BBB Accredited Business since

VRCC - Veterinary Referral Center of Colorado

Phone: (303) 874-7387 3550 S Jason St, Englewood, CO 80110 http://www.vrcc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that VRCC - Veterinary Referral Center of Colorado meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for VRCC - Veterinary Referral Center of Colorado include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on VRCC - Veterinary Referral Center of Colorado
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 02/12/2003 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Veterinary Medicine
1560 Broadway Ste 1310, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/veterinarians/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7755
veterinarymedicine@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Category

Veterinarians

Alternate Business Names
VRCC Veterinary Specialty & Emergency Hospital
Products & Services

Veterinary specialists located in a regionally-supported hospital with advanced care for small companion animals. Specialties include surgery, internal medicine, oncology, neurology, neurosurgery, allergy, dermatology, 24/7 emergency, ophthalmology and cardiology.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

VRCC - Veterinary Referral Center of Colorado has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3550 S Jason St

    Englewood, CO 80110 (303) 874-7387

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this office for a specific treatment for my cat. I got something completely different. Bait and switch. My family vet called ahead to VRCC, establishing the next treatment that they were to perform. She sent over the vet records and the notes. When I made my appointment I said what I was going in for. So three times it was established what they were supposed to be doing with my cat Tank before I got there. I waited and saved up enough money before making the appointment. It is $138 just to walk through their door. So, I get there. They gave me a vet that was allergic to cats who could not perform the procedure. Did a different procedure which I did not authorize or even want done. Then charged me for the office visit and the procedure that I didn't authorize. I do not think that I should have to pay for the office visit or the procedure because they made an appointment for one thing but delivered another. Bait and switch. I tried to work with them since there was time spent on my animal but I never would have walked through their door for anything other than the procedure they were supposed to perform but did not. Now, my cat Tank, still needs that procedure done, but since VRCC took my money without doing that procedure, I don't have the money for it anymore and they won't give it back.

Desired Settlement: I want a full $185 refund so that Tank can get the treatment he needs somewhere else that doesn't bait and switch.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ This owner would have had to pay the initial office visit regardless of treatment plan. We do not feel that the practice should have to refund money for the initial visit. The owner was presented with a very costly estimate on initial visit. It was explained to her the validity of the CT as a diagnostic tool in her pets case. Due to finances the owner chose not to proceed. The owner was asked if she thought she qualified for ****** **** *********** This is a foundation that helps clients that need financial assistance for veterinary specialty medicine. The owner informed us that her husband made more than the assistance program would require for the application to be approved. She would not qualify. The owner then called to complain that she was not happy with her visit here. As the practice manager called to find out why she was not happy. This client was very nice on the phone. I called to make sure **** was not in pain and that he was stable. **** was about the same. The patients owner had different expectation of what would happen at her visit here with the dermatologist. She was expecting a more invasive treatment option. Because of the normal appearance of the tympanic membrane and the small amount of debris with some bacteria, the doctor opted for oral and topical medications which the owner agreed to take home. I generated different treatment options for her for future care of her cat. I took the very large treatment plan with fees and divided it into 2 treatment plans. One with the sedation and myringotomy, and the other with the CT scan. I did explain to her that we may do the myringotomy and culture the ear if there was discharge. This may not be the result she was looking for and she would have to proceed with the CT scan for future treatment. I called the owner again to make sure she received the treatment plans and to find out if she had any questions. At that time she was trying to find out how far out she could delay the procedure due to finances. We discussed *** as an option for future treatment. Owner was thinking maybe May for treatment follow-up. I also mentioned that her pet may need a neurology consult and that they may need the CT scan to help diagnose ***** problem. The owner asked who would do the surgery if there was a growth deep in the skull. I informed her that she would need to go to our surgery department for that type of follow-up treatment. The dermatology department does not do that type of surgery. The Dr. has recommended and additional course of antibiotics due to findings on a cytology. The owner did not authorize the cytology. We are willing to refund this fee of $47.00. The owner did take the antibiotics home and in an email agreed to pay for them. (Email to be provided in attachments). ** ****** did respond to her email after she decided to request full reimbursement. This owner informed us she would file a complaint with the BBB and would let everyone know they should not come to our office. She would let every local animal group that she is a member of to not come to our office. I have record conversations with the clients if you need them. I will upload the referral letter and communications for your review. Please let me know if there is anything else you need on our behalf. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The initial office visit was for the SOLE purpose of doing the otoscope and getting a middle ear sample. Instead of doing the procedure, they gave me an estimate to do the procedure in another visit for another fee. Example 1: If you went to your dentist to get a $400 filling and 1.called ahead and said while making your appointment that you were coming in to get your filling, 2. had your referring doctor call and talk to your dentist to say that your were there to get a filling, 3.sent treatment notes that you were there to get a filling, 4. arrived and told then dentist that you were getting a filling AND then A. did not get the filling because the doctor was allergic to you, but instead got charged $350 to repeat what the referring doc had already done and listen to the doctor complain about how the practice keeps giving him patients that he is allergic to and then were given a $400 estimate to come back and get charged again to actually get the filling that you were there to get, B. YOU WOULD NOT BE HAPPY BECAUSE YOU GOT RIPPED OFF. EXAMPLE 2: order something and pay to have it installed in your home. 1. Call and make the appointment for installation. 2. Write a letter saying that your appointment is for installation 3. Have your spouse call and verify the details of the installation 4. When the installer gets there, confirm that he is there for installation. Then: Have the installer charge you $300 to come to your house to install something. Then when they get there, charge you $300 have a conversation with you about how they want to install it and give you a bid to come back and actually install it for $400 even after you did the four thing above. Nothing wrong with that right? You should pay him for the first visit because,after all, he did have a conversation with you. EXACT SAME THING. There isn't anything else that I could have done on my end to say why I was there. It was a VRCC error and I am the only one paying for it. It was their lack of communication, lack of reading the treatment notes, and assigning a vet who is allergic to cats to a cat as a patient that caused the problem in the first place but they don't have to pay for it? What my income is or is not is irrelevant. THIS IS WRONG NO MATTER HOW MUCH YOU MAKE. If they think this is right to them, then I hope this happens to them every single day of their lives in every type of business they are involved in and they are on my side of the equation. Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ Professional courtesy between doctors should be left between the doctors and out of this equation. As staff members, we do not question our doctors recommendations. These doctors are experts in their field. In the human medical field as well as the veterinary field the clients do not tell the doctors which course of action to take. If the client disagrees with the recommendation, that is fine. The owner of this pet should have, at the time of the appointment, declined the recommendations of the doctor. She would have had to pay the initial visit fee regardless. As stated in the previous response, the doctor did not find it necessary to make a recommendation for doing the otoscope procedure based on physical exam findings at the time of the visit. The recommendation of the doctor was in the best interest of the patient, not the client. Unfortunately, I do not think there is anything we can do to make this client happy. We have done our job to make the recommendations per the history and the physical exam of the patient. We did offer to reimburse a cytology fee. The owner has not called us with the pertinent information to refund her the cytology fee. As a future course of treatment for Tank, the owner was provided with treatment estimates and fees. It is up to her to choose how to handle her pets treatment. These are the facts pertaining to this case. We hope that Tank is doing well and is stable and comfortable. Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As stated previously, I was there for the sole purpose to complete the otoscope procedure as was decided upon by their veterinarian *** ****** prior to even making the appointment. VRCC states that : "The doctor did not find it necessary to make a recommendation for doing the otoscope procedure based on physical exam findings at the time of the visit.As a future course of treatment for Tank, the owner was provided with treatment estimates and fees. " The "treatment plan" given at the time of the appointment was the otoscope procedure that is now stated to be considered "unnecessary". So, which is it? 1. *** ******* a VRCC vet, considered the treatment necessary,recommended it, advised through my vet that I make the appointment to come in to do it 2. I get there and I was NOT advised that this procedure was not necessary. I was advised that the vet was allergic to cats and COULD NOT physically do it. He stated: " If it was a dog he could do the procedure " all day long." NOT the same thing as not necessary. 3. My "treatment plan" consisted of returning and paying again to get a procedure done that VRCC now states to the BBB is not necessary. Which is it? 4. VRCC states: "If the client disagrees with the recommendation, that is fine. The owner of this pet should have, at the time of the appointment, declined the recommendations of the doctor. She would have had to pay the initial visit fee regardless. " I was never given a recommendation by the doctor. They just disappeared with my cat and came back and said "the cytology results were...". I NEVER authorized that. 5.VRCC:"In the human medical field as well as the veterinary field the clients do not tell the doctors which course of action to take." Indeed, people do have say in their own medical care. Options are presented with pros and cons. Patients make decisions that are within their budget. A medicaid patient does not access to a $1200 co pay cancer drug that a wealthy private pay patient will have the funds for. (I have seen this happen first hand so don't tell me it's not true.) Therefore, that particular drug would not be prescribed. Going to any doctor's office is not an open checkbook to the physician. If VRCC believes that clients don't have a say in their own medical care, they haven't been sick enough yet. Go through cancer with someone and then talk to me. 6. VRCC states: " She would have had to pay the initial visit fee regardless" So VRCC admits that it's OK to tell someone something to get them through the door and charge them a fee regardless. Bait and switch is the name of their numbers game. This is an immoral, unethical business practice. 7.'Professional courtesy between doctors should be left between the doctors and out of this equation." Professional courtesy is exactly what brought me into your office and cost me and not VRCC unnecessarily. *** ****** told *** ******* my family vet, that I should bring Tank in for this procedure. The vet I saw chose to ignore the other vets recommendations. As patients we cannot pick our doctor when we make the appointment. But the doctor can read the treatment notes. 8. VRCC state: "We did offer to reimburse a cytology fee. The owner has not called us with the pertinent information to refund her the cytology fee." Refunding just the cytology fee is not enough. VRCC should not be allowed to profit from bait and switch practices. So no, I have not called to give my credit card number to get they cytology fee back because that it not enough. The only reason that **** has to return the cytology fee is because I did not give authorization to perform the cytology. I wrote in on the intake papers that I would only pay for things that I know the price of and authorize in advance otherwise they would be sticking me with that, too. It is not out of the goodness of the hearts. 9. "Unfortunately, I do not think there is anything we can do to make this client happy." I stated what would make me happy, a $185 refund which is a drop in the bucket for them but a lot of money to me. At one point, I even offered to spit the office visit fee with them and they declined it. Then I offered that they could refill Tank's antibiotic for free. An antibiotic that costs them $20 but they charged me $105 for. An antibiotic that they said would not have any effect for a minimum of two months if it was going to work. They declined saying that I would have to bring him back for a recheck in 20 days to the tune of another $79.00 to get a refill. Why would you recheck him in 20 days if you already said that there would not be any benefit for 60 days? Another scam. They can voluntarily give me back y $185 or I will start dispute with the charge with my credit card company.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on VRCC - Veterinary Referral Center of Colorado
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart