This business is not BBB accredited.

Accent Windows

Phone: (303) 420-2002 View Additional Phone Numbers 14175 E 42nd Ave Ste 1A, Denver, CO 80239 http://www.accentwindows.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Accent Windows include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Accent Windows
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 06/01/2011 in
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Marty Hoisington, Director of Sales & Marketing Ms. Cindi Tetley
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marty Hoisington, Director of Sales & Marketing
Business Category

Windows Siding Contractors Doors

Alternate Business Names
PHACE LLC
Additional Information

PHACE, LLC (dba Accent Windows) is a separately-owned company from Accent Windows, LLC, which filed chapter 11 bankruptcy in 2011. PHACE, LLC acquired only the assets of Accent Windows, LLC on June 1, 2011 out of bankruptcy and, thus, is not required to honor any warranties offered by the former company.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14175 E 42nd Ave Ste 1A

    Denver, CO 80239 (303) 420-2002 (888) 284-3948

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have not received my warranty. Account paid in full in July. History - I purchased siding and gutters from *************** I purchased from them because one of my neighbors had her siding replaced by them a few years back and loved it. I also had researched the brand of siding they used. It had a great rating from Consumer Reports. The installation did not go smoothly. After it was completed, they did adjust the price for all of the problems. My account was paid in full in July. The final check for my siding cleared my bank July 30th. Problem - According to the brochure I was given, I need to send my registration for my lifetime limited warranty to *********. This was to be done within 30 days of installation. I have tried since August 15th to get my warranty information. At that time I contacted my salesman ******** and told him I had not received it. I have been contacting him regularly since then, at least every other week. I have also called their service warranty number.

Desired Settlement: I would like my warranty. If not I need some of my money back, since that was one of the selling points of the product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2015/01/29) */ We have given ************ now 3 copies of her siding/window warranty. Yesterday my Customer Service Manager drove to her house and had delivered a warranty to ************ and I followed up with ************ to make sure she received this copy.

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a window with a warranty. After 5 calls to office they claim they are not the same company although they have the same name and phone number. I have a certificate of Warranty for a window which has a damages seal. Warranty states that Hermetic Seal shall be free of defect... I called the phone number on the certificate and left 4 messages over a three week period before I received a return call. The service person I talked to said they were not the same company although they have the same name and the same phone number.

Desired Settlement: I would like the damaged window replaced as per the 30 year warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/21) */ PHACE LLC DBA Accent Windows purchased the assests of Accent Windows and Doors out of bankruptcy in June 2011. I can not check voice mail records, or phone records so I can not answer the 3 weeks of phone call comments but I an answer the warranty question. What our service department has been instructed to inform people is we are not the same Accent Windows, PHACE LLC purchased that companies Assets out of Bankruptcy in June 2011. We are offering to old Accent customers a program where we will come inspect the windows for a trip charge of $35. Any work performed we will work on for our hourly charge of $35 and we would sell any parts and pcs at our cost. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) That's just giving this obviously dishonest company more of my money. NO THANKS DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Accent windows does not want to repair free on the window which they installed and has a life time warranty on it. Accent windows installed 5 windows on 07-10-2000. I paid $2309.00 and have a written warranty 20 years on glass,life time on frames. One kitchen window is building some condensation,so i called them for repair. They said, prior owner filed the bankrupcy and they will not repair unless i pay. Accent windows is still using same name,same telephone number,same locations. I believe they should honor my warranty.

Desired Settlement: They should repair or exchange my kitchen window glass for free.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/24) */ I contacted the customer on 3-21-14 and left a voice mail asking them to call me or **********, our service manager. Our tel # is *************. I told them that it is not a problem and that we will be happy to replace the glass free of charge. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2014/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They said the window will be repaired without a charge and will take a few weeks. Thank You BBB!!!

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor transferable warranty. Added as many charges as possible. Called and received return from owner. Stated that the patio door in kitchen right side seal had failed and we were having condensation problems and needed it to be repaired. He said they were not covering our transferable warranty because they had bought equipment from Access windows and taken their name. Was no longer liable for our warranty. He offered to give us 35% off to repair but, as the conversation went on he added service charge, repair charge and others. Ended up added to retail. I asked if their were problems to the whole house windows (that had also been purchased and installed by Accent) they also would not be covered. He said that is correct. Totally contrary to their advertisements about warranties.

Desired Settlement: We would like for the repair to the patio door to be done and for our warranty to be honored for the other door & windows in our home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/11/21) */ Accent Windows, Inc. went bankrupt. Phace, LLC purchased the assets out of bankruptcy, including the right to use the "Accent Windows" name. As a part of the purchase, Phace expressly disclaimed any responsibility for honoring any warranty obligations of the old Accent Windows, Inc. Nevertheless, as an accommodation to old Accent Windows customers, Phace is willing to replace defective parts at no charge if purchased within the last 10 years, but does charge for trip and labor. For purchases made over 10 years ago, we have to charge for the parts but at a substantially reduced cost. We are sorry for the inconvenience the bankruptcy of Accent Windows Inc. has caused to some of their previous customers.

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see pdf attachment

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ Accent Windows, Inc. went bankrupt. Phace, LLC purchased the assets out of bankruptcy, including the right to use the "Accent Windows" name. As a part of the purchase, Phace expressly disclaimed any responsibility for honoring any warranty obligations of the old Accent Windows, Inc. Nevertheless, as an accommodation to old Accent Windows customers, Phace is willing to replace defective parts at no charge if purchased within the last 10 years, but does charge for trip and labor. For purchases made over 10 years ago, we have to charge for the parts but at a substantially reduced cost. We are sorry for the inconvenience the bankruptcy of Accent Windows Inc. has caused to some of their previous customers.

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See attached documents.

Desired Settlement: See attached documents.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/10/04) */ Accent Windows, Inc. went bankrupt. Phace, LLC purchased the assets out of bankruptcy, including the right to use the "Accent Windows" name. As a part of the purchase, Phace expressly disclaimed any responsibility for honoring any warranty obligations of the old Accent Windows, Inc. Nevertheless, as an accommodation to old Accent Windows customers, Phace is willing to replace defective parts at no charge if purchased within the last 10 years, but does charge for trip and labor. For purchases made over 10 years ago, we have to charge for the parts but at a substantially reduced cost. We are sorry for the inconvenience the bankruptcy of Accent Windows Inc. has caused to some of their previous customers. In the case of Mr. *****, the windows were not purchased from Accent Windows but a dealer who is no longer in business. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lifetime warranty vinyl window frames against chipping,cracking,peeling,warping, fading and blistering NOT HONORED by Accent Windows. Our decision to purchase Accent windows, Legacy2 frames and Silensia patio doors was based on the 'Lifetime Warranty' of the products. Purchase was made in 1902 and when blistering and peeling occurred on an upstairs east facing window and also see the beginnings of the problem on another window, we were told that we needed to pay $100 plus trip charge and whatever charges for the materials were. This is not what our paperwork says is required if us and feel the warranties should be honored by Accent Windows. Also, the tone of the person who finally returned our call was one of inconvenience towards us.

Desired Settlement: A bottom frame of the same window in question was repaired/replaced on one window in question, however, same window bottom frame requires replacement and the same for the dining room window. We were told at that time of service that charges would incur if it happened again, is that what lifetime warranty means?

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/29) */ I left a message for Mr. and Mrs. **** on 7-29-13. I asked them to contact me on my cell at ************ so I find out more about the situation. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 16, 2013/09/05) */ Our service specialist went to Mr. and Mrs. ****'s house the week of August 18th and new coil was installed around the 2 windows in question. Everything was done at no charge. It is my understanding that the issue has been resolved and the customer is satisfied. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 15, 2013/09/05) */ Our service specialist went to Mr. and Mrs. ****'s house the week of August 18th and new coil was installed around the 2 windows in question. Everything was done at no charge. It is my understanding that the issue has been resolved and the customer is satisfied.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company will not honor Accent windows warranty even though it is advertised with a lifetime warranty. called to get a window repaired that had one pane cracked. they then gave a estimate of $318 to repair it. I told them we bought the windows from them and they installed them, they replied accent filed bankruptcy and no longer warranty there work. they said they bought the rights to the name not the warranty's of there products and only offer warranty for there new work. he informed me that my warranty is for the life of the home, or home owner, or life of the company then stated that company went broke and that they are the new Accent windows now and it will be $318 for the repairs of my window and offered no discount or concessions. we paid alot of money for these windows for many reasons including the warranty if they want to use the accent window name they should warranty the product just the same. we will not ever refer or use accent windows ever again.

Desired Settlement: repair my cracked window which should be under warranty. Thanks

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/07) */ Accent Windows, Inc. went bankrupt. Phace, LLC purchased the assets out of bankruptcy, including the right to use the "Accent Windows" name. As a part of the purchase, Phace expressly disclaimed any responsibility for honoring any warranty obligations of the old Accent Windows, Inc. Nevertheless, as an accommodation to old Accent Windows customers, Phace is willing to replace defective parts at no charge if purchased within the last 10 years, but does charge for trip and labor. For purchases made over 10 years ago, we have to charge for the parts but at a substantially reduced cost. We are sorry for the inconvenience the bankruptcy of Accent Windows Inc. has caused to some of their previous customers. In the case of Mr. and Mrs. *****, they purchased their windows in 2002. We offered Mr. ***** a substantial discount. If Mr. ***** can get the glass replaced by any other companies for less money, we will be happy to pay for it. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/06/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with Mr Trembley and we agreed upon $110 price to repair my window. However I agreed to a lesser quality so I can get it repaired faster. Mr Trembley was stating a 2 week order frame and needed the repair done faster. With that being said we have only conceded our complaint as We have sold the home and we don have the time to play this one out. new owners take possession July 8th. Mr Trembley has been very helpful and has scheduled my repair for July 2nd only then after it is installed will I ok this dispute if there are no other issues. at this time I had to answer No due to my reply needed to be in by July 1st. ****** ***** Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Business' Final Response /* (-10, 11, 2013/06/20) */ I spoke with Mr. ***** on X-XX-XX and we agreed that we would replace the window for a flat $110. ****** ********

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: None committal to honor life time warranty. I had a window blow up and shatter about two month ago. I called accent and they sent someone to check and measure window. The gentleman that came out said he would take this back to his boss to get an estimate. I asked him about the warranty.He said they just bought the company and do not honor the warranty. I told him I got the information about the buy out and it said it would honor the warranty. He said I know that's confusing. I asked to have his boss call me. The boss called during work hours so he would not have to talk to me. I have put in a complaint before to the b.b.b was hearing for awhile then know more emails. In the mean time May 2, 2013 at 2a.m a second window blew up. The shattered glass is still hanging on in frame. We are concerned that this could happen to all our windows. We do not have 10 or 12 thousand dollars to replace our window which we have not had that long. We feel they should be responsible for the cost of these windows and if it happens again they need to replace them.I would appreciate any help we could get.We got them in march 8,2004 We paid by check9000. The sales rep was ******* *******

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the two windows that blew be replaced and a refund for the rest in case they do not want to honor warranty for the rest of the windows encase they blow out.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/29) */ I contacted Mr. ******** this morning and agreed to replace 2 of his insulated glass units at no charge. I understand that he is satisfied with our response and will agree to close the complaint with the BBB. *************** ************ Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/06/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) accent windows said they would replace our windows for free. they did say they would cover issue if any in the future. We are Christians and decided to take their word. ***** did come out and measured our windows, he was very nice. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/06/19) */ I spoke with Mr. ******* and told him that I would replace the 2 units for free of charge if he agrees to close the BBB case as satisfactory. As of today, he has not done so. He bought Windows from Accent Windows Inc. and the company went through Bankruptcy and has been dissolved. Phace LLC has no liability towards Mr. ********. Phace LLC did not purchase Accent Windows Inc. Despite that fact, I agreed to replace the units at no charge as a good gesture. That is a very generous offer. I also told him that I would not provide a written promise that Phace LLC would guarantee the rest of his windows. We cannot guarantee products produced and sold by another company to which we had nothing to do with. It is very unfortunate that Accent Windows Inc. went through bankruptcy, but it is not Phace LLC's fault. We did not manufacture and sold the Windows to Mr. *******. We cannot be held responsible. We always try to do the best we can to help Accent Windows Inc.'s previous customers. I feel that we made a very generous offer to Mr. *******.

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told Accent Windows, Inc., had gone out of business, the current company had purchased their Accent's products, but I no longer have a warranty. In 1999 I purchased a sliding glass door from Accent Windows. There was a lifetime warranty if the window failed for any reason, other than something caused by a purposeful act. The warranty information is posted on a website if you search for, "Accent Windows." I called because my window had burst on the morning of February 11th. It was a cold morning, right before the sun came up and I heard a loud popping noise. I went to investigate and the window had started cracking at the bottom and the cracks continued for almost 30 minutes until the full pane of glass was cracked in pieces. Only the inside pane broke, not the outside pane. I looked the company up on the internet because when I tried the phone number on my paperwork, the phone just kept ringing and nobody answered. I called and the operated forwarded my call to the service department. The gentleman who helped me was able to retrieve my information and updated my last name and I also had a new home phone number. He said he would send someone out to measure the next day. The serviceman came in a timely manner the following day and measured the window. I asked him what might have happened and he said the gas between the panes can expand and contract and sometimes the glass just weakens and breaks. He said someone would get back to me regarding replacing the side of the door that broke. The following day "*****" called and left a message saying the cost was $642.32. He asked me to return the call if I wanted to order the glass. I called him back and left a message asking why they were charging me when my window had a lifetime warranty. He didn't return my call and I tried again several times, but I was told that ***** was the only person I could talk to about the problem. ***** returned my call today, February 14th, and stated that the company, Accent Windows, Inc., had gone completely out of business. He stated that his company had purchased their Accents products, but the company that provided my warranty no longer existed. I feel that if the "new" company had my record and purchased assets of the "other" company, they should be held accountable for the liabilities of the company as well and should honor the warranties of the product. Please help me to resolve this issue with Accent Windows. I will not re-purchase from them for principal and also, there are many other companies to choose from that offer lifetime warranties. I already know their product can "fail" to perform as expected. I certainly won't invest more money with the same company that, in return, doesn't cover their warranty in an honorable fashion. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement: Refund of purchase price or replacement of defective product.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/02/26) */ Accent Windows, Inc. went bankrupt. Phace, LLC purchased the assets out of bankruptcy, including the right to use the "Accent Windows" name. As a part of the purchase, Phace expressly disclaimed any responsibility for honoring any warranty obligations of the old Accent Windows, Inc. Nevertheless, as an accommodation to old Accent Windows customers, Phace is willing to replace defective parts at no charge if purchased within the last 10 years, but does charge for trip and labor. For purchases made over 10 years ago, we have to charge for the parts but at a substantially reduced cost. We are sorry for the inconvenience the bankruptcy of Accent Windows Inc. has caused to some of their previous customers. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 16, 2013/04/05) */ I am just wondering if BBB at some point gets involved in trying to resolve these issues. If not, I will persue in small clamins court. Please let me know. Thanks. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 28, 2013/06/07) */ Phace LLC, dba Accent Windows does offer lifetime warranty for everything manufactured under Phace LLC. For products manufactured under Accent Windows Inc, which has gone through bankruptcy, we agree to provide free products for manufactured defect for the previous 10 years. All we charge is a service fee and labor for the installation. For products manufactured over 10 years ago, we offer 35% discount on manufactured products, plus trip and labor. In the case of **********, her window was manufactured in 1998 and is well past the 10 years period. Again, we OFFER LIFETIME WARRANTY for everything we manufactured since June of 2011. The 10 year warranty is for products manufactured under the previous company that does not exist anymore. We feel that it is a very generous offer.