This business is not BBB accredited.

Animal Hospital Specialty Center, Inc.

Phone: (303) 740-9595 Fax: (303) 740-9569 5640 County Line Pl Ste 1, Highlands Ranch, CO 80126 http://www.ahscvets.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Animal Hospital Specialty Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Animal Hospital Specialty Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 1993 Business started: 07/02/1991 Business started locally: 07/02/1991 Business incorporated 07/02/1991 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Veterinary Medicine
1560 Broadway Ste 1310, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/veterinarians/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7755
veterinarymedicine@dora.state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jill Edwards, Client Relations Manager Vicky Hiemer Dr. Phillip Trimble, President, Director of Medicine
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jill Edwards, Client Relations Manager
Business Category

Veterinarians


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5640 County Line Pl Ste 1

    Highlands Ranch, CO 80126 (303) 740-9595

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misdiagnosis illness resulting in unnecessary surgery. Took our dog to the animal hospital with a sample of stool and vomit. They took his temperature and he had normal temp. At that time they wanted to do an xray because they thought he may have an obstruction. I asked if there was any way to flush his system or see things clearly on xray. They were not sure they did not have a sonogram and claimed that was not possible but did not offer any alternatives. They kept pushing surgery and said they did not want to wait because something could perforate and cause more issues. At this point blood was never taken only his temperature. I said lets give this some time......maybe it could pass through. After 3 hours and another call I asked for their opinion and she kept pushing surgery. Also, they insisted on us putting a deposit down. At no time did they talk about options or what else could be causing his issues. They did not do any additional tests or mention this could come up empty. Now that I have had time to talk to our vet and others, I am understanding that they did not follow protocol. Our vet -at a different facility - got a full report a couple days later and we discussed. They did not offer any options and rushed into surgery, they found nothing, no obstruction and said it was gastroenteris. I am shocked that this could not be handled another way and our dog has a huge scar and weeks of recovery. The money spent was well over $3000 and feel that we would have gotten the same result with antibiotics. Very unnecessary and disappointed......To make matters worse when we picked up our dog I asked someone at the front desk, **** *******, if it is common for them to do surgery for an obstruction and found no obstruction, she said she had never heard of that ever. I also asked the vet tech and she echoed that she had never heard of that either. **** said she would research for us but I had to call her 3 days later and she was not very professional or helpful. This is not about the money it is about how all of this was handled.

Desired Settlement: Refund of surgery and associated expenses

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/29) */ Clients brought a 7 month old male neutered golden retriever in through our emergency department complaining of vomiting and diarrhea. The diarrhea had been going on for 3 weeks. They had gone to another vet 4 days earlier and started kelp probiotic. The clients stated that he had vomited about 5 times the day before and was not keeping his food down. He had become lethargic since vomiting and was not eating, but drank a large amount of water. They stated that he had a history of eating things that he should not be eating. We took abdominal radiographs - which showed a suspicious area of plication in right mid-cranial aspect of the small intestine and other mild fluid and gas dilation of the small intestine. There was a moderate amount of food within the stomach. There was a suspicion of an intestine foreign body on the radiographs. The decision was made by the clients to hospitalize with IV fluids. During the six hour hospitalization the dog continued to vomit. Repeat radiographs were performed and there was still areas of concern for plication and a slightly worsening gas dilation to the intestines. With the continued vomiting and worsening on the radiographs, an intestinal foreign body was still suspected. Unfortunately there is no guarantee whether or not there is a foreign body present. Medicine in humans and animals is not an exact science. In this case our doctors made an informed recommendation with the available medical facts they had. The concern would be that leaving a foreign body in the intestines would cause the intestine to perforate, making the dog very sick. We left the decision to the owners. They could wait and take the chance or have the surgery and know for sure if there was a foreign body present. The owners elected to go to surgery. In this case the puppy was lucky to not have a foreign body but did have an abnormality of very inflamed small intestines. Our doctors spent a lot of time explaining to them what they were looking at, to make this decision. There was no misdiagnosis. We offered to look their case over again but they expected everything to be resolved in their favor within three days. Our doctors took excellent care of their pet and helped them through a difficult time. Now they want to call it a misdiagnosis, complain and ask for their money back. We are truly sad that they are incapable of understanding the great care their pet received, and how lucky they are to have had this outcome. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Proper protocol was not followed. No ultra sound was ever offered or any other solution other that surgery. I will be sending a second option. We we we not informed that the vet we were consulting with was an intern. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/08/19) */ The client in this case was given the option to continue treatment, or go to surgery. As we stated before, our doctors gave the client all the information we had for them to make this decision. The client made the decision to not wait and take the chance, and instead go to surgery. An ultrasound for a foreign body is not "proper protocol". We look at all the facts when diagnosing a patient. Interns are licensed doctors that practice medicine in all hospitals. Our Board Certified Surgeon also agreed with our attending physician as to options available. The decision was left to the client to decide which treatment plan they elected to proceed with. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Here is the complaint filed with the AAHA on 7/17/14 Took our dog to the animal hospital with a sample of stool and vomit. They took his temperature and he had normal temp. At that time they wanted to do an xray because they thought he may have an obstruction. I asked if there was any way to flush his system or see things clearly on xray. They were not sure they did not have a sonogram and claimed that was not possible but did not7/14 offer any alternatives. They kept pushing surgery and said they did not want to wait because something could perforate and cause more issues. At this point blood was never taken only his temperature. I said lets give this some time......maybe it could pass through. After 3 hours and another call I asked for their opinion and she kept pushing surgery. Also, they insisted on us putting a deposit down. At no time did they talk about options or what else could be causing his issues. They did not do any additional tests or mention this could come up empty. Now that I have had time to talk to our vet and others, I am understanding that they did not follow protocol. Our vet -at a different facility - got a full report a couple days later and we discussed. They did not offer any options and rushed into surgery, they found nothing, no obstruction and said it was gastroenteris. I am shocked that this could not be handled another way and our dog has a huge scar and weeks of recovery. The money spent was well over $3000 and feel that we would have gotten the same result with antibiotics. Very unnecessary and disappointed......To make matters worse when we picked up our dog I asked someone at the front desk, **** *******, if it is common for them to do surgery for an obstruction and found no obstruction, she said she had never heard of that ever. I also asked the vet tech and she echoed that she had never heard of that either. **** said she would research for us but I had to call her 3 days later and she was not very professional or helpful. This is not about the money it is about how all of this was handled.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Animal Hospital Specialty Center, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)