads printed in three different newspapers and it took nearly 2 months to address this issue: although I do not know if any real action was taken, since the memo was only printed recently. Upon their most recent ad, which was printed in the Detroit Free Press on 7/15/2012, I visited the dealership to see the advertised special. He stated once again, that he did not have even a single vehicle at that price, nor did he know if he would ever get one. He did, however, tell me that they had a more expensive vehicle that I could look at. Isn't this the definition of a bait and switch? Also, when going over payment information, they would never give me the details on how my payment was $15 more a month, than how I calculated it using VinQuote: an online service found on the Michigan DMV site. I would like this organization to be held responsible for the ads they print, and be able to offer at least one vehicle at printed price. Otherwise, what's the point. I would also like an inquiry as to whether or not this has happened in the past, and to make sure they have to print a retraction if the ads are misleading/false. Please contact me back when this issue has been looked at.

Desired Settlement: I wish that they would offer the car they printed in their original ad for which I visited the dealership. It was a print ad dated 7-12-12 in which they printed a 2012 Kia Sportage LX with keyless entry, auto trans, and alloy wheels for $19,933. If this is not possible, I would like an investigation into their practices for printed ads, or to require them to stop printing ads for which they cannot offer a product. Or to require more disclaimers on the bottom, including stock numbers etc. Thanks.

Business Response:

Thank You for contacting me. I had been trying to work out a deal with Mr. ******** to make him happy. We offered to sell him and his wife the vehicle that they picked which was a higher priced and not

the ad vehicle, for the same price as the ad vehicle. We are trying to earn thier business in and keep them happy.

 

Thank You

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your rejection of the business's offer. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9132610, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of why I am rejecting this offer appear below:

1. We want the vehicle in the ad dated 7/12 in which a 2012 Kia Sportage LX with backup sensors was listed for $19,933, or better.

2. If this can be satisfied, our issue will be resolved.

3. I have followed up with *** ****** (not sure on spelling) as I returned his call on Saturday 7/21/2012 at approximately 12:00 pm noon and left a voice message. I have not received another call back from this dealer to resolve the issue.

3. If this cannot be satisfied, we will have to continue with our complaint and make sure more stipulations are satisfied.

4. I have asked for contact information of the District Manager as well as the Owner of Feldman Kia and I have received no response, neither written nor verbal,  regarding this contact information request.

Attached is the print ad from 7/12/12. Thank you.

Regards,

***** ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.