BBB Accredited Business since

The Natural Way, Inc.

Phone: (303) 347-0988 Fax: (303) 806-0868 1952 W Dartmouth Ave, Englewood, CO 80110 http://www.thenaturalwayinc.net



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Environmentally Conscious Tree, Shrub & Lawn Care.  Customized care for your landscape with the highest industry standards by professionally trained tree worker.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Natural Way, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Natural Way, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Natural Way, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2003 Business started: 04/14/1995 Business started locally: 04/14/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Brudenell, Owner/President Ms. Andrea Brown, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Andrea Brown, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert Brudenell, Owner/President
Business Category

Tree Service

Products & Services

The Natural Way, Inc. offers the following product(s): Lawn Care, Plant Health Care, Stump grinding, Tree Care, Tree pruning

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Check, Cash

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Natural Way, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1952 W Dartmouth Ave

    Englewood, CO 80110 (303) 347-0988

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around November 2015 my husband and & I contracted with The Natural Way to complete winter weatherization of trees in our backyard and the installation of holiday lighting. The holiday lighting was installed with no issues. Due to weather delays, they had to postpone the winter weatherization of the trees. They finally were able to come out and begin the tree work in January. My husband was home when they arrived that morning. He discussed what was to be done with the workers. He stepped out later to get lunch and when he returned the workers had left and had not completed the job. I called and explained this to the Manager **** and he was apologetic and in disbelief that they had not completed the work. We rescheduled, however due to the weather delays it would be another month before they were able to come out. They came out in February, however the work that was completed was not authorized by us...they tied the trees to our fence and we were concerned that if a heavy snow came the fence would tumble over. They also had not completed the winter weatherization of all the trees. I called again, was told **** no longer worked there, they had to relieve him of his duties. I spoke to another manager and they scheduled another crew out. After a few weeks had gone by, the crew came out, untied the trees from the fence, however they still did not finish the winter weatherization of the trees. My husband called, and they said they would send someone out again, this time it was the owner. When the owner came, I just happen to be home... I walked him thru what remainder of work was to be done. They sent a crew out a week later, when we inspected the work---they still had not completed the winter weatherization of the trees and they un-did the work that we paid another company to do on a tree that was leaning toward out house badly--they undid the brace that had been installed correctly. We called the owner to ask if they could come back and re-do what we paid someone else to do, along with complete the job we paid them to do. After a heated discussion, the owner hung up on us. We tried calling back and apologizing for our part in the phone conversation, we still have not heard back from anyone. In good faith we have paid for these services in which the work has not been completed. Our desired goal is to have the winter weatherization completed before that last storm of the season. We have lived up to our end in paying for services which we have hot received, and we would like The Natural Way to live up to their end to complete the project which they have been compensated for.

Desired Settlement: Our desired goal is to have the winter weatherization of our trees completed before that last storm of the season. We would ask that they re-do what the other company had done as well. We have lived up to our end in paying for their services, we would like The Natural Way to live up to their end to complete the project which they have been compensated for.

Business Response:

We have discussed this complaint with the ********* and have given them copies of their original estimate and photos of the work we completed.

We are not familiar with, nor do we use the term “winterization” and am not sure what Mrs. ******** is referring to.  We did provide an estimate and were contracted to tie-up the junipers.  It appears that they are in agreement that we performed the work the same way we did in years prior with the same estimate description "tie-up". Tying up is not the same as staking and does not include anything other than securing the branches to the tree, which is why we specified on these specific shrubs that we would “attach to fence to lift”.

The ********* did not want the junipers secured to the fence and had us come back and remove the equipment we installed to do so.  Because of the height of the junipers the fact that they are on the property line and against the fence, there is nowhere else to secure these plants.

We have recommended pruning in the past and the ********* have not contracted us to the work nor does the work appear to have been completed by anyone else.  Neglect, growing conditions, location and prior years of damage have contributed to the overall state of these plants.

At this time we completed the services as estimated on estimate 25940, we have had several certified arborist at this property on multiple occasions to review the work and we have provide the ********* with over $500 of additional tie-ups to their other junipers at no cost to them. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: 11250118

I am rejecting this response because: (SEE RESPONSES BELOW)

 

The Natural Way:

We have discussed this complaint with the ********* and have given them copies of their original estimate and photos of the work we completed.

********’S RESPONSE:  We had a phone call from the Receptionist at The Natural Way--******. There was NO discussion, however the conversation centered on ****** asking my Husband & I a series of questions…some of these questions were:

-What is winterization?

-What was different about the work this time versus years prior?

-Asked which trees had the work been completed on?  Which trees still needed to be done?

Also, we have not received any photos, in fact, I’m not sure how they would have photos of our property without our permission and without our knowledge.

The Natural Way:

We are not familiar with, nor do we use the term “winterization” and am not sure what Mrs. ******** is referring to. 

********’S RESPONSE:  This is one of the questions that was asked by ******…she wanted to know what we meant by “winterization”, and it was explained to her, for lack of a better word, we used the word “winterization” and  was referring to tying up the Juniper trees and staking them, getting them ready for Winter.

 

The Natural Way:

We did provide an estimate and were contracted to tie-up the junipers. 

********’S RESPONSE: Yes, The Natural Way did provide us with an estimate and we contracted The Natural Way to complete the work of tying up the junipers and staking the Junipers.  However, as we stated in the original complaint, the Crew came out on 3 different occasions because they did not complete the job the 1st time.  When we called the 1st time, we spoke to the Landscape Manager **** (who is now no longer there) **** advised that the Crew was new and he was in disbelief that they did not complete the job.  We had to call a 2nd time, and this time we were advised that **** the Landscape Manager who oversaw our project had been terminated. The 3rd call was placed because no one called us back, this time we spoke to the Owner.

 

The Natural Way:

It appears that they are in agreement that we performed the work the same way we did in years prior with the same estimate description "tie-up". 

********’S RESPONSE:  NO WE ARE NOT in agreement that the work performed was the same as in years prior. 

The Natural Way:

Tying up is not the same as staking and does not include anything other than securing the branches to the tree, which is why we specified on these specific shrubs that we would “attach to fence to lift”. 

********’S RESPONSE:  We are in agreement that Tying up is not the same as staking, we are in agreement that they staked 8-10 foot trees to our fence to lift. 

The Natural Way:

The ********* did not want the junipers secured to the fence and had us come back and remove the equipment we installed to do so.  Because of the height of the junipers the fact that they are on the property line and against the fence, there is nowhere else to secure these plants. 

********’S RESPONSE:  YES, after we arrived home and saw they had staked the trees to the fence— YES, IMMEDIATELY we asked them to come and un-stake the trees from the fence, because as they state “the height, proximity to fence, etc” and weight of the junipers would cause the entire fence to fall down at the next heavy snow storm.  We showed them an example of what that should look like.  However upon returning and reviewing what they had done, not only did they remove their work, they also removed the work of another contractor (SEE PHOTO--Will send in seperate file due to 4 files maximum ) 

The Natural Way:

We have recommended pruning in the past and the ********* have not contracted us to the work nor does the work appear to have been completed by anyone else.  Neglect, growing conditions, location and prior years of damage have contributed to the overall state of these plants. 

********’S RESPONSE:  This information is false---The Natural Way has been servicing our tress for several years—so not sure why they would state neglect and that nothing has been done.  There has been no recent conversation regarding pruning of our trees.

(Please see the attached receipts from The Natural Way where they have serviced our trees)

The Natural Way:

At this time we completed the services as estimated on estimate 25940, we have had several certified arborist at this property on multiple occasions to review the work and we have provide the ********'s with over $500 of additional tie-ups to their other junipers at no cost to them. 

********’S RESPONSE:  The above statement is completely false.  The work that we contracted was not completed.  The reason they have had several Arborists on our property is because the work was not completed correctly the 1st time and still has not been.  I am not sure about the cost they are referring to because there are still 3 remaining trees that are not tied up and should have been from the original job, unfortunately these trees are now destroyed from the last 2 storms we have had. (SEE ATTACHED PHOTOS OF TREES DAMAGED)

We are extremely disappointed in The Natural Way.  We have used their services for several years and have been completely satisfied.  This is the first year that we have experienced problems, we believe that the turnover and inexperience in Staff has contributed to this.  It is not our intention to ask for something or complain unnecessarily, it has taken unnecessary time and energy that we will not get back.

Our only request from the Owner was that he send someone out to complete the work, he hung up on us and would not take our calls.  We felt helpless, did not know what else to do, which is why we contacted the BBB.

Since, we have hired another contractor to complete the work that should have been completed by The Natural Way.

We will not continue to debate what was done/not done nor will we debate on what was said/not said.  We just want to make sure it never happens to anyone else, and the only way we know how to do that is to voice our concerns/complaints.

Thank you,

******* and ******* ********

 

 

 

 

Sincerely,

******* ********

Business Response:

For less than $200 we tied up all of their trees (instead of just the north ones that were quoted), and we made attempts to stake what they had requested. In the process of trying to come to an agreement we removed metal wires and ratchet straps put up by another “professional” that were damaging the trees and used industry approved methods to tie up the branches.  As you can see form both our picture and the ********'s all the trees were are tied up however the trees with prior substantial damage were not able to withstand the wet snow we got.

I have the recorded phone calls where the ********'s confirmed receipt of the photos (taken when we completed the work - no trespassing) and a copy of the email with the photos. I have attached the unauthorized estimates we have provided them in the past.  These estimate show that what they have submitted in their complaint is not accurate and the trees have not been maintained by The Natural Way, Inc.  In fact besides the work in question, we have not done tree work for the ********'s since 2012.  However they have requested a few estimates including last year, on 5/11/15 they called to request an estimate for storm damage, "Storm damage - tree is falling over 8-10 feet. Mrs wants a quote. Wants work done ASAP" but again did not have us do the work.  We appreciate that the ********* trusted us to take care of their trees however tree care is an ongoing process and Mother Nature often dictates much of what can be done. As they experienced last year, storm damage has lasting effects on the health and atheistic of their junipers and tying them up after the damage is done is not a remedy for all the issues previously discussed.

 

* I cannot attach recording of phone calls that clearly state that this years tying up was the same as previous years (2012) and confirmation that they received our pictures in an email but would be happy to send to arbitrator if needed to keep this negative review off of our profile. 

12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service provider did not repair or replace system. Did not receive requested cost estimate. Billed for services not rendered. Harassed by billing dept Contact was made the spring of 2013 with The Natural Way, Inc located at **** ** ********* ******* ********** CO XXXXX requesting a service repairman to visit our property and evaluate our current sprinkler system and to provide us with a detailed estimate comparing cost of repair versus replacement of the current sprinkler system. We received a house call on May 21st from a Natural Way service repairman. He spent one hour looking at our sprinkler system and dug a deeper hole at the juncture of a leaky sprinkler head. He didn't have the right equipment to make any repairs and left our property saying he would mail us a written estimate for the cost of repair to our current sprinkler system. We have never received the promised written estimate, nor have we received any repairs to our system. In August of 2013, my wife received a call from the Billing Department at The Natural Way, Inc regarding an overdue balance for Irrigation Maintenance & Repair Services in the amount of $101.40. She told the billing agent that we never received a Service Invoice from The Natural Way through the USPS and she informed the billing agent that we would not be paying for services we never received. My wife did request a copy of the Service Invoice to be mailed to our home so we could understand what was being charged to us. We never receive the requested invoice by USPS. Contact was again made in September between my wife and the Billing Department regarding the outstanding balance on Service Invoice #XXXXX. She requested the Service Invoice to be emailed since it hadn't been received by us from USPS. My wife forwarded the emailed Service Invoice to me; whereby, I contacted The Natural Way, Inc to work out a solution to have the charges dropped. I reiterated they were charging us for services we never received and I have not heard from them since. I made very clear that I was to be contacted so we could clear up this matter. Instead, my wife received an invoice for $151.40 by email from the Billing Department on November 11, 2013. We are reporting this to the Better Business Bureau for unethical practices by The Natural Way, Inc.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking the charges in the amount of $151.40 removed from our account by The Natural Way, Inc.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/02) */ Our tech went to the customer's property and inspected the irrigation system. He made some minor repairs and left a written estimate for additional work. I am sorry that Mr. ******* is dissatisfied with the work preformed. We have credited his account for the full balance of $151.40.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on The Natural Way, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart