BBB Accredited Business since

Ed Rinke Chevrolet Buick GMC

Phone: (586) 754-7000 Fax: (586) 754-0900 View Additional Phone Numbers 26125 Van Dyke Ave, Center Line, MI 48015 http://www.edrinke.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ed Rinke Chevrolet Buick GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ed Rinke Chevrolet Buick GMC include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Ed Rinke Chevrolet Buick GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1917 in MI Business incorporated 11/16/1950 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of State
Michigan Dept. of State, Lansing MI 48918

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Frederick G. Rinke Jr., Executive General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup

Alternate Business Names
Ed Rinke Buick Ed Rinke Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 26125 Van Dyke Ave

    Center Line, MI 48015 (586) 757-2100 (586) 754-7000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto (2010 Buick Enclave)was advertised on line as a Certified Used Buick-asked repeatedly about this and told the sales person that this was one of the reasons I was willing to fly from Missouri to pick it up and drive it home. I told him on the phone that "I don't want to haggle about the price, if you add running boards to the vehicle that we need for my disabled husband I will buy the car'. He said he would check with his manager but thought it would be fine. Received call that everything was fine, flew up and picked up the auto-again asked about how to get oil changes and such thru the Certified Used car program, was told any dealer in Missouri would honor it. Signed papers and drove it home- 9 hours. When I took it in a few months later, the service department here said it was not registered under this plan. I called my sales person in Detroit who said' Oh yes it is, I remember you and it most certainly is a Certified car! Let me check this out'. I was on hold for a few minutes and when he came back on, he said ' no the vehicle is NOT Certified- when we sold it to you my boss said it could only be the running boards OR having it be Certified. I told him that this was never discussed, he NEVER said anything like this to me and he had told me multiple times that this was a Certified vehicle and all maintenance would be covered for 2 years at this price when I bought it. he then said 'No, the car was only INSPECTED like it was a Certified car and would only be covered until 50,000 miles, The vehicle had over 42,000 when purchased. I would NOT have purchased the car- esp. flying from Mo to Detroit and not having a locale dealer to return it to if there were problems- if it was not Certified and able to take it to ANY Buick dealer. I told him this and he said it was really to late to do anything about it now!!I want them to honor the deal I agreed to buy the auto from them.

Desired Settlement: Please see above- I want the Certified Used Buick Warrantee applied to this vehicle that I was promised. I feel like I was lied to and tricked. I just want what I agreed to when I agreed to buy the car.

Business Response: The customer ****** ******** signed a GM Certified Used Car Warranty Waiver. When the customer signed this, they will not have the extension of the warranty and will not receive the oil changes for 2 years. Attached is the GM Certified Used Car Warranty Waiver that she signed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Ed Rinke Chevrolet Buick GMC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart