BBB Accredited Business since

New Windows For America

Phone: (303) 920-0175 Fax: (303) 255-3976 455 W 115th Ave Unit 5, Denver, CO 80234 http://www.windowsam.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New Windows For America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New Windows For America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on New Windows For America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2001 Business started: 03/03/2001 Business started locally: 03/03/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathleen Lundeen, President/Owner Mr. Clyde Lundeen, Vice President/Co-Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Clyde Lundeen, Vice President/Co-Owner
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Lundeen, President/Owner
Business Category

Windows Windows - Egress Siding Contractors Doors

Alternate Business Names
Windows America of Colorado, Inc.
Additional Information

We offer Fiber Cement, Vinyl & Steel Siding,
We offer Vinyl, Wood, Fiberglass & Composite Windows,
We offer Patio, French, Storm, Security & Entry Way Doors.
Do not confuse this company with Windows America located in Wheatridge, Colorado they have separate ownership.


Additional Locations

  • 455 W 115th Ave Unit 5

    Denver, CO 80234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we had all our windows replac** and most of them are drafty. If you hold a match in front of each window it flickers because of the draft that is coming through the window. Only half of the windows were measur** properly, and this is clear considering how much extra caulk had to be us** to get the windows to fit and we lost one to two inches on each side because of how poorly they were measur**. One window is extremely crook**. These are brand new windows and we have to stuff a towel in the sill to stop the cold air from coming in. We feel our wood windows from 1987 were better quality and certainly better install than these current windows. The salesman also us** the pitch that we were getting a great deal, because we were piggy backing on an order for a new development and he had to get the order in imm**iately. I have seen from previous complaints that this pitch was us** before.

Desired Settlement: For the owner of the business to contact me and see the extremely poor measuring and installation job. I would also like him or her to see how drafty our windows are.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau                                   February 18, 2016
******* ********
Dispute Resolution Specialist
************************

RE:     ******** ******           **** ** **** ****** *****           *********** **  *****

I am in receipt of Complaint from ******** ****** and have review** her file.  ******** purchas** 12 new windows, that were install** October 21st and 22nd of 2014.

The 3 lower level front windows were an unequal sash double hung.  Windows came in 70% top sash/30% bottom sash.  Homeowner thought the bottom sash was too small and request** a 60% top sash/40% bottom sash.  These windows were chang** to a 60/40 window on November 19, 2014.

Customer said she was happy and paid balance of her contract on November 26, 2014.  Homeowner also request** full screens on these windows in lieu on the heavy duty ½ screens suppli**.  Full screens were order** then install** on December 5, 2014.

Customer seem** happy.  We did not hear anything from ******** for over 15 months.  Then in February 2016 ******** call** office and stat** window in upper back b**room felt drafty.  We sent over service manager (** *******) over to inspect window on February 5, 2016.  ** check** all caulking and it was in good condition.  ** notic** that some weather pile look** a little flat and he could order some new weather pile and replace the weather pile that look** a little flat, and this should solve problem.  ******** ask** ** to look at the 2 kitchen windows while he was there and see if the weather pile was flatten** on these windows as well.  ** said he would order new weather pile and we should receive within 2 weeks.

He told ******** he would replace weather pile that seem** a little flat on all 3 windows.  We receiv** new weather pile on February 16, 2016, but before we could contact ******** to sch**ule service, we receiv** this notice of a complaint with the BBB (dat** 2-17-16).

At the time of writing this response, we have not had a chance to replace weather pile to see if this would solve issue.  To address ********’s specific issues list** in complaint, I will sch**ule a time to meet with ******** and inspect all windows myself.

The windows ******** purchas** from us are our American Classic/Easton Series and are a top of the line replacement window.  We have thousands of this window install** in the Denver Metro area and thousands of happy customers.  The project manager who measur** these windows for replacement has install** these windows for many years before becoming our measure specialist.  I have complete confidence in his abilities to correctly measure windows for replacement.

Windows America has both a residential division and a multi-family/light commercial division.  It is true that we have many opportunities to save homeowners a considerable amount of money by ordering their windows with our volume orders for multi-family housing projects.  I am not aware of any complaints that ******** mentions in her complaint.

We take complaints from customers very serious and strive to solve any issues in a timely manner.  However, if a customer complains to the BBB after their windows have been install** for over 15 months and has not made us aware or given us the opportunity to resolve their concerns, it makes it very difficult to maintain our A+ standing with the BBB.   This A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau is very important to us and be assur** we will do everything possible to solve this issue.

I look forward to meeting with ******** and resolving her complaint.

***** ** *******
Owner/New Windows for America

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MAY 0 6 RECD Better Business Bureau May 3, 2014 Re: New Windows for America, 455 W. 115th Ave., Denver, CO 80234 1020 Cherokee Street Denver, CO 80204, More than six months have passed since I signed a contract October 30, 2013 with New Windows for America, at which time they received $3800. cash, over half the amount of the contract for seven replacement windows. It is still an unresolved problem. I want prospective customers to know of the poor business practices of the company. I will not be referring anyone to them. Their salesman made assurances that were not met, especially with respect to timing and completion. He urged us to get our order in quickly, so that he could couple the seven windows with a bulk order submitted that week, in order to get us a better price. That was a mls-representation, since I later learned from the manufacturer, Sherwood of Hamilton, Ohio, that the order was not placed until early December. They used our money elsewhere, interest-free. I wanted them to have plenty of time to get the windows shipped, so scheduled installation for December 2, 2013. Telling me the windows hadn't arrived, they rescheduled for December 22, then December 26. That is when I decided to check with the manufacturer. Meanwhile in November, furniture had all been moved Into the bedroom and the hot tub emptied, so that the windows could be accessed for the change-out. Installation finally occurred March 7, but not without problems. Some carpentry was needed to close bug-catching spaces around each fixed window, work done correctly March 28, 2014. Then it was found that the screens did not fit, but were bowed and some fell into the room, letting our in-door cats escape. The compression buttons would not stay in place, falling out of any frame upon removal. Their hard-working repairman came back and measured one frame for screen re-sizing. So when he returned days later, the rest of the frames, being dis-similar, had to be remeasured for fitting. I complained to Vinylmax (Sherwood Co.) that In-shop quality assurance is lacking. Over a month later, on re-installation May 2, I think we have satisfactory windows and screens that will stay in place against the wind, but I lack full confidence. Over six months from the time we drained the hot tub to make it possible to stand In it, and moved furniture for the window replacement, perhaps now we can get the house back in operation. It has been a stressful time and a hardship, especially for my wife, who has needed the hot tub for therapy for her MD. The grandkids could not make use of it either, a popular facility in the winter months. Order *** NXXXXX We paid the second half, $3,756. by credit card on March 3, but hours later when it became apparent that the screens were unsatisfactory, we promptly initiated a dispute for that amount. The screens were not acceptable because they fell out of the windows during the first night in use. Sherwood called it a warrantee issue, which I disputed with them. The screens seem to be firmly installed now, but I find I must continue to withhold the payment because New Windows for America has mis-represented the job to American Express as warrantee repair. A warrantee does not start until an acceptable product Is out in place. To accept their interpretation would mean no warrantee would be honored in future. I will not be satisfied, declare a resolution nor release the payment until I get written assurance that no warrantee has been exercised yet, and that they will honor the warrantees for both windows and screens. Such shady treatment gives me no certainty that a warrantee from them has value, and others should know that they may expect trouble at any turn from New Windows for America. Throughout this long period of innumerable telephone calls and re-set appointments, there has been no acknowledgement of mis-management nor compassion for our prolonged inconvenience, no apology from the principals of that family-run business. On two occasions, I suggested that If Klyde, the owner values his business, he should come out to talk with us. to no avail. I accidentally got his wife on the phone once. She offered no comforting recognition of responsibility either. The son, Matt was present May 2, but seemed interested mainly in the trouble it gave his firm and In getting paid. To be sure, some blame is on Sherwood Co., whose designs are imperfect and whose quality assurance is deficient. If window frames are all slightly different, screens need to be tailored, matched and marked appropriately to save installer's labors. I would conclude that it has required an inordinate amount of patience and persistence to attain a good final installation, and New Windows for America does not deserve referrals. We have had much better experience with such suppliers as Renewal by Anderson, and at comparable prices. Perhaps a very substantial rebate from the firm would change my feelings of mis-use. Cc: Sherwood and Windows for America ***** ** **** **** ** ***** ***** ******* ** XXXXX

Desired Settlement: Perhaps a very substantial rebate from the firm would change my feelings of mis-use.

Business Response: “A Better Way To Buy Windows" 455 W. 115th Ave. Unit #5 Denver, 00 80234 PH 303-920-0175 FAX 303-255-3976 1-877-WINDOWS ***** & ******** **** **** ** **** **** ******* ** XXXXX *****, I am in receipt of your email about the problems incurred with your window order. I agree that I should have personally reached out to you long before now. Please accept my Personal apology for all the inconveniences you have so patiently put up with throughout this process. In the first paragraph of your e-mail you mention that there is still an unresolved problem. After talking to the office and service personnel, we are not award of an existing problem. I will be contacting you and if there are any issues now or in the future please be assured that they will be taken care of immediately. I wanted to specifically address a couple issues in your e-mail. First is the Issue regarding your deposit. It is our policy to ask for a deposit because the windows are custom made for your project and once the orders are placed the windows are non-cancelable. Without the deposit there is a chance that something may happen and the customer cannot follow through with the contract. We still have to pay for the windows. Second, during the initial installation you had requested that we set the 3-section window all the way to the inside of the opening despite our recommendation that the window be set to the exterior as originally planned. After the Installation it was requested by you that we remove and reset the window as originally suggested. We were also informed that you were not happy with the design of the fixed window. We returned and reinstalled the window and also added matching oak to modify the design to your satisfaction. Third, at the time of the reinstall you had asked us to tighten the screen mesh so there was no slack in the mesh. I believe when this was done we might have made the mesh too tight which resulted in what we call hour glassing. This is what I believe caused the poor fit with the screens. We reordered screens from the factory and when we attempted to install they did not fit properly. We decided to order screen rail from the factory and make new screens in our shop to assure proper fit. I believe this solved the problem. With all this being said there is no excuse for the problems incurred on your project. We talked on Monday May 12th about how we could make this up to you and you suggested a $1,000.00 refund. After reviewing all the facts I agree a refund for your inconvenience is in order. I would like to offer you a $750.00 refund along with the assurance that If you ever have any issues we will handle them at no cost to you. Also if there are any issues with window parts they will be replaced at no cost to you. I hope this will help make up for the delays and inconveniences. Please don't ever hesitate to call me Personally with any questions or concerns. Sincerely, Clyde J. Lundeen Cell # 303-249-4428 5/8/2014 for AMERICA new WINDOWS

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on New Windows For America
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)